Jungle of Stone

The acclaimed chronicle of the discovery of the legendary lost civilization of the Maya. Includes the history of the major Maya sites, including Palenque, Uxmal, Chichen Itza, Tuloom, Copan, and more. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Illustrated with a map and more than 100 images. In 1839, rumors of extraordinary yet baffling stone ruins buried within the unmapped jungles of Central America reached two of the world’s most intrepid travelers. Seized by the reports, American diplomat John Lloyd Stephens and British artist Frederick Catherwood—both already celebrated for their adventures in Egypt, the Holy Land, Greece, and Rome—sailed together out of New York Harbor on an expedition into the forbidding rainforests of present-day Honduras, Guatemala, and Mexico. What they found would upend the West’s understanding of human history. In the tradition of Lost City of Z and In the Kingdom of Ice, former San Francisco Chronicle journalist and Pulitzer Prize finalist William Carlsen reveals the remarkable story of the discovery of the ancient Maya. Enduring disease, war, and the torments of nature and terrain, Stephens and Catherwood meticulously uncovered and documented the remains of an astonishing civilization that had flourished in the Americas at the same time as classic Greece and Rome—and had been its rival in art, architecture, and power. Their masterful book about the experience, written by Stephens and illustrated by Catherwood, became a sensation, hailed by Edgar Allan Poe as “perhaps the most interesting book of travel ever published” and recognized today as the birth of American archaeology. Most important, Stephens and Catherwood were the first to grasp the significance of the Maya remains, understanding that their antiquity and sophistication overturned the West’s assumptions about the development of civilization. By the time of the flowering of classical Greece (400 b.c.), the Maya were already constructing pyramids and temples around central plazas. Within a few hundred years the structures took on a monumental scale that required millions of man-hours of labor, and technical and organizational expertise. Over the next millennium, dozens of city-states evolved, each governed by powerful lords, some with populations larger than any city in Europe at the time, and connected by road-like causeways of crushed stone. The Maya developed a cohesive, unified cosmology, an array of common gods, a creation story, and a shared artistic and architectural vision. They created stucco and stone monuments and bas reliefs, sculpting figures and hieroglyphs with refined artistic skill. At their peak, an estimated ten million people occupied the Maya’s heartland on the Yucatan Peninsula, a region where only half a million now live. And yet by the time the Spanish reached the “New World,” the Maya had all but disappeared; they would remain a mystery for the next three hundred years. Today, the tables are turned: the Maya are justly famous, if sometimes misunderstood, while Stephens and Catherwood have been nearly forgotten. Based on Carlsen’s rigorous research and his own 1,500-mile journey throughout the Yucatan and Central America, Jungle of Stone is equally a thrilling adventure narrative and a revelatory work of history that corrects our understanding of Stephens, Catherwood, and the Maya themselves.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Pages : 544 pages
  • ISBN : 0062407422
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone
  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 26 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

The acclaimed chronicle of the discovery of the legendary lost civilization of the Maya. Includes the history of the major Maya sites, including Palenque, Uxmal, Chichen Itza, Tuloom, Copan, and more. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Illustrated with a map and more than 100 images. In 1839, rumors of extraordinary yet baffling stone ruins buried within the unmapped jungles of Central America reached two of the world’s most intrepid travelers. Seized by the reports, American diplomat John Lloyd Stephens and British artist

Jungle of Stone

Jungle of Stone
  • Author : William Carlsen
  • Publisher : William Morrow Paperbacks
  • Release : 25 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Stone

The extraordinary true story of the rediscovery of the Mayan civilization: In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Empire of Ice, comes the forgotten tale of 19th century American John Lloyd Stephens’s quest to uncover and understand the ancient world’s most advanced civilization amid the jungles of Central America. Imagine The Lost City of Z, except the fabled lost jungle civilization really was found—an “Egypt in the Americas” in which 1,500-year-old pyramids and temples

The Jungle Book

The Jungle Book
  • Author : Diane Wright Landolf
  • Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 18 December 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Jungle Book

Mother and Fatherwolf aren’t looking for trouble, but when a small man-child toddles by their cave, they decide they can’t leave him alone in the jungle. They take the boy into their pack, name him Mowgli, and raise him as one of their own cubs. Mowgli learns the law of the jungle from the big old brown bear Baloo and Bagheera the black panther, but even they can’t keep an eye on him all the time! From

Jungle of Steel and Stone

Jungle of Steel and Stone
  • Author : George C. Chesbro
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release : 14 November 2017
GET THIS BOOKJungle of Steel and Stone

