Devil in the Grove

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize “A must-read, cannot-put-down history.” — Thomas Friedman, New York Times Arguably the most important American lawyer of the twentieth century, Thurgood Marshall was on the verge of bringing the landmark suit Brown v. Board of Education before the U.S. Supreme Court when he became embroiled in a case that threatened to change the course of the civil rights movement and cost him his life. In 1949, Florida's orange industry was booming, and citrus barons got rich on the backs of cheap Jim Crow labor with the help of Sheriff Willis V. McCall, who ruled Lake County with murderous resolve. When a white seventeen-year-old girl cried rape, McCall pursued four young black men who dared envision a future for themselves beyond the groves. The Ku Klux Klan joined the hunt, hell-bent on lynching the men who came to be known as "the Groveland Boys." Associates thought it was suicidal for Marshall to wade into the "Florida Terror," but the young lawyer would not shrink from the fight despite continuous death threats against him. Drawing on a wealth of never-before-published material, including the FBI's unredacted Groveland case files, as well as unprecedented access to the NAACP's Legal Defense Fund files, Gilbert King shines new light on this remarkable civil rights crusader.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Gilbert King
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Pages : 464 pages
  • ISBN : 0062097717
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 24 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKDevil in the Grove

Devil in the Grove

Devil in the Grove
  • Author : Gilbert King
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 06 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKDevil in the Grove

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize “A must-read, cannot-put-down history.” — Thomas Friedman, New York Times Arguably the most important American lawyer of the twentieth century, Thurgood Marshall was on the verge of bringing the landmark suit Brown v. Board of Education before the U.S. Supreme Court when he became embroiled in a case that threatened to change the course of the civil rights movement and cost him his life. In 1949, Florida's orange industry was booming, and citrus barons got rich

Devil in the Grove

Devil in the Grove
  • Author : Gilbert King
  • Publisher : Harper Perennial
  • Release : 10 October 2017
GET THIS BOOKDevil in the Grove

* Winner of the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction * Nominated for a 2013 Edgar Award * Book of the Year (Non-fiction, 2012) The Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor From acclaimed, prize-winning author Gilbert King comes this gripping true story of racism, murder, rape, and the law—a stirring account that brings to light one of the most dramatic court cases in American history, and offers a rare and revealing portrait of Thurgood Marshall that the world has never seen before—now available in a

Beneath a Ruthless Sun

Beneath a Ruthless Sun
  • Author : Gilbert King
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 24 April 2018
GET THIS BOOKBeneath a Ruthless Sun

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY NPR and THE WASHINGTON POST "Compelling, insightful and important, Beneath a Ruthless Sun exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state and a nation. A fascinating examination of an injustice story all too familiar and still largely ignored, an engaging and essential read." --Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy From the author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning bestseller Devil in the Grove, the gripping true story of

Thurgood Marshall

Thurgood Marshall
  • Author : Juan Williams
  • Publisher : Crown
  • Release : 22 June 2011
GET THIS BOOKThurgood Marshall

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • The definitive biography of the great lawyer and Supreme Court justice, from the bestselling author of Eyes on the Prize “Magisterial . . . in Williams’ richly detailed portrait, Marshall emerges as a born rebel.”—Jack E. White, Time Thurgood Marshall was the twentieth century’s great architect of American race relations. His victory in the Brown v. Board of Education decision, the landmark Supreme Court case outlawing school segregation in the United States, would have made

Devil in the Mountain

Devil in the Mountain
  • Author : Simon Lamb
  • Publisher : Princeton University Press
  • Release : 23 July 2006
GET THIS BOOKDevil in the Mountain

Scientist Simon Lamb recounts his efforts to uncover the origins of the Andes Mountains, discussing what he and his team of geologists have learned about the mountains during their explorations of the region.

