The Muralist

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Art Forger comes a thrilling new novel of art, history, love and politics that traces the life and mysterious disappearance of a brilliant young artist on the eve of World War II—perfect for readers of The Paris Wife, The White Russian and All the Light We Cannot See In 1940, American painter Alizee Benoit vanishes in New York City amid personal and political turmoil. No one knows what happened to her. Not her Jewish family living in German-occupied France. Not her artistic patron and political compatriot, Eleanor Roosevelt. Not her close-knit group of friends, including Mark Rothko, Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner. And, some seventy years later, not her great-niece, Danielle Abrams, who while working at Christie’s auction house uncovers enigmatic paintings hidden behind recently found works by those now-famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Do they hold answers to the questions surrounding her missing aunt? Entwining the lives of both historical and fictional characters, and moving between the past and the present, The Muralist plunges readers into the divisiveness of prewar politics and the largely forgotten plight of European refugees refused entrance to the United States. It captures both the inner workings of today’s art world and the beginnings of the vibrant school of Abstract Expressionism, bringing to life two unforgettable women and forcing us to ask timeless, provocative questions: What happens when luminous talent collides with inexorable historical forces? Does great art have the power to change the world? And to what lengths should a person go to thwart evil? “B.A. Shapiro once again pens the art world into vivid, sensual life. . . . An intriguing story masterfully imagined about art, war, family, truth, and freedom.” —Lisa Genova, New York Times–bestselling author of Love, Anthony

Produk Detail:

  • Author : B. A. Shapiro
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Pages : 352 pages
  • ISBN : 1443446637
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 9 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Muralist

The Muralist

The Muralist
  • Author : B. A. Shapiro
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 03 November 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Muralist

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Art Forger comes a thrilling new novel of art, history, love and politics that traces the life and mysterious disappearance of a brilliant young artist on the eve of World War II—perfect for readers of The Paris Wife, The White Russian and All the Light We Cannot See In 1940, American painter Alizee Benoit vanishes in New York City amid personal and political turmoil. No one knows what happened to

Murals of New York City

Murals of New York City
  • Author : Glenn Palmer-Smith
  • Publisher : Rizzoli Publications
  • Release : 08 October 2013
GET THIS BOOKMurals of New York City

If all of the murals of New York City were under one roof, it would be the greatest collection of populist art in America. MURALS OF NEW YORK CITY is the first book to curate over thirty of the most important, influential, and impressive murals found within all five boroughs. The murals featured in this volume act as both an artistic and cultural guide to New York and its citizens over the past 100+ years—from the Victorian sensibilities of the 1900’

The Art Forger

The Art Forger
  • Author : B. A. Shapiro
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 23 October 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Art Forger

On March 18, 1990, thirteen works of art (worth over $500 million today) were stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. It remains the largest unsolved art heist in history, and Claire Roth, a struggling young artist, is about to discover that there’s more to this crime than meets the eye. Making a living reproducing famous artworks for a popular online retailer and desperate to improve her situation, Claire is lured into a Faustian bargain with Aiden Markel, a powerful

Walls of Light

Walls of Light
  • Author : Anne R. King,Walter Inglis Anderson
  • Publisher : Univ. Press of Mississippi
  • Release : 23 May 1999
GET THIS BOOKWalls of Light

Although his art took form in many mediums, this lush and colorful book focuses on Walter Anderson's murals, further expanding our understanding of the life work of this richly complex artist. 84 full-color photos. 20 illustrations.

Edwin Howland Blashfield

Edwin Howland Blashfield
  • Author : Mina Rieur Weiner
  • Publisher : W W Norton & Company Incorporated
  • Release : 23 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKEdwin Howland Blashfield

Evaluates the career of the esteemed muralist and his advocacy of the classic tradition, drawing on new scholarship to pay tribute to his contributions in numerous civic spaces and lasting influence on American public art.

