The Nazi Officer s Wife

#1 New York Times Bestseller Edith Hahn was an outspoken young woman in Vienna when the Gestapo forced her into a ghetto and then into a slave labor camp. When she returned home months later, she knew she would become a hunted woman and went underground. With the help of a Christian friend, she emerged in Munich as Grete Denner. There she met Werner Vetter, a Nazi Party member who fell in love with her. Despite Edith's protests and even her eventual confession that she was Jewish, he married her and kept her identity a secret. In wrenching detail, Edith recalls a life of constant, almost paralyzing fear. She tells how German officials casually questioned the lineage of her parents; how during childbirth she refused all painkillers, afraid that in an altered state of mind she might reveal something of her past; and how, after her husband was captured by the Soviets, she was bombed out of her house and had to hide while drunken Russian soldiers raped women on the street. Despite the risk it posed to her life, Edith created a remarkable record of survival. She saved every document, as well as photographs she took inside labor camps. Now part of the permanent collection at the Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C., these hundreds of documents, several of which are included in this volume, form the fabric of a gripping new chapter in the history of the Holocaust—complex, troubling, and ultimately triumphant.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Edith Hahn Beer
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Pages : 336 pages
  • ISBN : 0062190040
  • Rating : 4/5 from 33 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi Officer s Wife

The Nazi Officer's Wife

The Nazi Officer's Wife
  • Author : Edith Hahn Beer,Susan Dworkin
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 31 January 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi Officer's Wife

#1 New York Times Bestseller Edith Hahn was an outspoken young woman in Vienna when the Gestapo forced her into a ghetto and then into a slave labor camp. When she returned home months later, she knew she would become a hunted woman and went underground. With the help of a Christian friend, she emerged in Munich as Grete Denner. There she met Werner Vetter, a Nazi Party member who fell in love with her. Despite Edith's protests and even her

Nazi Wives

Nazi Wives
  • Author : James Wyllie
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 03 November 2020
GET THIS BOOKNazi Wives

Nazi Wives is a fascinating look at the personal lives, psychological profiles, and marriages of the wives of officers in Hitler's inner circle. Goering, Goebbels, Himmler, Heydrich, Hess, Bormann—names synonymous with power and influence in the Third Reich. Perhaps less familiar are Carin, Emmy, Magda, Margaret, Lina, Ilse and Gerda... These are the women behind the infamous men—complex individuals with distinctive personalities who were captivated by Hitler and whose everyday lives were governed by Nazi ideology. Throughout the

The Ratline

The Ratline
  • Author : Philippe Sands
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 02 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Ratline

A tale of Nazi lives, mass murder, love, Cold War espionage, a mysterious death in the Vatican, and the Nazi escape route to Perón's Argentina,"the Ratline"—from the author of the internationally acclaimed, award-winning East West Street. "Hypnotic, shocking, and unputdownable." —John le Carré, internationally renowned bestselling author Baron Otto von Wächter, Austrian lawyer, husband, father, high Nazi official, senior SS officer, former governor of Galicia during the war, creator and overseer of the Krakow ghetto, indicted

The Book Thief

The Book Thief
  • Author : Markus Zusak
  • Publisher : Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 18 December 2007
GET THIS BOOKThe Book Thief

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME The extraordinary, beloved novel about the ability of books to feed the soul even in the darkest of times. When Death has a story to tell, you listen. It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for

The Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story

The Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story
  • Author : Diane Ackerman
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 17 September 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story

Documents the heroic true story of Warsaw Zoo keepers and resistance activists Jan and Antonina Zabinski who, in the aftermath of Germany's invasion of Poland, saved the lives of hundreds of Jewish citizens by smuggling them into empty cages and their home villa. Reprint. 70,000 first printing.

The Nazis Knew My Name

The Nazis Knew My Name
  • Author : Magda Hellinger,Maya Lee
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 15 March 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazis Knew My Name

The “thought-provoking…must-read” (Ariana Neumann, author of When Time Stopped) memoir by a Holocaust survivor who saved an untold number of lives at Auschwitz through everyday acts of courage and kindness—in the vein of A Bookshop in Berlin and The Nazi Officer’s Wife. In March 1942, twenty-five-year-old kindergarten teacher Magda Hellinger and nearly a thousand other young women were deported as some of the first Jews to be sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp. The SS soon discovered that

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

The Tattooist of Auschwitz
  • Author : Heather Morris
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 04 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Tattooist of Auschwitz

