Endocrine Disrupting Chemicals in Food

The rise in the incidence of health problems such as reproductive disorders and testicular and breast cancer has been linked by some to endocrine disrupting chemicals in the environment. The role of food in transmitting these chemicals is uncertain and a topic of considerable research. This important book addresses key topics in this area. The first part of the book reviews the impacts of endocrine disrupting chemicals on health and behaviour, with chapters on the effect of dietary endocrine disruptors in such areas as the developing foetus, cancer and bone health. Parts two and three focus on the origin and analysis of endocrine disruptors in food products and risk assessment. Topics addressed include surveillance, analysis techniques such as biosensors, exposure assessment and the relevance of genetics, epigenetics and genomic technologies to the study of endocrine disrupting chemicals. Concluding chapters discuss examples of selected endocrine disrupting chemicals associated with food, such as dioxins, polychlorinated biphenyls and brominated flame retardants, bisphenol A and phytoestrogens and phytosterols. With its distinguished editor and international team of contributors, Endocrine-disrupting chemicals in food is an essential reference for all those concerned with ensuring the safety of food. Reviews the impacts of endocrine disrupting chemicals on health and behaviour including cancer and reproductive disorders Addresses the origin and analysis of endocrine disruptors with chapters on surveillance and analysis techniques Examines the relevance of genetics, epigenetics and genomic technologies to endocrine disrupting chemicals

Produk Detail:

  • Author : I Shaw
  • Publisher : Elsevier
  • Pages : 608 pages
  • ISBN : 1845695747
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKEndocrine Disrupting Chemicals in Food

Endocrine-Disrupting Chemicals in Food

Endocrine-Disrupting Chemicals in Food
  • Author : I Shaw
  • Publisher : Elsevier
  • Release : 31 March 2009
GET THIS BOOKEndocrine-Disrupting Chemicals in Food

The rise in the incidence of health problems such as reproductive disorders and testicular and breast cancer has been linked by some to endocrine disrupting chemicals in the environment. The role of food in transmitting these chemicals is uncertain and a topic of considerable research. This important book addresses key topics in this area. The first part of the book reviews the impacts of endocrine disrupting chemicals on health and behaviour, with chapters on the effect of dietary endocrine disruptors

Food Toxicology

Food Toxicology
  • Author : Ashish Sachan,Suzanne Hendrich
  • Publisher : CRC Press
  • Release : 01 December 2017
GET THIS BOOKFood Toxicology

This volume covers a selection of important research in the multifaceted field of food toxicology. With more than seven billion people in the world today and counting, advances in food toxicology have a direct bearing on food safety issues that are of concern to all humanity for the foreseeable future. Massive globalization, industrialization, and commercialization have affected every aspect of food production, the food supply chain, and food consumption. This informative volume offers the global perspectives of scientists in important

Challenges in Endocrine Disruptor Toxicology and Risk Assessment

Challenges in Endocrine Disruptor Toxicology and Risk Assessment
  • Author : Alberto Mantovani,Alexandra Fucic
  • Publisher : Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Release : 08 December 2020
GET THIS BOOKChallenges in Endocrine Disruptor Toxicology and Risk Assessment

Insight into the role of hormones, particularly estrogen and testosterone, in health and disease etiology – including interactions with other hormone pathways – has dramatically changed. Estrogen and androgen receptors, with their polymorphisms, are key molecules in all tissues and are involved in a number of homeostatic mechanisms but also pathological processes including carcinogenesis and the development of metabolic and neurological disorders such as diabetes and Alzheimer’s disease. Endocrine disrupting chemicals (EDCs) can interfere with the endocrine (hormone) systems at certain

Endocrine Disruption and Human Health

Endocrine Disruption and Human Health
  • Author : Philippa D. Darbre
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release : 21 March 2015
GET THIS BOOKEndocrine Disruption and Human Health

Endocrine Disruption and Human Health starts with an overview of what endocrine disruptors are, the issues surrounding them, and the source of these chemicals in the ecosystem. This is followed by an overview of the mechanisms of action and assay systems. The third section includes chapters written by specialists on different aspects of concern for the effects of endocrine disruption on human health. Finally, the authors consider the risk assessment of endocrine disruptors and the pertinent regulation developed by the

Count Down

Count Down
  • Author : Shanna H. Swan,Stacey Colino
  • Publisher : Scribner
  • Release : 23 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKCount Down

In the tradition of Silent Spring and The Sixth Extinction, an urgent, meticulously researched, and groundbreaking book about the ways in which chemicals in the modern environment are changing—and endangering—human sexuality and fertility on the grandest scale, from renowned epidemiologist Shanna Swan. In 2017, author Shanna Swan and her team of researchers completed a major study. They found that over the past four decades, sperm levels among men in Western countries have dropped by more than 50 percent. They came

Environmental Health Risk

Environmental Health Risk
  • Author : Marcelo Larramendy,Sonia Soloneski
  • Publisher : BoD – Books on Demand
  • Release : 16 June 2016
GET THIS BOOKEnvironmental Health Risk

