Jungle of Stone

The acclaimed chronicle of the discovery of the legendary lost civilization of the Maya. Includes the history of the major Maya sites, including Palenque, Uxmal, Chichen Itza, Tuloom, Copan, and more. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Illustrated with a map and more than 100 images. In 1839, rumors of extraordinary yet baffling stone ruins buried within the unmapped jungles of Central America reached two of the world’s most intrepid travelers. Seized by the reports, American diplomat John Lloyd Stephens and British artist Frederick Catherwood—both already celebrated for their adventures in Egypt, the Holy Land, Greece, and Rome—sailed together out of New York Harbor on an expedition into the forbidding rainforests of present-day Honduras, Guatemala, and Mexico. What they found would upend the West’s understanding of human history. In the tradition of Lost City of Z and In the Kingdom of Ice, former San Francisco Chronicle journalist and Pulitzer Prize finalist William Carlsen reveals the remarkable story of the discovery of the ancient Maya. Enduring disease, war, and the torments of nature and terrain, Stephens and Catherwood meticulously uncovered and documented the remains of an astonishing civilization that had flourished in the Americas at the same time as classic Greece and Rome—and had been its rival in art, architecture, and power. Their masterful book about the experience, written by Stephens and illustrated by Catherwood, became a sensation, hailed by Edgar Allan Poe as “perhaps the most interesting book of travel ever published” and recognized today as the birth of American archaeology. Most important, Stephens and Catherwood were the first to grasp the significance of the Maya remains, understanding that their antiquity and sophistication overturned the West’s assumptions about the development of civilization. By the time of the flowering of classical Greece (400 b.c.), the Maya were already constructing pyramids and temples around central plazas. Within a few hundred years the structures took on a monumental scale that required millions of man-hours of labor, and technical and organizational expertise. Over the next millennium, dozens of city-states evolved, each governed by powerful lords, some with populations larger than any city in Europe at the time, and connected by road-like causeways of crushed stone. The Maya developed a cohesive, unified cosmology, an array of common gods, a creation story, and a shared artistic and architectural vision. They created stucco and stone monuments and bas reliefs, sculpting figures and hieroglyphs with refined artistic skill. At their peak, an estimated ten million people occupied the Maya’s heartland on the Yucatan Peninsula, a region where only half a million now live. And yet by the time the Spanish reached the “New World,” the Maya had all but disappeared; they would remain a mystery for the next three hundred years. Today, the tables are turned: the Maya are justly famous, if sometimes misunderstood, while Stephens and Catherwood have been nearly forgotten. Based on Carlsen’s rigorous research and his own 1,500-mile journey throughout the Yucatan and Central America, Jungle of Stone is equally a thrilling adventure narrative and a revelatory work of history that corrects our understanding of Stephens, Catherwood, and the Maya themselves.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Pages : 544 pages
  • ISBN : 0062407422
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 5 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone
  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 26 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

The acclaimed chronicle of the discovery of the legendary lost civilization of the Maya. Includes the history of the major Maya sites, including Palenque, Uxmal, Chichen Itza, Tuloom, Copan, and more. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Illustrated with a map and more than 100 images. In 1839, rumors of extraordinary yet baffling stone ruins buried within the unmapped jungles of Central America reached two of the world’s most intrepid travelers. Seized by the reports, American diplomat John Lloyd Stephens and British artist

Jungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone
  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : William Morrow Paperbacks
  • Release : 25 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

The extraordinary true story of the rediscovery of the Mayan civilization: In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Empire of Ice, comes the forgotten tale of 19th century American John Lloyd Stephens’s quest to uncover and understand the ancient world’s most advanced civilization amid the jungles of Central America. Imagine The Lost City of Z, except the fabled lost jungle civilization really was found—an “Egypt in the Americas” in which 1,500-year-old pyramids and temples

The Jungle Book

The Jungle Book
  • Author : Diane Wright Landolf
  • Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 18 December 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Jungle Book

Mother and Fatherwolf aren’t looking for trouble, but when a small man-child toddles by their cave, they decide they can’t leave him alone in the jungle. They take the boy into their pack, name him Mowgli, and raise him as one of their own cubs. Mowgli learns the law of the jungle from the big old brown bear Baloo and Bagheera the black panther, but even they can’t keep an eye on him all the time!

