New Deal Photography

Amid the ravages of the Great Depression, the United States Farm Security Administration (FSA) was first founded in 1935 to address the countryrsquo;s rural poverty. Its efforts focused on improving the lives of sharecroppers, tenants, and very poor landowning farmers, with resettlement and collectivization programs, as well as modernized farming methods. In a parallel documentation program, the FSA hired a number of photographers and writers to record the lives of the rural poor and ldquo;introduce America to Americans.rdquo; This book records the full reach of the FSA program from 1935 to 1943, honoring its vigor and commitment across subjects, states, and stylistic preferences. The photographs are arranged into four broad regional sections but are allowed to speak for themselves.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Peter Walther
  • Publisher : Anonim
  • Pages : 605 pages
  • ISBN : 9783836537117
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKNew Deal Photography

New Deal Photography

New Deal Photography
  • Author : Peter Walther,United States. Farm Security Administration
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 18 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKNew Deal Photography

Amid the ravages of the Great Depression, the United States Farm Security Administration (FSA) was first founded in 1935 to address the countryrsquo;s rural poverty. Its efforts focused on improving the lives of sharecroppers, tenants, and very poor landowning farmers, with resettlement and collectivization programs, as well as modernized farming methods. In a parallel documentation program, the FSA hired a number of photographers and writers to record the lives of the rural poor and ldquo;introduce America to Americans.rdquo;

The Black Image in the New Deal

The Black Image in the New Deal
  • Author : Nicholas Natanson
  • Publisher : Univ. of Tennessee Press
  • Release : 18 October 1992
GET THIS BOOKThe Black Image in the New Deal

Between 1935 and 1942, photographers for the New Deal's Resettlement Administration-Farm Security Administration (FSA) captured in powerfully moving images the travail of the Great Depression and the ways of a people confronting radical social change. Those who speak of the special achievement of FSA photography usually have in mind such white icons as Dorothea Lange's Migrant Mother or Walker Evans's Alabama sharecroppers. But some six thousand printed images, a tenth of FSA's total, included black figures or their dwellings. At last, Nicholas

New Deal Photographs of West Virginia, 1934-1943

New Deal Photographs of West Virginia, 1934-1943
  • Author : Betty Rivard
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 18 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKNew Deal Photographs of West Virginia, 1934-1943

Upon entering the White House in 1933, President Franklin D. Roosevelt faced an ailing economy in the throes of the Great Depression and rushed to transform the country through recovery programs and legislative reform. By 1934, he began to send professional photographers to the state of West Virginia to document living conditions and the effects of his New Deal programs. The photographs from the Farm Security Administration Project not only introduced “America to Americans,” exposing a continued need for government intervention, but

To The City

To The City
  • Author : Julia L. Foulkes
  • Publisher : Temple University Press
  • Release : 18 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKTo The City

In the 1930s and 1940s, as the United States moved from a rural to an urban nation, the pull of the city was irrepressible. It was so strong that even a photographic mission designed to record the essence of rural America could not help but capture the energy of urbanization too. To the City showcases over 100 photographs from the Farm Security Administration (FSA) project along with extracts from the Works Progress Administration (WPA) guidebooks and oral histories, to convey the

Picturing Migrants

Picturing Migrants
  • Author : James R. Swensen
  • Publisher : University of Oklahoma Press
  • Release : 01 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKPicturing Migrants

As time passes, personal memories of the Great Depression die with those who lived through the desperate 1930s. In the absence of firsthand knowledge, John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath and the photographs produced for the New Deal’s Farm Security Administration (FSA) now provide most of the images that come to mind when we think of the 1930s. That novel and those photographs, as this book shows, share a history. Fully exploring this complex connection for the first

Economies of Valuation and Desire

Economies of Valuation and Desire
  • Author : Elizabeth Louise Bennett
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 18 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKEconomies of Valuation and Desire

