Make It Stick

Discusses the best methods of learning, describing how rereading and rote repetition are counterproductive and how such techniques as self-testing, spaced retrieval, and finding additional layers of information in new material can enhance learning.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Peter C. Brown
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Pages : 313 pages
  • ISBN : 0674729013
  • Rating : 4/5 from 7 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKMake It Stick

Make It Stick

Make It Stick
  • Author : Peter C. Brown,Henry L. Roediger (III),Mark A. McDaniel
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release : 14 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKMake It Stick

Discusses the best methods of learning, describing how rereading and rote repetition are counterproductive and how such techniques as self-testing, spaced retrieval, and finding additional layers of information in new material can enhance learning.

Make It Stick

Make It Stick
  • Author : Peter C. Brown
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release : 14 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKMake It Stick

Drawing on cognitive psychology and other fields, Make It Stick offers techniques for becoming more productive learners, and cautions against study habits and practice routines that turn out to be counterproductive. The book speaks to students, teachers, trainers, athletes, and all those interested in lifelong learning and self-improvement.

Powerful Teaching

Powerful Teaching
  • Author : Pooja K. Agarwal,Patrice M. Bain
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 13 May 2019
GET THIS BOOKPowerful Teaching

Unleash powerful teaching and the science of learning in your classroom Powerful Teaching: Unleash the Science of Learning empowers educators to harness rigorous research on how students learn and unleash it in their classrooms. In this book, cognitive scientist Pooja K. Agarwal, Ph.D., and veteran K–12 teacher Patrice M. Bain, Ed.S., decipher cognitive science research and illustrate ways to successfully apply the science of learning in classrooms settings. This practical resource is filled with evidence-based strategies that are

Understanding How We Learn

Understanding How We Learn
  • Author : Yana Weinstein,Megan Sumeracki,Oliver Caviglioli
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 22 August 2018
GET THIS BOOKUnderstanding How We Learn

Educational practice does not, for the most part, rely on research findings. Instead, there’s a preference for relying on our intuitions about what’s best for learning. But relying on intuition may be a bad idea for teachers and learners alike. This accessible guide helps teachers to integrate effective, research-backed strategies for learning into their classroom practice. The book explores exactly what constitutes good evidence for effective learning and teaching strategies, how to make evidence-based judgments instead of relying

How We Learn

How We Learn
  • Author : Benedict Carey
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 09 September 2014
GET THIS BOOKHow We Learn

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the

Design For How People Learn

Design For How People Learn
  • Author : Julie Dirksen
  • Publisher : New Riders
  • Release : 07 November 2011
GET THIS BOOKDesign For How People Learn

Products, technologies, and workplaces change so quickly today that everyone is continually learning. Many of us are also teaching, even when it's not in our job descriptions. Whether it's giving a presentation, writing documentation, or creating a website or blog, we need and want to share our knowledge with other people. But if you've ever fallen asleep over a boring textbook, or fast-forwarded through a tedious e-learning exercise, you know that creating a great learning experience is harder than it

Small Teaching

Small Teaching
  • Author : James M. Lang
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 07 March 2016
GET THIS BOOKSmall Teaching

Employ cognitive theory in the classroom every day Research into how we learn has opened the door for utilizing cognitive theory to facilitate better student learning. But that's easier said than done. Many books about cognitive theory introduce radical but impractical theories, failing to make the connection to the classroom. In Small Teaching, James Lang presents a strategy for improving student learning with a series of modest but powerful changes that make a big difference—many of which can be

Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn

Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn
  • Author : John Hattie,Gregory C. R. Yates
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 08 October 2013
GET THIS BOOKVisible Learning and the Science of How We Learn

On publication in 2009 John Hattie’s Visible Learning presented the biggest ever collection of research into what actually work in schools to improve children’s learning. Not what was fashionable, not what political and educational vested interests wanted to champion, but what actually produced the best results in terms of improving learning and educational outcomes. It became an instant bestseller and was described by the TES as revealing education’s ‘holy grail’. Now in this latest book, John Hattie has

The ABCs of How We Learn: 26 Scientifically Proven Approaches, How They Work, and When to Use Them

The ABCs of How We Learn: 26 Scientifically Proven Approaches, How They Work, and When to Use Them
  • Author : Daniel L. Schwartz,Jessica M. Tsang,Kristen P. Blair
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 26 July 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe ABCs of How We Learn: 26 Scientifically Proven Approaches, How They Work, and When to Use Them

