The Plantagenets

The New York Times bestseller, from the author of Powers and Thrones, that tells the story of Britain’s greatest and worst dynasty—“a real-life Game of Thrones” (The Wall Street Journal) The first Plantagenet kings inherited a blood-soaked realm from the Normans and transformed it into an empire that stretched at its peak from Scotland to Jerusalem. In this epic narrative history of courage, treachery, ambition, and deception, Dan Jones resurrects the unruly royal dynasty that preceded the Tudors. They produced England’s best and worst kings: Henry II and his wife Eleanor of Aquitaine, twice a queen and the most famous woman in Christendom; their son Richard the Lionheart, who fought Saladin in the Third Crusade; and his conniving brother King John, who was forced to grant his people new rights under the Magna Carta, the basis for our own bill of rights. Combining the latest academic research with a gift for storytelling, Jones vividly recreates the great battles of Bannockburn, Crécy, and Sluys and reveals how the maligned kings Edward II and Richard II met their downfalls. This is the era of chivalry and the Black Death, the Knights Templar, the founding of parliament, and the Hundred Years’ War, when England’s national identity was forged by the sword.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Dan Jones
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 560 pages
  • ISBN : 0143124927
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Plantagenets

The Plantagenets

The Plantagenets
  • Author : Dan Jones
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 25 March 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Plantagenets

The New York Times bestseller, from the author of Powers and Thrones, that tells the story of Britain’s greatest and worst dynasty—“a real-life Game of Thrones” (The Wall Street Journal) The first Plantagenet kings inherited a blood-soaked realm from the Normans and transformed it into an empire that stretched at its peak from Scotland to Jerusalem. In this epic narrative history of courage, treachery, ambition, and deception, Dan Jones resurrects the unruly royal dynasty that preceded the Tudors.

The Plantagenets: The Kings Who Made England

The Plantagenets: The Kings Who Made England
  • Author : Dan Jones
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release : 10 May 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Plantagenets: The Kings Who Made England

Eight generations of the greatest and worst kings and queens that this country has ever seen – from the White Ship to the Lionheart, bad King John to the Black Prince and John of Gaunt – this is the dynasty that invented England as we still know it today – great history to appeal to readers of Ken Follet, Bernard Cornwell, Tom Holland

The Hollow Crown

The Hollow Crown
  • Author : Dan Jones
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release : 02 September 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Hollow Crown

'The Hollow Crown is exhilarating, epic, blood-and-roses history . . . Jones's material is thrilling . . . There is fine scholarly intuition on display here and a mastery of the grand narrative; it is a supremely skilful piece of storytelling.' Sunday Telegraph The fifteenth century saw the crown of England change hands seven times as the great families of England fought to the death for power, majesty and the right to rule. The Hollow Crown completes Dan Jones' epic history of medieval England, and

The Plantagenets: The Kings That Made Britain

The Plantagenets: The Kings That Made Britain
  • Author : Derek Wilson
  • Publisher : Quercus
  • Release : 09 December 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Plantagenets: The Kings That Made Britain

Plantagenet is the name given to the English royal house descended from the union of Queen Matilda of England and her second husband Geoffrey of Anjou. The name derived from Geoffrey's nickname, which came from the sprig of broom (planta genet) which he wore in his hat. The Plantagenets ruled England for more than three hundred years, from the accession of reign of the dynasty's founder, Matilda and Geoffrey's son, Henry II, in 1154, to the death of the last Plantagenet,

When Christ and His Saints Slept

When Christ and His Saints Slept
  • Author : Sharon Kay Penman
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
  • Release : 01 April 2010
GET THIS BOOKWhen Christ and His Saints Slept

In When Christ and His Saints Slept master storyteller and historian Sharon Kay Penman illuminates one of the lesser-known but fascinating periods of English history. The next addition in this highly acclaimed historical fiction series of the middle ages, and the first of a trilogy that will tell the story of Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine. When Christ and His Saints Slept begins with the death of King Henry I, son of William the Conqueror and father of Maude,

The Conquering Family

The Conquering Family
  • Author : Thomas B. Costain
  • Publisher : Doubleday
  • Release : 07 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Conquering Family

Thomas B. Costain's four-volume history of the Plantagenets begins with THE CONQUERING FAMILY and the conquest of England by William the Conqueror in 1066, closing with the reign of John in 1216. The troubled period after the Norman Conquest, when the foundations of government were hammered out between monarch and people, comes to life through Costain's storytelling skill and historical imagination.

