Crow Killer New Edition

The movie Jeremiah Johnson introduced millions to the legendary mountain man, John Johnson. The real Johnson was a far cry from the Redford version. Standing 6'2" in his stocking feet and weighing nearly 250 pounds, he was a mountain man among mountain men, one of the toughest customers on the western frontier. As the story goes, one morning in 1847 Johnson returned to his Rocky Mountain trapper's cabin to find the remains of his murdered Indian wife and her unborn child. He vowed vengeance against an entire Indian tribe. Crow Killer tells of that one-man, decades-long war to avenge his beloved. Whether seen as a realistic glimpse of a long ago, fierce frontier world, or as a mythic retelling of the many tales spun around and by Johnson, Crow Killer is unforgettable. This new edition, redesigned for the first time, features an introduction by western frontier expert Nathan E. Bender and a glossary of Indian tribes.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Raymond W. Thorp, Jr.
  • Publisher : Indiana University Press
  • Pages : 208 pages
  • ISBN : 0253021227
  • Rating : 4/5 from 5 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKCrow Killer New Edition

Crow Killer, New Edition

Crow Killer, New Edition
  • Author : Raymond W. Thorp, Jr.,Robert Bunker
  • Publisher : Indiana University Press
  • Release : 04 January 2016
GET THIS BOOKCrow Killer, New Edition

The movie Jeremiah Johnson introduced millions to the legendary mountain man, John Johnson. The real Johnson was a far cry from the Redford version. Standing 6'2" in his stocking feet and weighing nearly 250 pounds, he was a mountain man among mountain men, one of the toughest customers on the western frontier. As the story goes, one morning in 1847 Johnson returned to his Rocky Mountain trapper's cabin to find the remains of his murdered Indian wife and her unborn child. He

Jim Bridger - Mountain Man

Jim Bridger - Mountain Man
  • Author : Stanley Vestal
  • Publisher : Read Books Ltd
  • Release : 16 April 2013
GET THIS BOOKJim Bridger - Mountain Man

This antiquarian volume contains a detailed and insightful biography of Jim Bridger, written by Stanley Vestal. Vestal is well-known for his books about America. In Jim Bridger he paints a bold and authentic picture of a doughty explorer and of the richness of the American nation when it was still young. Full of colourful anecdote and fascinating insights into the life of Jim Bridger, this text will appeal to those with an interest in this noteworthy explorer, and it would

The Never-Ending Lives of Liver-Eating Johnson

The Never-Ending Lives of Liver-Eating Johnson
  • Author : D. J. Herda
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release : 01 June 2019
GET THIS BOOKThe Never-Ending Lives of Liver-Eating Johnson

From Farmer and Sailor to Mountain Man, Crow Killer, and Town Sheriff, One man’s reputation lives past all others When it came to western mountain men, no one on earth ever matched the physical prowess or will to survive of John “Liver-Eating” Johnson. Throughout his life, John Johnston was known by several names, including “Crow Killer” and “Liver-Eating Johnson” (without the “t”), names he earned through his penchant for killing Crow Indians before cutting out and eating their livers.

Bear Claw

Bear Claw
  • Author : Alfred Dennis
  • Publisher : Crow Killer
  • Release : 02 September 2019
GET THIS BOOKBear Claw

Western, Native American Fiction comes alive in Alfred Dennis' fourth book of the Crow Killer Series. Plenty of action, adventure, and romance follow Crow Killer as he traverses the vast wilderness of the Rocky Mountains. His friends would always be by his side in battle, but were they enough to combat the crazed Blackfoot called Bear Claw?

Jedediah Smith

Jedediah Smith
  • Author : Barton H. Barbour
  • Publisher : University of Oklahoma Press
  • Release : 10 September 2012
GET THIS BOOKJedediah Smith

Mountain man and fur trader Jedediah Smith casts a heroic shadow. He was the first Anglo-American to travel overland to California via the Southwest, and he roamed through more of the West than anyone else of his era. His adventures quickly became the stuff of legend. Using new information and sifting fact from folklore, Barton H. Barbour now offers a fresh look at this dynamic figure. Barbour tells how a youthful Smith was influenced by notable men who were his

The Crow Girl

The Crow Girl
  • Author : Erik Axl Sund
  • Publisher : Random House Canada
  • Release : 14 June 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Crow Girl

