Pax Romana

The Pax Romana is famous for having provided a remarkable period of peace and stability, rarely seen before or since. Yet the Romans were first and foremost conquerors, imperialists who took by force a vast empire stretching from the Euphrates in the east to the Atlantic coast in the west. Their peace meant Roman victory and was brought about by strength and dominance rather than co-existence with neighbours. The Romans were aggressive and ruthless, and during the creation of their empire millions died or were enslaved. But the Pax Romana was real, not merely the boast of emperors, and some of the regions in the Empire have never again lived for so many generations free from major wars. So what exactly was the Pax Romana and what did it mean for the people who found themselves brought under Roman rule? Acclaimed historian Adrian Goldsworthy tells the story of the creation of the Empire, revealing how and why the Romans came to control so much of the world and asking whether the favourable image of the Roman peace is a true one. He chronicles the many rebellions by the conquered, and describes why these broke out and why most failed. At the same time, he explains that hostility was only one reaction to the arrival of Rome, and from the start there was alliance, collaboration and even enthusiasm for joining the invaders, all of which increased as resistance movements faded away. A ground-breaking and comprehensive history of the Roman Peace, Pax Romana takes the reader on a journey from the bloody conquests of an aggressive Republic through the age of Caesar and Augustus to the golden age of peace and prosperity under diligent emperors like Marcus Aurelius, offering a balanced and nuanced reappraisal of life in the Roman Empire.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Adrian Goldsworthy
  • Publisher : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • Pages : 528 pages
  • ISBN : 0297864297
  • Rating : 4/5 from 1 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKPax Romana

Pax Romana

Pax Romana
  • Author : Adrian Goldsworthy
  • Publisher : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • Release : 11 August 2016
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana

The Pax Romana is famous for having provided a remarkable period of peace and stability, rarely seen before or since. Yet the Romans were first and foremost conquerors, imperialists who took by force a vast empire stretching from the Euphrates in the east to the Atlantic coast in the west. Their peace meant Roman victory and was brought about by strength and dominance rather than co-existence with neighbours. The Romans were aggressive and ruthless, and during the creation of their

Pax Romana #1

Pax Romana #1
  • Author : Jonathan Hickman
  • Publisher : Image Comics
  • Release : 07 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana #1

CREAT THE FUTURE, DESTROY THE PAST. From the mind of comic book innovator JONATHAN HICKMAN, comes the exhilarating time-traveling epic, PAX ROMANA. The creator of THE NIGHTLY NEWS brings his unique sensibility to science fiction and the result is a visually stunning look at a new history of the world. PAX ROMANA tells the tale of 5000 men sent on an impossible mission to change the past and save the future. It's the end of the world: Will they succeed, or

Pax Romana #3

Pax Romana #3
  • Author : Jonathan Hickman
  • Publisher : Image Comics
  • Release : 07 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana #3

ÕNICAEA AND ON.Õ The Empire divided, the Word rewritten. Tough choices face the army of the future as enemies become allies and friends go separate ways.

Pax Romana

Pax Romana
  • Author : Adrian Goldsworthy
  • Publisher : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • Release : 11 August 2016
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana

The Pax Romana is famous for having provided a remarkable period of peace and stability, rarely seen before or since. Yet the Romans were first and foremost conquerors, imperialists who took by force a vast empire stretching from the Euphrates in the east to the Atlantic coast in the west. Their peace meant Roman victory and was brought about by strength and dominance rather than co-existence with neighbours. The Romans were aggressive and ruthless, and during the creation of their

Pax Romana and the Peace of Jesus Christ

Pax Romana and the Peace of Jesus Christ
  • Author : Klaus Wengst
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 12 April 1987
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana and the Peace of Jesus Christ

How providential, it is often argued, that Christianity began under the pax Romano, an unprecedented time of peace throughout the world! At what other time could the gospel have spread so quickly? Certainly the pax Romana was a time of peace, prosperity and justice for some - yet for others, the majority, it was a time of oppression, misery and suffering under the tyrant's whim. This latter dimension is not often brought out, so this new book plays an important

Pax Romana

Pax Romana
  • Author : Jonathan Hickman
  • Publisher : Image Comics
  • Release : 07 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana

Collects issues 1-4 of PAX ROMANA plus bonus materials! From the mind of comic book innovator Jonathan Hickman, comes the exhilarating time-traveling epic: PAX ROMANA. The creator of THE NIGHTLY NEWS brings his unique sensibility to science fiction and the result is a visually stunning look at a new history of the world. PAX ROMANA tells the tale of 5000 men sent on an impossible mission to change the past and save the future.

Hegemonic Peace and Empire

Hegemonic Peace and Empire
  • Author : Ali Parchami
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 04 March 2009
GET THIS BOOKHegemonic Peace and Empire

This book examines the language and the ideology of the Pax Romana, the Pax Britannica and the Pax Americana within the broader contexts of 'hegemony' and 'empire'. It addresses three main themes: a conceptual examination of the way in which hegemony has been justified; a linguistic study of how the notion of pax (usually translated as peace) has been used in ancient and modern times; and a study of the international orders created by Rome and Britain. Using an historiographical

Pax Romana

Pax Romana
  • Author : Jonathan Hickman
  • Publisher : Image Comics
  • Release : 07 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana

Collects issues 1-4 of PAX ROMANA plus bonus materials! From the mind of comic book innovator Jonathan Hickman, comes the exhilarating time-traveling epic: PAX ROMANA. The creator of THE NIGHTLY NEWS brings his unique sensibility to science fiction and the result is a visually stunning look at a new history of the world. PAX ROMANA tells the tale of 5000 men sent on an impossible mission to change the past and save the future.

Pax Romana

Pax Romana
  • Author : Benoît Séverac
  • Publisher : Enigma Books
  • Release : 18 October 2013
GET THIS BOOKPax Romana

A fast-paced historical mystery set in Aquitania during during Roman conquest. Will appeal to readers of I, Claudius.

Empires and Citizens

Empires and Citizens
  • Author : Ben Walsh
  • Publisher : Nelson Thornes
  • Release : 12 April 2021
GET THIS BOOKEmpires and Citizens

This book builds on themes and content covered at Key Stage 2 History and develops a strong course of progression through Key Stage 3 for improved performance at GCSE. It meets the requirements of the National Curriculum Programme of Study using a ready made scheme of work.