I Can t Date Jesus

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can’t Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I’m Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being black in America is…well, have you watched the news? With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today’s boldest writers on social issues, I Can’t Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux’s impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today’s America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite. He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; that time his father asked if he was “funny” while shaking his hand; his obstacles in embracing intimacy; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams. Perfect for fans of David Sedaris and Phoebe Robinson, I Can’t Date Jesus tells us—without apologies—what it’s like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Michael Arceneaux
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Pages : 256 pages
  • ISBN : 1501178865
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 3 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKI Can t Date Jesus

I Can't Date Jesus

I Can't Date Jesus
  • Author : Michael Arceneaux
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 24 July 2018
GET THIS BOOKI Can't Date Jesus

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can’t Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I’m Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons

I Don't Want to Die Poor

I Don't Want to Die Poor
  • Author : Michael Arceneaux
  • Publisher : Atria Books
  • Release : 07 April 2020
GET THIS BOOKI Don't Want to Die Poor

From the New York Times bestselling author of I Can’t Date Jesus, which Vogue called “a piece of personal and cultural storytelling that is as fun as it is illuminating,” comes a wry and insightful essay collection that explores the financial and emotional cost of chasing your dreams. Ever since Oprah Winfrey told the 2007 graduating class of Howard University, “Don’t be afraid,” Michael Arceneaux has been scared to death. You should never do the opposite of what Oprah

Not Yet Married

Not Yet Married
  • Author : Marshall Segal
  • Publisher : Crossway
  • Release : 20 June 2017
GET THIS BOOKNot Yet Married

Life Is Never Mainly About Love and Marriage. So Learn to Live and Date for More. Many of you grew up assuming that marriage would meet all of your needs and unlock God’s purposes for you. But God has far more planned for you than your future marriage. Not Yet Married is not about waiting quietly in the corner of the world for God to bring you “the one,” but about inspiring you to live and date for more

The Sisters Are Alright

The Sisters Are Alright
  • Author : Tamara Winfrey Harris
  • Publisher : Berrett-Koehler Publishers
  • Release : 07 July 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Sisters Are Alright

GOLD MEDALIST OF FOREWORD REVIEWS' 2015 INDIEFAB AWARDS IN WOMEN'S STUDIES What's wrong with black women? Not a damned thing! The Sisters Are Alright exposes anti–black-woman propaganda and shows how real black women are pushing back against distorted cartoon versions of themselves. When African women arrived on American shores, the three-headed hydra—servile Mammy, angry Sapphire, and lascivious Jezebel—followed close behind. In the '60s, the Matriarch, the willfully unmarried baby machine leeching off the state, joined them. These

Lamb

Lamb
  • Author : Christopher Moore
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 13 October 2009
GET THIS BOOKLamb

The birth of Jesus has been well chronicled, as have his glorious teachings, acts, and divine sacrifice after his thirtieth birthday. But no one knows about the early life of the Son of God, the missing years -- except Biff, the Messiah's best bud, who has been resurrected to tell the story in the divinely hilarious yet heartfelt work "reminiscent of Vonnegut and Douglas Adams" (Philadelphia Inquirer). Verily, the story Biff has to tell is a miraculous one, filled with

The Gospel According to Mark

The Gospel According to Mark
  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release : 01 January 1999
GET THIS BOOKThe Gospel According to Mark

The earliest of the four Gospels, the book portrays Jesus as an enigmatic figure, struggling with enemies, his inner and external demons, and with his devoted but disconcerted disciples. Unlike other gospels, his parables are obscure, to be explained secretly to his followers. With an introduction by Nick Cave

God Is Not Great

God Is Not Great
  • Author : Christopher Hitchens
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release : 19 November 2008
GET THIS BOOKGod Is Not Great

Christopher Hitchens, described in the London Observer as “one of the most prolific, as well as brilliant, journalists of our time” takes on his biggest subject yet–the increasingly dangerous role of religion in the world. In the tradition of Bertrand Russell’s Why I Am Not a Christian and Sam Harris’s recent bestseller, The End Of Faith, Christopher Hitchens makes the ultimate case against religion. With a close and erudite reading of the major religious texts, he documents

My Heart--Christ's Home

My Heart--Christ's Home
  • Author : Robert Boyd Munger
  • Publisher : InterVarsity Press
  • Release : 26 August 2010
GET THIS BOOKMy Heart--Christ's Home

