The Nazi Officer s Wife

#1 New York Times Bestseller Edith Hahn was an outspoken young woman in Vienna when the Gestapo forced her into a ghetto and then into a slave labor camp. When she returned home months later, she knew she would become a hunted woman and went underground. With the help of a Christian friend, she emerged in Munich as Grete Denner. There she met Werner Vetter, a Nazi Party member who fell in love with her. Despite Edith's protests and even her eventual confession that she was Jewish, he married her and kept her identity a secret. In wrenching detail, Edith recalls a life of constant, almost paralyzing fear. She tells how German officials casually questioned the lineage of her parents; how during childbirth she refused all painkillers, afraid that in an altered state of mind she might reveal something of her past; and how, after her husband was captured by the Soviets, she was bombed out of her house and had to hide while drunken Russian soldiers raped women on the street. Despite the risk it posed to her life, Edith created a remarkable record of survival. She saved every document, as well as photographs she took inside labor camps. Now part of the permanent collection at the Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C., these hundreds of documents, several of which are included in this volume, form the fabric of a gripping new chapter in the history of the Holocaust—complex, troubling, and ultimately triumphant.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Edith Hahn Beer
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Pages : 336 pages
  • ISBN : 0062190040
  • Rating : 4/5 from 33 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi Officer s Wife

The Nazi Officer's Wife

The Nazi Officer's Wife
  • Author : Edith Hahn Beer,Susan Dworkin
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 31 January 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi Officer's Wife

#1 New York Times Bestseller Edith Hahn was an outspoken young woman in Vienna when the Gestapo forced her into a ghetto and then into a slave labor camp. When she returned home months later, she knew she would become a hunted woman and went underground. With the help of a Christian friend, she emerged in Munich as Grete Denner. There she met Werner Vetter, a Nazi Party member who fell in love with her. Despite Edith's protests and even her

The Nazis Knew My Name

The Nazis Knew My Name
  • Author : Magda Hellinger,Maya Lee
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 15 March 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazis Knew My Name

The “thought-provoking…must-read” (Ariana Neumann, author of When Time Stopped) memoir by a Holocaust survivor who saved an untold number of lives at Auschwitz through everyday acts of courage and kindness—in the vein of A Bookshop in Berlin and The Nazi Officer’s Wife. In March 1942, twenty-five-year-old kindergarten teacher Magda Hellinger and nearly a thousand other young women were deported as some of the first Jews to be sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp. The SS soon discovered that

Nazi Wives

Nazi Wives
  • Author : James Wyllie
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 03 November 2020
GET THIS BOOKNazi Wives

Nazi Wives is a fascinating look at the personal lives, psychological profiles, and marriages of the wives of officers in Hitler's inner circle. Goering, Goebbels, Himmler, Heydrich, Hess, Bormann—names synonymous with power and influence in the Third Reich. Perhaps less familiar are Carin, Emmy, Magda, Margaret, Lina, Ilse and Gerda... These are the women behind the infamous men—complex individuals with distinctive personalities who were captivated by Hitler and whose everyday lives were governed by Nazi ideology. Throughout the

The Huntress

The Huntress
  • Author : Kate Quinn
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 26 February 2019
GET THIS BOOKThe Huntress

"...compulsively readable historical fiction…[a] powerful novel about unusual women facing sometimes insurmountable odds with grace, grit, love and tenacity.” - Kristin Hannah, The Washington Post Named one of best books of the year by Marie Claire and Bookbub “If you enjoyed “The Tattooist of Auschwitz,” read “The Huntress,” by Kate Quinn." The Washington Post From the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel, THE ALICE NETWORK, comes another fascinating historical novel about a battle-haunted English

No Place to Lay One's Head

No Place to Lay One's Head
  • Author : Françoise Frenkel
  • Publisher : Pushkin Press
  • Release : 25 January 2018
GET THIS BOOKNo Place to Lay One's Head

The unforgettable story of one woman's struggle to survive persecution in wartime France ‘I loved my bookstore the way a woman loves, that is to say, truly’ In 1921, Françoise Frenkel – a Jewish woman from Poland – opens Berlin’s very first French bookshop. It is a dream come true. The bookshop attracts artists and diplomats, celebrities and poets – even the French ambassador himself. It brings Françoise peace, friendship and prosperity. Then one summer’s day in 1939, the dream ends.

