The Last Child

Winner of the 2010 Edgar Award for Best Novel Heralded by the Washington Post as a "a magnificent creation, Huck Finn channeled through Lord of the Flies", John Hart's The Last Child is his most significant work to date, an intricate, powerful story of loss, hope, and courage in the face of evil. Thirteen year-old Johnny Merrimon had the perfect life: a warm home and loving parents; a twin sister, Alyssa, with whom he shared an irreplaceable bond. He knew nothing of loss, until the day Alyssa vanished from the side of a lonely street. Now, a year later, Johnny finds himself isolated and alone, failed by the people he'd been taught since birth to trust. No one else believes that Alyssa is still alive, but Johnny is certain that she is---confident in a way that he can never fully explain. Determined to find his sister, Johnny risks everything to explore the dark side of his hometown. It is a desperate, terrifying search, but Johnny is not as alone as he might think. Detective Clyde Hunt has never stopped looking for Alyssa either, and he has a soft spot for Johnny. He watches over the boy and tries to keep him safe, but when Johnny uncovers a dangerous lead and vows to follow it, Hunt has no choice but to intervene. Then a second child goes missing . . . Undeterred by Hunt's threats or his mother's pleas, Johnny enlists the help of his last friend, and together they plunge into the wild, to a forgotten place with a history of violence that goes back more than a hundred years. There, they meet a giant of a man, an escaped convict on his own tragic quest. What they learn from him will shatter every notion Johnny had about the fate of his sister; it will lead them to another far place, to a truth that will test both boys to the limit. Traveling the wilderness between innocence and hard wisdom, between hopelessness and faith, The Last Child leaves all categories behind and establishes John Hart as a writer of unique power. Now with an excerpt from John Hart's next book The Hush, available in February 2018.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Pages : 384 pages
  • ISBN : 1429961937
  • Rating : 4/5 from 157 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Last Child

The Last Child

The Last Child
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release : 26 May 2009
GET THIS BOOKThe Last Child

Winner of the 2010 Edgar Award for Best Novel Heralded by the Washington Post as a "a magnificent creation, Huck Finn channeled through Lord of the Flies", John Hart's The Last Child is his most significant work to date, an intricate, powerful story of loss, hope, and courage in the face of evil. Thirteen year-old Johnny Merrimon had the perfect life: a warm home and loving parents; a twin sister, Alyssa, with whom he shared an irreplaceable bond. He knew nothing

Last Child in the Woods

Last Child in the Woods
  • Author : Richard Louv
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release : 22 April 2008
GET THIS BOOKLast Child in the Woods

The Book That Launched an International Movement “An absolute must-read for parents.” —The Boston Globe “It rivals Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring.” —The Cincinnati Enquirer “I like to play indoors better ’cause that’s where all the electrical outlets are,” reports a fourth grader. But it’s not only computers, television, and video games that are keeping kids inside. It’s also their parents’ fears of traffic, strangers, Lyme disease, and West Nile virus; their schools’ emphasis on more and

The Hush

The Hush
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 27 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Hush

New York Times bestseller The only writer in history to win consecutive Edgar Awards for Best Novel, New York Times bestselling author John Hart returns to the world of his most beloved novel, The Last Child Building on the world first seen in The Last Child (“A magnificent creation” —The Washington Post), John Hart delivers a stunning vision of a secret world, rarely seen. It’s been ten years since the events that changed Johnny Merrimon’s life and rocked

The Final Child

The Final Child
  • Author : Fran Dorricott
  • Publisher : Titan Books (US, CA)
  • Release : 07 September 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Final Child

A stunning psychological thriller from the author of After the Eclipse, for readers of Ruth Ware and S.K. Tremeyne. He won’t forget her... Erin and her brother Alex were the last children abducted by ‘the Father’, a serial killer who only ever took pairs of siblings. She escaped, but her brother was never seen again. Traumatised, Erin couldn’t remember anything about her ordeal, and the Father was never caught. Eighteen years later, Erin has done her best

The King of Lies

The King of Lies
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release : 01 April 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe King of Lies

John Hart creates a literary thriller that is as suspenseful as it is poignant, a riveting murder mystery layered beneath the southern drawl of a humble North Carolina lawyer. When Work Pickens finds his father murdered, the investigation pushes a repressed family history to the surface and he sees his own carefully constructed façade begin to crack. Work's troubled sister, her combative girlfriend, his gold digging socialite wife, and an unrequited lifelong love join a cast of small town

One Last Child

One Last Child
  • Author : Anni Taylor
  • Publisher : Tallman's Valley Detectives
  • Release : 07 January 2020
GET THIS BOOKOne Last Child

