The Kept

With shades of Charles Portis, Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor, this is a gothic western transferred to the ice-locked wilds of upstate New York at the turn of the 20th century; a brutal and searing debut novel about a mother’s obsession and a son’s search for answers in the wake of a terrible and violent tragedy. In the winter of 1897, midwife Elspeth Howell returns to her isolated farmstead to find her husband and four of her five children murdered. Before she discovers her remaining son, Caleb, alive and hiding in the kitchen pantry, she is shot. Caleb nurses his mother back to health, cleaning her wounds and keeping her fed, before he and Elspeth leave their home to seek retribution from the men who committed this heinous crime. As they travel from country to town to hunt the murderers, the reader learns of Elspeth’s deep secret--that she kidnapped the very children who call her mother--and questions her role in the novel’s initial violence. Meanwhile Caleb is confronted with the ways of a world he’s never known. The line between justice and vengeance is thrown into question as Caleb and Elspeth are forced to reconsider their relationship and what unknown future lies ahead for both of them. The Kept is a portrait of both maternal obsessions and a primal adolescence in a brutal world. Fans of True Grit’s Mattie Ross and All the Pretty Horses’s Jimmy Blevins will love Caleb Howell, the next great old-beyond-his-years protaganist of an unforgettable literary Western--this time set in the icy wilderness of the East Coast.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : James Scott
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 1443418404
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 26 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Kept

The Kept

The Kept
  • Author : James Scott
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 07 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Kept

With shades of Charles Portis, Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor, this is a gothic western transferred to the ice-locked wilds of upstate New York at the turn of the 20th century; a brutal and searing debut novel about a mother’s obsession and a son’s search for answers in the wake of a terrible and violent tragedy. In the winter of 1897, midwife Elspeth Howell returns to her isolated farmstead to find her husband and four of her five

Epidemiology Kept Simple

Epidemiology Kept Simple
  • Author : B. Burt Gerstman
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 04 September 2003
GET THIS BOOKEpidemiology Kept Simple

Designed specifically for non-epidemiologists, this volume aims to provide accessible information on the classical approach and the modern biostatistical approach to studying disease.

Kept

Kept
  • Author : Shawntelle Madison
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 27 November 2012
GET THIS BOOKKept

A funny and sexy new paranormal romance, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Patricia Briggs, Kept features the charmingly quirky werewolf, Natalya Stravinsky, as she navigates the minefields of love and war in the Garden State. Fresh from defending her pack in battle, Natalya Stravinsky, a whip-smart werewolf with a lovable neurotic streak, wants a little rest and relaxation. Once an outcast, she’s now eager to rejoin the ranks of her New Jersey pack, and has even gotten

Kept

Kept
  • Author : Delphine Mitchell—Brown
  • Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
  • Release : 20 December 2011
GET THIS BOOKKept

Kept is a memoir that recounts the defining moments in my journey from life in a middle-class African-American family tightly bound by duty and God to a life of prostitution, drugs, and crime, and ultimately to the life I lead now- defined by faith, community, and family. It's a journey that stretches from California through Arizona and Texas and on to Memphis. This is not just another story about a woman who loses her way and finds redemption in the

Kept for the Master's Use

Kept for the Master's Use
  • Author : Frances Ridley Havergal
  • Publisher : e-artnow
  • Release : 09 April 2020
GET THIS BOOKKept for the Master's Use

Kept for the Master's Use is the book of memoirs by Frances Ridley Havergal. Frances Ridley Havergal was an English religious poet and hymnwriter. She wrote hymn melodies, religious tracts, and works for children. Her hymns praised the love of God and His way of salvation. Contents: Our Lives kept for Jesus Our Moments kept for Jesus Our Hands kept for Jesus Our Feet kept for Jesus Our Voices kept for Jesus Our Lips kept for Jesus Our Silver and

A Kept Secret

A Kept Secret
  • Author : Sasha Maxwell
  • Publisher : AuthorHouse
  • Release : 18 March 2013
GET THIS BOOKA Kept Secret

“A Kept Secret” tells her story in her own voice. She shares how she had to go through some mess in order to get to extravagance. Peer in the pages and journey to the dark side of spiritual leaders. You will discover how they handle marriage, separation and divorce. One man is described as a preacher in the pulpit. And the second man is described as a player in the streets, but secretly is a minister. Get your eyes set

