Infinite Jest

A gargantuan, mind-altering comedy about the Pursuit of Happiness in America Set in an addicts' halfway house and a tennis academy, and featuring the most endearingly screwed-up family to come along in recent fiction, Infinite Jest explores essential questions about what entertainment is and why it has come to so dominate our lives; about how our desire for entertainment affects our need to connect with other people; and about what the pleasures we choose say about who we are. Equal parts philosophical quest and screwball comedy, Infinite Jest bends every rule of fiction without sacrificing for a moment its own entertainment value. It is an exuberant, uniquely American exploration of the passions that make us human - and one of those rare books that renew the idea of what a novel can do. "The next step in fiction...Edgy, accurate, and darkly witty...Think Beckett, think Pynchon, think Gaddis. Think." --Sven Birkerts, The Atlantic

Produk Detail:

  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Back Bay Books
  • Pages : 1104 pages
  • ISBN : 0316073857
  • Rating : 4/5 from 24 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKInfinite Jest

Infinite Jest

Infinite Jest
  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Back Bay Books
  • Release : 13 April 2009
GET THIS BOOKInfinite Jest

A gargantuan, mind-altering comedy about the Pursuit of Happiness in America Set in an addicts' halfway house and a tennis academy, and featuring the most endearingly screwed-up family to come along in recent fiction, Infinite Jest explores essential questions about what entertainment is and why it has come to so dominate our lives; about how our desire for entertainment affects our need to connect with other people; and about what the pleasures we choose say about who we are. Equal

Infinite Jest

Infinite Jest
  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release : 14 April 2011
GET THIS BOOKInfinite Jest

'A writer of virtuostic talents who can seemingly do anything' New York Times 'Wallace is a superb comedian of culture . . . his exuberance and intellectual impishness are a delight' James Wood, Guardian 'He induces the kind of laughter which, when read in bed with a sleeping partner, wakes said sleeping partner up . . . He's damn good' Nicholas Lezard, Guardian 'One of the best books about addiction and recovery to appear in recent memory' Sunday Times Somewhere in the not-so-distant future the residents

Infinite Jest

Infinite Jest
  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release : 13 April 2009
GET THIS BOOKInfinite Jest

A gargantuan, mind-altering comedy about the Pursuit of Happiness in America Set in an addicts' halfway house and a tennis academy, and featuring the most endearingly screwed-up family to come along in recent fiction, Infinite Jest explores essential questions about what entertainment is and why it has come to so dominate our lives; about how our desire for entertainment affects our need to connect with other people; and about what the pleasures we choose say about who we are. Equal

David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest

David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest
  • Author : Stephen J. Burn
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 19 April 2012
GET THIS BOOKDavid Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest

Infinite Jest has been hailed as one the great modern American novels and its author, David Foster Wallace, who committed suicide in 2008, as one of the most influential and innovative authors of the past 20 years. Don DeLillo called Infinite Jest a "three-stage rocket to the future," a work "equal to the huge, babbling spin-out sweep of contemporary life," while Time Magazine included Infinite Jest on its list of 100 Greatest Novels published between 1923-2006. David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest: A Reader's

A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again

A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again
  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Back Bay Books
  • Release : 23 November 2009
GET THIS BOOKA Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again

In this exuberantly praised book - a collection of seven pieces on subjects ranging from television to tennis, from the Illinois State Fair to the films of David Lynch, from postmodern literary theory to the supposed fun of traveling aboard a Caribbean luxury cruiseliner - David Foster Wallace brings to nonfiction the same curiosity, hilarity, and exhilarating verbal facility that has delighted readers of his fiction, including the bestselling Infinite Jest.

