Flight of the Sparrow

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter. Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the ongoing bloody struggle between English settlers and native people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, Mary witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her confused surprise, she is drawn to her captors’ open and straightforward way of life, a feeling further complicated by her attraction to a generous, protective English-speaking native known as James Printer. All her life, Mary has been taught to fear God, submit to her husband, and abhor Indians. Now, having lived on the other side of the forest, she begins to question the edicts that have guided her, torn between the life she knew and the wisdom the natives have shown her. Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance. READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 368 pages
  • ISBN : 0698137531
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 15 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 01 July 2014
GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter. Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 November 2014
GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. On a winter day of terror, Puritan Mary Rowlandson is captured by Indians. Her home destroyed and her children lost to her, she becomes a pawn in the bloody struggle between English settlers and the indigenous people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, she witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her surprise, she is drawn to her captors' straightforward way of life.

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 03 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

Presents a fictionalized account of the life of Mary Rowlandson, a Puritan woman living in the Massachusetts Bay Colony who was captured by Native American in 1675 and who developed empathy for her captors before she was released eight months later.

The Sparrow

The Sparrow
  • Author : Mary Doria Russell
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 27 May 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Sparrow

A visionary work that combines speculative fiction with deep philosophical inquiry, The Sparrow tells the story of a charismatic Jesuit priest and linguist, Emilio Sandoz, who leads a scientific mission entrusted with a profound task: to make first contact with intelligent extraterrestrial life. The mission begins in faith, hope, and beauty, but a series of small misunderstandings brings it to a catastrophic end. Praise for The Sparrow “A startling, engrossing, and moral work of fiction.”—The New York Times Book

Emily's House

Emily's House
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 03 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKEmily's House

She was Emily Dickinson’s maid, her confidante, her betrayer… and the savior of her legacy. An evocative new novel about Emily Dickinson's longtime maid, Irish immigrant Margaret Maher, whose bond with the poet ensured Dickinson's work would live on, from the USA Today bestselling author of Flight of the Sparrow, Amy Belding Brown. Massachusetts, 1869. Margaret Maher has never been one to settle down. At twenty-seven, she's never met a man who has tempted her enough to relinquish her independence

Sparrows

Sparrows
  • Author : Hans Post,Kees Heij,Irene Goede
  • Publisher : Boyds Mills Press
  • Release : 03 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKSparrows

Youngsters are invited to follow one family of sparrows as they reveal a vast array of interesting tidbits about their life cycles, habitats, survival tactics, and more.

A Sparrow's Flight

A Sparrow's Flight
  • Author : Margaret Elphinstone
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 03 July 1989
GET THIS BOOKA Sparrow's Flight

In A Sparrow's Flight, her second novel, first published in 1989, Margaret Elphinstone is already occupying her characteristic location on the borderlands which were to become familiar territory in her subsequent writing. The novel is set in the 'debatable lands' between Scotland and England but explores more elusive borders between waking and dreaming, sanity and madness, myth and reality, and the unsettling landscape between our imagined pasts and hoped for futures. Thomas and Naomi are on a journey through a world

Mr. Emerson's Wife

Mr. Emerson's Wife
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 30 May 2006
GET THIS BOOKMr. Emerson's Wife

In this novel about Ralph Waldo Emerson's wife, Lidian, Amy Belding Brown examines the emotional landscape of love and marriage. Living in the shadow of one of the most famous men of her time, Lidian becomes deeply disappointed by marriage, but consigned to public silence by social conventions and concern for her family's reputation. Drawn to the erotic energy and intellect of close family friend Henry David Thoreau, she struggles to negotiate the confusing territory between love and friendship while

Flight of the Raven

Flight of the Raven
  • Author : Ellen Harris
  • Publisher : Guideposts
  • Release : 01 February 2007
GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Raven

A small plane disappears from the sky above Sparrow Iland, and Abby knows she must do something to help. Together, she and Sergeant Henry Cobb, set off to hunt for survivors. They find the plane but not the passengers--who it seems don`t want to be found. Abby`s wilderness skills are put to the test as she and Henry go on a chase to try to uncover the secrets of the passengers` hidden pasts. An exciting, suspense-filled story, " Flight

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk
  • Author : Natasha Farrant
  • Publisher : WW Norton
  • Release : 12 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKVoyage of the Sparrowhawk

Winner of the 2020 Costa Children's Book Award A Kirkus Reviews Best Children's Book of 2021 A Times and Sunday Times Best Book of the Year In the aftermath of World War One, everyone in the small town of Barton is rebuilding their lives. Ben needs to find his brother, Sam—who was wounded in action and is now missing—if he wants to avoid being sent to the orphanage. Lotti’s horrible aunt and uncle want to send her away from

Cloud of Sparrows

Cloud of Sparrows
  • Author : Takashi Matsuoka
  • Publisher : Delacorte Press
  • Release : 01 October 2002
GET THIS BOOKCloud of Sparrows

“Exotic, entertaining . . . [an] exceptional first novel.”—San Francisco Chronicle The year is 1861. After two centuries of isolation, Japan has opened its doors to the West. And as foreign ships threaten to rain destruction on the Shogun’s castle in Edo, a small group of American missionaries has arrived to spread the word of their God. They have yet to realize that their future in Japan has already been foreseen. For a young nobleman has dreamt that his life will be

When the Sparrow Falls

When the Sparrow Falls
  • Author : Neil Sharpson
  • Publisher : Tor Books
  • Release : 29 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKWhen the Sparrow Falls

Life in the Caspian Republic has taught Agent Nikolai South two rules. Trust No One. And work just hard enough not to make enemies. Here, in the last sanctuary for the dying embers of the human race in a world run by artificial intelligence, if you stray from the path—your life is forfeit. But when a Party propagandist is killed—and is discovered as a “machine”—he’s given a new mission: chaperone the widow, Lily, who has arrived

Sparrow's Flight

Sparrow's Flight
  • Author : Jenika Snow
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 04 June 2020
GET THIS BOOKSparrow's Flight

It's been five months since an immunization for the flu collapsed civilization.Sparrow Gray had nothing to her name but the backpack she carried and the meager contents inside. Utterly alone, she fought to survive daily. Everyone was a suspected foe, and the ones unlucky enough to be infected were nothing more than walking corpses.Mason, an ex-Navy SEAL, and Asher, a back-alley fighter, found each other at an unlikely time. The two never thought they'd find pleasure each other's

The Spider and the Sparrow

The Spider and the Sparrow
  • Author : A. L. Sowards
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 03 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Spider and the Sparrow

May, 1915. As a dangerous ring of spies and saboteurs threatens to turn the war against the Allies, Frenchman and British operative Julian Olivier discovers goodness in his enemies' hearts. But even if he survives, will he ever be reunited with the woman whose memory he can't erase? Will Canadian airborn hero Warren Flynn survive the war, and will the Allies' newest operative, Evette, unearth the infiltrator in her own Parisian territory before it's too late?