The Light of the World

A deeply resonant memoir for anyone who has loved and lost, from acclaimed poet and Pulitzer Prize finalist Elizabeth Alexander. In The Light of the World, Elizabeth Alexander finds herself at an existential crossroads after the sudden death of her husband. Channeling her poetic sensibilities into a rich, lucid price, Alexander tells a love story that is, itself, a story of loss. As she reflects on the beauty of her married life, the trauma resulting from her husband's death, and the solace found in caring for her two teenage sons, Alexander universalizes a very personal quest for meaning and acceptance in the wake of loss. The Light of the World is at once an endlessly compelling memoir and a deeply felt meditation on the blessings of love, family, art, and community. It is also a lyrical celebration of a life well-lived and a paean to the priceless gift of human companionship. For those who have loved and lost, or for anyone who cares what matters most, The Light of the World is required reading.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Elizabeth Alexander
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Pages : 224 pages
  • ISBN : 1455599859
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 10 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Light of the World

The Light of the World

The Light of the World
  • Author : Elizabeth Alexander
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release : 21 April 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Light of the World

A deeply resonant memoir for anyone who has loved and lost, from acclaimed poet and Pulitzer Prize finalist Elizabeth Alexander. In The Light of the World, Elizabeth Alexander finds herself at an existential crossroads after the sudden death of her husband. Channeling her poetic sensibilities into a rich, lucid price, Alexander tells a love story that is, itself, a story of loss. As she reflects on the beauty of her married life, the trauma resulting from her husband's death, and

The Light at the Bottom of the World

The Light at the Bottom of the World
  • Author : London Shah
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 04 October 2019
GET THIS BOOKThe Light at the Bottom of the World

From debut author London Shah, comes a thrilling futuristic Sci-Fi mystery perfect for fans of Illuminae and These Broken Stars.In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures swim through the ruins of London. Trapped in the abyss, humankind wavers between hope and fear of what lurks in the depths around them, and hope that they might one day find a way back to the surface. When sixteen-year-old submersible racer Leyla McQueen is chosen to participate in the

Ye are the Light of the World

Ye are the Light of the World
  • Author : Harold B. Lee
  • Publisher : Shadow Mountain
  • Release : 17 May 1974
GET THIS BOOKYe are the Light of the World

Ye are the light of the world. A city thatis set on an hill cannot be hid. Neither do men light a candle, and put itunder a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto allthat are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.--Matthew 5:14-16President Harold B. Lee was recognized by church members as a dynamic speaker whose

The Gospel According to Matthew

The Gospel According to Matthew
  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Canongate U.S.
  • Release : 17 May 1999
GET THIS BOOKThe Gospel According to Matthew

The publication of the King James version of the Bible, translated between 1603 and 1611, coincided with an extraordinary flowering of English literature and is universally acknowledged as the greatest influence on English-language literature in history. Now, world-class literary writers introduce the book of the King James Bible in a series of beautifully designed, small-format volumes. The introducers' passionate, provocative, and personal engagements with the spirituality and the language of the text make the Bible come alive as a stunning work of

The Light of the World

The Light of the World
  • Author : Tim Spiess
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 01 December 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Light of the World

A unique and fresh work that seeks to present Jesus of Nazareth by his own words as HE intended people to view him and hear him. There are many people who know some facts about "Jesus Christ", but there are very few people who have a good and solid understanding of his person and teachings. For example, did you know that Jesus did not teach that he was a sacrifice for people's sins? As bible religion spreads across the earth

The Light of the World

The Light of the World
  • Author : Joseph ibn Nahmias
  • Publisher : Univ of California Press
  • Release : 01 March 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Light of the World

This book contains an edition—with an extensive introduction, translation and commentary—of The Light of the World, a text on theoretical astronomy by Joseph Ibn Nahmias, composed in Judeo-Arabic around 1400 C.E. in the Iberian Peninsula. As the only text on theoretical astronomy written by a Jew in any variety of Arabic, this work is evidence for a continuing relationship between Jewish and Islamic thought in the late fourteenth and early fifteenth centuries. The text’s most lasting effect

