The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

Now a Netflix film starring and directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor, this is a gripping memoir of survival and perseverance about the heroic young inventor who brought electricity to his Malawian village. When a terrible drought struck William Kamkwamba's tiny village in Malawi, his family lost all of the season's crops, leaving them with nothing to eat and nothing to sell. William began to explore science books in his village library, looking for a solution. There, he came up with the idea that would change his family's life forever: he could build a windmill. Made out of scrap metal and old bicycle parts, William's windmill brought electricity to his home and helped his family pump the water they needed to farm the land. Retold for a younger audience, this exciting memoir shows how, even in a desperate situation, one boy's brilliant idea can light up the world. Complete with photographs, illustrations, and an epilogue that will bring readers up to date on William's story, this is the perfect edition to read and share with the whole family.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : William Kamkwamba
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 1101637420
  • Rating : 4/5 from 15 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind
  • Author : William Kamkwamba,Bryan Mealer
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 05 February 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

Now a Netflix film starring and directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor, this is a gripping memoir of survival and perseverance about the heroic young inventor who brought electricity to his Malawian village. When a terrible drought struck William Kamkwamba's tiny village in Malawi, his family lost all of the season's crops, leaving them with nothing to eat and nothing to sell. William began to explore science books in his village library, looking for a solution. There, he came up with the

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind
  • Author : William Kamkwamba,Bryan Mealer
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 29 September 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

Now a Netflix Film, Starring and Directed by Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave William Kamkwamba was born in Malawi, a country where magic ruled and modern science was mystery. It was also a land withered by drought and hunger. But William had read about windmills, and he dreamed of building one that would bring to his small village a set of luxuries that only 2 percent of Malawians could enjoy: electricity and running water. His neighbors called him misala—crazy—

Muck City

Muck City
  • Author : Bryan Mealer
  • Publisher : Three Rivers Press
  • Release : 13 August 2013
GET THIS BOOKMuck City

Traces the intertwined stories of an orphaned quarterback, a celebrated football coach and an aspiring medical student whose prospects were collectively shaped by the formidable challenges, shameful history and football enthusiasm of their hometown in the Florida Everglades. 30,000 first printing.

Summary of William Kamkwamba’s The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by Milkyway Media

Summary of William Kamkwamba’s The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by Milkyway Media
  • Author : Milkyway Media
  • Publisher : Milkyway Media
  • Release : 26 August 2019
GET THIS BOOKSummary of William Kamkwamba’s The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by Milkyway Media

In The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope (2009), Malawian inventor William Kamkwamba and journalist Bryan Mealer explain how Kamkwamba, using little more than determination and a few library books, built a windmill capable of generating electricity near his family’s home. Born in 1987, Kamkwamba grew up in a village called Masitala, which is located in the Wimbe district near the city of Kasungu… Purchase this in-depth summary to learn more.

Mario and the Hole in the Sky

Mario and the Hole in the Sky
  • Author : Elizabeth Rusch
  • Publisher : Charlesbridge Publishing
  • Release : 05 November 2019
GET THIS BOOKMario and the Hole in the Sky

The true story of how a scientist saved the planet from environmental disaster. Mexican American Mario Molina is a modern-day hero who helped solve the ozone crisis of the 1980s. Growing up in Mexico City, Mario was a curious boy who studied hidden worlds through a microscope. As a young man in California, he discovered that CFCs, used in millions of refrigerators and spray cans, were tearing a hole in the earth's protective ozone layer. Mario knew the world had

The Kings of Big Spring

The Kings of Big Spring
  • Author : Bryan Mealer
  • Publisher : Flatiron Books
  • Release : 06 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Kings of Big Spring

"Think of it as a Texas version of Hillbilly Elegy." — Bryan Burrough, New York Times bestselling author of THE BIG RICH and BARBARIANS AT THE GATE "Bryan Mealer has given us a brilliant, and brilliantly entertaining, portrayal of family, and a bursting-at-the-seams chunk of America in the bargain.” — Ben Fountain, bestselling author of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk A saga of family, fortune, faith in Texas, where blood is bond and oil is king... In 1892, Bryan Mealer’s great-grandfather leaves

