The Last Child

Winner of the 2010 Edgar Award for Best Novel Heralded by the Washington Post as a "a magnificent creation, Huck Finn channeled through Lord of the Flies", John Hart's The Last Child is his most significant work to date, an intricate, powerful story of loss, hope, and courage in the face of evil. Thirteen year-old Johnny Merrimon had the perfect life: a warm home and loving parents; a twin sister, Alyssa, with whom he shared an irreplaceable bond. He knew nothing of loss, until the day Alyssa vanished from the side of a lonely street. Now, a year later, Johnny finds himself isolated and alone, failed by the people he'd been taught since birth to trust. No one else believes that Alyssa is still alive, but Johnny is certain that she is---confident in a way that he can never fully explain. Determined to find his sister, Johnny risks everything to explore the dark side of his hometown. It is a desperate, terrifying search, but Johnny is not as alone as he might think. Detective Clyde Hunt has never stopped looking for Alyssa either, and he has a soft spot for Johnny. He watches over the boy and tries to keep him safe, but when Johnny uncovers a dangerous lead and vows to follow it, Hunt has no choice but to intervene. Then a second child goes missing . . . Undeterred by Hunt's threats or his mother's pleas, Johnny enlists the help of his last friend, and together they plunge into the wild, to a forgotten place with a history of violence that goes back more than a hundred years. There, they meet a giant of a man, an escaped convict on his own tragic quest. What they learn from him will shatter every notion Johnny had about the fate of his sister; it will lead them to another far place, to a truth that will test both boys to the limit. Traveling the wilderness between innocence and hard wisdom, between hopelessness and faith, The Last Child leaves all categories behind and establishes John Hart as a writer of unique power. Now with an excerpt from John Hart's next book The Hush, available in February 2018.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Pages : 384 pages
  • ISBN : 1429961937
  • Rating : 4/5 from 157 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Last Child

The Last Child

The Last Child
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release : 26 May 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Last Child

Winner of the 2010 Edgar Award for Best Novel Heralded by the Washington Post as a "a magnificent creation, Huck Finn channeled through Lord of the Flies", John Hart's The Last Child is his most significant work to date, an intricate, powerful story of loss, hope, and courage in the face of evil. Thirteen year-old Johnny Merrimon had the perfect life: a warm home and loving parents; a twin sister, Alyssa, with whom he shared an irreplaceable bond. He knew nothing

The Last Child

The Last Child
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release : 14 May 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Last Child

Thirteen-year-old Johnny Merrimon has to face things no boy his age should face. In the year since his twin sister's abduction his world has fallen apart: his father has disappeared and his fragile mother is spiralling into ever deeper despair. Johnny keeps strong. Armed with a map, a bike and a flashlight, he stalks the bad men of Raven County. The police might have given up on Alyssa; he never will. Someone, somewhere, knows something they're not telling. Only one

The Last Child

The Last Child
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release : 12 May 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Last Child

After his twin sister Alyssa disappears, thirteen year-old Johnny Merrimon is determined to find her. When a second girl disappears from his rural North Carolina town, Johnny makes a discovery that sends shock waves through the community in this multi-layered tale of broken families and deadly secrets.

Last Child in the Woods

Last Child in the Woods
  • Author : Richard Louv
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release : 22 April 2008
GET THIS BOOKLast Child in the Woods

“The children and nature movement is fueled by this fundamental idea: the child in nature is an endangered species, and the health of children and the health of the Earth are inseparable.” —Richard Louv, from the new edition In his landmark work Last Child in the Woods, Richard Louv brought together cutting-edge studies that pointed to direct exposure to nature as essential for a child’s healthy physical and emotional development. Now this new edition updates the growing body of

The Hush

The Hush
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 27 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Hush

New York Times bestseller The only writer in history to win consecutive Edgar Awards for Best Novel, New York Times bestselling author John Hart returns to the world of his most beloved novel, The Last Child Building on the world first seen in The Last Child (“A magnificent creation” —The Washington Post), John Hart delivers a stunning vision of a secret world, rarely seen. It’s been ten years since the events that changed Johnny Merrimon’s life and rocked

One Last Child

One Last Child
  • Author : Anni Taylor
  • Publisher : Tallman's Valley Detectives
  • Release : 07 January 2020
GET THIS BOOKOne Last Child

