How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised Edition

A thoroughly revised and updated edition of Thomas C. Foster's classic guide—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes, and contexts—that shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. While many books can be enjoyed for their basic stories, there are often deeper literary meanings interwoven in these texts. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps us to discover those hidden truths by looking at literature with the eyes—and the literary codes—of the ultimate professional reader: the college professor. What does it mean when a literary hero travels along a dusty road? When he hands a drink to his companion? When he's drenched in a sudden rain shower? Ranging from major themes to literary models, narrative devices, and form, Thomas C. Foster provides us with a broad overview of literature—a world where a road leads to a quest, a shared meal may signify a communion, and rain, whether cleansing or destructive, is never just a shower—and shows us how to make our reading experience more enriching, satisfying, and fun. This revised edition includes new chapters, a new preface, and a new epilogue, and incorporates updated teaching points that Foster has developed over the past decade.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper Perennial
  • Pages : 368 pages
  • ISBN : 9780062301673
  • Rating : 4/5 from 1 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKHow to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised Edition

How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised Edition

How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised Edition
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper Perennial
  • Release : 25 February 2014
GET THIS BOOKHow to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised Edition

A thoroughly revised and updated edition of Thomas C. Foster's classic guide—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes, and contexts—that shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. While many books can be enjoyed for their basic stories, there are often deeper literary meanings interwoven in these texts. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps us to discover those hidden truths by looking at literature with

How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised

How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 25 February 2014
GET THIS BOOKHow to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised

A thoroughly revised and updated edition of Thomas C. Foster's classic guide—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes, and contexts—that shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. While many books can be enjoyed for their basic stories, there are often deeper literary meanings interwoven in these texts. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps us to discover those hidden truths by looking at literature with

How to Read Literature Like a Professor

How to Read Literature Like a Professor
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper
  • Release : 16 May 2017
GET THIS BOOKHow to Read Literature Like a Professor

The classic guide, now available in a hardcover edition—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes and contexts, that shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable. While many books can be enjoyed for their basic stories, there are often deeper literary meanings interwoven in these texts. How to Read Literature Like a Professor helps us to discover those hidden truths by looking at literature with the eyes—and

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

How to Read Novels Like a Professor
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 06 October 2009
GET THIS BOOKHow to Read Novels Like a Professor

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes's Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today's masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history. Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How

How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids

How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 23 April 2013
GET THIS BOOKHow to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids

In How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids, New York Times bestselling author and professor Thomas C. Foster gives tweens the tools they need to become thoughtful readers. With funny insights and a conversational style, he explains the way writers use symbol, metaphor, characterization, setting, plot and other key techniques to make a story come to life. From that very first middle school book report to that first college course, kids need to be able to understand the

How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor

How to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 26 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKHow to Read Nonfiction Like a Professor

The New York Times bestselling author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor uses the same skills to teach how to access accurate information in a rapidly changing 24/7 news cycle and become better readers, thinkers, and consumers of media. We live in an information age, but it is increasingly difficult to know which information to trust. Fake news is rampant in mass media, stoked by foreign powers wishing to disrupt a democratic society. We need to be more perceptive,

Reading the Silver Screen

Reading the Silver Screen
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 13 September 2016
GET THIS BOOKReading the Silver Screen

From the New York Times bestselling author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor comes an indispensable analysis of our most celebrated medium, film. No art form is as instantly and continuously gratifying as film. When the house lights go down and the lion roars, we settle in to be shocked, frightened, elated, moved, and thrilled. We expect magic. While we’re being exhilarated and terrified, our minds are also processing data of all sorts—visual, linguistic, auditory, spatial—

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • Author : Mark Haddon
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 18 May 2004
GET THIS BOOKThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

A bestselling modern classic—both poignant and funny—about a boy with autism who sets out to solve the murder of a neighbor's dog and discovers unexpected truths about himself and the world. Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions.

The Righteous Mind

The Righteous Mind
  • Author : Jonathan Haidt
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 17 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Righteous Mind

Presents a groundbreaking investigation into the origins of morality at the core of religion and politics, offering scholarly insight into the motivations behind cultural clashes that are polarizing America.

A Little Life

A Little Life
  • Author : Hanya Yanagihara
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 10 March 2015
GET THIS BOOKA Little Life

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Wall Street Journal • NPR • Vanity Fair • Vogue • Minneapolis Star Tribune • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • The Guardian • O, The Oprah Magazine • Slate • Newsday • Buzzfeed • The Economist • Newsweek • People • Kansas City Star • Shelf Awareness • Time Out New York • Huffington Post • Book Riot • Refinery29 • Bookpage • Publishers Weekly • Kirkus WINNER OF THE KIRKUS PRIZE A MAN BOOKER PRIZE FINALIST A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST A Little Life follows four

Shakespeare and the Jews

Shakespeare and the Jews
  • Author : James Shapiro
  • Publisher : Columbia University Press
  • Release : 08 March 2016
GET THIS BOOKShakespeare and the Jews

First published in 1996, James Shapiro's pathbreaking analysis of the portrayal of Jews in Elizabethan England challenged readers to recognize the significance of Jewish questions in Shakespeare's day. From accounts of Christians masquerading as Jews to fantasies of settling foreign Jews in Ireland, Shapiro's work delves deeply into the cultural insecurities of Elizabethans while illuminating Shakespeare's portrayal of Shylock in The Merchant of Venice. In a new preface, Shapiro reflects upon what he has learned about intolerance since the first publication

Twenty-five Books That Shaped America

Twenty-five Books That Shaped America
  • Author : Thomas C. Foster
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 24 May 2011
GET THIS BOOKTwenty-five Books That Shaped America

Thomas C. Foster, acclaimed author of the phenomenal bestseller How to Read Literature Like a Professor, returns with a hugely entertaining appreciation of twenty-five works of literature that have greatly influenced the American identity. In a delightfully informative, often wry manner, Twenty-Five Books that Shaped America looks closely at important literary classics that are true national treasures. From The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, The Scarlet Letter, Moby Dick, and Huckleberry Finn through Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, Jack

Timescales

Timescales
  • Author : Bethany Wiggin,Carolyn Fornoff,Patricia Eunji Kim
  • Publisher : U of Minnesota Press
  • Release : 05 January 2020
GET THIS BOOKTimescales

Humanists, scientists, and artists collaborate to address the disjunctive temporalities of ecological crisis In 2016, Antarctica’s Totten Glacier, formed some 34 million years ago, detached from its bedrock, melted from the bottom by warming ocean waters. For the editors of Timescales, this event captures the disjunctive temporalities of our era’s—the Anthropocene’s—ecological crises: the rapid and accelerating degradation of our planet’s life-supporting environment established slowly over millennia. They contend that, to represent and respond to these crises (

Gearbreakers

Gearbreakers
  • Author : Zoe Hana Mikuta
  • Publisher : Feiwel & Friends
  • Release : 29 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKGearbreakers

Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose—and falling for each other—in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series. We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead... The shadow of Godolia's tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the