Agent Sonya

The international bestselling author of A Spy and the Traitor and A Spy Among Friends reveals one of the last great untold spy stories of the twentieth century--the woman hidden in plain sight who set the stage for the Cold War. If you happened to be in the quiet English village of Great Rollright in 1942, you might have seen a thin, elegant woman emerging from a cottage and climbing onto her bicycle. Ursula Burton had three children and a husband named Len, who worked as a machinist nearby. She was friendly but reserved, and spoke English with a very slight foreign accent. Her neighbours in the Cotswolds knew little about her. They did not know that Burton was a dedicated communist, a Soviet Colonel, and a veteran spy who had already conducted espionage operations in China, Poland, and Switzerland. They did not know that Len was also a Soviet spy, or that Burton kept a powerful radio transmitter connected to Moscow in their outhouse. They did not know that in her last espionage mission, Burton had infiltrated communist spies into a top-secret American intelligence operation parachting anti-Nazi agents into the Third Reich. But perhaps the most remarkable thing they did not know was that when Burton hopped onto her bike and pedaled away, she was heading to a countryside rendezvous with Klaus Fuchs, the nuclear physicist working on Britain's top secret atomic weapons program. Klaus was Burton's best agent, and together they were gathering the scientific secrets that would enable the Soviet Union to build the bomb. Ben Macintyre's latest true-life spy story is a masterpiece about the woman code-named "Sonya," one of the most important female spies in history. Hunted by the Chinese, the Japanese, the Nazis, MI5, MI6, and the FBI, she evaded all of them, and survived as well the brutal Soviet purges that left many of her friends and colleagues dead. Her story reflects the great ideological clash of the twentieth century, between communism, fascism, and Western democracy, and casts new light on the spy battles and shifting allegiances of our own times. With access to Sonya's papers and her intelligence files from multiple countries, Macintyre has conjured a thrilling secret history of a landmark agent, a true original who altered the course of the Cold War and helped plunge the world into a nuclear standoff that would last for decades.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Pages : 368 pages
  • ISBN : 0771001959
  • Rating : 4/5 from 1 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKAgent Sonya

Agent Sonya

Agent Sonya
  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 15 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKAgent Sonya

The international bestselling author of A Spy and the Traitor and A Spy Among Friends reveals one of the last great untold spy stories of the twentieth century--the woman hidden in plain sight who set the stage for the Cold War. If you happened to be in the quiet English village of Great Rollright in 1942, you might have seen a thin, elegant woman emerging from a cottage and climbing onto her bicycle. Ursula Burton had three children and a husband

Rogue Heroes

Rogue Heroes
  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 04 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKRogue Heroes

The latest from the bestselling author of Operation Mincemeat and A Spy Among Friends -- the untold story of one of WWII's most important secret military units. Ben Macintyre's latest book of derring-do and wartime intrigue reveals the incredible story of the last truly unsung secret organization of World War II -- Britain's Special Air Service, or the SAS. Facing long odds and a tough slog against Rommel and the German tanks in the Middle East theatre, Britain turned to

Agent Zigzag

Agent Zigzag
  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 01 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKAgent Zigzag

For readers of World War II history, espionage, fans of John le Carré and Alan Furst, and of Ben Macintyre's more recent books. Eddie Chapman was a charming criminal, a con man, and a philanderer. He was also one of the most remarkable double agents Britain has ever produced. In 1941, after training as German spy in occupied France, Chapman was parachuted into Britain with a revolver, a wireless, and a cyanide pill, with orders from the Abwehr to blow up

Agent Sonya

Agent Sonya
  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Viking
  • Release : 17 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKAgent Sonya

True-life spy story about the woman code-named "Sonya." She was a high-ranking Soviet intelligence officer. Over the course of her career, she was hunted by the Chinese, the Japanese, the Nazis, MI5, MI6, and the FBI-and she evaded them all. Her story reflects the great ideological clash of the twentieth century-between Communism, Fascism, and Western democracy-and casts new light on the spy battles and shifting allegiances of our own times

Operation Mincemeat

Operation Mincemeat
  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 01 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKOperation Mincemeat

From the internationally celebrated, bestselling author of The Spy and the Traitor, A Spy Among Friends, and Rogue Heroes comes an extraordinary account of the most successful--and certainly the strangest--deception ever carried out in World War II. Near the end of WWII, two British naval officers came up with a brilliant and slightly mad plan to mislead the Nazi armies about where the Allies would attack southern Europe. To carry out the plan, they would have to rely on the

Mission to Paris

Mission to Paris
  • Author : Alan Furst
  • Publisher : Random House Incorporated
  • Release : 25 July 2021
GET THIS BOOKMission to Paris

Arriving in Paris on the eve of the Munich Appeasement in 1938, Hollywood star Frederic Stahl is unwittingly entangled in the region's shifting political currents when he discovers that his latest film is linked to the destinies of fascists, German Nazis and Hollywood publicists. By the author of Spies of the Balkans. 75,000 first printing.

