Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film versions of the novel, stage adaptations, Sam Spade short stories, radio presentations, and even comics. Many of the discoveries here are previously unpublished. The book provides hundreds of rare documents and original source materials, including production notes for the three movie versions. Contributors include Dashiell Hammett himself, plus Jo Hammett, Richard Layman, Mary Astor, Joseph Shaw, Dorothy Parker, John Huston, Hal Wallis, Darryl F. Zanuck, Joe Gores, William F. Nolan, and more than fifty additional writers. It is illustrated with more than 200 photos, illustrations, and facsimiles. The book is a joy for fans of Hammett, Sam Spade, detective fiction, film noir, and the history of literature and cinema."--Publisher's website.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Richard Layman
  • Publisher : Vince Emery Prod
  • Pages : 359 pages
  • ISBN :
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKDiscovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

Discovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade
  • Author : Richard Layman
  • Publisher : Vince Emery Prod
  • Release : 01 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKDiscovering the Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade

"Dashiell Hammett's novel The Maltese Falcon is often named as one of the best twentieth-century novels. John Huston's film adaptation is one of the earliest examples of film noir. It made Humphrey Bogart a star, and was selected by the American Film Institute as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time. Now, Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade uncovers from institutional and private archives a wealth of treasures about Hammett's masterpiece, his detective Sam Spade, the three film

The Maltese Falcon

The Maltese Falcon
  • Author : Dashiell Hammett
  • Publisher : Good Press
  • Release : 24 December 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Maltese Falcon

"The Maltese Falcon" by Dashiell Hammett. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a

Spade & Archer

Spade & Archer
  • Author : Joe Gores
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 10 February 2009
GET THIS BOOKSpade & Archer

A wonderfully dark, pitch-perfect noir prequel to The Maltese Falcon, featuring Dashiell Hammett’s beloved detective, Sam Spade. It’s 1921—seven years before Sam Spade will solve the famous case of the Maltese Falcon. He’s just set up his own agency in San Francisco and he gets off to a quick start, working cases (he doesn’t do domestic) and hiring a bright young secretary named Effie Perrine. When he’s hired by a prominent San Francisco banker to

The Glass Key

The Glass Key
  • Author : Dashiell Hammett
  • Publisher : Good Press
  • Release : 31 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Glass Key

"The Glass Key" by Dashiell Hammett. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a

Lost Stories

Lost Stories
  • Author : Dashiell Hammett
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 March 2005
GET THIS BOOKLost Stories

The deluxe limited edition of Lost Stories by Dashiell Hammett was published months before the trade edition, making this limited edition the first book publication for several Hammett stories, and the first hardcover edition for all but 5 of the 21 stories. The deluxe collector's edition is limited to 195 hand-numbered copies, each signed by both Joe Gores and Vince Emery, and bound in cloth with a spine of Saderra leather. The book's spine and front cover are stamped with genuine gold, and

Red Harvest

Red Harvest
  • Author : Dashiell Hammett
  • Publisher : Good Press
  • Release : 31 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKRed Harvest

"Red Harvest" by Dashiell Hammett. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality

The Thin Man

The Thin Man
  • Author : Dashiell Hammett
  • Publisher : Good Press
  • Release : 31 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Thin Man

"The Thin Man" by Dashiell Hammett. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a

Murder 101

Murder 101
  • Author : Edward J. Rielly
  • Publisher : McFarland
  • Release : 23 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKMurder 101

This collection of essays examines how college professors teach the genre of detective fiction and provides insight into how the reader may apply such strategies to his or her own courses. Multi-disciplinary in scope, the essays cover teaching in the areas of literature, law, history, sociology, anthropology, architecture, gender studies, cultural studies, and literary theory. Also included are sample syllabi, writing assignments, questions for further discussion, reading lists, and further aids for course instruction.

Hollywood's Melodramatic Imagination

Hollywood's Melodramatic Imagination
  • Author : Geoff Mayer
  • Publisher : McFarland
  • Release : 22 December 2021
GET THIS BOOKHollywood's Melodramatic Imagination

Melodrama is the foundation of American cinema. It is, however, a poorly understood term. While it is a pervasive and persuasive dramatic mode, it is not tied to any specific moral or ideological system. It is not a singular genre; rather, it operates as a "genre generating machine" capable of determining the aesthetics and structure of the drama within many genres. Melodrama centers the conflict around the clash between good and evil and provides a sense of poetic justice--but the

Lillian and Dash

Lillian and Dash
  • Author : Sam Toperoff
  • Publisher : Other Press, LLC
  • Release : 16 July 2013
GET THIS BOOKLillian and Dash

This exciting novel about Dashiell Hammett (The Maltese Falcon and The Thin Man) and Lillian Hellman (The Children’s Hour) reintroduces their larger-than-life personalities and the vicissitudes of their affair that spanned three decades. Toperoff reimagines the highs and lows of a fast-living, hard-drinking literary couple, and their individual passions, projects, and literary creations. Hammett and Hellman’s relationship evolves during major artistic and political epochs—Hollywood’s heyday, the New York literary scene, the Spanish Civil War, McCarthyism, and

Tough Without a Gun

Tough Without a Gun
  • Author : Stefan Kanfer
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 01 February 2011
GET THIS BOOKTough Without a Gun

Humphrey Bogart: it’s hard to think of anyone who’s had the same lasting impact on the culture of movies. Though he died at the young age of fifty-seven more than half a century ago, his influence among actors and filmmakers, and his enduring appeal for film lovers around the world, remains as strong as ever. What is it about Bogart, with his unconventional looks and noticeable speech impediment, that has captured our collective imagination for so long? In

Research Guide to American Literature

Research Guide to American Literature
  • Author : Benjamin Franklin
  • Publisher : Infobase Publishing
  • Release : 01 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKResearch Guide to American Literature

The new Research Guide to American Literature is a series of handbooks for students that provides strategies for studying and writing about frequently taught literary topics. Each volume contains dozens of study guides, each of which examines a particular work, author, movement, or theme, providing the necessary background information, suggesting fruitful areas of research, and listing the best secondary sources.

Philosophies of Crime Fiction

Philosophies of Crime Fiction
  • Author : Josef Hoffmann
  • Publisher : Oldcastle Books
  • Release : 26 April 2013
GET THIS BOOKPhilosophies of Crime Fiction

Philosophies of Crime Fiction provides a considered analysis of the philosophical ideas to be found in crime literature - both hidden and explicit. Josef Hoffmann ranges expertly across influences and inspirations in crime writing with a stellar cast including Conan Doyle, G K Chesterton, Dashiell Hammett, Albert Camus, Borges, Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler and Ted Lewis. Hoffmann examines why crime literature may provide stronger consolation for readers than philosophy. In so doing, he demonstrates the truth of Wittgenstein's claim that