Basics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution offers a broad view of evolutionary biology and medicine. The book is written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field. From evolutionary theory, to cultural evolution, this book fills gaps in the readers’ knowledge from various backgrounds and introduces them to thought leaders in human evolution research. Offers comprehensive coverage of the wide ranging field of human evolution Written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field Provides expertise from leading minds in the field Allows the reader the ability to gain exposure to various topics in one publication

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Michael P Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Pages : 584 pages
  • ISBN : 0128026936
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKBasics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution
  • Author : Michael P Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 24 July 2015
GET THIS BOOKBasics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution offers a broad view of evolutionary biology and medicine. The book is written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field. From evolutionary theory, to cultural evolution, this book fills gaps in the readers’ knowledge from various backgrounds and introduces them to thought leaders in human evolution research. Offers comprehensive coverage of the wide ranging field of human evolution Written for a non-expert audience, providing

Evolution: The Basics

Evolution: The Basics
  • Author : Sherrie Lyons
  • Publisher : Taylor & Francis
  • Release : 27 April 2012
GET THIS BOOKEvolution: The Basics

Evolution: The Basics is an engaging introduction to the history, development and science of the theory of evolution. Beginning pre-Darwin and concluding with the latest research and controversies, readers are introduced to the origins of the idea of evolution, the ways in which it has developed and been adapted over time and the science underpinning it all. Topics addressed include: • early theories of evolution • the impact of Darwin’s On the Origin of Species • the discovery of genetics and Mendel’

Human Evolutionary Biology

Human Evolutionary Biology
  • Author : Michael P. Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release : 29 July 2010
GET THIS BOOKHuman Evolutionary Biology

Wide-ranging and inclusive, this text provides an invaluable review of an expansive selection of topics in human evolution, variation and adaptability for professionals and students in biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, medical sciences and psychology. The chapters are organized around four broad themes, with sections devoted to phenotypic and genetic variation within and between human populations, reproductive physiology and behavior, growth and development, and human health from evolutionary and ecological perspectives. An introductory section provides readers with the historical, theoretical and

Ritual in Human Evolution and Religion

Ritual in Human Evolution and Religion
  • Author : Matt J. Rossano
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 04 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKRitual in Human Evolution and Religion

This book explores the role of ritual in social life, human evolution, and religion. It explains the functions and purpose of varied rituals across the world by arguing they are mechanisms of ‘resource management’, providing a descriptive tool for understanding rituals and generating predictions about ritual survival. By showing how rituals have resulted from the need to cultivate social resources necessary to sustain cooperative groups, Rossano presents a unique examination of the function of rituals and how they cultivate, mobilize,

Religion in Human Evolution

Religion in Human Evolution
  • Author : Robert N. Bellah
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release : 15 September 2011
GET THIS BOOKReligion in Human Evolution

This ambitious book probes our biological past to discover the kinds of lives that human beings have imagined were worth living. Bellah’s theory goes deep into cultural and genetic evolution to identify a range of capacities (communal dancing, storytelling, theorizing) whose emergence made religious development possible in the first millennium BCE.

Sapiens

Sapiens
  • Author : Yuval Noah Harari
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 28 October 2014
GET THIS BOOKSapiens

NATIONAL BESTSELLER NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe

Human Forms

Human Forms
  • Author : Ian Duncan
  • Publisher : Princeton University Press
  • Release : 03 September 2019
GET THIS BOOKHuman Forms

A major rethinking of the European novel and its relationship to early evolutionary science The 120 years between Henry Fielding's Tom Jones (1749) and George Eliot's Middlemarch (1871) marked both the rise of the novel and the shift from the presumption of a stable, universal human nature to one that changes over time. In Human Forms, Ian Duncan reorients our understanding of the novel's formation during its cultural ascendancy, arguing that fiction produced new knowledge in a period characterized by the interplay between

Judy

Judy
  • Author : Temple Bailey
  • Publisher : 1st World Publishing
  • Release : 01 November 2006
GET THIS BOOKJudy

There was a plum-tree in the orchard, all snow and ebony against a sky of sapphire. Becky Sharp, perched among the fragrant blossoms, crooned soft nothings to herself. Under the tree little Anne lay at full length on the tender green sod and dreamed

Not By Genes Alone

Not By Genes Alone
  • Author : Peter J. Richerson,Robert Boyd
  • Publisher : University of Chicago Press
  • Release : 20 June 2008
GET THIS BOOKNot By Genes Alone

Humans are a striking anomaly in the natural world. While we are similar to other mammals in many ways, our behavior sets us apart. Our unparalleled ability to adapt has allowed us to occupy virtually every habitat on earth using an incredible variety of tools and subsistence techniques. Our societies are larger, more complex, and more cooperative than any other mammal's. In this stunning exploration of human adaptation, Peter J. Richerson and Robert Boyd argue that only a Darwinian theory

An Introduction to Molecular Anthropology

An Introduction to Molecular Anthropology
  • Author : Mark Stoneking
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 27 December 2016
GET THIS BOOKAn Introduction to Molecular Anthropology

Molecular anthropology uses molecular genetic methods to address questions and issues of anthropological interest. More specifically, molecular anthropology is concerned with genetic evidence concerning human origins, migrations, and population relationships, including related topics such as the role of recent natural selection in human population differentiation, or the impact of particular social systems on patterns of human genetic variation. Organized into three major sections, An Introduction to Molecular Anthropology first covers the basics of genetics – what genes are, what they do,

Processes in Human Evolution

Processes in Human Evolution
  • Author : Francisco J. Ayala,Camilo J. Cela-Conde
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 01 March 2017
GET THIS BOOKProcesses in Human Evolution

The discoveries of the last decade have brought about a completely revised understanding of human evolution due to the recent advances in genetics, palaeontology, ecology, archaeology, geography, and climate science. Written by two leading authorities in the fields of physical anthropology and molecular evolution, Processes in Human Evolution presents a reconsidered overview of hominid evolution, synthesising data and approaches from a range of inter-disciplinary fields. The authors pay particular attention to population migrations - since these are crucial in understanding

End of History and the Last Man

End of History and the Last Man
  • Author : Francis Fukuyama
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 01 March 2006
GET THIS BOOKEnd of History and the Last Man

Ever since its first publication in 1992, The End of History and the Last Man has provoked controversy and debate. Francis Fukuyama's prescient analysis of religious fundamentalism, politics, scientific progress, ethical codes, and war is as essential for a world fighting fundamentalist terrorists as it was for the end of the Cold War. Now updated with a new afterword, The End of History and the Last Man is a modern classic.