Highway of Tears

Highway of Tears
  • Author : Jessica McDiarmid
  • Publisher : Doubleday Canada
  • Release : 24 September 2019
GET THIS BOOKHighway of Tears

A searing and revelatory account of the missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls of Highway 16, and an indictment of the society that failed them. For decades, Indigenous women and girls have gone missing or been found murdered along an isolated stretch of highway in northwestern British Columbia. The highway is known as the Highway of Tears, and it has come to symbolize a national crisis. Journalist Jessica McDiarmid investigates the devastating effect these tragedies have had on the families

Toms River

Toms River
  • Author : Dan Fagin
  • Publisher : Bantam
  • Release : 19 March 2013
GET THIS BOOKToms River

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE • Winner of The New York Public Library’s Helen Bernstein Book Award • “A new classic of science reporting.”—The New York Times The riveting true story of a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, Toms River melds hard-hitting investigative reporting, a fascinating scientific detective story, and an unforgettable cast of characters into a sweeping narrative in the tradition of A Civil Action, The Emperor of All Maladies, and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. One

Young Thurgood

Young Thurgood
  • Author : Larry S. Gibson
  • Publisher : Prometheus Books
  • Release : 04 December 2012
GET THIS BOOKYoung Thurgood

Like the movie Marshall, this book--the only biography of Thurgood Marshall to be endorsed by Marshall’s immediate family--focuses on his early civil rights struggles and successes before Brown v. Board of Education. Thurgood Marshall was the most important American lawyer of the twentieth century. He transformed the nation's legal landscape by challenging the racial segregation that had relegated millions to second-class citizenship. He won twenty-nine of thirty-three cases before the United States Supreme Court, was a federal appeals court

Orange World and Other Stories

Orange World and Other Stories
  • Author : Karen Russell
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 05 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKOrange World and Other Stories

This book presents eight of the author's short stories. In "Bog Girl: A Romance," a story about first love, a young man falls in love with a two thousand year old girl that he's extracted from a mass of peat in a Northern European bog. In "The Prospectors," two opportunistic young women fleeing the Depression strike out for new territory, and find themselves fighting for their lives. In the title story, a new mother desperate to ensure her infant's safety

Showdown

Showdown
  • Author : Wil Haygood
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 14 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKShowdown

"The author of The Butler presents a revelatory biography of the first African-American Supreme Court justice--one of the giants of the civil rights movement, and one of the most transforming Supreme Court justices of the 20th century, "--Novelist.

The Devil I Know

The Devil I Know
  • Author : Claire Kilroy
  • Publisher : Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
  • Release : 28 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Devil I Know

In exile after being ousted from the family castle, recovering alcoholic Tristram St. Lawrence finds himself back in Dublin when an old acquaintance pitches a development project that his sponsor, a mysterious businessman, supports.

The Great Controversy

The Great Controversy
  • Author : Ellen G. White,General Press
  • Publisher : GENERAL PRESS
  • Release : 09 October 2019
GET THIS BOOKThe Great Controversy

Beginning with the destruction of Jerusalem and continuing through the persecutions of Christians in the Roman Empire, the apostasy of the Dark Ages, the shining light of the Reformation, and the worldwide religious awakening of the nineteenth century, this volume traces the conflict into the future, to the Second Coming of Jesus and the glories of the earth made new. In this concluding volume, the author powerfully points out the principles involved in the impending conflict and how each person

Bitter Brew

Bitter Brew
  • Author : William Knoedelseder
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 06 November 2012
GET THIS BOOKBitter Brew

“Bitter Brew deftly chronicles the contentious succession of kings in a uniquely American dynasty. You’ll never crack open a six again without thinking of this book.” —John Sayles, Director of Eight Men Out and author of A Moment in the Sun The creators of Budweiser and Michelob beers, the Anheuser-Busch company is one of the wealthiest, most colorful and enduring family dynasties in the history of American commerce. In Bitter Brew, critically acclaimed journalist William Knoedelseder tells the riveting,

The Devil Is Here in These Hills

The Devil Is Here in These Hills
  • Author : James Green
  • Publisher : Open Road + Grove/Atlantic
  • Release : 03 February 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Devil Is Here in These Hills

“The most comprehensive and comprehendible history of the West Virginia Coal War I’ve ever read” (John Sayles, writer and director of Matewan). On September 1, 1912, the largest, most protracted, and deadliest working class uprising in American history was waged in West Virginia. On one side were powerful corporations whose millions bought armed guards and political influence. On the other side were fifty thousand mine workers, the nation’s largest labor union, and the legendary “miners’ angel,” Mother Jones. The fight