Vi

"Canada Reads-winner Kim Thúy returns with Vi, once more exploring the lives, loves and struggles of Vietnamese refugees as they reinvent themselves in new lands. The youngest of four children and the only girl, Vi was given a name that meant "precious, tiny one," destined to be cosseted and protected, the family's little treasure. Daughter of an enterprising mother and a wealthy and spoiled father who never had to grow up, the Vietnam war tears their family asunder. While Vi and many of her family members escape, her father stays behind, and her family must fend for themselves in Canada. While her mother and brothers put down roots, life has different plans for Vi. As a young woman, she finds the world opening up to her. Taken under the wing of Hà, a worldly family friend and diplomat lover, Vi tests personal boundaries and crosses international ones, letting the winds of life buffet her. From Saigon to Montreal, from Suzhou to Boston to the fall of the Berlin Wall, she is witness to the immensity of the world, the intricate fabric of humanity, the complexity of love, the infinite possibilities before her. Ever the quiet observer, somehow she must find a way to finally take her place in the world."--

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Kim Thúy
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Pages : 144 pages
  • ISBN : 0735272808
  • Rating : 4/5 from 3 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKVi

Vi

Vi
  • Author : Kim Thúy
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release : 02 April 2019
GET THIS BOOKVi

"Canada Reads-winner Kim Thúy returns with Vi, once more exploring the lives, loves and struggles of Vietnamese refugees as they reinvent themselves in new lands. The youngest of four children and the only girl, Vi was given a name that meant "precious, tiny one," destined to be cosseted and protected, the family's little treasure. Daughter of an enterprising mother and a wealthy and spoiled father who never had to grow up, the Vietnam war tears their family asunder. While

Into the Blue

Into the Blue
  • Author : Andrea Curtis
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release : 06 August 2010
GET THIS BOOKInto the Blue

Award-winning journalist Andrea Curtis explores the shadows cast over her family by a century-old shipwreck and uncovers the tragedy, disaster and promise of early life on the Great Lakes. Every family has a story, passed down through generations. For Andrea Curtis that story is the wreck of the SS J.H. Jones. In 1906, the late-November swells of Georgian Bay erupt into a blinding storm, sinking the Jones and claiming the lives of all on board. Left in the wake is

Sweetland: A Novel

Sweetland: A Novel
  • Author : Michael Crummey
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 19 January 2015
GET THIS BOOKSweetland: A Novel

The epic tale of an endangered Newfoundland community and the struggles of one man determined to resist its extinction. The scarcely populated town of Sweetland clings to the shore of a remote Canadian island. Its slow decline has finally reached a head, with the mainland government offering each islander a generous resettlement package— the only stipulation being that everyone must leave. Fierce and enigmatic Moses Sweetland, whose ancestors founded the island, is determined to refuse. As one by one his

The Innocents

The Innocents
  • Author : Francesca Segal
  • Publisher : Hachette Books
  • Release : 05 June 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Innocents

*** Winner of the 2012 Costa First Novel Award *** *** Winner of the 2013 Harold U. Ribalow Prize, the 2013 Sam Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature, the 2012 Costa First Novel Award, and the 2012 National Jewish Book Award for Fiction *** A smart and slyly funny tale of love, temptation, confusion, and commitment; a triumphant and beautifully executed recasting of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence. Newly engaged and unthinkingly self-satisfied, twenty-eight-year-old Adam Newman is the prize catch of Temple Fortune, a small, tight-knit Jewish suburb of

The Innocents

The Innocents
  • Author : Taryn Simon,Peter J. Neufeld,Barry Scheck
  • Publisher : Umbrage Editions
  • Release : 27 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Innocents

Offers the faces and voices of individuals falsely accused and convicted of crimes, presenting the stories of innocent men and women who were imprisoned for years before they obtained postconviction exonerations.

