I Can t Date Jesus

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can’t Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I’m Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being black in America is…well, have you watched the news? With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today’s boldest writers on social issues, I Can’t Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux’s impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today’s America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite. He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; that time his father asked if he was “funny” while shaking his hand; his obstacles in embracing intimacy; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams. Perfect for fans of David Sedaris and Phoebe Robinson, I Can’t Date Jesus tells us—without apologies—what it’s like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Michael Arceneaux
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Pages : 256 pages
  • ISBN : 1501178865
  • Rating : 5/5 from 2 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKI Can t Date Jesus

I Can't Date Jesus

I Can't Date Jesus
  • Author : Michael Arceneaux
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 24 July 2018
GET THIS BOOKI Can't Date Jesus

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can’t Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I’m Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons

I Don't Want to Die Poor

I Don't Want to Die Poor
  • Author : Michael Arceneaux
  • Publisher : Atria Books
  • Release : 07 April 2020
GET THIS BOOKI Don't Want to Die Poor

From the New York Times bestselling author of I Can’t Date Jesus, which Vogue called “a piece of personal and cultural storytelling that is as fun as it is illuminating,” comes a wry and insightful essay collection that explores the financial and emotional cost of chasing your dreams. Ever since Oprah Winfrey told the 2007 graduating class of Howard University, “Don’t be afraid,” Michael Arceneaux has been scared to death. You should never do the opposite of what Oprah

Not Yet Married

Not Yet Married
  • Author : Marshall Segal
  • Publisher : Crossway
  • Release : 20 June 2017
GET THIS BOOKNot Yet Married

Life Is Never Mainly About Love and Marriage. So Learn to Live and Date for More. Many of you grew up assuming that marriage would meet all of your needs and unlock God’s purposes for you. But God has far more planned for you than your future marriage. Not Yet Married is not about waiting quietly in the corner of the world for God to bring you “the one,” but about inspiring you to live and date for more

The Sisters Are Alright

The Sisters Are Alright
  • Author : Tamara Winfrey Harris
  • Publisher : Berrett-Koehler Publishers
  • Release : 07 July 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Sisters Are Alright

GOLD MEDALIST OF FOREWORD REVIEWS' 2015 INDIEFAB AWARDS IN WOMEN'S STUDIES What's wrong with black women? Not a damned thing! The Sisters Are Alright exposes anti–black-woman propaganda and shows how real black women are pushing back against distorted cartoon versions of themselves. When African women arrived on American shores, the three-headed hydra—servile Mammy, angry Sapphire, and lascivious Jezebel—followed close behind. In the '60s, the Matriarch, the willfully unmarried baby machine leeching off the state, joined them. These

Lamb

Lamb
  • Author : Christopher Moore
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 13 October 2009
GET THIS BOOKLamb

The birth of Jesus has been well chronicled, as have his glorious teachings, acts, and divine sacrifice after his thirtieth birthday. But no one knows about the early life of the Son of God, the missing years -- except Biff, the Messiah's best bud, who has been resurrected to tell the story in the divinely hilarious yet heartfelt work "reminiscent of Vonnegut and Douglas Adams" (Philadelphia Inquirer). Verily, the story Biff has to tell is a miraculous one, filled with

God Is Not Great

God Is Not Great
  • Author : Christopher Hitchens
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release : 19 November 2008
GET THIS BOOKGod Is Not Great

Christopher Hitchens, described in the London Observer as “one of the most prolific, as well as brilliant, journalists of our time” takes on his biggest subject yet–the increasingly dangerous role of religion in the world. In the tradition of Bertrand Russell’s Why I Am Not a Christian and Sam Harris’s recent bestseller, The End Of Faith, Christopher Hitchens makes the ultimate case against religion. With a close and erudite reading of the major religious texts, he documents

My Heart--Christ's Home

My Heart--Christ's Home
  • Author : Robert Boyd Munger
  • Publisher : InterVarsity Press
  • Release : 26 August 2010
GET THIS BOOKMy Heart--Christ's Home

More than ten million readers have enjoyed Robert Boyd Munger's spiritually challenging meditation on Christian discipleship. Imagining what it would be like to have Jesus come to the home of our hearts, Munger moves room by room considering what Christ desires for us. In the living room we prepare to meet Christ daily. In the dining room we examine together what appetites should and should not control us. We even explore the closets in our lives that Christ can help

