The Star Side of Bird Hill

Two sisters are suddenly sent from their home in Brooklyn to Barbados to live with their grandmother, in this stunning debut novel This lyrical novel of community, betrayal, and love centers on an unforgettable matriarchal family in Barbados. Two sisters, ages ten and sixteen, are exiled from Brooklyn to Bird Hill in Barbados after their mother can no longer care for them. The young Phaedra and her older sister, Dionne, live for the summer of 1989 with their grandmother Hyacinth, a midwife and practitioner of the local spiritual practice of obeah. Dionne spends the summer in search of love, testing her grandmother’s limits, and wanting to go home. Phaedra explores Bird Hill, where her family has lived for generations, accompanies her grandmother in her role as a midwife, and investigates their mother’s mysterious life. This tautly paced coming-of-age story builds to a crisis when the father they barely know comes to Bird Hill to reclaim his daughters, and both Phaedra and Dionne must choose between the Brooklyn they once knew and loved or the Barbados of their family. Jackson’s Barbados and her characters are singular, especially the wise Hyacinth and the heartbreaking young Phaedra, who is coming into her own as a young woman amid the tumult of her family. Praise for The Star Side of Bird Hill “Jackson has written a first novel full of heart and heartbreak, a novel about going home, about the ties that bind three generations of women across years and despite absence. It is a bittersweet lesson in learning to recognize love.” —Ayana Mathis, author of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie (Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 selection) “Naomi Jackson has written a tender novel exploring the complexities of motherhood and childhood. The Star Side of Bird Hill holds together opposing elements—the book is quiet in the telling, but the story being told is sharp and vibrant. It is as much a story of the fears of childhood as it is a story about welcoming old age with optimism. A book that knows death and discovery. A book laced with pain but shimmering with hope. With care, the narrative addresses huge issues, such as mental illness, mortality, sexuality, and, at its very core, what it means to love another person as they are.” —Tiphanie Yanique, author of Land of Love and Drowning

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Naomi Jackson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 069815228X
  • Rating : 4/5 from 9 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Star Side of Bird Hill

The Star Side of Bird Hill

The Star Side of Bird Hill
  • Author : Naomi Jackson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 30 June 2015
GET THIS BOOKThe Star Side of Bird Hill

Two sisters are suddenly sent from their home in Brooklyn to Barbados to live with their grandmother, in this stunning debut novel This lyrical novel of community, betrayal, and love centers on an unforgettable matriarchal family in Barbados. Two sisters, ages ten and sixteen, are exiled from Brooklyn to Bird Hill in Barbados after their mother can no longer care for them. The young Phaedra and her older sister, Dionne, live for the summer of 1989 with their grandmother Hyacinth, a

Love After Love

Love After Love
  • Author : Ingrid Persaud
  • Publisher : One World/Ballantine
  • Release : 13 July 2021
GET THIS BOOKLove After Love

"A stellar debut . . . about an unconventional family, fear, hatred, violence, chasing love, losing it and finding it again just when we need it most."--The New York Times Book Review WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK AWARD * "A wonder . . . [This book] teems with real, Trinidadian life."--Claire Adam, award-winning author of Golden Child SEMI-FINALIST FOR THE OCM BOCAS PRIZE * One of the Best Books of the Summer: Time * The Guardian * Goop * Women's Day * LitHub After Betty Ramdin's husband dies, she invites

Captain Blood (Diversion Classics)

Captain Blood (Diversion Classics)
  • Author : Rafael Sabatini
  • Publisher : Diversion Books
  • Release : 19 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKCaptain Blood (Diversion Classics)

Featuring an appendix of discussion questions, the Diversion Classics edition is ideal for use in book groups and classrooms. Peter Blood, Irish physician and former soldier, is happily settled as the doctor of a small English town. But when the rebellion of the Duke of Monmouth reaches him, saving one man’s life ends up costing him his entire world. Sentenced to indentured slavery in the Caribbean, Peter escapes, becoming the most fearless pirate on the Spanish Main—Captain Blood.

Brother, I'm Dying

Brother, I'm Dying
  • Author : Edwidge Danticat
  • Publisher : Knopf
  • Release : 31 July 2021
GET THIS BOOKBrother, I'm Dying

In a personal memoir, the author describes her relationships with the two men closest to her--her father and his brother, Joseph, a charismatic pastor with whom she lived after her parents emigrated from Haiti to the United States.