Selected as one of NPR's Best Books of 2016, this book offers superior learning tools for teachers and students, from A to Z. An explosive growth in research on how people learn has revealed many ways to improve teaching and catalyze learning at all ages. The purpose of this book is to present this new science of learning so that educators can creatively translate the science into exceptional practice. The book is highly appropriate for the preparation and professional development of

Teaching at Its Best

Teaching at Its Best
  • Author : Linda B. Nilson
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 20 April 2010
GET THIS BOOKTeaching at Its Best

Teaching at Its Best This third edition of the best-selling handbook offers faculty at all levels an essential toolbox of hundreds of practical teaching techniques, formats, classroom activities, and exercises, all of which can be implemented immediately. This thoroughly revised edition includes the newest portrait of the Millennial student; current research from cognitive psychology; a focus on outcomes maps; the latest legal options on copyright issues; and how to best use new technology including wikis, blogs, podcasts, vodcasts, and clickers.

Grasp

Grasp
  • Author : Sanjay Sarma,Luke Yoquinto
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 18 August 2020
GET THIS BOOKGrasp

How do we learn? And how can we learn better? In this groundbreaking look at the science of learning, Sanjay Sarma, head of Open Learning at MIT, shows how we can harness this knowledge to discover our true potential. Drawing from his own experience as an educator as well as the work of researchers and innovators at MIT and beyond, in Grasp, Sarma explores the history of modern education, tracing the way in which traditional classroom methods—lecture, homework, test,

How Learning Works

How Learning Works
  • Author : Susan A. Ambrose,Michael W. Bridges,Michele DiPietro,Marsha C. Lovett,Marie K. Norman
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 16 April 2010
GET THIS BOOKHow Learning Works

Praise for How Learning Works "How Learning Works is the perfect title for this excellent book. Drawing upon new research in psychology, education, and cognitive science, the authors have demystified a complex topic into clear explanations of seven powerful learning principles. Full of great ideas and practical suggestions, all based on solid research evidence, this book is essential reading for instructors at all levels who wish to improve their students' learning." —Barbara Gross Davis, assistant vice chancellor for educational development,

Curriculum Development for Medical Education

Curriculum Development for Medical Education
  • Author : David E. Kern,Patricia A. Thomas,Eric B. Bass,Donna M. Howard
  • Publisher : JHU Press
  • Release : 14 August 1998
GET THIS BOOKCurriculum Development for Medical Education

At a time when society is demanding accountability from the medical education system and residency review committees are demanding written curricula, this book offers a practical, yet theoretically sound, approach to curriculum development in medicine. Short, practical, and generic in its approach, the book begins with an overview of a six-step approach to curriculum development. Each succeeding chapter then covers one of the six steps: problem identification, targeted needs assessment, goals and objectives, education methods, implementation, and evaluation. Additional chapters

Adaptive Instructional Systems

Adaptive Instructional Systems
  • Author : Robert A. Sottilare,Jessica Schwarz
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release : 14 June 2019
GET THIS BOOKAdaptive Instructional Systems

This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of the First International Conference on Adaptive Instructional Systems, AIS 2019, held in July 2019 as part of HCI International 2019 in Orlando, FL, USA. HCII 2019 received a total of 5029 submissions, of which 1275 papers and 209 posters were accepted for publication after a careful reviewing process. The 50 papers presented in this volume are organized in topical sections named: Adaptive Instruction Design and Authoring, Interoperability and Standardization in Adaptive Instructional Systems, Instructional Theories in Adaptive Instruction, Learner Assessment and

Summary of “Atomic Habits” by James Clear - Free book by QuickRead.com

Summary of “Atomic Habits” by James Clear - Free book by QuickRead.com
  • Author : QuickRead,Lea Schullery
  • Publisher : QuickRead.com
  • Release : 14 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKSummary of “Atomic Habits” by James Clear - Free book by QuickRead.com

Want more free books like this? Download our app for free at https://www.QuickRead.com/App and get access to hundreds of free book and audiobook summaries. Learn about the easy and proven way to build good habits and break the bad ones. What’s a habit? If someone were to ask you about your daily habits, you might need some time to think about them. That’s because a habit, by definition, is an act that you perform