A #1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER The newest crime novel sensation: In this shocking and suspenseful psychological thriller, a police detective must confront a monstrous evil that forces her to question how much suffering one person can inflict upon another before creating a monster. In a Stockholm city park, police discover the mutilated body of a young boy. Detective Superintendent Jeanette Kihlberg heads the investigation, battling an apathetic prosecutor and a bureaucratic police force unwilling to devote resources to solving the murder of

Blood and Thunder

Blood and Thunder
  • Author : Hampton Sides
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 09 October 2007
GET THIS BOOKBlood and Thunder

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • From the author of Ghost Soldiers comes a magnificent history of the American conquest of the West—"a story full of authority and color, truth and prophecy" (The New York Times Book Review). In the summer of 1846, the Army of the West marched through Santa Fe, en route to invade and occupy the Western territories claimed by Mexico. Fueled by the new ideology of “Manifest Destiny,” this land grab would lead to a decades-long battle between the United

Hugh Glass

Hugh Glass
  • Author : Bruce Bradley
  • Publisher : CreateSpace
  • Release : 15 July 2015
GET THIS BOOKHugh Glass

HE WAS A WHITE MAN, WHOSE STORY WAS SO POWERFUL IT BECAME A TRADITION AMONG THE INDIANS OF THE AMERICAN PLAINS! For most of his thirty-seven years, Hugh Glass lived his life as an ordinary seaman, but in 1817 his ship was captured and he was given the choice to join a pirate crew or die. From that time on his life became an adventure that ranged from the edges of the Caribbean to the heart of the American wilderness! BASED

Native Chiefs and Famous Métis

Native Chiefs and Famous Métis
  • Author : Holly Quan
  • Publisher : Heritage House Publishing Co
  • Release : 01 February 2011
GET THIS BOOKNative Chiefs and Famous Métis

These inspiring true stories illuminate the courage and wisdom of five 19th-century Native leaders and famous Métis who fought against impossible odds to preserve the culture and rights of their people. The visionary Cree leader Big Bear sought peace and a better life, only to be hunted mercilessly and imprisoned unjustly. Jerry Potts, the legendary North West Mounted Police guide and interpreter, helped smash the whisky trade and negotiate treaties. Persevering through sorrow and defeat, brave and steadfast men

The Merciful Crow

The Merciful Crow
  • Author : Margaret Owen
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
  • Release : 30 July 2019
GET THIS BOOKThe Merciful Crow

A Tor.com Best of 2019 Pick A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake—in The Merciful Crow. "Packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury...It's a ride that is wildly fun."—Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints "Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo

My Sixty Years on the Plains

My Sixty Years on the Plains
  • Author : William Thomas Hamilton
  • Publisher : Courier Dover Publications
  • Release : 21 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKMy Sixty Years on the Plains

Return to the Old West with this gritty autobiography of a longtime adventurer who spent his life trapping beavers; guiding hunters, soldiers, and settlers; and contending with Native Americans.

Spirit Gun of the West

Spirit Gun of the West
  • Author : Raymond Thorp
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release : 19 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKSpirit Gun of the West

Spirit Gun Of The West, first published in 1957, recounts the fascinating life of "Doc" William Frank Carver (1851-1927), renowned as a "Plainsman, Trapper, Buffalo Hunter, Medicine Chief Of The Santee Sioux, World's Champion Marksman, And Originator Of The American Wild West Show." From the Preface: Doc's life began in the era of American pioneering the West. As a youth he lived with the Santee Sioux, who had known and honored his grandfather, Jonathan Carver. From the plains of Illinois and

Still Life with Crows

Still Life with Crows
  • Author : Douglas Preston,Lincoln Child
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release : 01 July 2003
GET THIS BOOKStill Life with Crows

When a series of murders strikes small-town Kansas, FBI Special Agent Pendergast must track down a killer or a curse -- either way, no one is safe. A small Kansas town has turned into a killing ground. Is it a serial killer, a man with the need to destroy? Or is it a darker force, a curse upon the land? Amid golden cornfields, FBI Special Agent Pendergast discovers evil in the blood of America's heartland. No one is safe.

The Mountain Men

The Mountain Men
  • Author : George Laycock
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Mountain Men

To know how the West was really won, start with the exploits of these unsung mountain men who, like the legendary Jeremiah Johnson, were real buckskin survivalists. Preceded only by Lewis and Clark, beaver fur trappers roamed the river valleys and mountain ranges of the West, living on fish and game, fighting or trading with the Native Americans, and forever heading toward the untamed wilderness. In this story of rough, heroic men and their worlds, Laycock weaves historical facts and