The End of Wisdom

Through the ages, the book of Ecclesiastes (Qoheleth) has elicited a wide variety of interpretations. Its status as wisdom literature is secure, but its meaning for the religion of the Hebrew Bible and its heirs has been a matter of much debate. The debate has swung from claiming orthodoxy for the book to arguing that the message intended by its author is heterodox, in its entirety. There are a number of passages in the book that present difficulties for any comprehensive approach to the work. Martin Shields here fully acknowledges the heterodox nature of Qoheleth's words but offers an orthodox reading of the book as a whole through the eyes of the author of the epilogue. After a survey of attitudes regarding wisdom in the Hebrew Bible itself, which serves as an orientation to the monograph as a whole, Shields provides a detailed study of the epilogue (Qoh 12:9-14), which he believes is the key to the reading of the remainder of the book. He then addresses various problematic texts in the book in light of this perspective, arguing that the book could originally have functioned as a warning to students against joining a wisdom movement that existed at the time of the book's composition. Qoheleth is presented as a true adherent of this movement, and the divergence of his words from the theism presented in the rest of the Hebrew Bible becomes the basis of the epilogue's critique. Finally, Shields proposes a historical context in which just this scenario may have arisen, showing that the desire of the writer of the epilogue is to correct a wayward wisdom tradition.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Martin A. Shields
  • Publisher : Eisenbrauns
  • Pages : 250 pages
  • ISBN : 1575061023
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe End of Wisdom

The End of Wisdom

The End of Wisdom
  • Author : Martin A. Shields
  • Publisher : Eisenbrauns
  • Release : 22 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe End of Wisdom

Through the ages, the book of Ecclesiastes (Qoheleth) has elicited a wide variety of interpretations. Its status as wisdom literature is secure, but its meaning for the religion of the Hebrew Bible and its heirs has been a matter of much debate. The debate has swung from claiming orthodoxy for the book to arguing that the message intended by its author is heterodox, in its entirety. There are a number of passages in the book that present difficulties for any

The End of Wisdom?

The End of Wisdom?
  • Author : Wendy Evans,David Baker
  • Publisher : Chandos Publishing
  • Release : 22 November 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe End of Wisdom?

The End of Wisdom? The Future of Libraries in a Digital Age assembles opinion pieces, forecasts, strategy options, and case studies from leading worldwide politicians, academics, educators, authors, publishers, captains of industry, senior public sector workers, library directors, IT gurus and other key players in the field of information provision who discuss their views on the hypothesis surrounding the "end of libraries" and the "death of books." The contributions – ranging in length from 500 to 2000 words are analyzed and summarized to

The Beginning and End of Wisdom (Foreword by Sidney Greidanus)

The Beginning and End of Wisdom (Foreword by Sidney Greidanus)
  • Author : Douglas Sean O'Donnell
  • Publisher : Crossway
  • Release : 02 August 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Beginning and End of Wisdom (Foreword by Sidney Greidanus)

The wisdom literature of the Old Testament can be daunting. Sidney Greidanus, in the book’s foreword, describes Old Testament wisdom literature as “one of the more difficult genres to interpret and preach.” Yet the numerous proverbs and sayings meet us in everyday life, teaching us much about understanding and applying the gospel. Pastor Douglas O’Donnell writes, “Just as every book of the Old Testament adds light to our understanding of Jesus, so the revelation of God in the

With the End in Mind

With the End in Mind
  • Author : Kathryn Mannix
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Spark
  • Release : 16 January 2018
GET THIS BOOKWith the End in Mind

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying. Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in the way we understand medicine come changes in the way we understand death. Once a familiar, peaceful, and gentle -- if sorrowful -- transition, death has come to be something from

Knowable Word

Knowable Word
  • Author : Peter Krol
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKKnowable Word

Observe...Interpet...Apply People with Bibles don't always know how to use them. They're good at absorbing and repeating material from sermons, commentaries, and blogs, but they miss the fullness and joy that comes from studying the Bible for themselves. The power to change the world is available, but it goes untapped. Though study aids are helpful, imagine if your primary ministry curriculum was Scripture itself. You could study the Bible, teach people how to study it themselves, and expect

Wealth of Wisdom

Wealth of Wisdom
  • Author : Tom McCullough,Keith Whitaker
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 06 December 2018
GET THIS BOOKWealth of Wisdom

A critical resource for families managing significant wealth Wealth of Wisdom offers essential guidance and tools to help high-net-worth families successfully manage significant wealth. By compiling the 50 most common questions surrounding protection and growth, this book provides a compendium of knowledge from experts around the globe and across disciplines. Deep insight and thoughtful answers put an end to uncertainty, and help lay to rest the issues you have been wrestling with for years; by divulging central lessons and explaining practical

Ecclesiastes or, The Preacher

Ecclesiastes or, The Preacher
  • Author : Doris Lessing
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release : 01 January 1999
GET THIS BOOKEcclesiastes or, The Preacher

Ancient tradition suggests that this world-weary lament is the work of Solomon in old age. Casting its eye over the transient nature of life, the book questions the striving for wisdom and the truth, choosing instead to espouse the value of living for the moment. The text is introduced by Doris Lessing.