Double Cross

Double Cross
  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 01 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKDouble Cross

From the bestselling author of The Spy and the Traitor, A Spy Among Friends, and Rogue Heroes, a fascinating work of popular history that vividly recreates the vast web of deception spun by spies in order to conceal D-Day. On June 6, 1944, 150,000 Allied troops landed on the beaches of Normandy and suffered an astonishingly low rate of casualties. A stunning military achievement, it was also a masterpiece of trickery. Operation Fortitude, which protected and enabled the invasion, and the Double Cross

The Spy and the Traitor

The Spy and the Traitor
  • Author : Ben Macintyre
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 18 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Spy and the Traitor

The celebrated author of A Spy Among Friends and Rogue Heroes returns with his greatest spy story yet, a thrilling Cold War-era tale of Oleg Gordievsky, the Russian whose secret work helped hasten the collapse of the Soviet Union. If anyone could be considered a Russian counterpart to the infamous British double-agent Kim Philby, it was Oleg Gordievsky. The son of two KGB agents and the product of the best Soviet institutions, the savvy, sophisticated Gordievsky grew to see his

Three Minutes to Doomsday

Three Minutes to Doomsday
  • Author : Joe Navarro
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 18 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKThree Minutes to Doomsday

An intense cat-and-mouse game played between two brilliant men in the last days of the Cold War, this shocking insider’s story shows how a massive giveaway of secret war plans and nuclear secrets threatened America with annihilation. In 1988 Joe Navarro, one of the youngest agents ever hired by the FBI, was dividing his time between SWAT assignments, flying air reconnaissance, and working counter-intelligence. But his real expertise was “reading” body language. He possessed an uncanny ability to glean the

Agents of Influence

Agents of Influence
  • Author : Henry Hemming
  • Publisher : PublicAffairs
  • Release : 08 October 2019
GET THIS BOOKAgents of Influence

The astonishing story of the British spies who set out to draw America into World War II As World War II raged into its second year, Britain sought a powerful ally to join its cause-but the American public was sharply divided on the subject. Canadian-born MI6 officer William Stephenson, with his knowledge and influence in North America, was chosen to change their minds by any means necessary. In this extraordinary tale of foreign influence on American shores, Henry Hemming shows

Setsuko's Secret

Setsuko's Secret
  • Author : Shirley Ann Higuchi
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 25 July 2021
GET THIS BOOKSetsuko's Secret

As children, Shirley Ann Higuchi and her brothers knew Heart Mountain only as the place their parents met, imagining it as a great Stardust Ballroom in rural Wyoming. As they grew older, they would come to recognize the name as a source of great sadness and shame for their older family members, part of the generation of Japanese Americans forced into the hastily built concentration camp in the aftermath of Executive Order 9066. Only after a serious cancer diagnosis did Shirley's

Dead Doubles

Dead Doubles
  • Author : Trevor Barnes
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 15 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKDead Doubles

The astonishing but true story of one of the most notorious spy cases from the Cold War—and the international manhunt that seized global attention as it revealed the shadowy world of deep cover KGB operatives. The dramatic arrest in London on January 7, 1961 of five Soviet spies made headlines worldwide and had repercussions around the globe. Alerted by the CIA, Britain's security service, MI5, had discovered two British spies stealing invaluable secrets from the highly sensitive submarine research center at

That Wasn’t the Plan

That Wasn’t the Plan
  • Author : Reg Sherren
  • Publisher : Douglas & McIntyre
  • Release : 03 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKThat Wasn’t the Plan

Many Canadians will remember Reg Sherren as host of the popular CBC TV program Country Canada, when he criss-crossed the nation sniffing out amazing but little-known stories of life in small towns and rural areas. Others will recall his many years as feature reporter for CBC’s flagship news program, The National, collecting stories like that of Montreal inventor Catalin Alexandru Duru magically soaring above the earth on his home-made hoverboard to set a new Guinness World Record. In the