It was summer in the mountains when five small children vanished from their nursery school picnic. The heat was stifling that day, the tinkle of an ice-cream van in the air.Three and a half years later, in the dead of winter, the children are returned by their abductor... one by one.All except for Ivy - the granddaughter of homicide detective Kate Wakeland. The other four children say Ivy is dead.Speculation grows that the kidnappings were revenge for

The King of Lies

The King of Lies
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release : 01 April 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe King of Lies

John Hart creates a literary thriller that is as suspenseful as it is poignant, a riveting murder mystery layered beneath the southern drawl of a humble North Carolina lawyer. When Work Pickens finds his father murdered, the investigation pushes a repressed family history to the surface and he sees his own carefully constructed façade begin to crack. Work's troubled sister, her combative girlfriend, his gold digging socialite wife, and an unrequited lifelong love join a cast of small town

The Children of Men

The Children of Men
  • Author : P. D. James
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 20 October 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Children of Men

Told with P. D. James's trademark suspense, insightful characterization, and riveting storytelling, The Children of Men is a story of a world with no children and no future. The human race has become infertile, and the last generation to be born is now adult. Civilization itself is crumbling as suicide and despair become commonplace. Oxford historian Theodore Faron, apathetic toward a future without a future, spends most of his time reminiscing. Then he is approached by Julian, a bright, attractive

The Loneliest Boy in the World

The Loneliest Boy in the World
  • Author : Gearoid Cheaist O Cathain,Patricia Ahern
  • Publisher : Gill & Macmillan Ltd
  • Release : 01 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Loneliest Boy in the World

* ‘The Loneliest Boy in the World – he has only seagulls as playmates.’ 1949 newspaper article * Gearóid Cheaist Ó Catháin had a unique childhood – he was the last child brought up on the Blasket Islands of Ireland’s southwest coast. The nearest in age was his uncle who was thirty years older. In this affectionate memoir, Gearóid recalls growing up on the island without a doctor, priest, school, church or electricity. Despite public perception of this small, vulnerable fishing community,

Last Child

Last Child
  • Author : Michael Spooner
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
  • Release : 01 October 2005
GET THIS BOOKLast Child

A mixed-race girl must grow up quickly when danger threatens her world Rosalie's biggest problem used to be her own divided feelings. The constant tug-of-war between her white half and her Native American half is hard. She even has two names: Rosalie when she's at the fort with her father and Last Child when she's in the village with her mother. But now a steamboat has carried smallpox into Rosalie's world—and the Mandans have no resistance to the disease.

Iron House

Iron House
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release : 12 July 2011
GET THIS BOOKIron House

An old man is dying. When the old man is dead they will come for him. And they will come for her, to make him hurt. John Hart has written three New York Times bestsellers and won an unprecedented two back-to-back Edgar Awards. His books have been called "masterful" (Jeffery Deaver) and "gripping" (People) with "Grisham-style intrigue and Turow-style brooding" (The New York Times). Now he delivers his fourth novel—a gut-wrenching, heart-stopping thriller no reader will soon forget. HE

The Final Child

The Final Child
  • Author : Fran Dorricott
  • Publisher : Titan Books (US, CA)
  • Release : 07 September 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Final Child

A stunning psychological thriller from the author of After the Eclipse, for readers of Ruth Ware and S.K. Tremeyne. He won’t forget her... Erin and her brother Alex were the last children abducted by ‘the Father’, a serial killer who only ever took pairs of siblings. She escaped, but her brother was never seen again. Traumatised, Erin couldn’t remember anything about her ordeal, and the Father was never caught. Eighteen years later, Erin has done her best

Last Child to Come Inside

Last Child to Come Inside
  • Author : M. Desbarats
  • Publisher : McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP
  • Release : 10 November 1998
GET THIS BOOKLast Child to Come Inside

Two little girls in yellow dresses who are never seen again, Jesus and Elvis vacationing in Bermuda, a town after the fair has gone, women showering after a swim, Picasso becoming a red velvet dress: these are just a few of the images conjured in Michelle's first collection.

Global Disease Eradication

Global Disease Eradication
  • Author : Cynthia Needham,Richard Canning
  • Publisher : Amer Society for Microbiology
  • Release : 09 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKGlobal Disease Eradication

introduces the concept of disease eradication; presents case studies in eradication attempts, including polio, small pox, malaria, and Guinea worm; examines global difficulties of achieving eradication, including biology, economic geographical, and political issues;presents polemics in lively prose to create an intriguing and exciting story.