The Lost City of the Monkey God

The Lost City of the Monkey God
  • Author : Douglas Preston
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release : 03 January 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Lost City of the Monkey God

NAMED A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017#1 New York Times and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller! A five-hundred-year-old legend. An ancient curse. A stunning medical mystery. And a pioneering journey into the unknown heart of the world's densest jungle. Since the days of conquistador Hernán Cortés, rumors have circulated about a lost city of immense wealth hidden somewhere in the Honduran interior, called the White City or the Lost City of the Monkey God. Indigenous tribes speak of

Grasshopper Jungle

Grasshopper Jungle
  • Author : Andrew Smith
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 11 February 2014
GET THIS BOOKGrasshopper Jungle

A 2015 Michael L. Printz Honor Book Winner of the 2014 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Fiction "Raunchy, bizarre, smart and compelling." --Rolling Stone “Grasshopper Jungle is simultaneously creepy and hilarious. Reminds me of Kurt Vonnegut’s in “Slaughterhouse Five,” in the best sense.” --New York Times Book Review In the small town of Ealing, Iowa, Austin and his best friend, Robby, have accidentally unleashed an unstoppable army. An army of horny, hungry, six-foot-tall praying mantises that only want to do two

A Maya Universe in Stone

A Maya Universe in Stone
  • Author : Stephen Houston
  • Publisher : Getty Publications
  • Release : 30 November 2021
GET THIS BOOKA Maya Universe in Stone

The first study devoted to a single sculptor in ancient America, as understood through four unprovenanced masterworks traced to a small sector of Guatemala. In 1950, Dana Lamb, an explorer of some notoriety, stumbled on a Maya ruin in the tropical forests of northern Guatemala. Lamb failed to record the location of the site he called Laxtunich, turning his find into the mystery at the center of this book. The lintels he discovered there, long since looted, are probably of a

The Jungle

The Jungle
  • Author : Upton Sinclair
  • Publisher : OUP Oxford
  • Release : 19 August 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Jungle

A searing novel of social realism, Upton Sinclair's The Jungle follows the fortunes of Jurgis Rudkus, an immigrant who finds in the stockyards of turn-of-the-century Chicago a ruthless system that degrades and impoverishes him, and an industry whose filthy practices contaminate the meat it processes. From the stench of the killing-beds to the horrors of the fertilizer-works, the appalling conditions in which Jurgis works are described in intense detail by an author bent on social reform. So powerful was the

Incidents of Travel in Central America, Chiapas and Yucatan (1854) by John Lloyd Stephens, Edited by Frederick Catherwood. / Illustrated

Incidents of Travel in Central America, Chiapas and Yucatan (1854) by John Lloyd Stephens, Edited by Frederick Catherwood. / Illustrated
  • Author : John Lloyd Stephens
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release : 31 January 2018
GET THIS BOOKIncidents of Travel in Central America, Chiapas and Yucatan (1854) by John Lloyd Stephens, Edited by Frederick Catherwood. / Illustrated

John Lloyd Stephens (November 28, 1805 - October 13, 1852) was an American explorer, writer, and diplomat. Stephens was a pivotal figure in the rediscovery of Maya civilization throughout Middle America and in the planning of the Panama railroad.John Lloyd Stephens was born November 28, 1805, in the township of Shrewsbury, New Jersey. He was the second son of Benjamin Stephens, a successful New Jersey merchant, and Clemence Lloyd, daughter of an eminent local judge.The following year the family moved to New York City.

Deep in the Jungle of Doom (Give Yourself Goosebumps #11)

Deep in the Jungle of Doom (Give Yourself Goosebumps #11)
  • Author : R. L. Stine
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release : 29 September 2015
GET THIS BOOKDeep in the Jungle of Doom (Give Yourself Goosebumps #11)

"Reader beware--you choose the scare! GIVE YOURSELF GOOSEBUMPS! You're headed to a South American jungle with your nature-study class. Everything seems pretty cool at first, but then you start to get bored. Where's the beach? Where's the excitement? So you and your friend decide to do a little exploring on your own. That's when you see something so freaky, all you want to do is get out of there! If you run screaming down one trail you'll end up at

The Lost City of Z

The Lost City of Z
  • Author : David Grann
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 24 February 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Lost City of Z

The #1 New York Times bestseller from the author of Killers of the Flower Moon In 1925, the legendary British explorer Percy Fawcett ventured into the Amazon jungle, in search of a fabled civilization. He never returned. Over the years countless perished trying to find evidence of his party and the place he called “The Lost City of Z.” In this masterpiece of narrative nonfiction, journalist David Grann interweaves the spellbinding stories of Fawcett’s quest for “Z” and his own journey

Rubyfruit Jungle

Rubyfruit Jungle
  • Author : Rita Mae Brown
  • Publisher : Bantam
  • Release : 25 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKRubyfruit Jungle

“The rare work of fiction that has changed real life . . . If you don’t yet know Molly Bolt—or Rita Mae Brown, who created her—I urge you to read and thank them both.”—Gloria Steinem Winner of the Lambda Literary Pioneer Award | Winner of the Lee Lynch Classic Book Award A landmark coming-of-age novel that launched the career of one of this country’s most distinctive voices, Rubyfruit Jungle remains a transformative work more than forty years after its

Cutting for Stone

Cutting for Stone
  • Author : Abraham Verghese
  • Publisher : Random House India
  • Release : 17 May 2012
GET THIS BOOKCutting for Stone

Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon. Orphaned by their mother’s death and their father’s disappearance and bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution. Moving from Addis Ababa to New York City and back again, Cutting for Stone is an unforgettable story of love and