How Not to Be Wrong

The Freakonomics of math—a math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our hands The math we learn in school can seem like a dull set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows us how terribly limiting this view is: Math isn’t confined to abstract incidents that never occur in real life, but rather touches everything we do—the whole world is shot through with it. Math allows us to see the hidden structures underneath the messy and chaotic surface of our world. It’s a science of not being wrong, hammered out by centuries of hard work and argument. Armed with the tools of mathematics, we can see through to the true meaning of information we take for granted: How early should you get to the airport? What does “public opinion” really represent? Why do tall parents have shorter children? Who really won Florida in 2000? And how likely are you, really, to develop cancer? How Not to Be Wrong presents the surprising revelations behind all of these questions and many more, using the mathematician’s method of analyzing life and exposing the hard-won insights of the academic community to the layman—minus the jargon. Ellenberg chases mathematical threads through a vast range of time and space, from the everyday to the cosmic, encountering, among other things, baseball, Reaganomics, daring lottery schemes, Voltaire, the replicability crisis in psychology, Italian Renaissance painting, artificial languages, the development of non-Euclidean geometry, the coming obesity apocalypse, Antonin Scalia’s views on crime and punishment, the psychology of slime molds, what Facebook can and can’t figure out about you, and the existence of God. Ellenberg pulls from history as well as from the latest theoretical developments to provide those not trained in math with the knowledge they need. Math, as Ellenberg says, is “an atomic-powered prosthesis that you attach to your common sense, vastly multiplying its reach and strength.” With the tools of mathematics in hand, you can understand the world in a deeper, more meaningful way. How Not to Be Wrong will show you how.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Jordan Ellenberg
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 480 pages
  • ISBN : 0698163842
  • Rating : 4/5 from 14 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKHow Not to Be Wrong

How Not to Be Wrong

How Not to Be Wrong
  • Author : Jordan Ellenberg
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 29 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKHow Not to Be Wrong

The Freakonomics of math—a math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our hands The math we learn in school can seem like a dull set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows us how terribly limiting this view is: Math isn’t confined to abstract incidents that never occur in real life, but rather touches everything

How Not to be Wrong

How Not to be Wrong
  • Author : Jordan Ellenberg
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 24 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKHow Not to be Wrong

The columnist for Slate's popular "Do the Math" celebrates the logical, illuminating nature of math in today's world, sharing in accessible language mathematical approaches that demystify complex and everyday problems.

How Not to be Wrong

How Not to be Wrong
  • Author : Jordan Ellenberg
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 24 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKHow Not to be Wrong

"Using the mathematician's method of analyzing life and exposing the hard-won insights of the academic community to the layman, minus the jargon ... Ellenberg pulls from history as well as from the latest theoretical developments to provide those not trained in math with the knowledge they need"--

How To Be Right

How To Be Right
  • Author : James O'Brien
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 01 November 2018
GET THIS BOOKHow To Be Right

The voice of reason in a world that won’t shut up. The Sunday Times Bestseller Every day, James O’Brien listens to people blaming hard-working immigrants for stealing their jobs while scrounging benefits, and pointing their fingers at the EU and feminists for destroying Britain. But what makes James’s daily LBC show such essential listening – and has made James a standout social media star – is the incisive way he punctures their assumptions and dismantles their arguments live on

How Not to Be Wrong

How Not to Be Wrong
  • Author : Jordan Ellenberg
  • Publisher : Allen Lane
  • Release : 03 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKHow Not to Be Wrong

The maths we learn in school can seem like an abstract set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In fact, Jordan Ellenberg shows us, maths touches on everything we do, and a little mathematical knowledge reveals the hidden structures that lie beneath the world's messy and chaotic surface. In How Not to be Wrong, Ellenberg explores the mathematician's method of analyzing life, from the everyday to the cosmic, showing us which numbers to defend,

How Not To Be Wrong

How Not To Be Wrong
  • Author : James O'Brien
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 22 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKHow Not To Be Wrong

'Simply Brilliant' THE SECRET BARRISTER 'Passionate and brilliantly argued' DAVID OLUSOGA 'An admirably personal guide' MARINA HYDE 'Smart, analytical, self-aware and important' ALASTAIR CAMPBELL THE INTIMATE, REVEALING NEW BOOK FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE BESTSELLING, PRIZE-WINNING HOW TO BE RIGHT There's no point having a mind if you're not willing to change it James O'Brien has built well over a million loyal listeners to his radio show by dissecting the opinions of callers live on air, every day. But winning

