Jungle of Stone

The extraordinary true story of the rediscovery of the Mayan civilization: In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Empire of Ice, comes the forgotten tale of 19th century American John Lloyd Stephens’s quest to uncover and understand the ancient world’s most advanced civilization amid the jungles of Central America. Imagine The Lost City of Z, except the fabled lost jungle civilization really was found—an “Egypt in the Americas” in which 1,500-year-old pyramids and temples were hidden in impenetrable tropical forests, along with evidence of astonishingly sophisticated art, writing, science, and culture. In 1839, when John Lloyd Stephens, a dashing U.S. special ambassador to Central America, and Frederick Catherwood, an acclaimed British architect and draftsman, set out into the unexplored jungles of the Yucatan, Charles Darwin was aboard the H.M.S. Beagle, the Bible was the basic template of history, and most people believed the world was less than 6,000 years old. Deep in the jungles, they stumbled upon the wondrous ruins of the Mayan civilization—an astonishing find that would change western understanding of human history. In Jungle of Stone, William Carlsen uncovers the rich history of the ruins as he follows Stephens and Catherwood’s journey through present day Guatemala, Honduras, and Mexico. Drawing upon Stephens’s journals and Cather’s magnificent illustrations—which became the bestselling book Incidents of Travel in Yucatan—Carlsen artfully tells the enthralling story of two great voyagers and the world they discovered.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : William Morrow Paperbacks
  • Pages : 544 pages
  • ISBN : 9780062407405
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 4 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone
  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : William Morrow Paperbacks
  • Release : 25 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

The extraordinary true story of the rediscovery of the Mayan civilization: In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Empire of Ice, comes the forgotten tale of 19th century American John Lloyd Stephens’s quest to uncover and understand the ancient world’s most advanced civilization amid the jungles of Central America. Imagine The Lost City of Z, except the fabled lost jungle civilization really was found—an “Egypt in the Americas” in which 1,500-year-old pyramids and temples

Jungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone
  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 26 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

The acclaimed chronicle of the discovery of the legendary lost civilization of the Maya. Includes the history of the major Maya sites, including Palenque, Uxmal, Chichen Itza, Tuloom, Copan, and more. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Illustrated with a map and more than 100 images. In 1839, rumors of extraordinary yet baffling stone ruins buried within the unmapped jungles of Central America reached two of the world’s most intrepid travelers. Seized by the reports, American diplomat John Lloyd Stephens and British artist

Jungle of Steel and Stone

Jungle of Steel and Stone
  • Author : George C. Chesbro
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release : 14 November 2017
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Steel and Stone

From the author of the Mongo Mysteries: Former CIA operative Veil Kendry uses his paranormal powers to track down a stolen African artifact. When Veil Kendry dreams, he possesses a clarity normal people never experience, along with the power of volition, which allows him to enter the minds of others. Veil’s strange gift was invaluable as an operative for the CIA, but now he’s left that life behind and instead channels his unusual ability into art. When needed,

The Jungle Book

The Jungle Book
  • Author : Diane Wright Landolf
  • Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 18 December 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Jungle Book

Mother and Fatherwolf aren’t looking for trouble, but when a small man-child toddles by their cave, they decide they can’t leave him alone in the jungle. They take the boy into their pack, name him Mowgli, and raise him as one of their own cubs. Mowgli learns the law of the jungle from the big old brown bear Baloo and Bagheera the black panther, but even they can’t keep an eye on him all the time!

