Elizabeth Is Missing

WINNER 2014 – Costa Book Awards—First Novel An internationally heralded debut novel of extraordinary warmth, insight and humanity that will appeal to readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Still Alice: Elizabeth Is Missing is at once a page-turning mystery that takes us from post-war Britain to the present day and a piercingly honest portrait of love and memory, families and aging through the lens of an unforgettable protagonist who will seize your heart--an elderly woman descending into forgetfulness, as she embarks alone on a quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared. Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory--and her grip on everyday life. Notes fill her pockets and dot the walls of her home, increasingly crucial reminders of the immediate world. Most crucial is the fact that she can't find her only friend--Elizabeth has disappeared: she isn't answering the phone and doesn't seem to be at her house. Maud, convinced Elizabeth is in terrible danger, refuses to forget her even if her frustrated daughter, Helen, her carer, Carla, and the police won't listen and won't help. Armed with an overwhelming feeling that Elizabeth desperately needs her help, Maud sets out to find her. And, unexpectedly, her search triggers an old and powerful memory of another unsolved disappearance--that of her sister, Sukey, who vanished more than 50 years ago, shortly after the Second World War. As long-ago memories emerge, Maud begins to uncover forgotten clues to her sister's disappearance and to piece together the mystery that has haunted her family for decades, discovering new momentum in her search for her friend. Could the mystery of Sukey's disappearance hold the key to finding Elizabeth?

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Pages : 288 pages
  • ISBN : 0345808320
  • Rating : 4/5 from 72 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKElizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing
  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Release : 10 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKElizabeth Is Missing

WINNER 2014 – Costa Book Awards—First Novel An internationally heralded debut novel of extraordinary warmth, insight and humanity that will appeal to readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Still Alice: Elizabeth Is Missing is at once a page-turning mystery that takes us from post-war Britain to the present day and a piercingly honest portrait of love and memory, families and aging through the lens of an unforgettable protagonist who will seize your heart--an elderly woman descending into

Elizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing
  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 10 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKElizabeth Is Missing

HOW DO YOU SOLVE A MYSTERY WHEN YOU CAN'T REMEMBER THE CLUES? In this darkly riveting debut novel—a sophisticated psychological mystery that is also an heartbreakingly honest meditation on memory, identity, and aging—an elderly woman descending into dementia embarks on a desperate quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared, and her search for the truth will go back decades and have shattering consequences. Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory—and her grip

Elizabeth is Missing

Elizabeth is Missing
  • Author : Emma Healey
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release : 05 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKElizabeth is Missing

Sunday Times Bestseller Elizabeth is Missing is the stunning, smash-hit debut novel from new author Emma Healey Winner of the Costa First Novel Award 2014 Shortlisted for the National Book Awards Popular Fiction Book 2014 Shortlisted for the National Book Awards New Writer of the Year 2014 Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2015 Longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize 2014 'A thrillingly assured, haunting and unsettling novel, I read it at a gulp' Deborah Moggach, author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Missing Susan

Missing Susan
  • Author : Sharyn McCrumb
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 06 October 2010
GET THIS BOOKMissing Susan

Edgar Award winner Sharyn McCrumb brings you her sixth Elizabeh MacPherson mystery novel. The unsinkable Elizabeth is on tour of England's most famous murder sites, when Rowan Rover, the group leader, is quietly asked to commit murder. He does, of course, but not without misgivings--not the least of which is having Elizabeth MacPherson, canny observer and all-around murder spoiler, on his tail... "Sharyn McCrunb is definitely a rising star in the New Golden Age of mystery fiction. I look forward

Missing Joseph

Missing Joseph
  • Author : Elizabeth George
  • Publisher : Bantam
  • Release : 29 June 1994
GET THIS BOOKMissing Joseph

When the vicar who has given her so much support is found dead, Deborah St. James begins a journey of personal discovery in order to find out who is responsible

If I Disappear

If I Disappear
  • Author : Eliza Jane Brazier
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 26 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKIf I Disappear

