Poison Or Protect

A sexy assassin, a sexy Scottish spy, and two lobsters attend a Victorian house party. New York Times bestselling comedy of manners author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love and espionage set in her popular Parasolverse. ASSASSIN Lady Preshea Villentia, the Mourning Star, has four dead husbands and a nasty reputation. Fortunately, she looks fabulous in black. What society doesn't know is that all her husbands were marked for death by Preshea's employer. And Preshea has one final assignment. VERSUS SCOTSMAN It was supposed to be easy, a house party with minimal bloodshed. Preshea hadn't anticipated Captain Gavin Ruthven - massive, Scottish, quietly irresistible, and? working for the enemy. In a battle of wits, Preshea may risk her own heart - a terrifying prospect, as she never knew she had one. "This intoxicatingly witty parody will appeal to a wide cross-section of romance, fantasy and steampunk fans." ~ Publishers Weekly, starred review (Soulless) May contain plaid, gentlemen eating dainty tea sandwiches, and the strategic application of leather gloves. Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Outlander in this seductive story from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books. Perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Lindsay Buroker, or Diana Gabaldon. From the author of the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but you can find out what happened to the next generation in Reticence or read the next in the series Defy or defend. Delicate Sensibilities? Contains men pleasing women, and ladies who know what they want and ask for it, sometimes in detail. If you like that kind of thing, you'll also enjoy How to Marry a Werewolf. Also by Gail Carriger set in the Parasolverse The Curious Case of the Werewolf that Wasn't The Finishing School series (start with Etiquette & Espionage) The Delightfully Deadly stories The Parasol Protectorate series (start with Soulless) The Supernatural Society stories The Custard Protocol series (start with Prudence) The Claw & Courtship stories As G L Carriger The San Andreas Shifter series (start with The Sumage Solution) The 5th Gender

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : GAIL CARRIGER LLC
  • Pages : 190 pages
  • ISBN : 9781944751050
  • Rating : 4/5 from 181 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKPoison Or Protect

Poison Or Protect

Poison Or Protect
  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : GAIL CARRIGER LLC
  • Release : 16 May 2021
GET THIS BOOKPoison Or Protect

A sexy assassin, a sexy Scottish spy, and two lobsters attend a Victorian house party. New York Times bestselling comedy of manners author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love and espionage set in her popular Parasolverse. ASSASSIN Lady Preshea Villentia, the Mourning Star, has four dead husbands and a nasty reputation. Fortunately, she looks fabulous in black. What society doesn't know is that all her husbands were marked for death by Preshea's employer. And Preshea has one

Soulless

Soulless
  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : Orbit
  • Release : 01 October 2009
GET THIS BOOKSoulless

Buffy meets Jane Austen in the first book of this wickedly funny NYT bestselling series about a young woman whose brush with the supernatural leads to a deadly investigation of London's high society. Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations. First, she has no soul. Second, she's a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette. Where to go from there? From bad

Poison Study

Poison Study
  • Author : Maria V. Snyder
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release : 15 August 2012
GET THIS BOOKPoison Study

From New York Times Bestselling Author Maria V. Snyder Choose: a quick death… or slow poison… Locked deep in the palace dungeon for killing her abuser, Yelena knows she’ll never be free again. The laws in Ixia are strict, and murderers must be executed, no matter the reason. But just as she’s resigned herself to her fate, she’s offered an extraordinary reprieve. As the food taster, Yelena will eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—

Blameless

Blameless
  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : Orbit
  • Release : 01 September 2010
GET THIS BOOKBlameless

Quitting her husband's house and moving back in with her horrible family, Lady Maccon becomes the scandal of the London season in the third book of the NYT bestselling Parasol Protectorate series. Queen Victoria dismisses her from the Shadow Council, and the only person who can explain anything, Lord Akeldama, unexpectedly leaves town. To top it all off, Alexia is attacked by homicidal mechanical ladybugs, indicating, as only ladybugs can, the fact that all of London's vampires are now very

The Poison Squad

The Poison Squad
  • Author : Deborah Blum
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 25 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Poison Squad

A New York Times Notable Book The inspiration for PBS's AMERICAN EXPERIENCE film The Poison Squad. From Pulitzer Prize winner and New York Times-bestselling author Deborah Blum, the dramatic true story of how food was made safe in the United States and the heroes, led by the inimitable Dr. Harvey Washington Wiley, who fought for change By the end of nineteenth century, food was dangerous. Lethal, even. "Milk" might contain formaldehyde, most often used to embalm corpses. Decaying meat was

Etiquette & Espionage

Etiquette & Espionage
  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 05 February 2013
GET THIS BOOKEtiquette & Espionage