The Lost City of the Monkey God

The Lost City of the Monkey God
  • Author : Douglas Preston
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release : 03 January 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Lost City of the Monkey God

NAMED A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017#1 New York Times and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller! A five-hundred-year-old legend. An ancient curse. A stunning medical mystery. And a pioneering journey into the unknown heart of the world's densest jungle. Since the days of conquistador Hernán Cortés, rumors have circulated about a lost city of immense wealth hidden somewhere in the Honduran interior, called the White City or the Lost City of the Monkey God. Indigenous tribes speak of

Tales from the Yucatan Jungle

Tales from the Yucatan Jungle
  • Author : Kristine Ellingson
  • Publisher : Sun Topaz
  • Release : 01 January 2012
GET THIS BOOKTales from the Yucatan Jungle

Where would you go if you needed to get away from it all? What would happen if you never came back? Your life would change forever as it did for Kristine Ellingson. She left her home in the U.S. and moved to Yucatan, the vibrant land of the ancient Maya. Kristine Ellingson was a successful American jewelry designer with two grown children and a marriage on the rocks. She left her home in Oregon for a trip to Yucatan,

Stone of Kings

Stone of Kings
  • Author : Gerard Helferich
  • Publisher : Globe Pequot
  • Release : 24 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKStone of Kings

A gripping account of the 400-year-old quest for the precious stone revered by the ancient Maya Jade has long been prized as one of the most precious substances on earth, used to adorn kings, cure disease, and perform sacred rituals, including human sacrifice. For millennia, it played a crucial role in the culture of the Maya and other ancient Americans, but the Spanish lusted after gold and silver, and within fifty years of the Conquest, the source of Maya jade

The Jungle

The Jungle
  • Author : Upton Sinclair
  • Publisher : OUP USA
  • Release : 19 August 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Jungle

A searing novel of social realism, Upton Sinclair's The Jungle follows the fortunes of Jurgis Rudkus, an immigrant who finds in the stockyards of turn-of-the-century Chicago a ruthless system that degrades and impoverishes him, and an industry whose filthy practices contaminate the meat it processes. From the stench of the killing-beds to the horrors of the fertilizer-works, the appalling conditions in which Jurgis works are described in intense detail by an author bent on social reform. So powerful was the

Deep in the Jungle of Doom (Give Yourself Goosebumps #11)

Deep in the Jungle of Doom (Give Yourself Goosebumps #11)
  • Author : R. L. Stine
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release : 29 September 2015
GET THIS BOOKDeep in the Jungle of Doom (Give Yourself Goosebumps #11)

"Reader beware--you choose the scare! GIVE YOURSELF GOOSEBUMPS! You're headed to a South American jungle with your nature-study class. Everything seems pretty cool at first, but then you start to get bored. Where's the beach? Where's the excitement? So you and your friend decide to do a little exploring on your own. That's when you see something so freaky, all you want to do is get out of there! If you run screaming down one trail you'll end up at

Stone Butch Blues

Stone Butch Blues
  • Author : Leslie Feinberg
  • Publisher : ReadHowYouWant.com
  • Release : 01 November 2010
GET THIS BOOKStone Butch Blues

Published in 1993, this brave, original novel is considered to be the finest account ever written of the complexities of a transgendered existence. Woman or man? Thats the question that rages like a storm around Jess Goldberg, clouding her life and her identity. Growing up differently gendered in a blue--collar town in the 1950s, coming out as a butch in the bars and factories of the prefeminist 60s, deciding to pass as a man in order to survive when she is

The Lost Cities of the Mayas

The Lost Cities of the Mayas
  • Author : Fabio Bourbon
  • Publisher : Abbeville Press
  • Release : 24 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Lost Cities of the Mayas

The story and "adventurous life of Frederick Catherwood, the English artist who discovered lost Mayan cities in the jungles of Central America and the Yucatán plateau in the early 19th century."--Jacket.

Rubyfruit Jungle

Rubyfruit Jungle
  • Author : Rita Mae Brown
  • Publisher : Bantam
  • Release : 25 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKRubyfruit Jungle

“The rare work of fiction that has changed real life . . . If you don’t yet know Molly Bolt—or Rita Mae Brown, who created her—I urge you to read and thank them both.”—Gloria Steinem Winner of the Lambda Literary Pioneer Award | Winner of the Lee Lynch Classic Book Award A landmark coming-of-age novel that launched the career of one of this country’s most distinctive voices, Rubyfruit Jungle remains a transformative work more than forty years after its