Basics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution offers a broad view of evolutionary biology and medicine. The book is written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field. From evolutionary theory, to cultural evolution, this book fills gaps in the readers’ knowledge from various backgrounds and introduces them to thought leaders in human evolution research. Offers comprehensive coverage of the wide ranging field of human evolution Written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field Provides expertise from leading minds in the field Allows the reader the ability to gain exposure to various topics in one publication

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Michael P Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Pages : 584 pages
  • ISBN : 0128026936
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKBasics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution
  • Author : Michael P Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 24 July 2015
GET THIS BOOKBasics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution offers a broad view of evolutionary biology and medicine. The book is written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field. From evolutionary theory, to cultural evolution, this book fills gaps in the readers’ knowledge from various backgrounds and introduces them to thought leaders in human evolution research. Offers comprehensive coverage of the wide ranging field of human evolution Written for a non-expert audience, providing

Human Evolutionary Biology

Human Evolutionary Biology
  • Author : Michael P. Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release : 29 July 2010
GET THIS BOOKHuman Evolutionary Biology

Wide-ranging and inclusive, this text provides an invaluable review of an expansive selection of topics in human evolution, variation and adaptability for professionals and students in biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, medical sciences and psychology. The chapters are organized around four broad themes, with sections devoted to phenotypic and genetic variation within and between human populations, reproductive physiology and behavior, growth and development, and human health from evolutionary and ecological perspectives. An introductory section provides readers with the historical, theoretical and

The Primate Origins of Human Nature

The Primate Origins of Human Nature
  • Author : Carel P. Van Schaik
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 26 January 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Primate Origins of Human Nature

The Primate Origins of Human Nature (Volume 3 in The Foundations of Human Biology series) blends several elements from evolutionary biology as applied to primate behavioral ecology and primate psychology, classical physical anthropology and evolutionary psychology of humans. However, unlike similar books, it strives to define the human species relative to our living and extinct relatives, and thus highlights uniquely derived human features. The book features a truly multi-disciplinary, multi-theory, and comparative species approach to subjects not usually presented in textbooks

Teaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science

Teaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science
  • Author : National Academy of Sciences,Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education,Board on Science Education,Working Group on Teaching Evolution
  • Publisher : National Academies Press
  • Release : 06 May 1998
GET THIS BOOKTeaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science

Today many school students are shielded from one of the most important concepts in modern science: evolution. In engaging and conversational style, Teaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science provides a well-structured framework for understanding and teaching evolution. Written for teachers, parents, and community officials as well as scientists and educators, this book describes how evolution reveals both the great diversity and similarity among the Earth's organisms; it explores how scientists approach the question of evolution; and it illustrates

How We Do It

How We Do It
  • Author : Robert Martin
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release : 11 June 2013
GET THIS BOOKHow We Do It

Despite our seemingly endless fascination with sex and parenting, the origins of our reproductive lives remain a mystery. Why are a quarter of a billion sperm cells needed to fertilize one egg? Are women really fertile for only a few days each month? How long should women breast-feed? In How We Do It, primatologist Robert Martin draws on forty years of research to locate the origins of everything from sex cells to baby care—and to reveal what's really “natural”

The Basics of Evolution

The Basics of Evolution
  • Author : Anne Wanjie
  • Publisher : The Rosen Publishing Group
  • Release : 15 July 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Basics of Evolution

This compelling text examines evolution, its definition, the scientific evidence that evolution has taken place, natural selection, Darwin's Origin of Species, genetics and evolution, population genetics, patterns in evolution and species concepts, the story of life and geological time, and human evolution. The easy-to-follow narrative offers students additional biological information in sidebars, such as "Closeup" boxes that give details about main concepts, "Try This" boxes that provide safe experiments for readers to perform, "What Do You Think?" panels that challenge

Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine

Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine
  • Author : Laurence A. Cole,Peter R. Kramer
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 13 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKHuman Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine

Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine is a unique perspective that draws together human biology, physiology, biochemistry, nutrition, and cell biology in one comprehensive volume. In this way, it is uniquely qualified to address the needs of the emerging field of humanology, a holistic approach to understanding the biology of humans and how they are distinguished from other animals. Coverage starts with human anatomy and physiology and the details of the workings of all parts of the male and female

Sapiens

Sapiens
  • Author : Yuval Noah Harari
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 28 October 2014
GET THIS BOOKSapiens

NATIONAL BESTSELLER NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe

A Pocket History of Human Evolution

A Pocket History of Human Evolution
  • Author : Silvana Condemi,Franois Savatier
  • Publisher : The Experiment
  • Release : 01 November 2019
GET THIS BOOKA Pocket History of Human Evolution

Why aren’t we more like other apes? How did we win the evolutionary race? Find out how “wise” Homo sapiens really are. Prehistory has never been more exciting: New discoveries are overturning long-held theories left and right. Stone tools in Australia date back 65,000 years—a time when, we once thought, the first Sapiens had barely left Africa. DNA sequencing has unearthed a new hominid group—the Denisovans—and confirmed that crossbreeding with them (and Neanderthals) made Homo sapiens who

The Evolution of the Human Head

The Evolution of the Human Head
  • Author : Daniel Lieberman
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release : 30 July 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Evolution of the Human Head

Dan Lieberman has written an innovative, exhaustively researched and carefully argued book dealing with the evolution of the human head. In it he addresses three interrelated questions. First, why does the human head look the way it does? Second, why did these transformations occur? And third, how is something as complex and vital as the head so variable and evolvable? This book addresses these questions in three sections. The first set of chapters review how human and ape heads grow,

Understanding Evolution

Understanding Evolution
  • Author : Kostas Kampourakis
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release : 03 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKUnderstanding Evolution

Bringing together conceptual obstacles and core concepts of evolutionary theory, this book presents evolution as straightforward and intuitive.

Evolution

Evolution
  • Author : Sherrie Lynne Lyons
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 30 July 2021
GET THIS BOOKEvolution

Evolution: The Basics is an engaging introduction to the history, development and science of the theory of evolution. Beginning pre-Darwin and concluding with the latest research and controversies, readers are introduced to the origins of the idea of evolution, the ways in which it has developed and been adapted over time and the science underpinning it all. Topics addressed include: • early theories of evolution • the impact of Darwin's On the Origin of Species • the discovery of genetics and Mendel's experiments •

Evolution

Evolution
  • Author : David Zeigler
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 14 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKEvolution

Evolution: Components and Mechanisms introduces the many recent discoveries and insights that have added to the discipline of organic evolution, and combines them with the key topics needed to gain a fundamental understanding of the mechanisms of evolution. Each chapter covers an important topic or factor pertinent to a modern understanding of evolutionary theory, allowing easy access to particular topics for either study or review. Many chapters are cross-referenced. Modern evolutionary theory has expanded significantly within only the past two

Human Genetics: The Basics

Human Genetics: The Basics
  • Author : Ricki Lewis
  • Publisher : Garland Science
  • Release : 06 October 2010
GET THIS BOOKHuman Genetics: The Basics

Human genetics has blossomed from an obscure branch of biological science and occasional explanation for exceedingly rare disorders to a field all of its own that affects everyone. Human Genetics: The Basics introduces the key questions and issues in this emerging field, including: The common ancestry of all humanity The role of genes in sickness and health Debates over the use of genetic technology Written in an engaging, narrative manner, this concise introduction is an ideal starting point for anyone