Can t We Talk about Something More Pleasant

#1 New York Times Bestseller 2014 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST In her first memoir, New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. When it came to her elderly mother and father, Roz held to the practices of denial, avoidance, and distraction. But when Elizabeth Chast climbed a ladder to locate an old souvenir from the “crazy closet”-with predictable results-the tools that had served Roz well through her parents' seventies, eighties, and into their early nineties could no longer be deployed. While the particulars are Chast-ian in their idiosyncrasies-an anxious father who had relied heavily on his wife for stability as he slipped into dementia and a former assistant principal mother whose overbearing personality had sidelined Roz for decades-the themes are universal: adult children accepting a parental role; aging and unstable parents leaving a family home for an institution; dealing with uncomfortable physical intimacies; managing logistics; and hiring strangers to provide the most personal care. An amazing portrait of two lives at their end and an only child coping as best she can, Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant will show the full range of Roz Chast's talent as cartoonist and storyteller.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Roz Chast
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Pages : 240 pages
  • ISBN : 1620406381
  • Rating : 4/5 from 61 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKCan t We Talk about Something More Pleasant

Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?

Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?
  • Author : Roz Chast
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 06 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKCan't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?

#1 New York Times Bestseller 2014 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST In her first memoir, New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents. When it came to her elderly mother

Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?

Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?
  • Author : Roz Chast
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury USA
  • Release : 13 September 2016
GET THIS BOOKCan't We Talk about Something More Pleasant?

#1 New York Times Bestseller 2014 National Book Award Finalist Winner of the inaugural 2014 Kirkus Prize in nonfiction Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award Winner of the 2014 Books for a Better Life Award Winner of the 2015 Reuben Award from National Cartoonists Society In her first memoir, New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a

You Can Only Yell at Me for One Thing at a Time

You Can Only Yell at Me for One Thing at a Time
  • Author : Patricia Marx
  • Publisher : Celadon Books
  • Release : 14 January 2020
GET THIS BOOKYou Can Only Yell at Me for One Thing at a Time

The perfect Valentine’s Day or anniversary gift: An illustrated collection of love and relationship advice from New Yorker writer Patricia Marx, with illustrations from New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast. Everyone’s heard the old advice for a healthy relationship: Never go to bed angry. Play hard to get. Sexual favors in exchange for cleaning up the cat vomit is a good and fair trade. Okay, not that last one. It’s one of the tips in You Can Only

What to Do When I'm Gone

What to Do When I'm Gone
  • Author : Suzy Hopkins
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 03 April 2018
GET THIS BOOKWhat to Do When I'm Gone

A mother's advice to her daughter--a guide to daily living, both practical and sublime--with full-color illustrations throughout. One sleepless night while she was in her early twenties, illustrator/writer Hallie Bateman had a painful realization: her mom would die, and after she died she would be gone. The prospect was devastating, and also scary--how would she navigate the world without the person who gave her life? She thought about all the motherly advice she would miss--advice that could help her

Special Exits

Special Exits
  • Author : Joyce Farmer
  • Publisher : Fantagraphics Books
  • Release : 03 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKSpecial Exits

Joyce Farmer's memoir chronicles the decline of the author's parents' health, their relationship with one another and with their daughter, and how they cope with the day-to-day emotional fragility of the most taxing time of their lives. Joyce Farmer, best known for co-creating the Tits 'n Clits comics anthology in the 1970s, a feminist response to the rampant misogyny in underground comix, spent 11 years crafting Special Exits, a graphic memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home or Harvey

Going into Town

Going into Town
  • Author : Roz Chast
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 03 October 2017
GET THIS BOOKGoing into Town

Washington Post "10 Best Graphic Novels of the Year" New York Magazine "The Year's Most Giftable Coffee Table Books" Newsday "Best Fall Books" The Verge "The Ten Best Comics of the Year" An Indie Next Pick Winner of the New York City Book Award From the #1 NYT bestselling author of Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant?, Roz Chast, an "absolutely laugh-out-loud hysterical" (AP) illustrated ode/guide/thank-you to Manhattan. New Yorker cartoonist and NYT bestselling author Roz Chast, native Brooklynite-turned-suburban

And Now I Spill the Family Secrets

And Now I Spill the Family Secrets
  • Author : Margaret Kimball
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 20 April 2021
GET THIS BOOKAnd Now I Spill the Family Secrets

In the spirit of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home and Roz Chast’s Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?, Margaret Kimball’s AND NOW I SPILL THE FAMILY SECRETS begins in the aftermath of a tragedy. In 1988, when Kimball is only four years old, her mother attempts suicide on Mother’s Day—and this becomes one of many things Kimball’s family never speaks about. As she searches for answers nearly thirty years later, Kimball embarks on a