This young adult steampunk series debut set in the same world as the New York Times bestselling Parasol Protectorate is filled with all the saucy adventure and droll humor Gail Carriger's legions of fans have come to adore. Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners--and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter

Imprudence

Imprudence
  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : Orbit
  • Release : 19 July 2016
GET THIS BOOKImprudence

From New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger comes the delightful sequel to Prudence. Rue and the crew of the Spotted Custard return from India with revelations that shake the foundations of England's scientific community. Queen Victoria is not amused, the vampires are tetchy, and something is wrong with the local werewolf pack. To top it all off, Rue's best friend Primrose keeps getting engaged to the most unacceptable military types. Rue has family problems as well. Her vampire father

Heartless

Heartless
  • Author : Marissa Meyer
  • Publisher : Feiwel & Friends
  • Release : 08 November 2016
GET THIS BOOKHeartless

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland—the infamous Queen of Hearts—she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with

A Poison Dark and Drowning

A Poison Dark and Drowning
  • Author : Jessica Cluess
  • Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 16 May 2021
GET THIS BOOKA Poison Dark and Drowning

Even though she is not the chosen one--the sorcerer destined to defeat all seven Ancient demons terrorizing humanity in Victorian England--Henrietta Howel battles alongside the sorcerers in the war against the demons, journeying to find mystical weapons, gather allies, and uncover secrets about herself and her enemies.

City of Light, City of Poison: Murder, Magic, and the First Police Chief of Paris

City of Light, City of Poison: Murder, Magic, and the First Police Chief of Paris
  • Author : Holly Tucker
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 21 March 2017
GET THIS BOOKCity of Light, City of Poison: Murder, Magic, and the First Police Chief of Paris

“Tucker writes with gusto . . . high drama.”—Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review In the late 1600s, Louis XIV assigns Nicolas de la Reynie to bring order to Paris after the brutal deaths of two magistrates. Reynie, pragmatic and fearless, discovers a network of witches, poisoners, and priests whose reach extends all the way to the king’s court at Versailles. Based on court transcripts and Reynie’s compulsive note-taking, Holly Tucker’s engrossing true-crime narrative makes the characters breathe

Into the Wild

Into the Wild
  • Author : Jon Krakauer
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 22 September 2009
GET THIS BOOKInto the Wild

"Terrifying... Eloquent... A heart-rending drama of human yearning." --New York Times In April 1992 a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. He had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, and invented a new life for himself. Four months later, his decomposed body was found by a moose hunter. How Christopher Johnson McCandless came to

Lies Like Poison

Lies Like Poison
  • Author : Chelsea Pitcher
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 10 November 2020
GET THIS BOOKLies Like Poison

Riverdale meets Kara Thomas’s The Cheerleaders in this electrifying, twisted thriller about estranged friends who reunite when someone commits the murder they’d planned—but didn’t go through with—and leaves one of their own to take the fall. Poppy, Lily, and Belladonna would do anything to protect their best friend, Raven. So when they discovered he was suffering abuse at the hands of his stepmother, they came up with a lethal plan: petals of poppy, belladonna, and

Poison's Kiss

Poison's Kiss
  • Author : Breeana Shields
  • Publisher : Ember
  • Release : 12 December 2017
GET THIS BOOKPoison's Kiss

In an alternate world based on the mythology of India, a girl trained since birth as a "poison maiden" in the Raja's service is ordered to kill a boy she loves.

Manners & Mutiny

Manners & Mutiny
  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 03 November 2015
GET THIS BOOKManners & Mutiny

If one must flirt...flirt with danger. Lessons in the art of espionage aboard Mademoiselle Geraldine's floating dirigible have become tedious without Sophronia's sweet sootie Soap nearby. She would much rather be using her skills to thwart the dastardly Picklemen, yet her concerns about their wicked intentions are ignored, and now she's not sure whom to trust. What does the brusque werewolf dewan know? On whose side is the ever-stylish vampire Lord Akeldama? Only one thing is certain: a large-scale

Competence

Competence
  • Author : Gail Carriger
  • Publisher : Orbit
  • Release : 05 February 2019
GET THIS BOOKCompetence

From New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger comes the delightful sequel to Imprudence. Accidentally abandoned! All alone in Singapore, proper Miss Primrose Tunstell must steal helium to save her airship, the Spotted Custard, in a scheme involving a lovesick werecat and a fake fish tail. When she uncovers rumors of a new kind of vampire, Prim and the Custard crew embark on a mission to Peru. There, they encounter airship pirates and strange atmospheric phenomena, and are mistaken for