The Reader

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany. When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she is on trial for a hideous crime. As he watches her refuse to defend her innocence, Michael gradually realizes that Hanna may be guarding a secret she considers more shameful than murder.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Bernhard Schlink
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Pages : 224 pages
  • ISBN : 0375726977
  • Rating : 3.5/5 from 221 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Reader

The Reader

The Reader
  • Author : Bernhard Schlink
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 01 May 2001
GET THIS BOOKThe Reader

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany. When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she

The Reader

The Reader
  • Author : Bernhard Schlink
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 24 May 1998
GET THIS BOOKThe Reader

At the age of fifteen, Michael Berg falls in love with a woman who disappears, and while observing a trial as a law student years later, he is shocked to discover the same woman as the defendant in a horrible crime

The Reader

The Reader
  • Author : Bernhard Schlink
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release : 01 September 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Reader

An exceptionally powerful novel exploring the themes of betrayal, guilt and memory against the background of the Holocaust. An international bestseller. For 15-year-old Michael Berg, a chance meeting with an older woman leads to far more than he ever imagined. The woman in question is Hanna, and before long they embark on a passionate, clandestine love affair which leaves Michael both euphoric and confused. For Hanna is not all she seems. Years later, as a law student observing a trial

The Reader

The Reader
  • Author : Traci Chee
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 13 September 2016
GET THIS BOOKThe Reader

Instant New York Times Bestseller A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if

Pity the Reader

Pity the Reader
  • Author : Kurt Vonnegut,Suzanne McConnell
  • Publisher : Rosetta Books
  • Release : 05 November 2019
GET THIS BOOKPity the Reader

“A rich, generous book about writing and reading and Kurt Vonnegut as writer, teacher, and friend . . . Every page brings pleasure and insight.”—Gail Godwin, New York Times bestselling author Here is an entirely new side of Kurt Vonnegut, Vonnegut as a teacher of writing. Of course he’s given us glimpses before, with aphorisms and short essays and articles and in his speeches. But never before has an entire book been devoted to Kurt Vonnegut the teacher. Here is pretty

The Storyteller

The Storyteller
  • Author : Traci Chee
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 13 November 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Storyteller

The thrilling conclusion to the epic adventure that began with New York Times bestselling The Reader, "a series fantasy lovers will want to sink their teeth into." - Booklist, starred review Sefia is determined to keep Archer out of the Guard's clutches and their plans for war between the Five Kingdoms. The Book, the ancient, infinite codex of the past, present and future, tells of a prophecy that will plunge Kelanna in that bloody war, but it requires a boy--Archer--and

John Clare and the Imagination of the Reader

John Clare and the Imagination of the Reader
  • Author : Paul Chirico
  • Publisher : Palgrave MacMillan
  • Release : 12 July 2007
GET THIS BOOKJohn Clare and the Imagination of the Reader

This broad and original study of the full range of John Clare's work is the first to take seriously his repeated appeals to the judgement of future readers. Restoring the suppressed history of Clare's deep cultural engagement, it teases out, in clear terms, the often unexpected complexities of his varied writings. A series of close readings reveals Clare's sophisticated poetics: his covert quotations, his careful analysis of the history and culture of his own place, and his fascination with literary