What Dying People Want

What Dying People Want
  • Author : Dr. David Kuhl
  • Publisher : Anchor Canada
  • Release : 27 July 2011
GET THIS BOOKWhat Dying People Want

An internationally renowned palliative care physician offers guidance on living with a terminal illness. Based on research funded by the Soros Foundation and extensive interviews with dying people. A profound and practical book about living with a terminal illness over a long period of time. It offers guidance, solace, and helpful strategies for people who are terminally ill, their families and caregivers. Facing death results in more fear and anxiety than any other human experience. Western medicine has accomplished a

The Wisdom of Aristotle

The Wisdom of Aristotle
  • Author : Carlo Natali
  • Publisher : SUNY Press
  • Release : 19 April 2001
GET THIS BOOKThe Wisdom of Aristotle

This is a profound study of Aristotle’s concept of phronesis, or practical wisdom. Carlo Natali critically reconsiders Aristotle’s famous doctrine of contemplation, relating it to contemporary theories of the good life. In Book X of the Nicomachean Ethics, Aristotle appears to claim that the best possible life is that which is engaged in theoria, usually translated “contemplation.” Quite a few commentators have criticized what they call Aristotle’s “intellectualism,” suggesting that when he makes the intellectual life superior

Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph. [Illustrated Edition]

Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph. [Illustrated Edition]
  • Author : Colonel T. E. Lawrence
  • Publisher : Pickle Partners Publishing
  • Release : 06 November 2015
GET THIS BOOKSeven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph. [Illustrated Edition]

Includes World War One In The Desert Illustration Pack— 115 photos/illustrations and 19 maps spanning the Desert campaigns 1914-1918 SEVEN PILLARS OF WISDOM needs little introduction as a book; famous the world over, as the wartime memoirs of T.E. Lawrence or Lawrence of Arabia. Lawrence served as liaison officer with rebel forces during the Arab Revolt against the Ottoman Turks of 1916 to 1918, becoming the heartbeat and focal point of the rebellion as time went on. His highly personal narrative is

Strange Tales #8 (Vol. 4, No. 1)

Strange Tales #8 (Vol. 4, No. 1)
  • Author : Darrell Schweitzer,Richard A. Lupoff
  • Publisher : Wildside Press LLC
  • Release : 22 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKStrange Tales #8 (Vol. 4, No. 1)

The legendary pulp magazine STRANGE TALES -- rival to Weird Tales in its prime -- returns as an anthology series edited by renowned pulp fiction expert Robert M. Price. Volume 4, number 1 (continuing the classic numbering sequence) features contributions from a range of modern masters, including RICHARD A. LUPOFF, DARRELL SCHWEITZER, ADRIAN COLE, and many more. Cover art by JASON VAN HOLLANDER.

Joy at the End of the Tether

Joy at the End of the Tether
  • Author : Douglas Wilson
  • Publisher : Canon Press & Book Service
  • Release : 22 January 1999
GET THIS BOOKJoy at the End of the Tether

Most Christians view the book of Ecclesiastes as an enigma, a puzzle from which we might draw a few aphorisms but little else. Douglas Wilson's fresh, lucid treatment of this wonderful book enables us to see that its message is not a confused riddle but an incisive indictment of "the wisdom of this world." We learn that what we call "modernity" is simply a term for men sinning in the old ways with new toys and tools. There is truly

Teaching for Wisdom

Teaching for Wisdom
  • Author : Michel Ferrari,Georges Potworowski
  • Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
  • Release : 14 October 2008
GET THIS BOOKTeaching for Wisdom

This book examines if it is possible to teach wisdom. It considers how people at different times and places have engaged the age-old question of how (or whether) we can learn to live a good life, and what that life is like. Offering a range of perspectives, coverage considers Greek and Confucian philosophy; Christian, Islamic and Buddhist religion; African tradition, as well as contemporary scientific approaches to the study of wisdom.

Alexandre Kojeve

Alexandre Kojeve
  • Author : James H. Nichols
  • Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
  • Release : 29 August 2007
GET THIS BOOKAlexandre Kojeve

Nichols examines the major writings of Alexandre Koj_ve, and clarifies the character and brings to light the importance of his political philosophy. While emphasizing the political dimension of Koj_ve's thought, Nichols treats all his major published writings and shows how the remarkably varied parts of Koj_ve's intellectual endeavor go together. This is an essential assessment of Koj_ve which considers the works that preceded his turn to Hegel, seeks to articulate the character of his Hegelianism, and

A Woman's Wisdom

A Woman's Wisdom
  • Author : Lydia Brownback
  • Publisher : Crossway
  • Release : 30 April 2012
GET THIS BOOKA Woman's Wisdom

Advice books are no short-lived trend. They continue to top bestseller lists even though much of the “wisdom” being offered proves shallow in the long run. People are looking for practical, proven advice for life and the book of Proverbs is the wisest place to start. Unpacking the book of Proverbs, Lydia Brownback shows how the Bible speaks to real life issues such as money, purity, marriage, and the day-to-day grind. Writing with a familiar yet knowledgeable tone, Brownback draws