The Bad Ass Librarians of Timbuktu

Describes how a group of Timbuktu librarians enacted a daring plan to smuggle the city's great collection of rare Islamic manuscripts away from the threat of destruction at the hands of Al Qaeda militants to the safety of southern Mali.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Joshua Hammer
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Pages : 278 pages
  • ISBN : 1476777403
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 181 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Bad Ass Librarians of Timbuktu

The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu

The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu
  • Author : Joshua Hammer
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 09 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu

In the 1980s, a young adventurer and collector for a government library, Abdel Kader Haidara, journeyed across the Sahara Desert and along the Niger River, tracking down and salvaging tens of thousands of ancient Islamic and secular manuscripts that were crumbling in the trunks of desert shepherds. His goal: to preserve this crucial part of the world's patrimony in a gorgeous library. But then Al Qaeda showed up at the door. Joshua Hammer writes about how Haidara, a mild-mannered archivist

The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu

The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu
  • Author : Joshua Hammer
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 19 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu

To save ancient Arabic texts from Al Qaeda, a band of librarians pulls off a brazen heist worthy of Ocean’s Eleven in this “fast-paced narrative that is…part intellectual history, part geopolitical tract, and part out-and-out thriller” (The Washington Post). In the 1980s, a young adventurer and collector for a government library, Abdel Kader Haidara, journeyed across the Sahara Desert and along the Niger River, tracking down and salvaging tens of thousands of ancient Islamic and secular manuscripts that

The Falcon Thief

The Falcon Thief
  • Author : Joshua Hammer
  • Publisher : Simon & Schuster
  • Release : 16 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Falcon Thief

A “well-written, engaging detective story” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) about a rogue who trades in rare birds and their eggs—and the wildlife detective determined to stop him. On May 3, 2010, an Irish national named Jeffrey Lendrum was apprehended at Britain’s Birmingham International Airport with a suspicious parcel strapped to his stomach. Inside were fourteen rare peregrine falcon eggs snatched from a remote cliffside in Wales. So begins a “vivid tale of obsession and international derring-do” (Publishers Weekly), following the

Summary of Joshua Hammer's the Bad-ass Librarians of Timbuktu

Summary of Joshua Hammer's the Bad-ass Librarians of Timbuktu
  • Author : Sumoreads
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release : 31 July 2017
GET THIS BOOKSummary of Joshua Hammer's the Bad-ass Librarians of Timbuktu

PLEASE NOTE: This is a summary, analysis and review of the book and not the original book. Joshua Hammer's harrowing tale, "The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu" tells the story of the secret mission to smuggle almost 400,000 manuscripts from Timbuktu in a fascinating and in-depth look at a piece of history many are unfamiliar with. This SUMOREADS Summary & Analysis offers supplementary material to "The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu" to help you distill the key takeaways, review the book's content, and further

The Book Smugglers of Timbuktu

The Book Smugglers of Timbuktu
  • Author : Charlie English
  • Publisher : William Collins
  • Release : 17 May 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Book Smugglers of Timbuktu

Two tales of a city: The historical race to reach one of the world's most mythologized places, and the story of how a contemporary band of archivists and librarians, fighting to save its ancient manuscripts from destruction at the hands of al Qaeda, added another layer to the legend. To Westerners, the name "Timbuktu" long conjured a tantalising paradise, an African El Dorado where even the slaves wore gold. Beginning in the late eighteenth century, a series of explorers gripped

Chosen By God

Chosen By God
  • Author : Joshua Hammer
  • Publisher : Hyperion Books
  • Release : 10 November 1999
GET THIS BOOKChosen By God

An experienced journalist offers a unique memoir that chronicles his relationship with his brother, who became estranged from his family when he joined an ultra-orthodox Jewish sect, discussing their eventual reconciliation as he accepts his brother's spiritual longings. 20,000 first printing.

