The Elegance of the Hedgehog

Renée is the concierge of a grand Parisian apartment building, home to members of the great and the good. Over the years she has maintained her carefully constructed persona as someone reliable but totally uncultivated, in keeping, she feels, with society's expectations of what a concierge should be. But beneath this façade lies the real Renée: passionate about culture and the arts, and more knowledgeable in many ways than her employers with their outwardly successful but emotionally void lives. Down in her lodge, apart from weekly visits by her one friend Manuela, Renée lives resigned to her lonely lot with only her cat for company. Meanwhile, several floors up, twelve-year-old Paloma Josse is determined to avoid the pampered and vacuous future laid out for her, and decides to end her life on her thirteenth birthday. But unknown to them both, the sudden death of one of their privileged neighbours will dramatically alter their lives forever.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Muriel Barbery
  • Publisher : Gallic Books
  • Pages : 320 pages
  • ISBN : 1908313587
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 162 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Elegance of the Hedgehog

The Elegance of the Hedgehog

The Elegance of the Hedgehog
  • Author : Muriel Barbery
  • Publisher : Gallic Books
  • Release : 02 September 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Elegance of the Hedgehog

Renée is the concierge of a grand Parisian apartment building, home to members of the great and the good. Over the years she has maintained her carefully constructed persona as someone reliable but totally uncultivated, in keeping, she feels, with society's expectations of what a concierge should be. But beneath this façade lies the real Renée: passionate about culture and the arts, and more knowledgeable in many ways than her employers with their outwardly successful but emotionally

A Strange Country

A Strange Country
  • Author : Muriel Barbery
  • Publisher : Text Publishing
  • Release : 28 April 2020
GET THIS BOOKA Strange Country

From the author of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, which spent 54 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, this literary fantasy is for fans of Atwood, Ishiguro and David Mitchell.

The Life of Elves

The Life of Elves
  • Author : Muriel Barbery
  • Publisher : Text Publishing
  • Release : 24 February 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Life of Elves

A moving and deeply felt homage to the power of nature and art by one of the world's most beloved authors. Do two young girls have the power to change the world? Maria, raised by powerful older women, lives in a remote village in Burgundy, where she discovers her gift of clairvoyance, of healing and of communicating with nature. Hundreds of miles away in Italy, Clara discovers her musical genius and is sent from the countryside to Rome to nurture

Gourmet Rhapsody

Gourmet Rhapsody
  • Author : Muriel Barbery
  • Publisher : Europa Editions Incorporated
  • Release : 01 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKGourmet Rhapsody

A great food critic who can make or destroy the reputation of a chef with a stroke of his pen, Pierre Arthens faces his imminent death by trying to recall the one perfect flavor he sampled in his youth, a flavor that he believes forms the ultimate truth of his life.

The Gourmet

The Gourmet
  • Author : Muriel Barbery
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Gourmet

A great food critic who can make or destroy the reputation of a chef with a stroke of his pen, Pierre Arthens faces his imminent death by trying to recall the one perfect flavor he sampled in his youth, a flavor that he believes forms the ultimate truth of his life.

The Cleaner of Chartres

The Cleaner of Chartres
  • Author : Salley Vickers
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 27 June 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Cleaner of Chartres

“If you enjoy the work of Marilynne Robinson, Penelope Fitzgerald, James Salter…you should be reading Vickers.” —Michael Dirda, The Washington Post Book World There is something very special about Agnès Morel. A quiet presence in the small French town of Chartres, she can usually be found cleaning the famed medieval cathedral or doing odd jobs for the townspeople. No one knows where she came from or why. Not diffident Abbé Paul, nor lonely Professor Jones, nor even Alain

Turning

Turning
  • Author : Jessica J. Lee
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 02 May 2017
GET THIS BOOKTurning

Longlisted for the 2018 Frank Hegyi Award for Emerging Authors “Jessica J. Lee is a writer of rare and exhilarating grace. In Turning, she sounds the depths of lakes and her own life, never flinching from darkness, surfacing to fresh understandings of her place in the welter of natural and human history. A beautiful, moody, bracing debut.” —Kate Harris, award-winning author of Lands of Lost Borders Through the heat of summer to the frozen depths of winter, Lee traces her journey

The Hedgehog And The Fox

The Hedgehog And The Fox
  • Author : Isaiah Berlin
  • Publisher : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • Release : 13 November 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Hedgehog And The Fox

Isaiah Berlin's classic essay on Tolstoy - an exciting new edition with new criticism and a foreword. 'The fox knows many things, but the hedgehog knows one big thing.' This fragment of Archilochus, which gives this book its title, describes the central thesis of Isaiah Berlin's masterly essay on Tolstoy. There have been various interpretations of Archilochus' fragment; Isaiah Berlin has simply used it, without implying anything about the true meaning of the words, to outline a fundamental distinction

Can You Hear Me Now?