Those who Save Us

Those who Save Us
  • Author : Jenna Blum
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 25 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKThose who Save Us

A professor of German history begins a long journey back into a past she has pushed aside, returning to Germany to reopen the wounds of her own life--as well as that of her mother--as a child living in Nazi Germany. 20,000 first printing.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

The Tattooist of Auschwitz
  • Author : Heather Morris
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 04 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Tattooist of Auschwitz

The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be

Born Survivors

Born Survivors
  • Author : Wendy Holden
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 05 May 2015
GET THIS BOOKBorn Survivors

The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too—a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer’s Wife, Born Survivors celebrates three mothers who defied death to give their children life. Eastern Europe, 1944: Three women believe they are pregnant, but are torn from their husbands before they can be certain. Rachel is sent to Auschwitz, unaware that her

The Nazi Officer's Wife

The Nazi Officer's Wife
  • Author : Edith Hahn-Beer,Edith Hahn Beer,Susan Dworkin
  • Publisher : Time Warner Books UK
  • Release : 25 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Nazi Officer's Wife

Edith Hahn was a young law student in Vienna when Hitler absorbed Austria in 1938. Madly in love with a young man called Pepi who was half-Jewish, she was separated from him and sent to a forced labour camp. So began the extraordinary chain of events that led to her return to Vienna, her life as a 'hidden' Jew with an identity given to her by a German girlfriend, her marriage to a Nazi who knew she was Jewish and protected

The Red Countess

The Red Countess
  • Author : Hermynia Zur Mühlen
  • Publisher : Open Book Publishers
  • Release : 20 August 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Red Countess

Praise for the first edition of this book: This translation is something of an event. For the first time, it makes Zur Mühlen’s text available to English-speaking readers in a reliable version. —David Midgley, University of Cambridge [This book] represents exceptional value, both as an enjoyable read and as an introduction to an attractive author who amply deserves rediscovery. —Ritchie Robertson, Journal of European Studies, 42(1): 106-07. Born into a distinguished aristocratic family of the old Habsburg Empire, Hermynia

The SS Officer's Armchair

The SS Officer's Armchair
  • Author : Daniel Lee
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 30 July 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe SS Officer's Armchair

It began with an armchair. It began with the surprise discovery of a stash of personal documents covered in swastikas sewn into its cushion. The SS Officer’s Armchair is the story of what happened next, as Daniel Lee follows the trail of cold calls, documents, coincidences and family secrets, to uncover the life of one Dr Robert Griesinger from Stuttgart. Who was he? What had his life been – and how had it ended? Lee reveals the strange life of

Aimee & Jaguar

Aimee & Jaguar
  • Author : Erica Fischer
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 12 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKAimee & Jaguar

Berlin 1942. Lilly Wust, twenty-nine, married, four children, led a life as did millions of German women. But then she met the twenty-one-year-old Felice Schragenheim. It was love almost at first sight. Aimée (Lilly) and Jaguar (Felice) started forging plans for the future. They composed poems and love letters to each other, and wrote their own marriage contract. When Jaguar admitted to her lover that she was Jewish, this dangerous secret drew the two women even closer to each other.

A Nazi in the Family

A Nazi in the Family
  • Author : Derek Niemann
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release : 06 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKA Nazi in the Family

WARTIME BERLIN: The Niemann family - Karl, Minna and their four children - live in a quiet, suburban enclave. Every day Karl commutes to work, a business manager travelling around inspecting his “factories”. In the evenings he returns home to life as a normal family man.Three years ago Derek Niemann, born and raised in Scotland, made the chilling discovery that his grandfather Karl had been an officer in the SS - and that his “business” used thousands of slave

Hitler's Furies

Hitler's Furies
  • Author : Wendy Lower
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release : 25 May 2022
GET THIS BOOKHitler's Furies

A history of German women in the Holocaust reveals their roles as plunderers, witnesses, and actual executioners on the Eastern front, describing how nurses, teachers, secretaries, and wives responded to what they believed to be Nazi opportunities only to perform brutal duties.