Dead Wake

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania “Both terrifying and enthralling.”—Entertainment Weekly “Thrilling, dramatic and powerful.”—NPR “Thoroughly engrossing.”—George R.R. Martin On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants. The passengers were surprisingly at ease, even though Germany had declared the seas around Britain to be a war zone. For months, German U-boats had brought terror to the North Atlantic. But the Lusitania was one of the era’s great transatlantic “Greyhounds”—the fastest liner then in service—and her captain, William Thomas Turner, placed tremendous faith in the gentlemanly strictures of warfare that for a century had kept civilian ships safe from attack. Germany, however, was determined to change the rules of the game, and Walther Schwieger, the captain of Unterseeboot-20, was happy to oblige. Meanwhile, an ultra-secret British intelligence unit tracked Schwieger’s U-boat, but told no one. As U-20 and the Lusitania made their way toward Liverpool, an array of forces both grand and achingly small—hubris, a chance fog, a closely guarded secret, and more—all converged to produce one of the great disasters of history. It is a story that many of us think we know but don’t, and Erik Larson tells it thrillingly, switching between hunter and hunted while painting a larger portrait of America at the height of the Progressive Era. Full of glamour and suspense, Dead Wake brings to life a cast of evocative characters, from famed Boston bookseller Charles Lauriat to pioneering female architect Theodate Pope to President Woodrow Wilson, a man lost to grief, dreading the widening war but also captivated by the prospect of new love. Gripping and important, Dead Wake captures the sheer drama and emotional power of a disaster whose intimate details and true meaning have long been obscured by history. Finalist for the Washington State Book Award • One of the Best Books of the Year: The Washington Post, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Miami Herald, Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, LibraryReads, Indigo

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Crown
  • Pages : 480 pages
  • ISBN : 0553446754
  • Rating : 4/5 from 3891 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKDead Wake

Dead Wake

Dead Wake
  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Crown
  • Release : 10 March 2015
GET THIS BOOKDead Wake

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania “Both terrifying and enthralling.”—Entertainment Weekly “Thrilling, dramatic and powerful.”—NPR “Thoroughly engrossing.”—George R.R. Martin On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants. The passengers were surprisingly

Dead Wake

Dead Wake
  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Scribe Publications
  • Release : 25 March 2015
GET THIS BOOKDead Wake

WINNER OF THE 2015 GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS ‘BEST HISTORY AND BIOGRAPHY’ From the #1 New York Times bestselling author and master of narrative non-fiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania, published to coincide with the 100th anniversary of the disaster On May 1 1915, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants. The passengers were anxious. Germany had declared the

Dead Wake

Dead Wake
  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 12 March 2015
GET THIS BOOKDead Wake

On 1 May 1915, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool. The passengers - including a record number of children and infants - were anxious. Germany had declared the seas around Britain to be a war zone. For months, its submarines had brought terror to the North Atlantic. But the Lusitania's captain, William Thomas Turner, had faith in the gentlemanly terms of warfare that had, for a century, kept

Thunderstruck

Thunderstruck
  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Crown
  • Release : 24 October 2006
GET THIS BOOKThunderstruck

A true story of love, murder, and the end of the world’s “great hush.” In Thunderstruck, Erik Larson tells the interwoven stories of two men—Hawley Crippen, a very unlikely murderer, and Guglielmo Marconi, the obsessive creator of a seemingly supernatural means of communication—whose lives intersect during one of the greatest criminal chases of all time. Set in Edwardian London and on the stormy coasts of Cornwall, Cape Cod, and Nova Scotia, Thunderstruck evokes the dynamism of those

Wake Up Dead

Wake Up Dead
  • Author : Roger Smith
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
  • Release : 02 February 2010
GET THIS BOOKWake Up Dead

An amphetamine-fueled thriller about a bombshell American widow on the run in Cape Town's violent badlands—from a writer being compared to George Pelecanos and Richard Price A split-second decision with no second chance: get it wrong and you wake up dead. On a blowtorch-hot night in Cape Town, American ex-model Roxy Palmer and her gunrunner husband, Joe, are carjacked, leaving Joe lying in a pool of blood. As the carjackers make their getaway, Roxy makes a fateful choice that