From the author of the Mongo Mysteries: Former CIA operative Veil Kendry uses his paranormal powers to track down a stolen African artifact. When Veil Kendry dreams, he possesses a clarity normal people never experience, along with the power of volition, which allows him to enter the minds of others. Veil’s strange gift was invaluable as an operative for the CIA, but now he’s left that life behind and instead channels his unusual ability into art. When needed,

The Lost City of the Monkey God

The Lost City of the Monkey God
  • Author : Douglas Preston
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release : 03 January 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Lost City of the Monkey God

NAMED A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017#1 New York Times and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller! A five-hundred-year-old legend. An ancient curse. A stunning medical mystery. And a pioneering journey into the unknown heart of the world's densest jungle. Since the days of conquistador Hernán Cortés, rumors have circulated about a lost city of immense wealth hidden somewhere in the Honduran interior, called the White City or the Lost City of the Monkey God. Indigenous tribes speak of

Tales from the Yucatan Jungle

Tales from the Yucatan Jungle
  • Author : Kristine Ellingson
  • Publisher : Sun Topaz
  • Release : 01 January 2012
GET THIS BOOKTales from the Yucatan Jungle

Where would you go if you needed to get away from it all? What would happen if you never came back? Your life would change forever as it did for Kristine Ellingson. She left her home in the U.S. and moved to Yucatan, the vibrant land of the ancient Maya. Kristine Ellingson was a successful American jewelry designer with two grown children and a marriage on the rocks. She left her home in Oregon for a trip to Yucatan,

Jungleland

Jungleland
  • Author : Christopher S. Stewart
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 07 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKJungleland

"I began to daydream about the jungle...." On April 6, 1940, explorer and future World War II spy Theodore Morde (who would one day attempt to assassinate Adolf Hitler), anxious about the perilous journey that lay ahead of him, struggled to fall asleep at the Paris Hotel in La Ceiba, Honduras. Nearly seventy years later, in the same hotel, acclaimed journalist Christopher S. Stewart wonders what he's gotten himself into. Stewart and Morde seek the same answer on their quests: the solution

The Second Jungle Book

The Second Jungle Book
  • Author : Rudyard Kipling,Kipling
  • Publisher : Castrovilli Giuseppe
  • Release : 16 January 1897
GET THIS BOOKThe Second Jungle Book

Presents the further adventures of Mowgli, a boy reared by a pack of wolves, and the wild animals of the jungle. Also includes other short stories set in India.

Salt & Stone

Salt & Stone
  • Author : Victoria Scott
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release : 24 February 2015
GET THIS BOOKSalt & Stone

How far would you go to survive? In FIRE & FLOOD, Tella Holloway faced a dangerous trek through the jungle and a terrifying march across the desert, all to remain a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed for a chance at obtaining the Cure for her brother. She can't stop - and in SALT & STONE, Tella will have to face the unseen dangers of the ocean, the breathless cold of a mountain, and twisted new rules in the race. But what if

Law of the Jungle

Law of the Jungle
  • Author : Paul M. Barrett
  • Publisher : Broadway Books
  • Release : 23 September 2014
GET THIS BOOKLaw of the Jungle

The gripping story of one American lawyer’s obsessive crusade—waged at any cost—against Big Oil on behalf of the poor farmers and indigenous tribes of the Amazon rainforest. Steven Donziger, a self-styled social activist and Harvard educated lawyer, signed on to a budding class action lawsuit against multinational Texaco (which later merged with Chevron to become the third-largest corporation in America). The suit sought reparations for the Ecuadorian peasants and tribes people whose lives were affected by decades

Kaa’s Hunting (The First Jungle Book)

Kaa’s Hunting (The First Jungle Book)
  • Author : Rudyard Kipling
  • Publisher : Strelbytskyy Multimedia Publishing
  • Release : 13 December 2019
GET THIS BOOKKaa’s Hunting (The First Jungle Book)

During the time Mowgli was with the wolf pack, he is abducted by the Bandar-log monkeys to the ruined city. Baloo and Bagheera set out to rescue him with Kaa the python. Kaa defeats the Bandar-log, frees Mowgli, and hypnotises the monkeys and the other animals with his dance. Mowgli rescues Baloo and Bagheera from the spell. The Jungle Book (1894) is a collection of stories by English author Rudyard Kipling. The stories were first published in magazines in 1893–94. The original