A Long Way Gone

A human rights activist offers a firsthand account of war from the perspective of a former child soldier, detailing the violent civil war that wracked his native Sierra Leone and the government forces that transformed a gentle young boy into a killer as a member of the army.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publisher : Sarah Crichton Books
  • Pages : 240 pages
  • ISBN : 9780374531263
  • Rating : 4/5 from 205 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKA Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone
  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publisher : Sarah Crichton Books
  • Release : 05 August 2008
GET THIS BOOKA Long Way Gone

A human rights activist offers a firsthand account of war from the perspective of a former child soldier, detailing the violent civil war that wracked his native Sierra Leone and the government forces that transformed a gentle young boy into a killer as a member of the army.

A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone
  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publisher : Penguin Canada
  • Release : 02 July 2013
GET THIS BOOKA Long Way Gone

At the age of twelve, Ishmael Beah fled attacking rebels in Sierra Leone and wandered a land rendered unrecognizable by violence. By thirteen, he'd been picked up by the government army, and Beah, at heart a gentle boy, found that he was capable of truly terrible acts. At sixteen, he was removed from fighting by UNICEF, and through the help of the staff at his rehabilitation center, he learned how to forgive himself, to regain his humanity, and, finally, to

A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone
  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publisher : Turtleback
  • Release : 01 August 2008
GET THIS BOOKA Long Way Gone

In this heart-wrenching, candid memoir, a former child soldier details the violent civil war that wracked his native Sierra Leone.

Radiance of Tomorrow

Radiance of Tomorrow
  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publisher : Penguin Canada
  • Release : 07 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKRadiance of Tomorrow

When Ishmael Beah’s A Long Way Gone was published in 2007, it soared to the top of bestseller lists, becoming an instant classic: a harrowing account of Sierra Leone’s civil war and the fate of child soldiers that “everyone in the world should read” (The Washington Post). Now Beah, whom Dave Eggers has called “arguably the most read African writer in contemporary literature,” has returned with his first novel, an affecting, tender parable about postwar life in Sierra Leone.

Outrun the Moon

Outrun the Moon
  • Author : Stacey Lee
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 24 May 2016
GET THIS BOOKOutrun the Moon

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult Winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St.

Long Way Gone

Long Way Gone
  • Author : Charles Martin
  • Publisher : Christian Series Level I (24)
  • Release : 01 December 2016
GET THIS BOOKLong Way Gone

At the age of eighteen, musician and songwriter Cooper O’Connor took everything his father held dear and drove 1,200 miles from home to Nashville, his life riding on a six-string guitar and the bold wager that he had talent. But his wager soon proved foolish.

A Death in Belmont

A Death in Belmont
  • Author : Sebastian Junger
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 17 April 2006
GET THIS BOOKA Death in Belmont

A fatal collision of three lives in the most intriguing and original crime story since In Cold Blood. In the spring of 1963, the quiet suburb of Belmont, Massachusetts, is rocked by a shocking sex murder that exactly fits the pattern of the Boston Strangler. Sensing a break in the case that has paralyzed the city of Boston, the police track down a black man, Roy Smith, who cleaned the victim's house that day and left a receipt with his name

Long Way Gone

Long Way Gone
  • Author : Charles Martin
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 04 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKLong Way Gone

Cooper O Connor was a long way from home---both geographically and from the damage he caused. Now that he s back, is healing possible?"

A Little Life

A Little Life
  • Author : Hanya Yanagihara
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 10 March 2015
GET THIS BOOKA Little Life

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Wall Street Journal • NPR • Vanity Fair • Vogue • Minneapolis Star Tribune • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • The Guardian • O, The Oprah Magazine • Slate • Newsday • Buzzfeed • The Economist • Newsweek • People • Kansas City Star • Shelf Awareness • Time Out New York • Huffington Post • Book Riot • Refinery29 • Bookpage • Publishers Weekly • Kirkus WINNER OF THE KIRKUS PRIZE • A MAN BOOKER PRIZE FINALIST • A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST A Little Life follows four

For One More Day International Edition

For One More Day International Edition
  • Author : Mitch Albom
  • Publisher : Hyperion
  • Release : 01 April 2007
GET THIS BOOKFor One More Day International Edition

This is the story of Charley, a child of divorce who is always forced to choose between his mother and his father. He grows into a man and starts a family of his own. But one fateful weekend, he leaves his mother to secretly be with his father--and she dies while he is gone. This haunts him for years. It unravels his own young family. It leads him to depression and drunkenness. One night, he decides to take his life.

The basic training of Pavlo Hummel. Sticks and bones

The basic training of Pavlo Hummel. Sticks and bones
  • Author : David Rabe
  • Publisher : Grove Press
  • Release : 26 July 1993
GET THIS BOOKThe basic training of Pavlo Hummel. Sticks and bones

The Basic Training of Pavlo Hummel is the story of a native recruit's initiation into war, by turns brutal and hilarious. In Sticks and Stones, a blinded Vietnam veteran returns home numbed by the war and is astonished by his family's inability to comprehend their country's politics and his rage.--From publisher description.

Bite of the Mango

Bite of the Mango
  • Author : Mariatu Kamara,Susan McClelland
  • Publisher : Allen & Unwin
  • Release : 04 May 2009
GET THIS BOOKBite of the Mango

'In my culture, every story is told with the purpose of either imparting knowledge, repairing a broken bond, or transforming the listener and the teller. Mariatu's story embodies all of these elements.' from the Introduction by Ishmael Beah Mariatu Kamara grew up in a small village in Sierra Leone, surrounded by family and friends. At first, rumours of the civil war were no more than a distant worry. But then the rebels attacked. Heavily armed soldiers, some no older

Crossing the Wire

Crossing the Wire
  • Author : Will Hobbs
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 13 October 2009
GET THIS BOOKCrossing the Wire

When falling crop prices threaten his family with starvation, fifteen-year-old Victor Flores heads north in an attempt to "cross the wire" from Mexico into the United States so he can find work and send money home. But with no coyote money to pay the smugglers who sneak illegal workers across the border, Victor must struggle to survive as he jumps trains, stows away on trucks, and hikes grueling miles through the Arizona desert. Victor's journey is fraught with danger, freezing

Little Soldier

Little Soldier
  • Author : Bernard Ashley
  • Publisher : Orchard Books
  • Release : 03 March 2011
GET THIS BOOKLittle Soldier

When Kaninda survives a brutal attack on his village in East Africa he joins the rebel army, where he's trained to carry weapons, and use them. But aid workers take him to London, to a new family and a comprehensive school. Clan and tribal conflicts are everywhere, and on the streets it's estate versus estate, urban tribe against urban tribe. All Kaninda wants it to get back to his own war and take revenge on his enemies. But together with

Is the Moon Upside Down?

Is the Moon Upside Down?
  • Author : Greg Quicke
  • Publisher : Random House Australia
  • Release : 29 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKIs the Moon Upside Down?

During his younger days working as a bush mechanic and pearl diver in remote WA, Greg Quicke spent countless nights lying in a swag and staring at the stars. That daily distraction grew into a passion that has seen him become one of Australia's best known and most engaging astronomers. In recent years Greg – aka 'Space Gandalf' – has taken on cult status among audiences via his appearances alongside Professor Brian Cox in the hit TV series Stargazing Live. Greg's practical