Wake The Dead

Wake The Dead
  • Author : Dorothy Simpson
  • Publisher : Sphere
  • Release : 04 August 2016
GET THIS BOOKWake The Dead

A village fete shouldn't turn up too many murders for Inspector Luke Thanet to investigate. Even the death of the local MP's elderly mother doesn't seem at all suspicious. But, as Thanet soon discovers, Isobel Fairleigh did not die of natural causes. She was murdered, and every single person who was at the fete is a potential suspect. Or was the murderer someone closer to home? As Thanet and his deputy, Sergeant Mike Lineham, delve deeper into Isobel Fairleigh's past,

Wake Not the Dead

Wake Not the Dead
  • Author : Johann Ludwig Tieck
  • Publisher : Good Press
  • Release : 09 November 2021
GET THIS BOOKWake Not the Dead

"Wake Not the Dead" by Johann Ludwig Tieck. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone

My Father's Wake

My Father's Wake
  • Author : Kevin Toolis
  • Publisher : Da Capo Press
  • Release : 27 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKMy Father's Wake

An intimate, lyrical look at the ancient rite of the Irish wake--and the Irish way of overcoming our fear of death Death is a whisper for most of us. Instinctively we feel we should dim the lights, pull the curtains, and speak softly. But on a remote island off the coast of Ireland's County Mayo, death has a louder voice. Each day, along with reports of incoming Atlantic storms, the local radio runs a daily roll call of the recently

Wake Up Dead Man

Wake Up Dead Man
  • Author : Bruce Jackson
  • Publisher : University of Georgia Press
  • Release : 04 July 1999
GET THIS BOOKWake Up Dead Man

Making it in Hell, says Bruce Jackson, is the spirit behind the sixty-five work songs gathered in this eloquent dispatch from a brutal era of prison life in the Deep South. Through engagingly documented song arrangements and profiles of their singers, Jackson shows how such pieces as "Hammer Ring," "Ration Blues," "Yellow Gal," and "Jody's Got My Wife and Gone" are like no other folk music forms: they are distinctly African in heritage, diminished in power and meaning outside their

Lethal Passage

Lethal Passage
  • Author : Erik Larson
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 04 July 1995
GET THIS BOOKLethal Passage

Follows the journey of a handgun, from its manufacture through its violent odyssey into the hands of a disturbed teenager who uses it to kill a teacher, and raises painful questions about the legal and cultural realities of firearms. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.

To Wake the Dead

To Wake the Dead
  • Author : John Dickson Carr
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release : 25 March 2014
GET THIS BOOKTo Wake the Dead

Hailed by Agatha Christie as “the king of the art of misdirection,” John Dickson Carr presents a thrilling murder mystery that has the redoubtable Dr. Gideon Fell tracing clues from London to Sussex to South Africa Mystery novelist Christopher Kent accepts a friend’s outlandish bet and sets out to travel from Johannesburg to London with nothing but the cash in his wallet and the clothes on his back. He arrives with twenty-four hours to spare, his wallet and his

The Wake

The Wake
  • Author : Linden MacIntyre
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 27 August 2019
GET THIS BOOKThe Wake

NATIONAL BESTSELLER “Fascinating, infuriating, eloquent and cautionary.” —Postmedia A Globe and Mail, CBC Books and Maclean’s Book of the Year In the vein of Erik Larson’s Isaac’s Storm and Dead Wake comes an incredible true story of destruction and survival in Newfoundland by one of Canada’s best-known writers On November 18, 1929, a tsunami struck Newfoundland’s Burin Peninsula. Giant waves up to three storeys high hit the coast at a hundred kilometres per hour, flooding dozens of

Wake the Dead

Wake the Dead
  • Author : Monica Harris
  • Publisher : Walker
  • Release : 04 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKWake the Dead

Although he has been warned that he will wake the dead, Henry continues to make too much noise until the warning comes true, and then he must find a way to help the dead rest in peace again.