The Storied City

The Storied City
  • Author : Charlie English
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 02 May 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Storied City

“Timbuktu is a real place, and Charlie English will fuel your wanderlust with true descriptions of the fabled city’s past, present, and future.” –Fodor’s Two tales of a city: The historical race to “discover” one of the world’s most mythologized places, and the story of how a contemporary band of archivists and librarians, fighting to save its ancient manuscripts from destruction at the hands of al Qaeda, added another layer to the legend. To Westerners, the name “

This Book Is Overdue!

This Book Is Overdue!
  • Author : Marilyn Johnson
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 02 February 2010
GET THIS BOOKThis Book Is Overdue!

In This Book is Overdue!, acclaimed author Marilyn Johnson celebrates libraries and librarians, and, as she did in her popular first book, The Dead Beat, discovers offbeat and eloquent characters in the quietest corners. In defiance of doomsayers, Johnson finds librarians more vital and necessary than ever, as they fuse the tools of the digital age with love for the written word and the enduring values of truth, service to all, and free speech. This Book Is Overdue! is a

Text Me When You Get Home

Text Me When You Get Home
  • Author : Kayleen Schaefer
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 06 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKText Me When You Get Home

“Text Me has the thrills and laughs of a romantic comedy, but with an inverted message: ‘There just isn't only one love story in our lives,’ Schaefer writes. If you’re lucky, friends will be the protagonists in these multiple love stories. It’s high time that we start seeing it that way.”—NPR.org A personal and sociological examination—and ultimately a celebration—of the evolution of female friendship in pop culture and modern society For too long, women

The Feather Thief

The Feather Thief
  • Author : Kirk Wallace Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 24 April 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Feather Thief

As heard on NPR's This American Life “Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller.” —Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air “One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief. On a cool

Munich

Munich
  • Author : Robert Harris
  • Publisher : Random House Canada
  • Release : 31 October 2017
GET THIS BOOKMunich

September 1938 Hitler is determined to start a war. Chamberlain is desperate to preserve the peace. The issue is to be decided in a city that will forever afterwards be notorious for what takes place there. Munich. As Chamberlain’s plane judders across the Channel and the Fürher’s train steams relentlessly south from Berlin, two young men travel with secrets of their own. Hugh Legat is one of Chamberlain’s private secretaries, Paul Hartmann a German diplomat and member

The Race for Timbuktu

The Race for Timbuktu
  • Author : Frank T. Kryza
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 29 March 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Race for Timbuktu

In the first decades of the nineteenth century, no place burned more brightly in the imagination of European geographers––and fortune hunters––than the lost city of Timbuktu. Africa's legendary City of Gold, not visited by Europeans since the Middle Ages, held the promise of wealth and fame for the first explorer to make it there. In 1824, the French Geographical Society offered a cash prize to the first expedition from any nation to visit Timbuktu and return to tell the

The Full Catastrophe

The Full Catastrophe
  • Author : James Angelos
  • Publisher : Crown
  • Release : 02 June 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Full Catastrophe

A transporting, good-humored, and revealing account of Greece’s dire troubles, reported from the mountain villages, idyllic islands, and hardscrabble streets that define the country today In recent years, small Greece, often associated with ancient philosophers and marble ruins, whitewashed villages and cerulean seas, has been at the center of a debt crisis that has sown economic and social ruin, spurred panic in international markets, and tested Europe’s decades-old project of forging a closer union. In The Full Catastrophe,

To The Stars Through Difficulties

To The Stars Through Difficulties
  • Author : Romalyn Tilghman
  • Publisher : She Writes Press
  • Release : 04 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKTo The Stars Through Difficulties

A Kansas Notable Book of the Year, 2018 Andrew Carnegie funded fifty-nine public libraries in Kansas in the early 20th century—but it was frontier women who organized waffle suppers, minstrel shows, and women's baseball games to buy books to fill them. Now, a century later, Angelina returns to her father's hometown of New Hope to complete her dissertation on the Carnegie libraries, just as Traci and Gayle arrive in town—Traci as an artist-in-residence at the renovated Carnegie Arts Center