Flight of the Sparrow

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter. Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the ongoing bloody struggle between English settlers and native people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, Mary witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her confused surprise, she is drawn to her captors’ open and straightforward way of life, a feeling further complicated by her attraction to a generous, protective English-speaking native known as James Printer. All her life, Mary has been taught to fear God, submit to her husband, and abhor Indians. Now, having lived on the other side of the forest, she begins to question the edicts that have guided her, torn between the life she knew and the wisdom the natives have shown her. Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance. READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 368 pages
  • ISBN : 0698137531
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 15 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 01 July 2014
GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter. Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 November 2014
GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. On a winter day of terror, Puritan Mary Rowlandson is captured by Indians. Her home destroyed and her children lost to her, she becomes a pawn in the bloody struggle between English settlers and the indigenous people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, she witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her surprise, she is drawn to her captors' straightforward way of life.

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 13 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKFlight of the Sparrow

Presents a fictionalized account of the life of Mary Rowlandson, a Puritan woman living in the Massachusetts Bay Colony who was captured by Native American in 1675 and who developed empathy for her captors before she was released eight months later.

Mr. Emerson's Wife

Mr. Emerson's Wife
  • Author : Amy Belding Brown
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 30 May 2006
GET THIS BOOKMr. Emerson's Wife

In this novel about Ralph Waldo Emerson's wife, Lidian, Amy Belding Brown examines the emotional landscape of love and marriage. Living in the shadow of one of the most famous men of her time, Lidian becomes deeply disappointed by marriage, but consigned to public silence by social conventions and concern for her family's reputation. Drawn to the erotic energy and intellect of close family friend Henry David Thoreau, she struggles to negotiate the confusing territory between love and friendship while

The Sparrow

The Sparrow
  • Author : Mary Doria Russell
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 27 May 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Sparrow

A visionary work that combines speculative fiction with deep philosophical inquiry, The Sparrow tells the story of a charismatic Jesuit priest and linguist, Emilio Sandoz, who leads a scientific mission entrusted with a profound task: to make first contact with intelligent extraterrestrial life. The mission begins in faith, hope, and beauty, but a series of small misunderstandings brings it to a catastrophic end. Praise for The Sparrow “A startling, engrossing, and moral work of fiction.”—The New York Times Book

Sparrow's Flight

Sparrow's Flight
  • Author : Curtis Craddock
  • Publisher : Write Way Pub
  • Release : 01 July 2000
GET THIS BOOKSparrow's Flight

Erupting from the depths of a madman's nightmare, a foul tide of twisted magical abominations sweeps across the kingdom of Neffrom, devouring everything in its path. Behind this mighty vanguard marches the unstoppable host of the immortal Hezra-Thrall spreading his terrible, soul-corrupting curse like plague across the land.Desperate HopeIn the frigid depths of winter, hope burns small, its feeble flicker sheltered in the hearts of two young nobles, the disinherited lordling, Sparrow of Blackaker, and the blind swordswoman, Kisha.

The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow

The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow
  • Author : Joyce Magnin
  • Publisher : Abingdon Press
  • Release : 01 March 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Prayers of Agnes Sparrow

The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow is the story of an unusual woman, Agnes Sparrow. No longer able or willing to leave her home, where she is cared for by her long-suffering sister Griselda, Agnes has committed her life to the one thing she can do—besides eat. Agnes Sparrow prays and when Agnes prays things happen, including major miracles of the cancer, ulcer-healing variety along with various minor miracles not the least of which is the recovery of lost objects

Sparrows

Sparrows
  • Author : Hans Post,Kees Heij,Irene Goede
  • Publisher : Boyds Mills Press
  • Release : 13 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKSparrows

Youngsters are invited to follow one family of sparrows as they reveal a vast array of interesting tidbits about their life cycles, habitats, survival tactics, and more.

The Triumphant Tale of the House Sparrow

The Triumphant Tale of the House Sparrow
  • Author : Jan Thornhill
  • Publisher : Groundwood Books Ltd
  • Release : 15 November 2019
GET THIS BOOKThe Triumphant Tale of the House Sparrow

Behold the most despised bird in human history! So begins Jan Thornhill’s riveting, beautifully illustrated story of the House Sparrow. She traces the history of this perky little bird, one of the most adaptable creatures on Earth, from its beginnings in the Middle East to its spread with the growth of agriculture into India, North Africa and Europe. Everywhere the House Sparrow went, it competed with humans for grain, becoming such a pest that in some places “sparrow catcher”

Silhouette of a Sparrow

Silhouette of a Sparrow
  • Author : Molly Beth Griffin
  • Publisher : Milkweed Editions
  • Release : 04 September 2012
GET THIS BOOKSilhouette of a Sparrow

WINNER OF THE MILKWEED PRIZE FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE WINNER OF THE 2013 PATERSON PRIZE FOR BOOKS FOR YOUNG READERS ALA RAINBOW LIST RECOMMENDED BOOK AMELIA BLOOMER PROJECT LIST RECOMMENDED BOOK LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST MINNESOTA BOOK AWARD FINALIST FOREWARD REVIEWS BOOK OF THE YEAR HONORABLE MENTION In the summer of 1926, sixteen-year-old Garnet Richardson is sent to a lake resort to escape the polio epidemic in the city. She dreams of indulging her passion for ornithology and visiting the famous new amusement

Sparrow's Flight

Sparrow's Flight
  • Author : Richard Posner
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
  • Release : 03 March 2014
GET THIS BOOKSparrow's Flight

Julie Hoffman is sixteen, clumsy, and a dreamer. Not such a great combo when your mom has moved you to a new school on Long Island. Feeling alone and ugly, Julie dreams about her estranged dad coming back and calling her Sparrow again. All she has left to remember him by is his collection of adventure and fantasy novels—which propels her into developing a fantasy of her own. In her new school Julie meets the members of the Clan

Sparrow's Flight

Sparrow's Flight
  • Author : Jenika Snow
  • Publisher : Evernight Publishing
  • Release : 17 September 2015
GET THIS BOOKSparrow's Flight

It has been five months since an immunization for the flu collapsed civilization. Sparrow Gray has nothing but the backpack she carries and her thoughts to keep her company. Everyone is a suspected foe, and the ones unlucky enough to be infected are nothing more than walking corpses. Mason and Asher found each other at an unlikely time. An ex-Navy SEAL and a back alley fighter, the two never considered themselves gay. But they find pleasure in each others arms,

Children of God

Children of God
  • Author : Mary Doria Russell
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 18 December 2007
GET THIS BOOKChildren of God

In Children of God, Mary Doria Russell further establishes herself as one of the most innovative, entertaining and philosophically provocative novelists writing today. The only member of the original mission to the planet Rakhat to return to Earth, Father Emilio Sandoz has barely begun to recover from his ordeal when the So-ciety of Jesus calls upon him for help in preparing for another mission to Alpha Centauri. Despite his objections and fear, he cannot escape his past or the future.