You Can't Touch My Hair Deluxe

You Can't Touch My Hair Deluxe
  • Author : Phoebe Robinson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 04 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKYou Can't Touch My Hair Deluxe

The deluxe eBook edition of stand-up comedian and WNYC podcaster Phoebe Robinson’s You Can’t Touch My Hair brings Phoebe’s hilarious voice off the page, directly into your eyes and ears. This enhanced edition features exclusive video footage with cameos by some of Phoebe’s comedy besties, plus more than an hour of audio where Phoebe talks regrettable crushes from the 90s, advice she wishes someone had given her as a teenager, the influence of RuPaul, and much

The Gospel According to Mark

The Gospel According to Mark
  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release : 01 January 1999
GET THIS BOOKThe Gospel According to Mark

The earliest of the four Gospels, the book portrays Jesus as an enigmatic figure, struggling with enemies, his inner and external demons, and with his devoted but disconcerted disciples. Unlike other gospels, his parables are obscure, to be explained secretly to his followers. With an introduction by Nick Cave

Redeeming Love

Redeeming Love
  • Author : Francine Rivers
  • Publisher : Multnomah
  • Release : 13 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKRedeeming Love

A favorite Christian romance classic--a tragically wounded soul, the man called to marry her, and the only love that heals all--now available in a beautiful keepsake, linen-bound edition! California's Gold Country, 1850. A time when men sold their souls for a bag of gold and women sold their bodies for a place to sleep. Angel expects nothing from men but betrayal. Sold into prostitution as a child, she survives by keeping her hated alive. And what she hates most are the

The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ

The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ
  • Author : Philip Pullman
  • Publisher : Open Road + Grove/Atlantic
  • Release : 21 April 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ

A thought-provoking retelling of the Gospel story from an atheist perspective. Upon its hardcover publication, renowned author Philip Pullman’s The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ provoked heated debates and stirred a frenzy of controversy throughout the clerical and literary worlds alike with its bold retelling of the life of Jesus Christ. In this remarkable piece of fiction, famously atheistic author Philip Pullman challenges the events of the Gospels and puts forward his own compelling and plausible version

Spirit and Sacrament

Spirit and Sacrament
  • Author : Andrew Wilson
  • Publisher : Zondervan
  • Release : 08 January 2019
GET THIS BOOKSpirit and Sacrament

Spirit and Sacrament by pastor and author Andrew Wilson is an impassioned call to join together two traditions that are frequently and unnecessarily kept separate. It is an invitation to pursue the best of both worlds in worship, the Eucharistic and the charismatic, with the grace of God at the center. Wilson envisions church services in which healing testimonies and prayers of confession coexist, the congregation sings When I Survey the Wondrous Cross followed by Happy Day, and creeds move

What Jesus Meant

What Jesus Meant
  • Author : Garry Wills
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 26 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKWhat Jesus Meant

Arguing that Jesus subscribed to no political program, the author draws on the gospel to explain Jesus's radical views about class and power and how the Resurrection and Christ's divinity are key factors in his teachings.

True Love Dates

True Love Dates
  • Author : Debra K. Fileta
  • Publisher : Zondervan
  • Release : 08 October 2013
GET THIS BOOKTrue Love Dates

In True Love Dates, Debra Fileta encourages singles not to “kiss dating goodbye” but instead to experience a season of dating as a way to find real love. Through reading powerful, real-life stories (including the author’s personal journey) and gaining insights from Fileta’s experience as a professional counselor, readers will discover that it ispossible to find true love through dating. Christians are looking for answers to finding true love. They are disillusioned with the church that has provided

The Lost Gospel

The Lost Gospel
  • Author : Simcha Jacobovici,Barrie Wilson
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 12 November 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Lost Gospel

The mystery of a newly translated “gospel”—filled with startling revelations and fascinating detail about the life and times of Jesus—is now revealed in this ground-breaking follow-up to the New York Times bestseller The Jesus Family Tomb. Waiting to be rediscovered in the British Library is an ancient manuscript from early Christianity, copied by an anonymous monk. This document is at least 1,450 years old, possibly dating to the first century, but it has never been properly translated or decoded.