Elegant Complexity

Elegant Complexity
  • Author : Greg Carlisle
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 18 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKElegant Complexity

"Elegant Complexity is the first critical work to provide detailed and thorough commentary on each of the 192 sections of David Foster Wallace's masterful Infinite Jest. No other commentary on Infinite Jest recognizes that Wallace clearly divided the book into 28 chapters that are thematically unified. A chronology at the end of the study reorders each section of the novel into a sequential timeline that orients the reader and that could be used to support a chronological reading of the novel. Other

Infinite Jest

Infinite Jest
  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Back Bay Books
  • Release : 13 November 2006
GET THIS BOOKInfinite Jest

The story of an intelligent but zany dysfunctional family is set in a drug-and-alcohol addicts' halfway house and a tennis academy and follows such themes as heartbreak, philosophy, and advertising.

Paradise Now

Paradise Now
  • Author : Chris Jennings
  • Publisher : Random House Trade Paperbacks
  • Release : 22 August 2017
GET THIS BOOKParadise Now

For readers of Jill Lepore, Joseph J. Ellis, and Tony Horwitz comes a lively, thought-provoking intellectual history of the golden age of American utopianism—and the bold, revolutionary, and eccentric visions for the future put forward by five of history’s most influential utopian movements. In the wake of the Enlightenment and the onset of industrialism, a generation of dreamers took it upon themselves to confront the messiness and injustice of a rapidly changing world. To our eyes, the utopian

Infinite Jest

Infinite Jest
  • Author : Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.),Constance C. McPhee,Nadine M. Orenstein,Nadine Orenstein
  • Publisher : Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Release : 18 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKInfinite Jest

Published in conjunction with an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, Sept. 13, 2011-Mar. 4, 2012.

The Narrative Game: The Reading of David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest as Play

The Narrative Game: The Reading of David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest as Play
  • Author : Rainer Holl
  • Publisher : Anchor Academic Publishing (aap_verlag)
  • Release : 23 May 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Narrative Game: The Reading of David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest as Play

In 1996, David Foster Wallace published his second major novel 'Infinite Jest' that changed not only our understanding of what literature can do but, also the way we read literature. Despite its age, the book has not lost a single bit of its fascination, its actuality, and its academic appeal. With its hundreds of characters, thousands of pages, hundreds of endnotes and myriads of different perspectives, sub-plots, and narrative digressions, 'Infinite Jest' was, and still is, an extraordinary challenge for its

Fate, Time, and Language

Fate, Time, and Language
  • Author : David Foster Wallace,Jay L. Garfield
  • Publisher : Columbia University Press
  • Release : 18 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKFate, Time, and Language

Presents David Foster Wallace critiques philosopher Richard Taylor's work implying that humans have no control over the future and includes essays linking Wallace's critique with his later works of fiction.

Brief Interviews with Hideous Men

Brief Interviews with Hideous Men
  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release : 24 September 2009
GET THIS BOOKBrief Interviews with Hideous Men

In this thought-provoking and playful short story collection, David Foster Wallace nudges at the boundaries of fiction with inimitable wit and seductive intelligence. Wallace's stories present a world where the bizarre and the banal are interwoven and where hideous men appear in many guises. Among the stories are 'The Depressed Person,' a dazzling and blackly humorous portrayal of a woman's mental state; 'Adult World,' which reveals a woman's agonized consideration of her confusing sexual relationship with her husband;

The Fact of the Cage

The Fact of the Cage
  • Author : Karl A. Plank
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 18 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Fact of the Cage

David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest raised expectations of what a novel might do. As he understood fiction to aim at what it means to be human, so he hoped his work might relieve the loneliness of human suffering. In that light, The Fact of the Cage shows how Wallace’s masterpiece dramatizes the condition of encagement and how it comes to be met by "Abiding" and through inter-relational acts of speaking and hearing, touching, and facing. Revealing Wallace’s

The David Foster Wallace Reader

The David Foster Wallace Reader
  • Author : David Foster Wallace
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release : 11 November 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe David Foster Wallace Reader

Where do you begin with a writer as original and brilliant as David Foster Wallace? Here -- with a carefully considered selection of his extraordinary body of work, chosen by a range of great writers, critics, and those who worked with him most closely. This volume presents his most dazzling, funniest, and most heartbreaking work -- essays like his famous cruise-ship piece, "A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again," excerpts from his novels The Broom of the System, Infinite