A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper

A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper
  • Author : John Allen Paulos,John Paulos
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release : 10 September 2013
GET THIS BOOKA Mathematician Reads the Newspaper

In this lively volume, mathematician John Allen Paulos employs his singular wit to guide us through an unlikely mathematical jungle—the pages of the daily newspaper. From the Senate and sex to celebrities and cults, Paulos takes stories that may not seem to involve math at all and demonstrates how mathematical naïveté can put readers at a distinct disadvantage. Whether he’s using chaos theory to puncture economic and environmental predictions, applying logic to clarify the hazards of spin

The Improbability Principle

The Improbability Principle
  • Author : David J. Hand
  • Publisher : Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release : 11 February 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Improbability Principle

In The Improbability Principle, the renowned statistician David J. Hand argues that extraordinarily rare events are anything but. In fact, they're commonplace. Not only that, we should all expect to experience a miracle roughly once every month. But Hand is no believer in superstitions, prophecies, or the paranormal. His definition of "miracle" is thoroughly rational. No mystical or supernatural explanation is necessary to understand why someone is lucky enough to win the lottery twice, or is destined to be hit

How Not to Marry the Wrong Guy

How Not to Marry the Wrong Guy
  • Author : Anne Milford,Jennifer Gauvain
  • Publisher : Harmony
  • Release : 04 May 2010
GET THIS BOOKHow Not to Marry the Wrong Guy

Don’t walk down that aisle until you read this book! Whether you’re engaged, in a serious relationship, or looking for Mr. Right, How Not to Marry the Wrong Guy can help you decide to take the plunge or run in the opposite direction. Anne Milford canceled her wedding five months before the big day. It was a heart-wrenching decision, but one she has never regretted as she is now happily married with three children. On telling her story,

Plato at the Googleplex

Plato at the Googleplex
  • Author : Rebecca Goldstein
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 06 January 2015
GET THIS BOOKPlato at the Googleplex

Acclaimed philosopher and novelist Rebecca Newberger Goldstein provides a dazzlingly original plunge into the drama of philosophy, revealing its hidden role in today's debates on religion, morality, politics, and science.

12,000 Canaries Can’t Be Wrong

12,000 Canaries Can’t Be Wrong
  • Author : John Molot
  • Publisher : ECW/ORIM
  • Release : 01 June 2014
GET THIS BOOK12,000 Canaries Can’t Be Wrong

A doctor explains how our environment affects our health, with a nine-step plan to help with fibromyalgia, IBS, and other conditions. In the old days, canaries were used to detect carbon monoxide in coal mines. Today, countless people suffer due to toxins and chemicals that surround us in the modern world, and Dr. John Molot, over the decades, has seen more than twelve thousand patients with environmentally linked illnesses. In this book, Molot explains how the environment contributes to the

Being Wrong

Being Wrong
  • Author : Kathryn Schulz
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 08 June 2010
GET THIS BOOKBeing Wrong

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.” —Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most

How (Not) to Fall in Love

How (Not) to Fall in Love
  • Author : Lisa Brown Roberts
  • Publisher : Entangled: Teen
  • Release : 03 February 2015
GET THIS BOOKHow (Not) to Fall in Love

Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her dog ate gourmet. Then one day, Darcy's car is repossessed from the parking lot of her elite private school. As her father's business hit the skids, Dad didn't just skip town, he bailed on his family. Fortunately, Darcy's uncle owns a thrift shop where she can hide out from the world. There's also Lucas, the wickedly hot fix-it guy she

The Way the World Works

The Way the World Works
  • Author : Bishop of Hippo Wanniski
  • Publisher : Regnery Publishing
  • Release : 01 July 1998
GET THIS BOOKThe Way the World Works

To celebrate the 20th anniversary of the book which helped launch the current economic miracle, Gateway Books is proudly repackaging and re-releasing The Way the World Works. Jude Wanniski's masterpiece defined the economic policies of the 1980s responsible for a booming stock market, the creation of thirty million new jobs, untold wealth, and unparalleled prosperity.