The Three Edwards

The Three Edwards
  • Author : Thomas B. Costain
  • Publisher : Pickle Partners Publishing
  • Release : 01 December 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Three Edwards

Here is all the magnificent color, the sweep, the rich romance of a brilliant era. Here are the three unforgettable men who dominated it—and the strong-willed women who destroyed one of them and sought to enslave another. THE THREE EDWARDS, third in Thomas B. Costain's survey of Britain under the Plantagenets, covers the years between 1272 and 1377 when three Edwards ruled England. Edward I brought England out of the Middle Ages. Edward II had a tragic reign but gave his

The Wars of the Roses

The Wars of the Roses
  • Author : Dan Jones
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 06 October 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Wars of the Roses

The author of Powers and Thrones and presenter of Netflix’s Secrets of Great British Castles offers a vivid account of the events that inspired Game of Thrones and Shakespeare’s Henry IV and Richard III Discover the real history behind The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses, the PBS Great Performance series of Shakespeare's plays, starring Judi Dench, Benedict Cumberbatch, Sofie Okenedo and Hugh Bonneville. The crown of England changed hands five times over the course of the

The Demon's Brood

The Demon's Brood
  • Author : Desmond Seward
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release : 20 March 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Demon's Brood

The Plantagenets reigned over England longer than any other family - from Henry II, to Richard III. Four kings were murdered, two came close to deposition and another was killed in a battle by rebels. Shakespeare wrote plays about six of them, further entrenching them in the National Myth. Based on major contemporary sources and recent research, acclaimed historian Desmond Seward provides the first readable overview of the whole extraordinary dynasty, in one volume.

The Magnificent Century

The Magnificent Century
  • Author : Thomas B. Costain
  • Publisher : Doubleday
  • Release : 21 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKThe Magnificent Century

The Magnificent Century, the second volume of Costain's A History of the Plantagenets, covers Henry III's long and turbulent reign, from 1216 to 1272. During his lifetime Henry was frequently unpopular, unreliable and inconsistent. Yet his reign saw spectacular advancement in the arts, sciences and theology, as well as in government. Despite all, it was truly a magnificent century. "Combines a love of the subject with factual history. . .a great story." —San Francisco Chronicle A History of the Plantagenets includes The Conquering

The Plantagenets

The Plantagenets
  • Author : Derek Wilson
  • Publisher : Quercus Publishing
  • Release : 02 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Plantagenets

England, 1154. As Henry II seizes the throne after years of turmoil, a new dynasty is poised to haul this hitherto turbulent nation out from the Dark Ages and transform it into the nation state we recognize today. Featuring some of England's greatest but also most notorious kings, the house of Plantagenet would reign for over 300 blood-soaked, yet foundational, years. The dynasty provides some of the most evocative names in our history: from the brave yet rash Richard the Lionheart, his

101 Amazing Facts about The Plantagenets

101 Amazing Facts about The Plantagenets
  • Author : Jack Goldstein
  • Publisher : Andrews UK Limited
  • Release : 01 April 2015
GET THIS BOOK101 Amazing Facts about The Plantagenets

Why was Edward I also known as Edward Longshanks? What do historians think happened to the Princes in the Tower? Who became known as ‘The Kingmaker’ and why? And who shocked Europe with the murder of Thomas Becket, the Archbishop of Canterbury? All of these questions and more are answered in this excellent book containing over one hundred facts about the Plantagenets. Separated into sections covering either an individual monarch or era (such as the Angevins or the House of