A Midwife s Tale

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Drawing on the diaries of one woman in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier. Between 1785 and 1812 a midwife and healer named Martha Ballard kept a diary that recorded her arduous work (in 27 years she attended 816 births) as well as her domestic life in Hallowell, Maine. On the basis of that diary, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich gives us an intimate and densely imagined portrait, not only of the industrious and reticent Martha Ballard but of her society. At once lively and impeccably scholarly, A Midwife's Tale is a triumph of history on a human scale.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Pages : 464 pages
  • ISBN : 0307772985
  • Rating : 4/5 from 18 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKA Midwife s Tale

A Midwife's Tale

A Midwife's Tale
  • Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 22 December 2010
GET THIS BOOKA Midwife's Tale

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Drawing on the diaries of one woman in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier. Between 1785 and 1812 a midwife and healer named Martha Ballard kept a diary that recorded her arduous work (in 27 years she attended 816 births) as well as her domestic life in Hallowell, Maine. On the basis of that diary, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich gives us an intimate and densely

A Midwife's Tale

A Midwife's Tale
  • Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 22 December 2010
GET THIS BOOKA Midwife's Tale

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Drawing on the diaries of one woman in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier. Between 1785 and 1812 a midwife and healer named Martha Ballard kept a diary that recorded her arduous work (in 27 years she attended 816 births) as well as her domestic life in Hallowell, Maine. On the basis of that diary, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich gives us an intimate and densely

The Midwife's Tale

The Midwife's Tale
  • Author : Sam Thomas
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release : 08 January 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Midwife's Tale

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife's Tale It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is

The Midwife's Tale

The Midwife's Tale
  • Author : Nicky Leap,Billie Hunter
  • Publisher : Pen and Sword
  • Release : 17 October 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Midwife's Tale

Mothers and midwives reveal the wonders and difficulties of early twentieth century childbirth in this informative and insightful healthcare history. Before the foundation of the United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS) in 1948, expectant mothers relied on midwives to help them through childbirth. Based on interviews conducted with dozens and mothers and retired midwives over several years, Billie Hunter and Nicky Leap’s The Midwife’s Tale shares the stories of these women in their own words, shedding light on

The Age of Homespun

The Age of Homespun
  • Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 26 August 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Age of Homespun

They began their existence as everyday objects, but in the hands of award-winning historian Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, fourteen domestic items from preindustrial America–ranging from a linen tablecloth to an unfinished sock–relinquish their stories and offer profound insights into our history. In an age when even meals are rarely made from scratch, homespun easily acquires the glow of nostalgia. The objects Ulrich investigates unravel those simplified illusions, revealing important clues to the culture and people who made them. Ulrich

The Midwife's Tale

The Midwife's Tale
  • Author : Gretchen Moran Laskas
  • Publisher : Delta
  • Release : 10 December 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Midwife's Tale

“I come from a long line of midwives,” narrates Elizabeth Whitely. “I was expected to follow Mama, follow Granny, follow Great-granny. In the end, I didn’t disappoint them. Or perhaps I did. After all, there were no more midwives after me.”For generations, the women in Elizabeth’s family have brought life to Kettle Valley, West Virginia, heeding a destiny to tend its women with herbals, experience, and wisdom. But Elizabeth, who has comforted so many, has lost her

The Midwife's Apprentice

The Midwife's Apprentice
  • Author : Karen Cushman
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 27 January 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Midwife's Apprentice

In a small village in medieval England, a young homeless girl acquires a home and a new career when she becomes the apprentice to a sharp-tempered midwife.

The Midwife's Tale (At Home in Trinity Book #1)

The Midwife's Tale (At Home in Trinity Book #1)
  • Author : Delia Parr
  • Publisher : Baker Books
  • Release : 26 May 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Midwife's Tale (At Home in Trinity Book #1)

Martha Cade comes from a long line of midwives who have served the families of Trinity, Pennsylvania, for generations. A widow with two grown children, she's hopeful that her daughter will follow in her footsteps, but when Victoria runs off, Martha's world is shattered. Worse, a new doctor has arrived in town, threatening her job, and she can't remember a time when her faith has been tested more. Still determined to do the work she knows God intended for her,

Good Wives

Good Wives
  • Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 29 December 2010
GET THIS BOOKGood Wives

This enthralling work of scholarship strips away abstractions to reveal the hidden--and not always stoic--face of the "goodwives" of colonial America. In these pages we encounter the awesome burdens--and the considerable power--of a New England housewife's domestic life and witness her occasional forays into the world of men. We see her borrowing from her neighbors, loving her husband, raising--and, all too often, mourning--her children, and even attaining fame as a heroine of frontier conflicts or notoriety as a murderess. Painstakingly

The Birth House

The Birth House
  • Author : Ami McKay
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release : 24 April 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Birth House

The Birth House is the story of Dora Rare, the first daughter to be born in five generations of Rares. As a child in an isolated village in Nova Scotia, she is drawn to Miss Babineau, an outspoken Acadian midwife with a gift for healing. Dora becomes Miss B.’s apprentice, and together they help the women of Scots Bay through infertility, difficult labours, breech births, unwanted pregnancies and even unfulfilling sex lives. Filled with details as compelling as they

Paper Trails

Paper Trails
  • Author : Cameron Blevins
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 04 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKPaper Trails

A groundbreaking history of how the US Post made the nineteenth-century American West. There were five times as many post offices in the United States in 1899 than there are McDonald's restaurants today. During an era of supposedly limited federal government, the United States operated the most expansive national postal system in the world. In this cutting-edge interpretation of the late nineteenth-century United States, Cameron Blevins argues that the US Post wove together two of the era's defining projects: western expansion

Tangible Things

Tangible Things
  • Author : Laurel Thatcher Ulrich,Ivan Gaskell,Sara Schechner,Sarah Anne Carter,Samantha van Gerbig
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 06 February 2015
GET THIS BOOKTangible Things

In a world obsessed with the virtual, tangible things are once again making history. Tangible Things invites readers to look closely at the things around them, ordinary things like the food on their plate and extraordinary things like the transit of planets across the sky. It argues that almost any material thing, when examined closely, can be a link between present and past. The authors of this book pulled an astonishing array of materials out of storage--from a pencil manufactured