Friends with Everyone

Friends with Everyone
  • Author : Meg Bucher
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 22 October 2018
GET THIS BOOKFriends with Everyone

Why can it be so hard to find good friends? How can we become better friends? What happens when conflict threatens to derail friendship?"Friending" is so easy on the surface level, but how do we really know who are friends are? God litters our lives with people who come alongside us. Not every friendship looks the same, feels the same, or lasts forever. Do we love the people He has placed in our lives? When we recognize Christ's love

Desiring God

Desiring God
  • Author : John Piper
  • Publisher : Multnomah
  • Release : 17 May 1996
GET THIS BOOKDesiring God

Insightful and heart-warming, this classic book is written for those who seek to know God better. It unfolds life-impacting, biblical truths and has been called a "soul-stirring celebration of the pleasures of knowing God."

Ancient Egypt

Ancient Egypt
  • Author : Gerald Massey
  • Publisher : Cosimo, Inc.
  • Release : 01 October 2007
GET THIS BOOKAncient Egypt

With his earlier two series in Egyptology, Gerald Massey turned existing doctrine on its head to argue that not only had Egypt spawned human civilization, but that Egyptian mythology was the basis for Jewish and Christian beliefs. The culmination of his years at this particular intellectual pursuit, Ancient Egypt: The Light of the World is Massey's crown jewel. In this, the most philosophical (in both tone and concept) of his Egyptological works, Massey, ever the intrepid escort, leads a tour

I Am the Light of the World

I Am the Light of the World
  • Author : Ray D. Brown
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 30 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKI Am the Light of the World

I AM is based upon the seven distinct "I AM" statements the LORD Jesus Christ says about himself, and as recorded by the Apostle John. -They are explicit utterances of deity. Nobody could attest to such sweeping absolutes but GOD. It is the progressive revelation of the deity of the LORD Jesus Christ that empowers and liberates, that heals and delivers and saves. - is book was born out of my personal Bible study. - These seven enigmatic and dynamic

Christian China and the Light of the World

Christian China and the Light of the World
  • Author : David Wang,Georgina Sam
  • Publisher : Baker Books
  • Release : 01 November 2013
GET THIS BOOKChristian China and the Light of the World

The Light Shines in the Darkness There is more to China's story than its rise as a global economic power. The Holy Spirit has birthed a vibrant, rapidly growing house church movement in China's cities. For years, Christians in the West have heard rumors of house churches in the rural countryside with believers numbering in the tens of millions. Now the underground movement has emerged among China's upwardly mobile, globally connected urbanites--and there will be no turning back! In Christian

Love Worth Finding 25 Pack

Love Worth Finding 25 Pack
  • Author : Adrian Rogers
  • Publisher : Crossway Books
  • Release : 31 January 2016
GET THIS BOOKLove Worth Finding 25 Pack

Psychologists have long known that every person has two great longings and inward needs. The first is to be loved, and the second is to love. But when pressures and heartaches come into our lives, many give up any hope of ever finding love. The tragedy is that we often look in the wrong places to fill this deep need and longing. Some substitute lust for love. Others pursue material things or superficial relationships--all in the futile attempt to fill

Light of the World

Light of the World
  • Author : Amy-Jill Levine
  • Publisher : Abingdon Press
  • Release : 03 September 2019
GET THIS BOOKLight of the World

In Light of the World: A Beginner’s Guide to Advent, author, professor, and biblical scholar Amy-Jill Levine explores the biblical texts surrounding the story of the birth of Jesus. Join her as she traces the Christmas narrative through the stories of Zechariah and Elizabeth, Mary, the journey to Bethlehem, and the visit from the Magi. These stories open conversations around connections of the Gospel stories to the Old Testament, the role of women in first-century Jewish culture, the importance