Leaving Lucy Pear

“From the first page, I was under Anna Solomon’s spell.” —Sue Monk Kidd From the author of The Book of V., a novel chosen as a must-read book by TIME Magazine, InStyle, Good Housekeeping, The Millions, the Minneapolis Star Tribune, and BookPage Set in 1920s New England, the story of two women who are both mothers to the same unforgettable girl—a big, heartrending novel from award-winning writer Anna Solomon One night in 1917 Beatrice Haven sneaks out of her uncle's house on Cape Ann, Massachusetts, leaves her newborn baby at the foot of a pear tree, and watches as another woman claims the infant as her own. The unwed daughter of wealthy Jewish industrialists and a gifted pianist bound for Radcliffe, Bea plans to leave her shameful secret behind and make a fresh start. Ten years later, Prohibition is in full swing, post-WWI America is in the grips of rampant xenophobia, and Bea's hopes for her future remain unfulfilled. She returns to her uncle’s house, seeking a refuge from her unhappiness. But she discovers far more when the rum-running manager of the local quarry inadvertently reunites her with Emma Murphy, the headstrong Irish Catholic woman who has been raising Bea's abandoned child—now a bright, bold, cross-dressing girl named Lucy Pear, with secrets of her own. In mesmerizing prose, award-winning author Anna Solomon weaves together an unforgettable group of characters as their lives collide on the New England coast. Set against one of America's most turbulent decades, Leaving Lucy Pear delves into questions of class, freedom, and the meaning of family, establishing Anna Solomon as one of our most captivating storytellers. “Anna Solomon writes with a poet’s reverence for language and a novelist's ability to keep us turning the page. A gorgeous and engrossing meditation on motherhood, womanhood, and the sacrifices we make for love.” —J. Courtney Sullivan

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Anna Solomon
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 336 pages
  • ISBN : 0698149920
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 43 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKLeaving Lucy Pear

Leaving Lucy Pear

Leaving Lucy Pear
  • Author : Anna Solomon
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 26 July 2016
GET THIS BOOKLeaving Lucy Pear

“From the first page, I was under Anna Solomon’s spell.” —Sue Monk Kidd From the author of The Book of V., a novel chosen as a must-read book by TIME Magazine, InStyle, Good Housekeeping, The Millions, the Minneapolis Star Tribune, and BookPage Set in 1920s New England, the story of two women who are both mothers to the same unforgettable girl—a big, heartrending novel from award-winning writer Anna Solomon One night in 1917 Beatrice Haven sneaks out of her

The Book of V.

The Book of V.
  • Author : Anna Solomon
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
  • Release : 05 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Book of V.

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK A BELLETRIST BOOK CLUB PICK For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’

The Little Bride

The Little Bride
  • Author : Anna Solomon
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 21 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Little Bride

Tells the story of a 16-year-old Russian Jewish mail-order bride who finds herself stranded in the prairies of South Dakota married to a man twice her age and falling in love with her 19-year-old step-son. Original. 40,000 first printing.

Leaving Lucy Pear

Leaving Lucy Pear
  • Author : Anna Solomon
  • Publisher : Charnwood
  • Release : 08 January 2017
GET THIS BOOKLeaving Lucy Pear

One night in 1917, Beatrice Haven creeps out of her uncle's house on Cape Ann, Massachusetts, and leaves her newborn baby at the foot of a pear tree, then watches as another woman claims the child as her own. The unwed daughter of wealthy Jewish industrialists and a gifted pianist bound for Radcliffe, Bea plans to leave her shameful secret behind and make a fresh start... Ten years later, Bea's hopes for her future remain unfulfilled. When she returns to her

Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today's Best Women Writers

Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today's Best Women Writers
  • Author : Eleanor Henderson,Anna Solomon
  • Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release : 15 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKLabor Day: True Birth Stories by Today's Best Women Writers

Thirty acclaimed writers share their personal birth stories—the extraordinary, the ordinary, the terrifying, the sublime, the profane It's an elemental, almost animalistic urge—the expectant mother's hunger for birth narratives. Bookstores are filled with month-by-month pregnancy manuals, but the shelves are virtually empty of artful, entertaining, unvarnished accounts of labor and delivery—the stories that new mothers need most. Here is a book that transcends the limits of how-to guides and honors the act of childbirth in the twenty-first

Daughter of the Reich

Daughter of the Reich
  • Author : Louise Fein
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 12 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKDaughter of the Reich

For fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See, a spellbinding story of impossible love set against the backdrop of the Nazi regime. She must choose between loyalty to her country or a love that could be her destruction… As the dutiful daughter of a high-ranking Nazi officer, Hetty Heinrich is keen to play her part in the glorious new Thousand Year Reich. But she never imagines that all she believes and knows about her world will

Little Fires Everywhere

Little Fires Everywhere
  • Author : Celeste Ng
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 12 September 2017
GET THIS BOOKLittle Fires Everywhere

The #1 New York Times bestseller! Now a Hulu original series starring Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington. “I read Little Fires Everywhere in a single, breathless sitting.” —Jodi Picoult “To say I love this book is an understatement. It’s a deep psychological mystery about the power of motherhood, the intensity of teenage love, and the danger of perfection. It moved me to tears.” —Reese Witherspoon “Extraordinary . . . books like Little Fires Everywhere don't come along often.” —John Green From the bestselling

For the Love of Money

For the Love of Money
  • Author : Sam Polk
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 11 July 2017
GET THIS BOOKFor the Love of Money

"A former hedge-fund trader presents a memoir about coming of age on Wall Street, his obsessive pursuit of money, his disillusionment and the radical new way he has come to define success, "--NoveList.

Pear Shaped

Pear Shaped
  • Author : Stella Newman
  • Publisher : Bookouture
  • Release : 26 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKPear Shaped

Girl meets boy. Girl loses boy. Girl loses mind. Sophie Klein walks into a bar one Friday night and her life changes. She meets James Stephens: charismatic, elusive, and with a hosiery model ex who casts a long, thin shadow over their burgeoning relationship. HeÕs clever, funny and shares her greatest pleasure in life - to eat and drink slightly too much and then have a little lie down. SophieÕs instinct tells her James is too good to

The Sanatorium

The Sanatorium
  • Author : Sarah Pearse
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 02 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Sanatorium

REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK "An eerie, atmospheric novel that had me completely on the edge of my seat." --Reese Witherspoon You won't want to leave. . . until you can't. Half-hidden by forest and overshadowed by threatening peaks, Le Sommet has always been a sinister place. Long plagued by troubling rumors, the former abandoned sanatorium has since been renovated into a five-star minimalist hotel. An imposing, isolated getaway spot high up in the Swiss Alps is the last place Elin Warner wants

Paris in the Present Tense

Paris in the Present Tense
  • Author : Mark Helprin
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 03 October 2017
GET THIS BOOKParis in the Present Tense

Mark Helprin’s powerful, rapturous new novel is set in a present-day Paris caught between violent unrest and its well-known, inescapable glories. Seventy-four-year-old Jules Lacour—a maître at Paris-Sorbonne, cellist, widower, veteran of the war in Algeria, and child of the Holocaust—must find a balance between his strong obligations to the past and the attractions and beauties of life and love in the present. In the midst of what should be an effulgent time of life—days bright

Confessions of a Bad Mother

Confessions of a Bad Mother
  • Author : Stephanie Calman
  • Publisher : Pan Macmillan
  • Release : 04 September 2008
GET THIS BOOKConfessions of a Bad Mother

Funny, acutely observed, frighteningly honest and drawing on her own and hundreds of other mum's real experiences, Stephanie Calman serves up the perfect antidote to all those books that tell you that your children must be perfect, and to all those Stepford mums and kids out there who look as if they just might be: perfectly groomed, perfectly behaved and perfectly brilliant. The reality, as we all know, encompasses sleepless nights, no sex for years, baby sick on your best

Disgrace

Disgrace
  • Author : J.M. Coetzee
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 28 May 2015
GET THIS BOOKDisgrace

'A great novel by one of the finest authors writing in the English language today' The Times After years teaching Romantic poetry at the Technical University of Cape Town, David Lurie, middle-aged and twice divorced, has an impulsive affair with a student. The affair sours; he is denounced and summoned before a committee of inquiry. Willing to admit his guilt, but refusing to yield to pressure to repent publicly, he resigns and retreats to his daughter Lucy's isolated smallholding. For

Brewster: A Novel

Brewster: A Novel
  • Author : Mark Slouka
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 05 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKBrewster: A Novel

Still reeling from the death of his older brother, a sixteen-year-old track star befriends a street-fighting rebel and together they search for redemption amidst the social changes of 1968.