This book, Environmental Health Risk - Hazardous Factors to Living Species, is intended to provide a set of practical discussions and relevant tools for making risky decisions that require actions to reduce environmental health risk against environmental factors that may adversely impact human health or ecological balances. We aimed to compile information from diverse sources into a single volume to give some real examples extending concepts of those hazardous factors to living species that may stimulate new research ideas and

Analysis of Endocrine Disrupting Compounds in Food

Analysis of Endocrine Disrupting Compounds in Food
  • Author : Leo M. L. Nollet
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 09 June 2011
GET THIS BOOKAnalysis of Endocrine Disrupting Compounds in Food

Analysis of Endocrine Disrupting Compounds in Food provides a unique and comprehensive professional reference source covering most of the recent analytical methodology of endocrine disrupting compounds in food. Editor Nollet and his broad team of international contributors address the most recent advances in analysis of endocrine disrupting chemicals in food. While covering conventional (typically lab-based) methods of analysis, the book focuses on leading-edge technologies that recently have been introduced. The book looks at areas such as food quality assurance and

Emerging Pollutants in the Environment

Emerging Pollutants in the Environment
  • Author : Marcelo Larramendy,Sonia Soloneski
  • Publisher : BoD – Books on Demand
  • Release : 02 September 2015
GET THIS BOOKEmerging Pollutants in the Environment

This edited book, Emerging Pollutants in the Environment Current and Further Implications, includes overviews by significant researchers on the topic of emerging pollutants toxicology, which covers the hazardous effects of common emerging xenobiotics employed in our every day anthropogenic activities. We hope that this book will meet the expectations and needs of all those who are interested in the negative implications of several emerging pollutants on living species.

Sicker, Fatter, Poorer

Sicker, Fatter, Poorer
  • Author : Leonardo Trasande
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
  • Release : 24 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKSicker, Fatter, Poorer

A leading voice in public health policy and top environmental medicine scientist reveals the alarming truth about how hormone-disrupting chemicals are affecting our daily lives--and what we can do to protect ourselves and fight back. Lurking in our homes, hiding in our offices, and polluting the air we breathe is something sinister. Something we've turned a blind eye to for far too long. Dr. Leonardo Trasande, a pediatrician, professor, and world-renowned researcher, tells the story of how our everyday surroundings

Veterans and Agent Orange

Veterans and Agent Orange
  • Author : Institute of Medicine,Board on the Health of Select Populations,Committee to Review the Health Effects in Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides (Ninth Biennial Update)
  • Publisher : National Academies Press
  • Release : 06 March 2014
GET THIS BOOKVeterans and Agent Orange

From 1962 to 1971, the US military sprayed herbicides over Vietnam to strip the thick jungle canopy that could conceal opposition forces, to destroy crops that those forces might depend on, and to clear tall grasses and bushes from the perimeters of US base camps and outlying fire-support bases. Mixtures of 2,4-dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4-D), 2,4,5-trichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4,5-T), picloram, and cacodylic acid made up the bulk of the herbicides sprayed. The main chemical mixture sprayed was Agent Orange, a 50:50 mixture of 2,4-D and 2,4,5

Environmental Endocrine Disruptors

Environmental Endocrine Disruptors
  • Author : Lawrence H. Keith
  • Publisher : Wiley-Interscience
  • Release : 23 September 1997
GET THIS BOOKEnvironmental Endocrine Disruptors

This database, available in print and electronic form, provides information on chemical, physical, and toxicological properties of known and suspected environmental endocrine disruptors in a convenient easy-to-use format. Much of the research on EEDs has focused on the effects of these chemicals on wildlife, linking certain compounds to birth defects and abnormal development of immune and reproductive systems.

Review of the Environmental Protection Agency's State-of-the-Science Evaluation of Nonmonotonic Dose-Response Relationships as they Apply to Endocrine Disruptors

Review of the Environmental Protection Agency's State-of-the-Science Evaluation of Nonmonotonic Dose-Response Relationships as they Apply to Endocrine Disruptors
  • Author : National Research Council,Division on Earth and Life Studies,Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology,Committee to Review EPA's State of the Science Paper on Nonmonotonic Dose Reponse
  • Publisher : National Academies Press
  • Release : 27 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKReview of the Environmental Protection Agency's State-of-the-Science Evaluation of Nonmonotonic Dose-Response Relationships as they Apply to Endocrine Disruptors

Potential health effects from chemicals that disrupt endocrine function pose an environmental health concern because of their ability to interfere with normal hormone function in human and wildlife populations. The endocrine system regulates biological processes throughout the body and is sensitive to small changes in hormone concentrations. Endocrine-disruptor research has focused primarily on chemicals that affect three hormone pathways that play important roles in reproduction and development - the estrogen, androgen, and thyroid hormone pathways. Some of this research has