River Thieves

River Thieves
  • Author : Michael Crummey
  • Publisher : Anchor Canada
  • Release : 15 December 2009
GET THIS BOOKRiver Thieves

In elegant, sensual prose, Michael Crummey crafts a haunting tale set in Newfoundland at the turn of the 19th century. A richly imagined story about love, loss and the heartbreaking compromises—both personal and political—that undermine lives, River Thieves is a masterful debut novel. Published in Canada and the United States, it joins a wave of classic literature from eastern Canada, including the works of Alistair MacLeod, Wayne Johnston and David Adams Richards, while resonating at times with the

The Innocent

The Innocent
  • Author : Ian McEwan
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release : 13 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Innocent

The setting is Berlin. Into this divided city, wrenched between East and West, between past and present; comes twenty-five-year-old Leonard Marnham, assigned to a British-American surveillance team. Though only a pawn in an international plot that is never fully revealed to him, Leonard uses his secret work to escape the bonds of his ordinary life -- and to lose his unwanted innocence. The promise of his new life begins to be fulfilled as Leonard becomes a crucial part of the

The Innocent

The Innocent
  • Author : David Baldacci
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release : 17 April 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Innocent

America has enemies--ruthless people that the police, the FBI, even the military can't stop. That's when the U.S. government calls on Will Robie, a stone cold hitman who never questions orders and always nails his target. But Will Robie may have just made the first--and last--mistake of his career . . . THE INNOCENT It begins with a hit gone wrong. Robie is dispatched to eliminate a target unusually close to home in Washington, D.C. But something about this mission doesn't

Tangle Wood

Tangle Wood
  • Author : Jessica Palmer
  • Publisher : Search Press(UK)
  • Release : 10 August 2015
GET THIS BOOKTangle Wood

Enter the calming and beautiful, magical world of Illustrator and papercutter, Jessica Palmer. Jessica has created 80 pages of enchanting hand-drawn pictures for you to color and lose yourself in. The images all have a magical woodland theme, and each one includes a 'hidden jewel', intricately worked into the design. Rings, brooches, pendants, chains, bracelets and earrings featuring insects, animals and leafy patterns. The book includes designs that fit on a single page as well as those that extend across a

When Tito Loved Clara

When Tito Loved Clara
  • Author : Jon Michaud
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release : 08 March 2011
GET THIS BOOKWhen Tito Loved Clara

A moving and dramatic novel of a suburban wife and mother whose past comes back to haunt her . . . Clara Lugo has escaped her difficult and tumultuous childhood in a Dominican neighborhood in the northern reaches of Manhattan. Now she tries to live a settled professional life with her American husband and son in the suburbs of New Jersey—often thwarted by Clara’s constellation of relatives who don’t understand her gringa ways. Her mostly happy life is disrupted, however,

Blessing in Disguise

Blessing in Disguise
  • Author : Danielle Steel
  • Publisher : Dell
  • Release : 07 May 2019
GET THIS BOOKBlessing in Disguise

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In Danielle Steel’s remarkable new novel, one of her most memorable characters comes to terms with unfinished business and long-buried truths as the mother of three very different daughters with three singular fathers. As a young intern at an art gallery in Paris, Isabelle McAvoy meets Putnam Armstrong, wealthy, gentle, older, and secluded from the world. Isabelle’s relationship with Putnam, and her time at his château on the Normandy coast, are the stuff

The Innocents

The Innocents
  • Author : Lili Peloquin
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 16 October 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Innocents

Even the innocent don't kiss and tell... “…the quick pacing will keep readers engrossed in this series kickoff as Alice and Charlie try to sort through the soap opera that is their new lives and figure out who they can trust. It’s Gossip Girl for Connecticut’s Gold Coast.” –Publishers Weekly The Innocents weaves a saga of nail-biting drama, breathless romance, and gothic mystery perfect for fans of ABC's Revenge. Though they share the same blood, Alice and Charlie

The Innocents

The Innocents
  • Author : William Archibald
  • Publisher : Samuel French, Inc.
  • Release : 27 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Innocents

This story of unspeakable horror begins when a young governess arrives at an English estate to oversee two precocious, orphaned youngsters. There's also a motherly cook, but these four aren't alone - they're haunted by fears and phantoms and by ghastly shadows. The governess and cook are terrified, but the children are possessed by the spirits and welcome their visitations. The governess learns the spirits are those of the former caretaker and maid, both perverse, who corrupted the souls of