The Collector's Apprentice

The Collector's Apprentice
  • Author : B. A. Shapiro
  • Publisher : Algonquin Books
  • Release : 16 October 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Collector's Apprentice

"A clever and complex tale of art fraud, theft, scandal, murder, and revenge.” --Publishers Weekly In this surprising, noirish page-turner, B. A. Shapiro once again takes readers into the world of art, glamour, and mystery. Accused of helping her fiancé steal her family’s fortune and her father’s art collection, Paulien Mertens has fled to France. To protect herself from the law and the wrath of those who lost everything, she has created a new identity. Paulien, aka Vivienne,

Vida Americana - Mexican Muralists Remake American Art, 1925-1945

Vida Americana - Mexican Muralists Remake American Art, 1925-1945
  • Author : Barbara Haskell,Mark A. Castro
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release : 01 January 2020
GET THIS BOOKVida Americana - Mexican Muralists Remake American Art, 1925-1945

An in-depth look at the transformative influence of Mexican artists on their U.S. counterparts during a period of social change The first half of the 20th century saw prolific cultural exchange between the United States and Mexico, as artists and intellectuals traversed the countries' shared border in both directions. For U.S. artists, Mexico's monumental public murals portraying social and political subject matter offered an alternative aesthetic at a time when artists were seeking to connect with a public

Walls of Empowerment

Walls of Empowerment
  • Author : Guisela Latorre
  • Publisher : University of Texas Press
  • Release : 17 September 2009
GET THIS BOOKWalls of Empowerment

Exploring three major hubs of muralist activity in California, where indigenist imagery is prevalent, Walls of Empowerment celebrates an aesthetic that seeks to firmly establish Chicana/o sociopolitical identity in U.S. territory. Providing readers with a history and genealogy of key muralists' productions, Guisela Latorre also showcases new material and original research on works and artists never before examined in print. An art form often associated with male creative endeavors, muralism in fact reflects significant contributions by Chicana artists.

The Murals of Revolutionary Nicaragua, 1979–1992

The Murals of Revolutionary Nicaragua, 1979–1992
  • Author : David Kunzle,Miguel D'Escoto
  • Publisher : Univ of California Press
  • Release : 30 November 1995
GET THIS BOOKThe Murals of Revolutionary Nicaragua, 1979–1992

Kunzle outlines the historical conditions in Nicaragua that gave rise to the Revolution and to the murals, from the era of Sandino and the Somozas to the Sandinistas and the subsequent U.S.-supported contra war. He chronicles the politically vindictive destruction of many of the best murals and the rise and fall of Managua's Mural School, a unique institution in the world. Kunzle also refers to other Nicaraguan public media such as billboards and graffiti, the great mural precedent

Dad Bakes

Dad Bakes
  • Author : Katie Yamasaki
  • Publisher : WW Norton
  • Release : 26 October 2021
GET THIS BOOKDad Bakes

Katie Yamasaki’s newest picture book is an intimate and tender story of the love between a father and a daughter. Dad wakes early every morning before the sun, heading off to work at the bakery. He kneads, rolls, and bakes, and as the sun rises and the world starts its day, Dad heads home to his young daughter. Together they play, read, garden, and—most importantly—they bake. This lovely, resonant picture book was inspired by muralist Katie Yamasaki’

Kerry James Marshall

Kerry James Marshall
  • Author : Sandra Jackson-Dumont
  • Publisher : Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Release : 18 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKKerry James Marshall

This volume documents a groundbreaking convening on January 28, 2017 in The Met’s Grace Rainey Rogers Auditorium, inspired by the exhibition Kerry James Marshall: Mastry on view at The Met Breuer October 25, 2016–January 29, 2017. During the daylong event, twenty noted thought leaders and creative practitioners considered the role of creativity, hard work, social justice, and imagination in art history, performance, science, and other disciplines inspired by visual artist Kerry James Marshall’s practice and work. The event was a mix of rich

Diego Rivera

Diego Rivera
  • Author : Amy Pastan,Diego Rivera
  • Publisher : Scala Books
  • Release : 23 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKDiego Rivera

Uses a four-fold format to reproduce Rivera's Detroit Industry Murals in detail and provides information on the creation of the murals.