The Age of Dignity

The Age of Dignity
  • Author : Ai-jen Poo,Ariane Conrad
  • Publisher : New Press, The
  • Release : 17 March 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Age of Dignity

One of Time’s 100 most influential people “shines a new light on the need for a holistic approach to caregiving in America . . . Timely and hopeful” (Maria Shriver). In The Age of Dignity, thought leader and activist Ai-jen Poo offers a wake-up call about the statistical reality that will affect us all: Fourteen percent of our population is now over sixty-five; by 2030 that ratio will be one in five. In fact, our fastest-growing demographic is the eighty-five-plus age group—over five

Red Rock Baby Candy

Red Rock Baby Candy
  • Author : Shira Spector
  • Publisher : Fantagraphics Books
  • Release : 23 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKRed Rock Baby Candy

Shira Spector, whose drawing is visceral, symbolic and naturalistic, literally paints a vivid portrait of the most eventful 10 years of her life, encompassing her tenacious struggle to get pregnant, the emotional turmoil of her father’s cancer diagnosis and eventual death, and her recollections of past relationships with her parents and her partner. Set in a kaleidoscope of Montreal and Toronto, Red Rock Baby Candy begins in subtle, tonal shades of black ink and introduces color slowly over the next 50

The Best We Could Do

The Best We Could Do
  • Author : Thi Bui
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 07 March 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Best We Could Do

National bestseller 2017 National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) Finalist ABA Indies Introduce Winter / Spring 2017 Selection Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Spring 2017 Selection ALA 2018 Notable Books Selection An intimate and poignant graphic novel portraying one family’s journey from war-torn Vietnam, from debut author Thi Bui. This beautifully illustrated and emotional story is an evocative memoir about the search for a better future and a longing for the past. Exploring the anguish of immigration and the lasting effects that displacement has

The Best American Comics 2016

The Best American Comics 2016
  • Author : Roz Chast,Bill Kartalopoulos
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 04 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Best American Comics 2016

“There’s something thrilling about seeing people invent new ways to tell their story. To me, it’s proof that the art form of comics is healthy: it lives and grows and reinvents itself. It’s alive!” –Roz Chast, from the Introduction FEATURING Lynda Barry, Kate Beaton, Cece Bell, Geneviève Elverum, Ben Katchor, John Porcellino, Joe Sacco, Adrian Tomine, Chris Ware, Julia Wertz, and others Roz Chast, guest editor, was born in Brooklyn, New York. Her cartoons began appearing

Ex Libris

Ex Libris
  • Author : Michiko Kakutani
  • Publisher : Clarkson Potter
  • Release : 03 December 2021
GET THIS BOOKEx Libris

"From "the most powerful book critic in the English-speaking world" (Vanity Fair) comes 100 personal, thought-provoking essays of the life-changing books she wouldn't want you to miss--beautifully illustrated throughout"--

How to Win Friends and Influence People

How to Win Friends and Influence People
  • Author : Dale Carnegie
  • Publisher : Prabhat Prakashan
  • Release : 02 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKHow to Win Friends and Influence People

In the present book, How to Win Friends and Influence People, Dale Carnegie says, “You can make someone want to do what you want them to do by seeing the situation from the other person’s point of view and arousing in the other person an eager want.” You learn how to make people like you, win people over to your way of thinking, and change people without causing offense or arousing resentment. For instance, “let the other person feel

The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning

The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning
  • Author : Margareta Magnusson
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 02 January 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning

A charming, practical, and unsentimental approach to putting a home in order while reflecting on the tiny joys that make up a long life. In Sweden there is a kind of decluttering called döstädning, dö meaning “death” and städning meaning “cleaning.” This surprising and invigorating process of clearing out unnecessary belongings can be undertaken at any age or life stage but should be done sooner than later, before others have to do it for you. In The

Coping Skills

Coping Skills
  • Author : John Cuneo
  • Publisher : Fantagraphics Books
  • Release : 27 April 2021
GET THIS BOOKCoping Skills

When John Cuneo isn't gracing the cover of The New Yorker, being featured in Esquire, or winning every illustration award known to humankind, he fills a plastic container with drawings labeled "Loose Sketches." He explains that these pieces are not categorized by anything else than "it simply means they are untethered." And, boy, are they! Coping Skills collects these scenes of domesticated manatees, climate change, sex — lots and lots of sex — and many more of these "helpful drawings" by one