On Trails

New York Times Bestseller • Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award • Winner of the Saroyan International Prize for Writing • Winner of the Pacific Northwest Book Award • “The best outdoors book of the year.” —Sierra Club From a talent who’s been compared to Annie Dillard, Edward Abbey, David Quammen, and Jared Diamond, On Trails is a wondrous exploration of how trails help us understand the world—from invisible ant trails to hiking paths that span continents, from interstate highways to the Internet. While thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, Robert Moor began to wonder about the paths that lie beneath our feet: How do they form? Why do some improve over time while others fade? What makes us follow or strike off on our own? Over the course of seven years, Moor traveled the globe, exploring trails of all kinds, from the miniscule to the massive. He learned the tricks of master trail-builders, hunted down long-lost Cherokee trails, and traced the origins of our road networks and the Internet. In each chapter, Moor interweaves his adventures with findings from science, history, philosophy, and nature writing. Throughout, Moor reveals how this single topic—the oft-overlooked trail—sheds new light on a wealth of age-old questions: How does order emerge out of chaos? How did animals first crawl forth from the seas and spread across continents? How has humanity’s relationship with nature and technology shaped world around us? And, ultimately, how does each of us pick a path through life? Moor has the essayist’s gift for making new connections, the adventurer’s love for paths untaken, and the philosopher’s knack for asking big questions. With a breathtaking arc that spans from the dawn of animal life to the digital era, On Trails is a book that makes us see our world, our history, our species, and our ways of life anew.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Robert Moor
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Pages : 352 pages
  • ISBN : 1476739242
  • Rating : 3/5 from 5 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKOn Trails

On Trails

On Trails
  • Author : Robert Moor
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 12 July 2016
GET THIS BOOKOn Trails

New York Times Bestseller • Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award • Winner of the Saroyan International Prize for Writing • Winner of the Pacific Northwest Book Award • “The best outdoors book of the year.” —Sierra Club From a talent who’s been compared to Annie Dillard, Edward Abbey, David Quammen, and Jared Diamond, On Trails is a wondrous exploration of how trails help us understand the world—from invisible ant trails to hiking paths that span continents, from interstate highways to

On Trails

On Trails
  • Author : Robert Moor
  • Publisher : Aurum Press Limited
  • Release : 04 August 2016
GET THIS BOOKOn Trails

A strikingly original debut from a tremendous new talent, Robert Moor explores how trails help us understand the world, from the biological phenomenon of how ant trails are formed to hiking paths that span continents and oceans, from migration routes to the Internet. In 2009, while thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, Robert Moor began to wonder about the paths that lie beneath our feet: 'How do they form? Why do some improve over time while others devolve? What makes us follow or

In Praise of Paths

In Praise of Paths
  • Author : Torbjørn Ekelund
  • Publisher : Greystone Books Ltd
  • Release : 05 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKIn Praise of Paths

An ode to paths and the journeys we take through nature, as told by a gifted writer who stopped driving and rediscovered the joys of traveling by foot. Torbjørn Ekelund started to walk—everywhere—after an epilepsy diagnosis affected his ability to drive. The more he ventured out, the more he came to love the act of walking, and an interest in paths emerged. In this poignant, meandering book, Ekelund interweaves the literature and history of paths with his

The Soul of an Octopus

The Soul of an Octopus
  • Author : Sy Montgomery
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 12 July 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Soul of an Octopus

Finalist for the National Book Award for Nonfiction * New York Times Bestseller * Starred Booklist and Library Journal Editors’ Spring Pick * A Huffington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of the Year * One of the Best Books of the Month on Goodreads * Library Journal Best Sci-Tech Book of the Year * An American Library Association Notable Book of the Year “Sy Montgomery’s The Soul of an Octopus does for the creature what Helen Macdonald’s H Is for Hawk did for raptors.” —New

Katahdin, an Historic Journey

Katahdin, an Historic Journey
  • Author : John W. Neff
  • Publisher : Appalachian Mountain Club
  • Release : 12 April 2021
GET THIS BOOKKatahdin, an Historic Journey

Maine historian John Neff's compelling and comprehensive narrative traces the history, legend, and legacy of Mount Katahdin--the spectacular peak that looms over Maine's Great North Woods--from the earliest Native American stories to colonial exploration through the logging industry's peak to today's conservation successes and opportunities.

A Walk in the Woods

A Walk in the Woods
  • Author : Bill Bryson
  • Publisher : Anchor Canada
  • Release : 15 May 2012
GET THIS BOOKA Walk in the Woods

God only knows what possessed Bill Bryson, a reluctant adventurer if ever there was one, to undertake a gruelling hike along the world's longest continuous footpath—The Appalachian Trail. The 2,000-plus-mile trail winds through 14 states, stretching along the east coast of the United States, from Georgia to Maine. It snakes through some of the wildest and most spectacular landscapes in North America, as well as through some of its most poverty-stricken and primitive backwoods areas. With his offbeat sensibility, his

An Exploration of Religion and the Meaning of Life!