“This new novel has more twists and fakeouts than an episode of Serial.” —Rolling Stone “An eerie, twisted thriller sure to shake up the most seasoned true crime die-hard." —Harper's Bazaar A Most Anticipated Book of 2021 by Rolling Stone • CNN • E! Online • Buzzfeed • New York Post • Popsugar • Woman's Day • Crime Reads • Hello Giggles When her favorite true crime podcast host goes missing, an adrift young woman sets out to investigate and plunges headfirst into the wild backcountry of Northern California

Feeling Sorry for Celia

Feeling Sorry for Celia
  • Author : Jaclyn Moriarty
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 17 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKFeeling Sorry for Celia

A #1 Bestseller in Australia and Book Sense 76 Pick Life is pretty complicated for Elizabeth Clarry. Her best friend Celia keeps disappearing, her absent father suddenly reappears, and her communication with her mother consists entirely of wacky notes left on the fridge. On top of everything else, because her English teacher wants to rekindle the "Joy of the Envelope," a Complete and Utter Stranger knows more about Elizabeth than anyone else. But Elizabeth is on the verge of some major changes.

Tell No One

Tell No One
  • Author : Harlan Coben
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 29 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKTell No One

David Beck has rebuilt his life since his wife's murder eight years ago, finishing medical school and establishing himself as a pediatrician, but he's never forgotten the woman he fell in love with in second grade. And when a mysterious e-mail arrives on the anniversary of their first kiss, with a message and an image that leads him to wonder whether Elizabeth might still be alive, Beck will stop at nothing to find the truth that's eluded him for so

Dry Bones in the Valley: A Novel (The Henry Farrell Series)

Dry Bones in the Valley: A Novel (The Henry Farrell Series)
  • Author : Tom Bouman
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 07 July 2014
GET THIS BOOKDry Bones in the Valley: A Novel (The Henry Farrell Series)

Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Mystery/Thriller Winner of the Edgar Award for Best First Novel When an elderly recluse discovers a corpse on his land, Officer Henry Farrell is drawn into a murder investigation that might tear his sleepy community apart. Tom Bouman's chilling and evocative debut introduces one of the most memorable new characters in detective fiction and uncovers a haunting section of rural Pennsylvania, where gas drilling is bringing new wealth and eroding

Dementia and Literature

Dementia and Literature
  • Author : Tess Maginess
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 09 August 2017
GET THIS BOOKDementia and Literature

Dementia is an urgent global concern, often termed a widespread ‘problem’, ‘tragedy’ or ‘burden’ and a subject best addressed by health and social policy and practice. However, creative writers can offer powerful and imaginative insights into the experience of dementia across cultures and over time. This cross-disciplinary volume explores how engaging with dementia through its myriad literary representations can help to deepen and humanise attitudes to people living with the condition. Offering and interrogating a wide array of perspectives about

The Historian

The Historian
  • Author : Elizabeth Kostova
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release : 01 June 2005
GET THIS BOOKThe Historian

An "innovative" (The New Yorker) retelling of the story of Dracula. Told with the flourish and poise of a talented storyteller, Kostova turns the age-old tale into a compelling "late night page-turner" (San Francisco Chronicle) When a young woman discovers a cache of ancient letters, she is thrown into the turbulent history of her parents' dark pasts. Uncovering a labyrinthine trail of clues, she begins to reconstruct a staggering history of deceit and violence. Debut novelist Elizabeth Kostova creates an

Reconstructing Amelia

Reconstructing Amelia
  • Author : Kimberly McCreight
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 01 April 2013
GET THIS BOOKReconstructing Amelia

Stressed single mother and law partner Kate is in the meeting of her career when she is interrupted by a telephone call to say that her teenaged daughter Amelia has been suspended from her exclusive Brooklyn prep school for cheating on an exam. Torn between her head and her heart, she eventually arrives at St Grace's over an hour late, to be greeted by sirens wailing and ambulance lights blazing. Her daughter has jumped off the roof of the school,

The Pearl Thief

The Pearl Thief
  • Author : Elizabeth Wein
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 04 May 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Pearl Thief

Before Verity . . . there was Julie. When fifteen-year-old Julia Beaufort-Stuart wakes up in the hospital, she knows the lazy summer break she'd imagined won't be exactly what she anticipated. And once she returns to her grandfather's estate, a bit banged up but alive, she begins to realize that her injury might not have been an accident. One of her family's employees is missing, and he disappeared on the very same day she landed in the hospital. Desperate to figure out what