Best Kept Secrets of the Gospel of Jesus Christ

Best Kept Secrets of the Gospel of Jesus Christ
  • Author : Lawrence D. Gardner
  • Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
  • Release : 28 February 2006
GET THIS BOOKBest Kept Secrets of the Gospel of Jesus Christ

I had a religion professor at Brigham Young University who often asked, What is the best kept secret of The Mormon Church? After declaring all answers amiss he would make this statement; The best kept secret of The Mormon Church is the Gospel of Jesus Christ! Over the years of teaching gospel doctrine I have found his statement to be all too true. Despite their best study efforts and the abundance of scriptural resources, many members do not understand some

Kept Quiet

Kept Quiet
  • Author : Sami Martin
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 May 2013
GET THIS BOOKKept Quiet

Shhhh....."Kept Quiet" is a story that details the life of a bright, yet confused urban girl whose life was destined for turmoil since birth. As she grows up in the poor and tough streets of southern Dallas, Tx., she struggles to understand her dysfunctional relationship with her grandmother, before learning a family secret that has brought acrimony to the family for years. This book highlights Black urban family life and paints a realistic picture of the trials and challenges

Kept Secrets

Kept Secrets
  • Author : Brenda Bogar
  • Publisher : Page Publishing Inc
  • Release : 08 November 2020
GET THIS BOOKKept Secrets

Kept Secrets is about two Christian families who came together because of the secrets each family had. Ben and Minnie Stout lived in Denver, Colorado, a very loving couple who had only one son named John. Jim and Leona Carter lived in Phoenix, Arizona, another loving couple who had two children, Katie and Jacob. Unbeknownst to each family, the secrets they kept will bring their family together. There will be secrets that will destroy some family members, secrets that were

Brothers Kept Apart

Brothers Kept Apart
  • Author : Walter Phillips
  • Publisher : iUniverse
  • Release : 01 January 2009
GET THIS BOOKBrothers Kept Apart

A comprehensive investigation of the Qur'an, Bible, Islam and Christianity, revealing harmony between the principal teachings of the Books, but disharmony between the religious traditions. Suppose the Qur'an taught that: Jesus is the Messiah who was born of the virgin Mary, taught the Gospel, healed the sick, raised the dead, was crucified, died, and was resurrected; Salvation is a gift from God to all who believe, repent and ask God's forgiveness; Muslims are to believe the Gospel and other revelation

The Mills Kept Grinding

The Mills Kept Grinding
  • Author : Martin Smallridge
  • Publisher : Lyrics Editorial House
  • Release : 25 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Mills Kept Grinding

A wartime tale of a broken friendship, foregone illusions, and falling into adulthood overnight. Two friends from Gdansk, barely entering the world, separated and divided by the grinding wheels of history. There is no space for sentiment in the harsh reality they are about to face, love dissolves into a simmering mire of violence and utter contempt. Old friendships come into question, ideology invades everyday life and seizes full sway over it. Spurred on by events, protagonists change profoundly. It

A Boy Kept Silent

A Boy Kept Silent
  • Author : Robert Lichti
  • Publisher : FriesenPress
  • Release : 29 May 2018
GET THIS BOOKA Boy Kept Silent

Robert Lichti started life as a happy boy, living on the family farm. Tragedy struck May 21, 1962, the day his father was killed and nothing would be the same again. Robert was there when it happened, but no one thought to ask the six-year-old boy his story. He was told to keep silent. Then fifty years later Robert decided he would be silent no more....

A Promise Kept

A Promise Kept
  • Author : Reba Stanley
  • Publisher : WestBow Press
  • Release : 27 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKA Promise Kept

Richard Dunning is content with his bachelor’s life in Atlanta, Georgia. He spends his days furthering his career by wooing clients, and his nights and weekends watching sports with friends. While he keeps in touch with family, and even visits occasionally, he spends most of his time focused on himself and his career. Richard’s life is simple—and then, suddenly, he finds himself out of a job and back in his childhood hometown in Middle Tennessee because of

Kept at the Argentine's Command

Kept at the Argentine's Command
  • Author : Lucy Ellis
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release : 19 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKKept at the Argentine's Command

Stranded and seduced! Lulu Lachaille's secret agoraphobia won't stop her from attending her best friend's big day. She feels utterly out of her depth, but that isn't the reason her heart is pounding... The cynical best man, Argentinian polo god Alejandro du Crozier, hates weddings...until he gets inconveniently stranded in the Scottish Highlands with the alluring maid of honor! The temptation inexperienced Lulu presents is too much for Alejandro to refuse. But du Crozier is determined to keep Lulu