Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction

Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction
  • Author : Sam Kubba
  • Publisher : Butterworth-Heinemann
  • Release : 15 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKHandbook of Green Building Design and Construction

Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction: LEED, BREEAM, and Green Globes, Second Edition directly addresses the needs of building professionals interested in the evolving principles, strategies, and concepts of green/sustainable design. Written in an easy to understand style, the book is updated to reflect new standards to LEED. In addition, readers will find sections that cover the new standards to BREEAM that involve new construction Infrastructure, data centers, warehouses, and existing buildings. Provides vital information and penetrating insights

A Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering

A Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering
  • Author : Dejan Mumovic,Mat Santamouris
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 17 June 2013
GET THIS BOOKA Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering

The combined challenges of health, comfort, climate change and energy security cross the boundaries of traditional building disciplines. This authoritative collection, focusing mostly on energy and ventilation, provides the current and next generation of building engineering professionals with what they need to work closely with many disciplines to meet these challenges. A Handbook of Sustainable Building Engineering covers: how to design, engineer and monitor a building in a manner that minimises the emissions of greenhouse gases; how to adapt the

Green Building Handbook: Volume 1

Green Building Handbook: Volume 1
  • Author : Tom Woolley,Sam Kimmins,Rob Harrison,Paul Harrison
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 11 September 2002
GET THIS BOOKGreen Building Handbook: Volume 1

Environmentally responsible building involves resolving many conflicting issues and requirements. Each stage in the design process from the fundamental decisions about what, where and even whether to build has implications for the environment. Evolving out of the success of Green Building Digest, a publication described by Building Design as well-researched, authoritative and exhaustive, this practical new handbook considers the environmental issues which relate to the production, use and disposal of key building products and materials. It is designed to help

Sustainability & Scarcity

Sustainability & Scarcity
  • Author : Peter Ozolins
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 13 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKSustainability & Scarcity

Sustainability & Scarcity addresses a gap in the literature on green building recognized by many in the fields of international development, architecture, construction, housing and sustainability. Rather than being based on the experiences of more economically-developed countries, this book describes the nature of green building in the developing world, elaborating the main issues that define sustainability in those particular contexts. Through more than 30 years of development work in design and construction in Africa and the Middle East, the author has seen

A Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering

A Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering
  • Author : Dejan Mumovic,Mat Santamouris
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 03 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKA Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering

The second edition of this authoritative textbook equips students with the tools they will need to tackle the challenges of sustainable building design and engineering. The book looks at how to design, engineer and monitor energy efficient buildings, how to adapt buildings to climate change, and how to make buildings healthy, comfortable and secure. New material for this edition includes sections on environmental masterplanning, renewable technologies, retrofitting, passive house design, thermal comfort and indoor air quality. With chapters and case

Sustainable Construction

Sustainable Construction
  • Author : Charles J. Kibert
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 29 March 2016
GET THIS BOOKSustainable Construction

The leading green building reference, updated with the latest advances in the field Sustainable Construction is the leading reference for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. With broad coverage including architecture, engineering, and construction, this book nevertheless delivers detailed information on all aspects of the green building process, from materials selection to building systems and more. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest codes and standards, including LEED v4, and includes new

Green Building with Concrete

Green Building with Concrete
  • Author : Gajanan M. Sabnis
  • Publisher : CRC Press
  • Release : 16 June 2015
GET THIS BOOKGreen Building with Concrete

Illustrates the Global Relevance of SustainabilityApplicable to roads, bridges, and other elements of the infrastructure, Green Building with Concrete: Sustainable Design and Construction, Second Edition provides an overview of all available information on the role of concrete in green building. A handbook offering viewpoints from worldwide experts

The Whole Building Handbook

The Whole Building Handbook
  • Author : Varis Bokalders,Maria Block
  • Publisher : Earthscan
  • Release : 02 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Whole Building Handbook