Mya's Strategy to Save the World

Mya's Strategy to Save the World
  • Author : Tanya Lloyd Kyi
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 30 April 2019
GET THIS BOOKMya's Strategy to Save the World

Twelve-year-old Mya Parsons could save the world and organize her family, if only she had her own cell phone. A Dork Diaries for today's socially conscious young readers. Mya Parsons runs her school's social justice club with her best friend, Cleo. Her lifelong desire is to work for the United Nations and change the world, and then bask in all the ensuing adulation. Her more immediate desire is to get a phone, preferably one like Cleo's, with a leopard-print case

Unbroken

Unbroken
  • Author : Laura Hillenbrand
  • Publisher : Ember
  • Release : 25 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKUnbroken

Louis Zamperini, a clever young delinquent turned Olympic runner, became an airman when the war came. In 1943 his plane crashed into the Pacific Ocean, where sharks, a sinking raft, thirst, starvation, and enemy aircraft, tested his will and endurance.

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind LP

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind LP
  • Author : William Kamkwamba,Bryan Mealer
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 13 October 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Boy Who Harnessed the Wind LP

William Kamkwamba was born in Malawi, a land withered by drought and hunger, a place where hope and opportunity were hard to find. But William had read about windmills and dreamed of building one that would bring his family electricity and running water, luxuries that only two percent of Malawians could afford. He used scrap metal, tractor parts, and bicycle halves to forge a crude machine that eventually powered four lights, complete with homemade switches and a circuit breaker made

Mr. Ferris and His Wheel

Mr. Ferris and His Wheel
  • Author : Kathryn Gibbs Davis
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 02 September 2014
GET THIS BOOKMr. Ferris and His Wheel

Capturing an engineer’s creative vision and mind for detail, this fully illustrated picture book biography sheds light on how the American inventor George Ferris defied gravity and seemingly impossible odds to invent the world’s most iconic amusement park attraction, the Ferris wheel. A fun, fact-filled text by Kathryn Gibbs Davis combines with Gilbert Ford’s dazzling full-color illustrations to transport readers to the 1893 World’s Fair, where George Ferris and his big, wonderful wheel lifted passengers to the

My Hands Sing the Blues

My Hands Sing the Blues
  • Author : Jeanne Walker Harvey
  • Publisher : Two Lions
  • Release : 06 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKMy Hands Sing the Blues

In Harlem, New York City, an artist follows the rhythms of blues music as he recalls his North Carolina childhood while painting, cutting, and pasting to make art.

For the Benefit of Those Who See

For the Benefit of Those Who See
  • Author : Rosemary Mahoney
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release : 14 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKFor the Benefit of Those Who See

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed

Drawdown

Drawdown
  • Author : Paul Hawken
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 18 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKDrawdown

• New York Times bestseller • The 100 most substantive solutions to reverse global warming, based on meticulous research by leading scientists and policymakers around the world “At this point in time, the Drawdown book is exactly what is needed; a credible, conservative solution-by-solution narrative that we can do it. Reading it is an effective inoculation against the widespread perception of doom that humanity cannot and will not solve the climate crisis. Reported by-effects include increased determination and a sense of grounded hope.” —

How We Got to the Moon

How We Got to the Moon
  • Author : John Rocco
  • Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 06 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKHow We Got to the Moon

LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD • YALSA EXCELLENCE IN NONFICTION FINALIST • A ROBERT F. SIBERT HONOR BOOK This beautifully illustrated, oversized guide to the people and technology of the moon landing by award-winning author/illustrator John Rocco (illustrator of the Percy Jackson series) is a must-have for space fans, classrooms, and tech geeks. Everyone knows of Neil Armstrong's famous first steps on the moon. But what did it really take to get us there? The Moon landing is one of

Alejandro's Gift

Alejandro's Gift
  • Author : Richard E. Albert
  • Publisher : Chronicle Books
  • Release : 17 September 2013
GET THIS BOOKAlejandro's Gift

This uplifting story about one man's gift to the desert and the gift he receives in return has a powerful environmental lesson. Plus, this is the fixed format version, which will look almost identical to the print version. Additionally for devices that support audio, this ebook includes a read-along setting.