Can You Hear Me Now?
  • Author : Celina Caesar-Chavannes
  • Publisher : Random House Canada
  • Release : 02 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKCan You Hear Me Now?

In Can You Hear Me Now?, Celina Caesar-Chavannes digs deep into her childhood and her life as a young Black woman entrepreneur and politician, and shows us that effective and humane leaders grow as much from their mistakes and vulnerabilities as from their strengths. Celina Caesar-Chavannes, already a breaker of boundaries as a Black woman in business, got into politics because she wanted to make a bigger difference in the world. But when she became the first Black person elected

A Long Way From Home

A Long Way From Home
  • Author : Peter Carey
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release : 09 January 2018
GET THIS BOOKA Long Way From Home

Longlisted for the 2019 International DUBLIN Literary Award Longlisted for the 2019 Walter Scott Historical Fiction Prize Irene Bobs loves fast driving. Her husband is the best car salesman in rural south eastern Australia. Together with Willie, their lanky navigator, they embark upon the Redex Trial, a brutal race around the continent, over roads no car will ever quite survive. A Long Way from Home is Peter Carey's late style masterpiece; a thrilling high speed story that starts in one way, then

Dreamers of the Day

Dreamers of the Day
  • Author : Mary Doria Russell
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 11 March 2008
GET THIS BOOKDreamers of the Day

“I suppose I ought to warn you at the outset that my present circumstances are puzzling, even to me. Nevertheless, I am sure of this much: My little story has become your history. You won’t really understand your times until you understand mine.” So begins the account of Agnes Shanklin, the charmingly diffident narrator of Mary Doria Russell’s compelling new novel, Dreamers of the Day. And what is Miss Shanklin’s “little story?” Nothing less than the creation

The Summer Guest

The Summer Guest
  • Author : Alison Anderson
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 24 May 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Summer Guest

The translator of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, Alison Anderson, delivers a remarkable literary novel—with a stunning conclusion—inspired by historical events, in which a diary weaves together the lives of three women: a dying Ukrainian doctor who befriends Anton Chekov in the 19th century, a modern-day London book editor, and the woman she hires to translate it into English. During 1888, illness forces a young Ukranian doctor, Zinaida Mikhailovna, into premature retirement on her family’s rural estate. When

War, Big Oil and the Fight for the Planet

War, Big Oil and the Fight for the Planet
  • Author : Linda McQuaig
  • Publisher : Anchor Canada
  • Release : 14 December 2011
GET THIS BOOKWar, Big Oil and the Fight for the Planet

National bestseller It’s the Crude, Dude is back — with a slick new title and updated material. In War, Big Oil, and the Fight for the Planet, McQuaig focuses on a truly planetary issue: the cataclysmic effects our addiction to oil is having on our environment and our ability to co-exist in the world. McQuaig’s research, analysis, and eye for detail combine to produce a riveting tale about the battle over oil that shapes our times and will determine

Bookclub in a Box Discusses Khaled Hosseini's Novel a Thousand Splendid Suns

Bookclub in a Box Discusses Khaled Hosseini's Novel a Thousand Splendid Suns
  • Author : Khaled Hosseini,Marilyn Herbert
  • Publisher : Bookclub-In-A-Box
  • Release : 01 April 2008
GET THIS BOOKBookclub in a Box Discusses Khaled Hosseini's Novel a Thousand Splendid Suns

This is a terrific resource for students and educators of literary fiction. The newer novels of our time have few supportive interpretations as of yet; the classics have too many. BOOKCLUB-IN-A-BOX is the spot to come for a literary perspective and understanding that is just right. If you have suffered from a lack of discussion topics in the past, use this guide! Sections include: Literary Interpretation; Writing Style and Structure; Themes and Focus Points; Characaterisation; Historical Information; Novel Summary; Author