City of God

Cidade de Deus, the City of God ... welcome to one of Rio's most notorious slums. A place where the streets are awash with drugs, where violence can erupt at any moment, over drugs, money ... and love... but also where the samba beat rocks til dawn, where the women are the most beautiful on earth, and where one young man wants to escape his background and become a photographer. Paulo Lins was born in Rio de Janeiro and at age seven moved to the 'City of God' housing project. He escaped the cycle of violence there to become an internationally celebrated writer, and still lives in Rio. This novel is the result of extended research in the housing project where Lins was raised. He spent eight years interviewing people and researching the drug trafficking and gang warfare that marked the history of the neighbourhood in the 1970s and 80s. Based on a true story, this is a sprawling, magnificently told epic about the history of gang life in Rio's favelas. The original novel of the hugely acclaimed film.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Paulo Lins
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Pages : 496 pages
  • ISBN : 1408827344
  • Rating : 5/5 from 1 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKCity of God

City of God

City of God
  • Author : Paulo Lins
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release : 03 November 2011
GET THIS BOOKCity of God

Cidade de Deus, the City of God ... welcome to one of Rio's most notorious slums. A place where the streets are awash with drugs, where violence can erupt at any moment, over drugs, money ... and love... but also where the samba beat rocks til dawn, where the women are the most beautiful on earth, and where one young man wants to escape his background and become a photographer. Paulo Lins was born in Rio de Janeiro and at age seven

City of God

City of God
  • Author : Sara Miles
  • Publisher : Canterbury Press
  • Release : 16 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKCity of God

City of God is a moving, prophetic account of the divine in daily life. It tells the story of one day in Sara’s ministry: Ash Wednesday, when she carries ashes out of church to public places. Sara explores the profound meanings set loose by touching the forehead of a stranger and paints an unforgettable picture of the search for God all around us.

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God
  • Author : Juliana Barbassa
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 21 June 2016
GET THIS BOOKDancing with the Devil in the City of God

"In the tradition of Detroit: An American Autopsy and Maximum City comes a deeply reported and beautifully written biography of the seductive and chaotic city of Rio de Janeiro from prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa. Juliana Barbassa moved a great deal throughout her life, but Rio was always home. After twenty-one years abroad, she returned to find the city that once ravaged by inflation, drug wars, corrupt leaders, and dying neighborhoods was now on the precipice of a

City of God

City of God
  • Author : E.L. Doctorow
  • Publisher : Random House Trade Paperbacks
  • Release : 19 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKCity of God

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER With brilliant and audacious strokes, E. L. Doctorow creates a breathtaking collage of memories, events, visions, and provocative thought, all centered on an idea of the modern reality of God. At the heart of this stylistically daring tour de force is a detective story about a cross that vanishes from a rundown Episcopal church in lower Manhattan only to reappear on the roof of an Upper West Side synagogue. Intrigued by the mystery—and by the

The City of God Books 11-22

The City of God Books 11-22
  • Author : Saint Augustine
  • Publisher : New City Press
  • Release : 18 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe City of God Books 11-22

Along with his Confessions, The City of God is undoubtedly St. Augustine’s most influential work. In the context of what begins as a lengthy critique of classic Roman religion and a defense of Christianity, Augustine touches upon numerous topics, including the role of grace, the original state of humanity, the possibility of waging a just war, the ideal form of government, and the nature of heaven and hell. But his major concern is the difference between the City of

City of God

City of God
  • Author : Kevin Lewis O'Neill
  • Publisher : Univ of California Press
  • Release : 09 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKCity of God

"A significant study of religion and power by a probing and caring anthropologist. Full of surprising insights, City of God is a must-read for anyone concerned with the possibilities and limits of political theology in a volatile 21st century."--João Biehl, author of Vita: Life in a Zone of Social Abandonment "City of God is a rich and gracefully written ethnography of Pentecostal Christians in today's Guatemala which shows how a disciplined self, constituted in daily devotional activities, is

Transgression

Transgression
  • Author : Randall Scott Ingermanson
  • Publisher : Harvest House Pub
  • Release : 09 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKTransgression

While playing a virtual reality game, Rivka Meyers, an American Messianic Jew visiting Israel for an archaeological dig, becomes trapped in ancient Jerusalem, involved in a plot to destroy the spread of Christianity.

City of God

City of God
  • Author : Beverly Swerling
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 09 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKCity of God

New York's first Jewish lawyer battles such challenges as corrupt Tammany politicians, evangelical preachers, and opium-smoking doctors in the years prior to the Civil War.

Augustine's City of God

Augustine's City of God
  • Author : James Wetzel
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release : 04 October 2012
GET THIS BOOKAugustine's City of God

Augustine's City of God has profoundly influenced the course of Western political philosophy, but there are few guides to its labyrinthine argumentation that hold together the delicate interplay of religion and philosophy in Augustine's thought. The essays in this volume offer a rich examination of those themes, using the central, contested distinction between a heavenly city on earthly pilgrimage and an earthly city bound for perdition to elaborate aspects of Augustine's political and moral vision. Topics discussed include Augustine's notion

Stories from the City of God

Stories from the City of God
  • Author : Pier Paolo Pasolini
  • Publisher : Other Press, LLC
  • Release : 21 May 2019
GET THIS BOOKStories from the City of God

Now in paperback, a collection of the legendary filmmaker's short fiction and nonfiction from 1950 to 1966, in which we see the machinations of the creative mind in post-World War II Rome. In a portrait of the city at once poignant and intimate, we find artistic witness to the customs, dialect, squalor, and beauty of the ancient imperial capital that has succumbed to modern warfare, marginalization, and mass culture. The sketches portray the impoverished masses that Pasolini calls "the sub-proletariat," those who