More than ten million readers have enjoyed Robert Boyd Munger's spiritually challenging meditation on Christian discipleship. Imagining what it would be like to have Jesus come to the home of our hearts, Munger moves room by room considering what Christ desires for us. In the living room we prepare to meet Christ daily. In the dining room we examine together what appetites should and should not control us. We even explore the closets in our lives that Christ can help

True Love Dates

True Love Dates
  • Author : Debra K. Fileta
  • Publisher : Zondervan
  • Release : 08 October 2013
GET THIS BOOKTrue Love Dates

In True Love Dates, Debra Fileta encourages singles not to “kiss dating goodbye” but instead to experience a season of dating as a way to find real love. Through reading powerful, real-life stories (including the author’s personal journey) and gaining insights from Fileta’s experience as a professional counselor, readers will discover that it ispossible to find true love through dating. Christians are looking for answers to finding true love. They are disillusioned with the church that has provided

Second Coming

Second Coming
  • Author : Rick And Alice Valentine
  • Publisher : Larry Flynn
  • Release : 01 April 2011
GET THIS BOOKSecond Coming

Jay, your average stoner from Portland Oregon, finds out when he's twenty-one that he is Jesus, the son of God. This may have been a good thing if it weren't for the fact that he had been molested early in life by a Catholic Priest. It is a comic and tragic tale of reincarnated Disciples, and a difficult choice on whether the world is worth saving. Jay grows up thinking he's a normal kid. Through a series of hilarious and

Frankly in Love

Frankly in Love
  • Author : David Yoon
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 10 September 2019
GET THIS BOOKFrankly in Love

An Instant New York Times Bestseller and #1 Indie Bestseller! A William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist An Asian Pacific American Librarians Association Honor Book Two friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go wrong? Frank Li has two names. There's Frank Li, his American name. Then there's Sung-Min Li, his Korean name. No one uses his Korean name, not even his parents. Frank barely speaks any Korean. He was born and raised in Southern California. Even so, his

The Book of Longings

The Book of Longings
  • Author : Sue Monk Kidd
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 21 April 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Book of Longings

“An extraordinary novel . . . a triumph of insight and storytelling.” —Associated Press “A true masterpiece.” —Glennon Doyle, author of Untamed An extraordinary story set in the first century about a woman who finds her voice and her destiny, from the celebrated number one New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Life of Bees and The Invention of Wings In her mesmerizing fourth work of fiction, Sue Monk Kidd takes an audacious approach to history and brings her acclaimed narrative gifts

Dear Church

Dear Church
  • Author : Lenny Duncan
  • Publisher : Fortress Press
  • Release : 02 July 2019
GET THIS BOOKDear Church

Lenny Duncan is the unlikeliest of pastors. Formerly incarcerated, he is now a black preacher in the whitest denomination in the United States: the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA). Shifting demographics and shrinking congregations make all the headlines, but Duncan sees something else at work--drawing a direct line between the church's lack of diversity and the church's lack of vitality. The problems the ELCA faces are theological, not sociological. But so are the answers. Part manifesto, part confession, and

You Can't Touch My Hair Deluxe

You Can't Touch My Hair Deluxe
  • Author : Phoebe Robinson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 04 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKYou Can't Touch My Hair Deluxe

The deluxe eBook edition of stand-up comedian and WNYC podcaster Phoebe Robinson’s You Can’t Touch My Hair brings Phoebe’s hilarious voice off the page, directly into your eyes and ears. This enhanced edition features exclusive video footage with cameos by some of Phoebe’s comedy besties, plus more than an hour of audio where Phoebe talks regrettable crushes from the 90s, advice she wishes someone had given her as a teenager, the influence of RuPaul, and much

A Children's Bible: A Novel

A Children's Bible: A Novel
  • Author : Lydia Millet
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 12 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKA Children's Bible: A Novel

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2020 by Apple Books, Literary Hub, The Millions, and The Week An indelible novel of teenage alienation and adult complacency in an unraveling world. Pulitzer Prize finalist Lydia Millet’s sublime new novel—her first since the National Book Award long-listed Sweet Lamb of Heaven—follows a group of twelve eerily mature children on a forced vacation with their families at a sprawling lakeside mansion. Contemptuous of their parents, who pass their days in a