Sister Citizen

From a highly respected thinker on race, gender, and American politics, a new consideration of black women and how distorted stereotypes affect their political beliefs Jezebel's sexual lasciviousness, Mammy's devotion, and Sapphire's outspoken anger—these are among the most persistent stereotypes that black women encounter in contemporary American life. Hurtful and dishonest, such representations force African American women to navigate a virtual crooked room that shames them and shapes their experiences as citizens. Many respond by assuming a mantle of strength that may convince others, and even themselves, that they do not need help. But as a result, the unique political issues of black women are often ignored and marginalized. In this groundbreaking book, Melissa V. Harris-Perry uses multiple methods of inquiry, including literary analysis, political theory, focus groups, surveys, and experimental research, to understand more deeply black women's political and emotional responses to pervasive negative race and gender images. Not a traditional political science work concerned with office-seeking, voting, or ideology, Sister Citizen instead explores how African American women understand themselves as citizens and what they expect from political organizing. Harris-Perry shows that the shared struggle to preserve an authentic self and secure recognition as a citizen links together black women in America, from the anonymous survivors of Hurricane Katrina to the current First Lady of the United States.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Melissa V. Harris-Perry
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Pages : 392 pages
  • ISBN : 0300165544
  • Rating : 4/5 from 3 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKSister Citizen

Sister Citizen

Sister Citizen
  • Author : Melissa V. Harris-Perry
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release : 20 September 2011
GET THIS BOOKSister Citizen

From a highly respected thinker on race, gender, and American politics, a new consideration of black women and how distorted stereotypes affect their political beliefs Jezebel's sexual lasciviousness, Mammy's devotion, and Sapphire's outspoken anger—these are among the most persistent stereotypes that black women encounter in contemporary American life. Hurtful and dishonest, such representations force African American women to navigate a virtual crooked room that shames them and shapes their experiences as citizens. Many respond by assuming a mantle of

Sister Citizen

Sister Citizen
  • Author : Melissa V. Harris-Perry
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release : 20 September 2011
GET THIS BOOKSister Citizen

DIVFrom a highly respected thinker on race, gender, and American politics, a new consideration of black women and how distorted stereotypes affect their political beliefs/div

Sister Citizen

Sister Citizen
  • Author : Melissa V. Harris-Perry
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 April 2013
GET THIS BOOKSister Citizen

Discusses the stereotypes of black women in contemporary American life and how it affects African Americans, and uses literary analysis, political theory, and experimental research to fully understand the pervasiveness of their marginalization. Reprint.

Dual Citizens

Dual Citizens
  • Author : Alix Ohlin
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 04 June 2019
GET THIS BOOKDual Citizens

A Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalist Raised in Montreal by their disinterested single mother, half-sisters Lark and Robin form a fierce team in spite of their differences. When Lark flees to America to attend college, her sister soon joins her. But even as Lark discovers a calling working in documentary film, she struggles with self-doubt, and Robin chafes against the demands of studying piano at Juilliard. Their bond strains under increasing pressure until it breaks. Years later, Lark’s life is

Citizen

Citizen
  • Author : Claudia Rankine
  • Publisher : Graywolf Press
  • Release : 07 October 2014
GET THIS BOOKCitizen

* Finalist for the National Book Award in Poetry * * Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry * Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Criticism * Winner of the NAACP Image Award * Winner of the L.A. Times Book Prize * Winner of the PEN Open Book Award * ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New Yorker, Boston Globe, The Atlantic, BuzzFeed, NPR. Los Angeles Times, Publishers Weekly, Slate, Time Out New York, Vulture, Refinery 29, and many

Who's Afraid of Post-Blackness?

Who's Afraid of Post-Blackness?
  • Author : Touré
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 13 September 2011
GET THIS BOOKWho's Afraid of Post-Blackness?