The Whole Building Handbook is a compendium of all the issues and strategies that architects need to understand to design and construct sustainable buildings for a sustainable society. The authors move beyond the current definition of sustainability in architecture, which tends to focus on energy-efficiency, to include guidance for architecture that promotes social cohesion, personal health, renewable energy sources, water and waste recycling systems, permaculture, energy conservation - and crucially, buildings in relation to their place. The authors offer a

Sustainable Communities Design Handbook

Sustainable Communities Design Handbook
  • Author : Woodrow W. Clark
  • Publisher : Elsevier
  • Release : 03 July 2010
GET THIS BOOKSustainable Communities Design Handbook

The objective of Sustainable Communities Design Handbook is to ensure a better quality of life for everyone, both now and for generations to come. This means creating a better and safer environment internationally through the sustainable use of natural resources, encouraging sustainable development which supports a strong economy, and ensuring a high quality environment that can be enjoyed by all. Sustainable Development Partnerships brings together in one reference today's most cutting edge technologies and methods for creating sustainable communities. With

Handbook of Sustainable Building

Handbook of Sustainable Building
  • Author : David Anink,Chiel Boonstra,John Mak
  • Publisher : Earthscan / James & James
  • Release : 02 August 1996
GET THIS BOOKHandbook of Sustainable Building

Local Forest Managementis built around careful and illuminating case studies of the effects of devolution policies on the management of forests in several Asian countries. The studies demonstrate that devolution policies – contrary to the claims o

Green Building Illustrated

Green Building Illustrated
  • Author : Francis D. K. Ching,Ian M. Shapiro
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 03 December 2020
GET THIS BOOKGreen Building Illustrated

FULLY ILLUSTRATED, UPDATED GUIDE TO THE STRATEGIC DESIGN OF GREEN BUILDINGS In the tradition of Building Construction Illustrated, Francis D.K. Ching and Ian M. Shapiro offer a fully illustrated guide to the theory and practice of sustainable design. This guide provides architects, designers, and builders in the green design professional community a framework and detailed strategies for designing substantively green buildings. With a focus on sustainable sites, approaching and reaching net-zero energy, low and zero-water usage, minimum-impact materials and

Green Building

Green Building
  • Author : Michael Bauer,Peter Mösle,Michael Schwarz
  • Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
  • Release : 03 December 2009
GET THIS BOOKGreen Building

An important consideration for energy-efficient buildings is their primary energy requirements over the entire life cycle. How to determine this? What integrative factors influence the performance of a healthy and sustainable building? This, while it may be important for clients and architects to know, is frequently not very transparent. This book has been written to assist with clarifying target criteria and expanding horizons when it comes to ecological buildings. It is meant as a handbook and source of reference for

The Handbook of Sustainable Refurbishment

The Handbook of Sustainable Refurbishment
  • Author : Nick Baker,Nick V. Baker
  • Publisher : Earthscan
  • Release : 02 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Handbook of Sustainable Refurbishment

The refurbishment of existing buildings is a crucial yet often neglected subject within sustainable architecture; attention is usually focused on new buildings. Many old buildings waste large amounts of energy and provide poor internal conditions for occupants through poor lighting, poor ventilation, solar penetration and glare, and poor control of heating and cooling. Demolition is an option but the refurbishment alternative is increasingly seen as more sustainable in terms of architectural value, materials use, neighbourhood disruption and waste disposal. In

Handbook of Energy Efficiency in Buildings

Handbook of Energy Efficiency in Buildings
  • Author : Umberto Desideri,Francesco Asdrubali
  • Publisher : Butterworth-Heinemann
  • Release : 12 November 2018
GET THIS BOOKHandbook of Energy Efficiency in Buildings

Handbook of Energy Efficiency in Buildings: A Life Cycle Approach offers a comprehensive and in-depth coverage of the subject with a further focus on the Life Cycle. The editors, renowned academics, invited a diverse group of researchers to develop original chapters for the book and managed to well integrate all contributions in a consistent volume. Sections cover the role of the building sector on energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions, international technical standards, laws and regulations, building energy efficiency and