An Exploration of Religion and the Meaning of Life!
  • Author : Allan W. Janssen
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release : 20 August 2016
GET THIS BOOKAn Exploration of Religion and the Meaning of Life!

From the Great Flood to the Legend of Atlantis, this book looks at the great truths as well as the myths and legends that have shaped our lives. On these pages we will examine the story of Jesus and Muhammad, the rise of Christianity and Islam, and the forces that have shaped both our religions and our concept of God and consciousness over the centuries!

City Wolves

City Wolves
  • Author : Dorris Heffron
  • Publisher : Dundurn
  • Release : 02 March 2010
GET THIS BOOKCity Wolves

A moving historical tale and remarkable literary achievement, City Wolves is the story of Canada’s first woman veterinarian, Meg Wilkinson. Born in 1870 on a farm near Halifax, Meg’s childhood experience with wolves makes her determined to be a veterinarian. Supported by the seemingly eccentric Randolph Oliphant and inspired by the ancient Inuit who first turned wolves into sled dogs, Meg surpasses the horse doctors at vet college and becomes the notorious ’dog doctor of Halifax’ in the 1890s.

Into the Wild

Into the Wild
  • Author : Jon Krakauer
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 22 September 2009
GET THIS BOOKInto the Wild

"Terrifying... Eloquent... A heart-rending drama of human yearning." --New York Times In April 1992 a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. He had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, and invented a new life for himself. Four months later, his decomposed body was found by a moose hunter. How Christopher Johnson McCandless came to

Trail of Lightning

Trail of Lightning
  • Author : Rebecca Roanhorse
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 26 June 2018
GET THIS BOOKTrail of Lightning

2019 LOCUS AWARD WINNER, BEST FIRST NOVEL 2019 HUGO AWARD FINALIST, BEST NOVEL Nebula Award Finalist for Best Novel One of Bustle’s Top 20 “landmark sci-fi and fantasy novels” of the decade “Someone please cancel Supernatural already and give us at least five seasons of this badass Indigenous monster-hunter and her silver-tongued sidekick.” —The New York Times “An excitingly novel tale.” —Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse and Midnight Crossroads series “Fun, terrifying, hilarious, and brilliant.” —Daniel

Walking the Kiso Road

Walking the Kiso Road
  • Author : William Scott Wilson
  • Publisher : Shambhala Publications
  • Release : 13 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKWalking the Kiso Road

Take a trip to old Japan with William Scott Wilson as he travels the ancient Kiso Road, a legendary route that remains much the same today as it was hundreds of years ago. The Kisoji, which runs through the Kiso Valley in the Japanese Alps, has been in use since at least 701 C.E. In the seventeenth century, it was the route that the daimyo (warlords) used for their biennial trips—along with their samurai and porters—to the new

A Walking Life

A Walking Life
  • Author : Antonia Malchik
  • Publisher : Da Capo Lifelong Books
  • Release : 05 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKA Walking Life

For readers of On Trails: an incisive, utterly engaging exploration of walking: how it is fundamental to our being human, how we've designed it out of our lives, and how it is essential that we reembrace it "I'm going for a walk." How often has this phrase been uttered by someone with a heart full of anger or sorrow? Or as an invitation, a precursor to a declaration of love? Our species and its predecessors have been bipedal walkers for

Alone Against the North

Alone Against the North
  • Author : Adam Shoalts
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 06 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKAlone Against the North

Winner of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario's 2016 Young Authors Award Winner of the 2017 Louise de Kiriline Award for Nonfiction The age of exploration is not over. When Adam Shoalts ventured into the largest unexplored wilderness on the planet, he hoped to set foot where no one had ever gone before. What he discovered surprised even him. Shoalts was no stranger to the wilderness. He had hacked his way through jungles and swamp, had stared down polar bears and climbed mountains.

Feet in the Clouds

Feet in the Clouds
  • Author : Richard Askwith
  • Publisher : Aurum
  • Release : 09 May 2013
GET THIS BOOKFeet in the Clouds

Nearly 10 years after its first publication, Aurum are re-issuing this classic running book which has defined a genre. It includes an introduction from bestselling author Robert Macfarlane and an epilogue from Richard Askwith. The concept of fell-running is simple: it’s a sport that involves running over mountains – sometimes one, sometimes many. It’s also immensely demanding. While running uphill is a stamina-sapping slog, running pell-mell down the other side requires the agility – and even recklessness – of a mountain goat.

Two Hands and a Shovel

Two Hands and a Shovel
  • Author : Jack Hartt,Sam Wotipka
  • Publisher : CreateSpace
  • Release : 01 July 2013
GET THIS BOOKTwo Hands and a Shovel

When the federal government transferred 1700 acres around Deception Pass to Washington State Parks in 1922, Deception Pass State Park was barely an idea. Lacking the funds and manpower to develop the site, citizens could only dream of the area's enormous potential as a future park. The spark that finally made Deception Pass a reality came during the Great Depression in the form of federal legislation. To fight massive national unemployment, the Civilian Conservation Corps was created in 1933. The program put young