Pok Pok

A guide to bold, authentic Thai cooking from Andy Ricker, the chef and owner of the wildly popular and widely lauded Pok Pok restaurants. After decades spent traveling throughout Thailand, Andy Ricker wanted to bring the country's famed street food stateside. In 2005 he opened Pok Pok, so named for the sound a pestle makes when it strikes a clay mortar, in an old shack in a residential neighborhood of Portland, Oregon. Ricker's traditional take on Thai food soon drew the notice of the New York Times and Gourmet magazine, establishing him as a culinary star. Now, with his first cookbook, Ricker tackles head-on the myths that keep people from making Thai food at home: that it's too spicy for the American palate or too difficult to source ingredients. Ricker shares more than fifty of the most popular recipes from Thailand and his Pok Pok restaurants—ranging from Khao Soi Kai (Northern Thai curry noodle soup with chicken) to Som Tam Thai (Central Thai–style papaya salad) to Pok Pok’s now-classic (and obsessed-over) Fish-Sauce Wings. But Pok Pok is more than just a collection of favorite recipes: it is also a master course in Thai cooking from one of the most passionate and knowledgeable authorities on the subject. Clearly written, impeccably tested recipes teach you how to source ingredients; master fundamental Thai cooking techniques and skills; understand flavor profiles that are unique to Southeast Asian cuisine; and combine various dishes to create show-stopping, well-balanced meals for family and friends. Filled with thoughtful, colorful essays about Ricker’s travels and experiences, Pok Pok is not only a definitive resource for home cooks, but also a celebration of the rich history, vibrant culture, and unparalleled deliciousness of Thai food.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Andy Ricker
  • Publisher : Ten Speed Press
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 1607742896
  • Rating : 5/5 from 2 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKPok Pok

Pok Pok

Pok Pok
  • Author : Andy Ricker,JJ Goode
  • Publisher : Ten Speed Press
  • Release : 29 October 2013
GET THIS BOOKPok Pok

A guide to bold, authentic Thai cooking from Andy Ricker, the chef and owner of the wildly popular and widely lauded Pok Pok restaurants. After decades spent traveling throughout Thailand, Andy Ricker wanted to bring the country's famed street food stateside. In 2005 he opened Pok Pok, so named for the sound a pestle makes when it strikes a clay mortar, in an old shack in a residential neighborhood of Portland, Oregon. Ricker's traditional take on Thai food soon drew the

POK POK Noodles

POK POK Noodles
  • Author : Andy Ricker,JJ Goode
  • Publisher : Ten Speed Press
  • Release : 21 May 2019
GET THIS BOOKPOK POK Noodles

From chef and bestselling author Andy Ricker comes this definitive guide to the most delicious and time-honored noodle dishes of Thailand with recipes anyone can make at home. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR BY CHICAGO TRIBUNE From iconic dishes like phat thai and phat si ew to lesser-known (at least Stateside) treasures like kuaytiaw reua (boat noodles), noodles represent many of the most delicious and satisfying dishes in the Thai culinary canon. In POK POK Noodles,

POK POK the Drinking Food of Thailand

POK POK the Drinking Food of Thailand
  • Author : Andy Ricker,J. J. Goode
  • Publisher : Clarkson Potter
  • Release : 19 May 2021
GET THIS BOOKPOK POK the Drinking Food of Thailand

A celebration of the thrill and spirit of Thai drinking food, Andy Ricker's follow-up to Pok Pok brings the same level of authority, with a more laid-back approach. Just as America has salted peanuts, wings, and nachos, Thailand has its own roster of craveable snacks- spicy, salty, and/or sour, they are perfect accompaniments for a few drinks and the company of good friends. Accessible and detailed recipes like phat khii mao (drunkard's stir-fry), kai thawt (Thai-style fried chicken), and

The Principles of Knitting

The Principles of Knitting
  • Author : June Hemmons Hiatt
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 14 February 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Principles of Knitting

Now featuring new instructions, new illustrations, and new information, The Principles of Knitting—beloved by knitters everywhere and one of the most requested out-of-print books for years—finally gets the revision that fans have been clamoring for! A treasured guide beloved by knitters everywhere, the classic book The Principles of Knitting is finally available again in a fully revised and updated edition. This is the definitive book on knitting techniques, with valuable information for everyone from beginners to experienced knitters.

Maenam

Maenam
  • Author : Angus An
  • Publisher : Appetite by Random House
  • Release : 04 August 2020
GET THIS BOOKMaenam

More than 100 flavor-driven Thai recipes built on technique, balance, tradition, and innovation from award-winning chef Angus An. In Maenam, chef Angus An takes you on his ongoing journey of discovering Thai cuisine and shows how to blend traditional Thai flavors and cooking techniques with local, seasonal inspirations from the west coast. With Angus's foolproof instructions, Maenam offers the foundation to modern Thai cuisine for adventurous cooks of all skill levels. Filled with over 100 of his signature recipes, each meal balances

Paper Son

Paper Son
  • Author : Tung Pok Chin,Winifred C. Chin
  • Publisher : Temple University Press
  • Release : 19 May 2021
GET THIS BOOKPaper Son

Chin's story speaks for the many Chinese who worked in urban laundries and restaurants, but it also introduces an unusually articulate man's perspective on becoming a Chinese American."--BOOK JACKET.

In The Shadow Of The Banyan

In The Shadow Of The Banyan
  • Author : Vaddey Ratner
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 13 September 2012
GET THIS BOOKIn The Shadow Of The Banyan

A stunning, powerful debut novel set against the backdrop of the Cambodian War, perfect for fans of Chris Cleave and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie For seven-year-old Raami, the shattering end of childhood begins with the footsteps of her father returning home in the early dawn hours bringing details of the civil war that has overwhelmed the streets of Phnom Penh, Cambodia's capital. Soon the family's world of carefully guarded royal privilege is swept up in the chaos of revolution and forced

A Reliable Wife

A Reliable Wife
  • Author : Robert Goolrick
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release : 05 January 2010
GET THIS BOOKA Reliable Wife

Rural Wisconsin, 1909. In the bitter cold, Ralph Truitt, a successful businessman, stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered his newspaper advertisement for "a reliable wife." But when Catherine Land steps off the train from Chicago, she's not the "simple, honest woman" that Ralph is expecting. She is both complex and devious, haunted by a terrible past and motivated by greed. Her plan is simple: she will win this man's devotion, and then, ever so slowly,

Xi'an Famous Foods

Xi'an Famous Foods
  • Author : Jason Wang
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 13 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKXi'an Famous Foods

The long-awaited cookbook from an iconic New York restaurant, revealing never-before-published recipes Since its humble opening in 2005, Xi’an Famous Foods has expanded from one stall in Flushing to 14 locations in Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Queens. CEO Jason Wang divulges the untold story of how this empire came to be, alongside the never-before-published recipes that helped create this New York City icon. From heavenly ribbons of liang pi doused in a bright vinegar sauce to flatbread ï¬?lled with caramelized pork to