First Women

“[A] gossipy, but surprisingly deep, look at the women who help and sometimes overshadow their powerful husbands.” — USA Today From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the groundbreaking backstairs look at the White House, The Residence, comes an intimate, news-making look at the true modern power brokers at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue: the First Ladies, from Jackie Kennedy to Michelle Obama. One of the most underestimated—and challenging—positions in the world, the First Lady of the United States must be many things: an inspiring leader with a forward-thinking agenda of her own; a savvy politician, skilled at navigating the treacherous rapids of Washington; a wife and mother operating under constant scrutiny; and an able CEO responsible for the smooth operation of countless services and special events at the White House. Now, as she did in her smash #1 bestseller The Residence, former White House correspondent Kate Andersen Brower draws on a wide array of untapped, candid sources—from residence staff and social secretaries to friends and political advisers—to tell the stories of the ten remarkable women who have defined that role since 1960. Brower offers new insights into this privileged group of remarkable women, including Jacqueline Kennedy, Lady Bird Johnson, Patricia Nixon, Betty Ford, Rosalynn Carter, Nancy Reagan, Barbara Bush, Hillary Clinton, Laura Bush, and Michelle Obama. The stories she shares range from the heartwarming to the shocking and tragic, exploring everything from the first ladies’ political crusades to their rivalries with Washington figures; from their friendships with other first ladies to their public and private relationships with their husbands. She also offers insight as to what Melania Trump might hope to accomplish as First Lady. Candid and illuminating, this first group biography of the modern first ladies provides a revealing look at life upstairs and downstairs at the world’s most powerful address.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Kate Andersen Brower
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Pages : 416 pages
  • ISBN : 0062679341
  • Rating : 4/5 from 5 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKFirst Women

First Women

First Women
  • Author : Kate Andersen Brower
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 17 January 2017
GET THIS BOOKFirst Women

“[A] gossipy, but surprisingly deep, look at the women who help and sometimes overshadow their powerful husbands.” — USA Today From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the groundbreaking backstairs look at the White House, The Residence, comes an intimate, news-making look at the true modern power brokers at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue: the First Ladies, from Jackie Kennedy to Michelle Obama. One of the most underestimated—and challenging—positions in the world, the First Lady of the United States must be

A Woman First: First Woman

A Woman First: First Woman
  • Author : Selina Meyer
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 19 March 2019
GET THIS BOOKA Woman First: First Woman

The long-awaited memoir of her tumultuous year in office, A Woman First: First Woman is an intimate first-person account of the public and private lives of Selina Meyer, America’s first woman president. Known and beloved throughout the world as a vocal and fearless advocate for adult literacy, fighting AIDS, our military families, and as a stalwart champion of the oppressed, especially the long-suffering people of Tibet, President Meyer is considered one of the world’s most notable people. In

Women in White Coats

Women in White Coats
  • Author : Olivia Campbell
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release : 02 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKWomen in White Coats

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care. In the early 1800s, women were dying in large numbers from treatable diseases because they avoided receiving medical care. Examinations performed by male doctors were often demeaning and even painful. In addition, women faced stigma from illness—a diagnosis

Paving the Way

Paving the Way
  • Author : Herma Hill Kay
  • Publisher : Univ of California Press
  • Release : 13 April 2021
GET THIS BOOKPaving the Way

The first wave of trailblazing female law professors and the stage they set for American democracy. When it comes to breaking down barriers for women in the workplace, Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s name speaks volumes for itself—but, as she clarifies in the foreword to this long-awaited book, there are too many trailblazing names we do not know. Herma Hill Kay, former Dean of UC Berkeley School of Law and Ginsburg’s closest professional colleague, wrote Paving the Way to

For the Record

For the Record
  • Author : Joan Grierson
  • Publisher : Dundurn
  • Release : 31 March 2008
GET THIS BOOKFor the Record

When Marjorie Hill graduated in 1920 as Canada’s "first girl architect," she was entering a profession that had been established in Canada just 30 years earlier. For the Record, the first history of women architects in Canada, provides a fascinating introduction to early women architects, presented within the context of developments in both Europe and North America. Profiles of the women who graduated from the School of Architecture at the University of Toronto between 1920 and 1960 are illustrated with photographs of their

Team of Five

Team of Five
  • Author : Kate Andersen Brower
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 25 May 2021
GET THIS BOOKTeam of Five

USA Today Bestseller From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Residence and First Women—also a New York Times bestseller—comes a poignant, news-making look at the lives of the five former presidents in the wake of their White House years, including the surprising friendships they have formed through shared perspective and empathy. After serving the highest office of American government, five men—Jimmy Carter, the late George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush, and Barack

Secrets of the Sprakkar

Secrets of the Sprakkar
  • Author : Eliza Reid
  • Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc.
  • Release : 08 February 2022
GET THIS BOOKSecrets of the Sprakkar

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER! "Secrets of the Sprakkar is a fascinating window into what a more gender-equal world could look like, and why it's worth striving for. Iceland is doing a lot to level the playing field: paid parental leave, affordable childcare, and broad support for gender equality as a core value. Reid takes us on an exploration not only around this fascinating island, but also through the triumphs and stumbles of a country as it journeys towards gender equality." —Hillary

The First Women Lawyers

The First Women Lawyers
  • Author : Mary Jane Mossman
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release : 31 May 2006
GET THIS BOOKThe First Women Lawyers

This comparative study explores the lives of some of the women who first initiated challenges to male exclusivity in the legal professions in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries. Their challenges took place at a time of considerable optimism about progressive societal change, including new and expanding opportunities for women, as well as a variety of proposals for reforming law, legal education, and standards of legal professionalism. By situating women's claims for admission to the bar within this reformist context in

Nerve

Nerve
  • Author : Indira Samarasekera,Martha Piper
  • Publisher : ECW Press
  • Release : 14 September 2021
GET THIS BOOKNerve

Candid and insightful perspectives on the dilemmas and opportunities women confront as they take on leadership positions Martha Piper and Indira Samarasekera had vastly different career paths on their way to becoming the first (and so far only) female presidents of two of Canada’s largest and most respected research universities and directors of some of the nation’s largest market cap companies, but what they had in common was their gender, their willingness to take risks when leadership opportunities

Govern Like a Girl

Govern Like a Girl
  • Author : Kate Graham
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 24 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKGovern Like a Girl

Only twelve women have ever served as the Premier of a Canadian province or territory, and only one has risen to the very top to serve as Prime Minister. In Govern Like a Girl, Kate Graham tells the stories of these thirteen women, from childhood to political power. Their experiences span three decades, every political stripe, and extend from coast to coast to coast. What motivated them to run for office? What did they accomplish once they were elected? And

Yale Needs Women

Yale Needs Women
  • Author : Anne Gardiner Perkins
  • Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc.
  • Release : 10 September 2019
GET THIS BOOKYale Needs Women

WINNER OF THE 2020 CONNECTICUT BOOK AWARD FOR NONFICTION AND NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS FOR BOOK CLUBS IN 2021 BY BOOKBROWSE "Perkins makes the story of these early and unwitting feminist pioneers come alive against the backdrop of the contemporaneous civil rights and anti-war movements of the 1970s, and offers observations that remain eerily relevant on U.S. campuses today."—Edward B. Fiske, bestselling author of Fiske Guide to Colleges "If Yale was going to keep its standing as one

Finish the Fight!

Finish the Fight!
  • Author : Veronica Chambers,The Staff of The New York Times
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 18 August 2020
GET THIS BOOKFinish the Fight!

A New York Times bestseller! Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be