Drawing on his own experience, as well as interviews with more than 100 black Americans--including Henry Louis Gates Jr., Malcolm Gladwell, Chuck D, Soledad O-Brien, the Reverend Jesse Jackson, Aaron McGruder and more--the author explores what it means to be black in a post-2008 United States. By the author of Never Drank the Kool-Aid

The Giver

The Giver
  • Author : Lois Lowry
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 01 July 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Giver

Living in a "perfect" world without social ills, a boy approaches the time when he will receive a life assignment from the Elders, but his selection leads him to a mysterious man known as the Giver, who reveals the dark secrets behind the utopian facade.

Barbershops, Bibles, and BET

Barbershops, Bibles, and BET
  • Author : Melissa Victoria Harris-Lacewell
  • Publisher : Princeton University Press
  • Release : 14 June 2010
GET THIS BOOKBarbershops, Bibles, and BET

What is the best way to understand black political ideology? Just listen to the everyday talk that emerges in public spaces, suggests Melissa Harris-Lacewell. And listen this author has--to black college students talking about the Million Man March and welfare, to Southern, black Baptists discussing homosexuality in the church, to black men in a barbershop early on a Saturday morning, to the voices of hip-hop music and Black Entertainment Television. Using statistical, experimental, and ethnographic methods Barbershops, Bibles, and B.

The Book Thief

The Book Thief
  • Author : Markus Zusak
  • Publisher : Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 18 December 2007
GET THIS BOOKThe Book Thief

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME The extraordinary, beloved novel about the ability of books to feed the soul even in the darkest of times. When Death has a story to tell, you listen. It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for

Real Sister

Real Sister
  • Author : Jervette R. Ward
  • Publisher : Rutgers University Press
  • Release : 02 November 2015
GET THIS BOOKReal Sister

From The Real Housewives of Atlanta to Flavor of Love, reality shows with predominantly black casts have often been criticized for their negative representation of African American women as loud, angry, and violent. Yet even as these programs appear to be rehashing old stereotypes of black women, the critiques of them are arguably problematic in their own way, as the notion of “respectability” has historically been used to police black women’s behaviors. The first book of scholarship devoted to

Black Sexual Politics

Black Sexual Politics
  • Author : Patricia Hill Collins
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release : 02 August 2004
GET THIS BOOKBlack Sexual Politics

In Black Sexual Politics, one of America's most influential writers on race and gender explores how images of Black sexuality have been used to maintain the color line and how they threaten to spread a new brand of racism around the world today.

The Known Citizen

The Known Citizen
  • Author : Sarah E. Igo
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release : 10 March 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Known Citizen

Every day Americans make decisions about their privacy: what to share, how much to expose to whom. Securing the boundary between private affairs and public identity has become a central task of citizenship. Sarah Igo pursues this elusive social value across the twentieth century, as individuals asked how they should be known by their own society.

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
  • Author : Sara Saedi
  • Publisher : Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 06 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKAmericanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios! This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in today's divisive world. Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books. “Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes ‘90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative.” —The

Citizens Plus

Citizens Plus
  • Author : Alan Cairns
  • Publisher : UBC Press
  • Release : 01 November 2011
GET THIS BOOKCitizens Plus

In Citizens Plus, Alan Cairns unravels the historical record to clarify the current impasse in negotiations between Aboriginal peoples and the state. He considers the assimilationist policy assumptions of the imperial era, examines more recent government initiatives, and analyzes the emergence of the nation-to-nation paradigm given massive support by the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. We are battered by contending visions, he argues - a revised assimilation policy that finds its support in the Canadian Alliance Party is countered by

Behind the Mule

Behind the Mule
  • Author : Michael C. Dawson
  • Publisher : Princeton University Press
  • Release : 26 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKBehind the Mule

Political scientists and social choice theorists often assume that economic diversification within a group produces divergent political beliefs and behaviors. Michael Dawson demonstrates, however, that the growth of a black middle class has left race as the dominant influence on African- American politics. Why have African Americans remained so united in most of their political attitudes? To account for this phenomenon, Dawson develops a new theory of group interests that emphasizes perceptions of "linked fates" and black economic subordination.