It was summer in the mountains when five small children vanished from their nursery school picnic. The heat was stifling that day, the tinkle of an ice-cream van in the air.Three and a half years later, in the dead of winter, the children are returned by their abductor... one by one.All except for Ivy - the granddaughter of homicide detective Kate Wakeland. The other four children say Ivy is dead.Speculation grows that the kidnappings were revenge for

The Children of Men

The Children of Men
  • Author : P. D. James
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 20 October 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Children of Men

Told with P. D. James's trademark suspense, insightful characterization, and riveting storytelling, The Children of Men is a story of a world with no children and no future. The human race has become infertile, and the last generation to be born is now adult. Civilization itself is crumbling as suicide and despair become commonplace. Oxford historian Theodore Faron, apathetic toward a future without a future, spends most of his time reminiscing. Then he is approached by Julian, a bright, attractive

Down River

Down River
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release : 02 October 2007
GET THIS BOOKDown River

Down River is the winner of the 2008 Edgar Award for Best Novel. Everything that shaped him happened near that river.... Now its banks are filled with lies and greed, shame, and murder.... John Hart's debut, The King of Lies, was compelling and lyrical, with Janet Maslin of The New York Times declaring, "There hasn't been a thriller as showily literate since Scott Turow came along." Now, in Down River, Hart makes a scorching return to Rowan County, where he drives

The Loneliest Boy in the World

The Loneliest Boy in the World
  • Author : Gearoid Cheaist O Cathain,Patricia Ahern
  • Publisher : Gill & Macmillan Ltd
  • Release : 01 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Loneliest Boy in the World

* ‘The Loneliest Boy in the World – he has only seagulls as playmates.’ 1949 newspaper article * Gearóid Cheaist Ó Catháin had a unique childhood – he was the last child brought up on the Blasket Islands of Ireland’s southwest coast. The nearest in age was his uncle who was thirty years older. In this affectionate memoir, Gearóid recalls growing up on the island without a doctor, priest, school, church or electricity. Despite public perception of this small, vulnerable fishing community,

Redemption Road

Redemption Road
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : Macmillan
  • Release : 03 May 2016
GET THIS BOOKRedemption Road

Now a New York Times Bestseller Over 2 million copies of his books in print. The first and only author to win back-to-back Edgars for Best Novel. Every book a New York Times bestseller. Since his debut bestseller, The King of Lies, reviewers across the country have heaped praise on John Hart. Each novel has taken Hart higher on the New York Times Bestseller list as his masterful writing and assured evocation of place have won readers around the world and

Last Child

Last Child
  • Author : Michael Spooner
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
  • Release : 01 October 2005
GET THIS BOOKLast Child

A mixed-race girl must grow up quickly when danger threatens her world Rosalie's biggest problem used to be her own divided feelings. The constant tug-of-war between her white half and her Native American half is hard. She even has two names: Rosalie when she's at the fort with her father and Last Child when she's in the village with her mother. But now a steamboat has carried smallpox into Rosalie's world—and the Mandans have no resistance to the disease.

The Unwilling

The Unwilling
  • Author : John Hart
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 02 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Unwilling

THE INSTANT BESTSELLER “We the unwilling, led by the unqualified to kill the unfortunate, die for the ungrateful.” —Unknown Soldier Set in the South at the height of the Vietnam War, The Unwilling combines crime, suspense and searing glimpses into the human mind and soul in New York Times bestselling author John Hart's singular style. Gibby's older brothers have already been to war. One died there. The other came back misunderstood and hard, a decorated killer now freshly released from

The Last Child Born on Earth

The Last Child Born on Earth
  • Author : Dan Neel
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 04 May 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Last Child Born on Earth

"The Last Child Born on Earth is a fantastically entertaining read that surprised and shocked me, when I didn't think that was possible any longer. The characters jump off the page and burrow into your brain."- Tom Patterson, award-winning editor for HBO, PBS, A&E, Bravo, and NBC."The Last Child Born on Earth illustrates the battle between art and science for dominance in how we view our lives and our world. The book shows how a scientific perspective

Lost Children Archive

Lost Children Archive
  • Author : Valeria Luiselli
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 23 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKLost Children Archive

FINALIST FOR THE 2019 KIRKUS PRIZE FOR FICTION FINALIST FOR THE 2020 ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 BOOKER PRIZE LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 ASPEN WORDS LITERARY PRIZE ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: THE WASHINGTON POST - TIME MAGAZINE - O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE - KIRKUS REVIEWS - THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY In Valeria Luiselli's fiercely imaginative novel, a mother and father set out with their two children,