The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be

KL

KL
  • Author : Nikolaus Wachsmann
  • Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release : 14 April 2015
GET THIS BOOKKL

The first comprehensive history of the Nazi concentration camps In a landmark work of history, Nikolaus Wachsmann offers an unprecedented, integrated account of the Nazi concentration camps from their inception in 1933 through their demise, seventy years ago, in the spring of 1945. The Third Reich has been studied in more depth than virtually any other period in history, and yet until now there has been no history of the camp system that tells the full story of its broad development and

The Nazi's Wife

The Nazi's Wife
  • Author : Peter Watson
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release : 28 November 2017
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi's Wife

Stolen gold and forbidden love intertwine in this riveting novel set during the last days of the Third Reich by “a superb writer and a masterful storyteller” (Houston Chronicle). Walter Wolff, an officer in the US Army’s art recovery unit, has been assigned to track down a priceless collection of gold coins stolen from a monastery in Austria. General Eisenhower believes the treasure could be melted down and used to finance the escape plans of high-ranking Nazi officials, including

The Nazi Officer's Wife

The Nazi Officer's Wife
  • Author : Edith H. Beer,Susan Dworkin
  • Publisher : William Morrow Paperbacks
  • Release : 10 March 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi Officer's Wife

#1 New York Times Bestseller Edith Hahn was an outspoken young woman in Vienna when the Gestapo forced her into a ghetto and then into a slave labor camp. When she returned home months later, she knew she would become a hunted woman and went underground. With the help of a Christian friend, she emerged in Munich as Grete Denner. There she met Werner Vetter, a Nazi Party member who fell in love with her. Despite Edith's protests and even her

The Lampshade

The Lampshade
  • Author : Mark Jacobson
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 14 September 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Lampshade

Few growing up in the aftermath of World War II will ever forget the horrifying reports that Nazi concentration camp doctors had removed the skin of prisoners to makes common, everyday lampshades. In The Lampshade, bestselling journalist Mark Jacobson tells the story of how he came into possession of one of these awful objects, and of his search to establish the origin, and larger meaning, of what can only be described as an icon of terror. Jacobson’s mind-bending historical,

The Kindly Ones

The Kindly Ones
  • Author : Jonathan Littell
  • Publisher : Emblem Editions
  • Release : 02 March 2010
GET THIS BOOKThe Kindly Ones

“Oh my human brothers, let me tell you how it happened.” Dr. Max Aue, the man at the heart of Jonathan Littell’s stunning and controversial novel The Kindly Ones, personifies the evils of the Second World War and the Holocaust. Highly educated and cultured, he was an ambitious SS officer, a Nazi and mass murderer who was in the upper echelons of the Third Reich. He tells us of his experience during the war. He was present at Auschwitz

The Red Countess

The Red Countess
  • Author : Hermynia Zur Mühlen
  • Publisher : Open Book Publishers
  • Release : 20 August 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Red Countess

Praise for the first edition of this book: This translation is something of an event. For the first time, it makes Zur Mühlen’s text available to English-speaking readers in a reliable version. —David Midgley, University of Cambridge [This book] represents exceptional value, both as an enjoyable read and as an introduction to an attractive author who amply deserves rediscovery. —Ritchie Robertson, Journal of European Studies, 42(1): 106-07. Born into a distinguished aristocratic family of the old Habsburg Empire, Hermynia

The Nazi Officer's Wife

The Nazi Officer's Wife
  • Author : Edith Hahn-Beer,Edith Hahn Beer,Susan Dworkin
  • Publisher : Time Warner Books UK
  • Release : 26 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi Officer's Wife

Edith Hahn was a young law student in Vienna when Hitler absorbed Austria in 1938. Madly in love with a young man called Pepi who was half-Jewish, she was separated from him and sent to a forced labour camp. So began the extraordinary chain of events that led to her return to Vienna, her life as a 'hidden' Jew with an identity given to her by a German girlfriend, her marriage to a Nazi who knew she was Jewish and protected

Sleeping with the Enemy

Sleeping with the Enemy
  • Author : Hal Vaughan
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 26 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKSleeping with the Enemy

This explosive narrative reveals for the first time the shocking hidden years of Coco Chanel's life: her collaboration with the Nazis in Paris, her affair with a master spy, and her work for the German military intelligence service and Himmler's SS. Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel was the high priestess of couture who created the look of the modern woman. By the 1920s she had amassed a fortune and went on to create an empire. But her life from 1941 to 1954 has long