Basics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution offers a broad view of evolutionary biology and medicine. The book is written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field. From evolutionary theory, to cultural evolution, this book fills gaps in the readers’ knowledge from various backgrounds and introduces them to thought leaders in human evolution research. Offers comprehensive coverage of the wide ranging field of human evolution Written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field Provides expertise from leading minds in the field Allows the reader the ability to gain exposure to various topics in one publication

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Michael P Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Pages : 584 pages
  • ISBN : 0128026936
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKBasics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution
  • Author : Michael P Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 24 July 2015
GET THIS BOOKBasics in Human Evolution

Basics in Human Evolution offers a broad view of evolutionary biology and medicine. The book is written for a non-expert audience, providing accessible and convenient content that will appeal to numerous readers across the interdisciplinary field. From evolutionary theory, to cultural evolution, this book fills gaps in the readers’ knowledge from various backgrounds and introduces them to thought leaders in human evolution research. Offers comprehensive coverage of the wide ranging field of human evolution Written for a non-expert audience, providing

Human Evolutionary Biology

Human Evolutionary Biology
  • Author : Michael P. Muehlenbein
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release : 29 July 2010
GET THIS BOOKHuman Evolutionary Biology

Wide-ranging and inclusive, this text provides an invaluable review of an expansive selection of topics in human evolution, variation and adaptability for professionals and students in biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, medical sciences and psychology. The chapters are organized around four broad themes, with sections devoted to phenotypic and genetic variation within and between human populations, reproductive physiology and behavior, growth and development, and human health from evolutionary and ecological perspectives. An introductory section provides readers with the historical, theoretical and

Principles of Human Evolution

Principles of Human Evolution
  • Author : Robert Andrew Foley,Roger Lewin
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 03 May 2013
GET THIS BOOKPrinciples of Human Evolution

Principles of Human Evolution presents an in-depthintroduction to paleoanthropology and the study of human evolution.Focusing on the fundamentals of evolutionary theory and how theseapply to ecological, molecular genetic, paleontological andarcheological approaches to important questions in the field, thistimely textbook will help students gain a perspective on humanevolution in the context of modern biological thinking. The second edition of this successful text features the additionof Robert Foley, a leading researcher in Human EvolutionaryStudies, to the writing team. Strong emphasis on

Not By Genes Alone

Not By Genes Alone
  • Author : Peter J. Richerson,Robert Boyd
  • Publisher : University of Chicago Press
  • Release : 20 June 2008
GET THIS BOOKNot By Genes Alone

Humans are a striking anomaly in the natural world. While we are similar to other mammals in many ways, our behavior sets us apart. Our unparalleled ability to adapt has allowed us to occupy virtually every habitat on earth using an incredible variety of tools and subsistence techniques. Our societies are larger, more complex, and more cooperative than any other mammal's. In this stunning exploration of human adaptation, Peter J. Richerson and Robert Boyd argue that only a Darwinian theory

Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine

Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine
  • Author : Laurence A. Cole,Peter R. Kramer
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 13 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKHuman Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine

Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine is a unique perspective that draws together human biology, physiology, biochemistry, nutrition, and cell biology in one comprehensive volume. In this way, it is uniquely qualified to address the needs of the emerging field of humanology, a holistic approach to understanding the biology of humans and how they are distinguished from other animals. Coverage starts with human anatomy and physiology and the details of the workings of all parts of the male and female

Religion in Human Evolution

Religion in Human Evolution
  • Author : Robert N. Bellah
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release : 15 September 2011
GET THIS BOOKReligion in Human Evolution

This ambitious book probes our biological past to discover the kinds of lives that human beings have imagined were worth living. Bellah’s theory goes deep into cultural and genetic evolution to identify a range of capacities (communal dancing, storytelling, theorizing) whose emergence made religious development possible in the first millennium BCE.

Narratives of Human Evolution

Narratives of Human Evolution
  • Author : Misia Landau
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release : 01 January 1993
GET THIS BOOKNarratives of Human Evolution

Aims to uncover a hidden level of agreement among theories of human evolution. Analyzing classic texts on evolution by Darwin and Keith as well as relatively recent accounts by Dart, Robinson and Tobias, the book reveals that they have a common narrative form based on the universal hero tale.

Evolution: The Basics

Evolution: The Basics
  • Author : Sherrie Lyons
  • Publisher : Taylor & Francis
  • Release : 27 April 2012
GET THIS BOOKEvolution: The Basics

Evolution: The Basics is an engaging introduction to the history, development and science of the theory of evolution. Beginning pre-Darwin and concluding with the latest research and controversies, readers are introduced to the origins of the idea of evolution, the ways in which it has developed and been adapted over time and the science underpinning it all. Topics addressed include: • early theories of evolution • the impact of Darwin’s On the Origin of Species • the discovery of genetics and Mendel’

The 10,000 Year Explosion

The 10,000 Year Explosion
  • Author : Gregory Cochran,Henry Harpending
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release : 27 January 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe 10,000 Year Explosion

Resistance to malaria. Blue eyes. Lactose tolerance. What do all of these traits have in common? Every one of them has emerged in the last 10,000 years. Scientists have long believed that the “great leap forward” that occurred some 40,000 to 50,000 years ago in Europe marked end of significant biological evolution in humans. In this stunningly original account of our evolutionary history, top scholars Gregory Cochran and Henry Harpending reject this conventional wisdom and reveal that the human species has undergone a

The Evolution of the Human Head

The Evolution of the Human Head
  • Author : Daniel Lieberman
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release : 19 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Evolution of the Human Head

Dan Lieberman has written an innovative, exhaustively researched and carefully argued book dealing with the evolution of the human head. In it he addresses three interrelated questions. First, why does the human head look the way it does? Second, why did these transformations occur? And third, how is something as complex and vital as the head so variable and evolvable? This book addresses these questions in three sections. The first set of chapters review how human and ape heads grow,

Teaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science

Teaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science
  • Author : National Academy of Sciences,Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education,Board on Science Education,Working Group on Teaching Evolution
  • Publisher : National Academies Press
  • Release : 06 May 1998
GET THIS BOOKTeaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science

Today many school students are shielded from one of the most important concepts in modern science: evolution. In engaging and conversational style, Teaching About Evolution and the Nature of Science provides a well-structured framework for understanding and teaching evolution. Written for teachers, parents, and community officials as well as scientists and educators, this book describes how evolution reveals both the great diversity and similarity among the Earth's organisms; it explores how scientists approach the question of evolution; and it illustrates

Sapiens

Sapiens
  • Author : Yuval Noah Harari
  • Publisher : Signal
  • Release : 28 October 2014
GET THIS BOOKSapiens

NATIONAL BESTSELLER NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe

Evolutionary Neuroscience

Evolutionary Neuroscience
  • Author : Jon H. Kaas
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 30 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKEvolutionary Neuroscience

Evolutionary Neuroscience, Second Edition, is a collection of chapters on brain evolution that combines selected topics from the recent comprehensive reference, Evolution of Nervous Systems (Elsevier, Academic Press, 2017, 9780128040423). The selected chapters cover a broad range of topics, from historical theory, to the most recent deductions from comparative studies of brains. The articles are organized in sections focused on history, concepts and theory, the evolution of brains from early vertebrates to present-day fishes, amphibians, reptiles and birds, the evolution of mammalian