"Economies of Valuation and Desire: How New Deal Photography Made the Amish Modern" connects two substantial bodies of scholarship: the visual culture of the New Deal, and twentieth-century visual and literary representations of religious sub-cultures in the United States. Its primary objectives are two-fold. First, it provides an alternative model for the Great Depression as a historical narrative and popular concept in the American imagination. The images at the center of my dissertation propose a counter-narrative to those typically offered,

Ben Shahn's New Deal Murals

Ben Shahn's New Deal Murals
  • Author : Diana L. Linden
  • Publisher : Wayne State University Press
  • Release : 15 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKBen Shahn's New Deal Murals

Lithuanian-born artist Ben Shahn learned fresco painting as an assistant to Diego Rivera in the 1930s and created his own visually powerful, technically sophisticated, and stylistically innovative artworks as part of the New Deal Arts Project’s national mural program. In Ben Shahn’s New Deal Murals: Jewish Identity in the American Scene author Diana L. Linden demonstrates that Shahn mined his Jewish heritage and left-leaning politics for his style and subject matter, offering insight into his murals’ creation and

FSA

FSA
  • Author : Gilles Mora,Beverly W. Brannan
  • Publisher : ABRAMS
  • Release : 01 October 2006
GET THIS BOOKFSA

For this remarkable volume, Mora and Brannan immersed themselves in the vast archive at the Library of Congress and emerged with unknown treasures. Theirs is a new view of the achievement of the FSA photographers--the most comprehensive in print--that gives them their due as the creators of a new American photographic vision.

The Visual History of Type

The Visual History of Type
  • Author : Paul McNeil
  • Publisher : Laurence King Publishing
  • Release : 26 September 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Visual History of Type

The Visual History of Type is a comprehensive, detailed survey of the major typefaces produced since the advent of printing with movable type in the mid-fifteenth century to the present day. Arranged chronologically to provide context, more than 320 typefaces are displayed in the form of their original type specimens or earliest printing. Each entry is supported by a brief history and description of defining characteristics of the typeface. This book will be the definitive publication in its field, appealing to

Farm Security Administration Photography, the Rural South, and the Dynamics of Image-making, 1935-1943

Farm Security Administration Photography, the Rural South, and the Dynamics of Image-making, 1935-1943
  • Author : Stuart S. Kidd
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 18 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKFarm Security Administration Photography, the Rural South, and the Dynamics of Image-making, 1935-1943

While previous studies of the photographic images of the U.S. southern poor produced by the Farm Security Administration (FSA) have been discussed in the context of individual photographers or the general culture of the Great Depression and the New Deal, Kidd (American history, U. of Reading, UK) situates his examination of the photographs in the institutional context of the FSA and the role played in photographic production by FSA administrator Roy Stryker. The photographs emerged, according to Kidd, from

The Only Woman in the Photo

The Only Woman in the Photo
  • Author : Kathleen Krull
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 04 February 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Only Woman in the Photo

Discover the incredible life of Frances Perkins, the first woman to serve in a presidential cabinet and the mastermind behind Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal, in this fascinating picture book biography that’s perfect for fans of I Dissent. Most people know about President FDR, but do you know the woman who created his groundbreaking New Deal? As a young girl, Frances Perkins was very shy and quiet. But her grandmother encouraged Frances to always challenge herself. When somebody

New Deal Utopias

New Deal Utopias
  • Author : Natasha Egan
  • Publisher : Kehrer Verlag
  • Release : 18 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKNew Deal Utopias

Photographs of three communities built during the Great Depression explore one of the most ambitious programs of Roosevelt's New Deal.

Benjamin V. Cohen

Benjamin V. Cohen
  • Author : William Lasser
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release : 01 October 2008
GET THIS BOOKBenjamin V. Cohen

A key figure in the administrations of Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman, Benjamin V. Cohen (1894–1983) was a major architect of public policy from the first days of FDR’s presidency through the early days of the Cold War. Although he kept a low public profile, Cohen’s influence extended across a wide range of domestic and foreign policy initiatives. In this biography, William Lasser offers the first account of Ben Cohen’s life and career, and an assessment