Sweetblood

Sweetblood
  • Author : Pete Hautman
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 31 August 2010
GET THIS BOOKSweetblood

Sixteen-year-old Lucy Szabo is Undead -- at least according to her own theories about vampirism. Lucy believes that the first vampires -- with their pale skin, long teeth, and uncontrollable thirst -- were dying diabetics. And she should know. She's a diabetic herself. When Lucy becomes involved with Draco -- a self-proclaimed "real" vampire she meets in the Transylvania Internet chat room -- her world begins crashing down around her. Caught up in late-night parties and Goth culture, she begins

The Prophets

The Prophets
  • Author : Robert Jones, Jr.
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 05 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Prophets

Instant New York Times Bestseller "May this book cast its spell on all of us, restore to us some memory of our most warrior and softest selves." —The New York Times Book Review “A new kind of epic...A grand achievement...While The Prophets' dreamy realism recalls the work of Toni Morrison...its penetrating focus on social dynamics stands out more singularly.” —Entertainment Weekly A singular and stunning debut novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on

The Rib King

The Rib King
  • Author : Ladee Hubbard
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 19 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Rib King

“Ladee Hubbard’s voice is a welcome original.” —Mary Gaitskill The acclaimed author of The Talented Ribkins deconstructs painful African American stereotypes and offers a fresh and searing critique on race, class, privilege, ambition, exploitation, and the seeds of rage in America in this intricately woven and masterfully executed historical novel, set in early the twentieth century that centers around the black servants of a down-on-its heels upper-class white family. For fifteen years August Sitwell has worked for the Barclays,

Hate List

Hate List
  • Author : Jennifer Brown
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Release : 01 September 2009
GET THIS BOOKHate List

For readers of Marieke Nijkamp's This Is Where It Ends, a powerful and timely contemporary classic about the aftermath of a school shooting. Five months ago, Valerie Leftman's boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House
  • Author : Cherie Jones
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 26 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKHow the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise” In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister, a cautionary tale about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the Baxter’s Tunnels. When she’s grown-up, Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma

City of Light

City of Light
  • Author : Lauren Belfer
  • Publisher : Dial Press
  • Release : 01 September 2010
GET THIS BOOKCity of Light

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK It is 1901 and Buffalo, New York, stands at the center of the nation's attention as a place of immense wealth and sophistication. The massive hydroelectric power development at nearby Niagara Falls and the grand Pan-American Exposition promise to bring the Great Lakes “city of light” even more repute. Against this rich historical backdrop lives Louisa Barrett, the attractive, articulate headmistress of the Macaulay School for Girls. Protected by its powerful all-male board, “Miss Barrett”

The Lover's Dictionary

The Lover's Dictionary
  • Author : David Levithan
  • Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release : 21 January 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Lover's Dictionary

basis, n. There has to be a moment at the beginning when you wonder whether you're in love with the person or in love with the feeling of love itself. If the moment doesn't pass, that's it—you're done. And if the moment does pass, it never goes that far. It stands in the distance, ready for whenever you want it back. Sometimes it's even there when you thought you were searching for something else, like an escape route, or

Here Comes the Sun: A Novel

Here Comes the Sun: A Novel
  • Author : Nicole Dennis-Benn
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 06 June 2016
GET THIS BOOKHere Comes the Sun: A Novel

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year Winner of the LAMBDA Literary Award for Lesbian Fiction Named a Best Book of 2016 by NPR, Entertainment Weekly, Buzzfeed, Bustle, San Francisco Chronicle, The Root, BookRiot, Kirkus Reviews, NYLON, Amazon, WBUR's "On Point", the Barnes & Noble Review, and Amazon (Fiction & Literature) Finalist for the NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award and the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize Selected for the Grand Prix Litteraire of the Association of Caribbean Writers Longlisted for

Lost & Found

Lost & Found
  • Author : Brooke Davis
  • Publisher : Penguin Canada
  • Release : 03 February 2015
GET THIS BOOKLost & Found

Millie Bird, seven-years old and ever hopeful, always wears red gumboots to match her curly hair. Her struggling mother, grieving the death of Millie’s father, leaves her in the big ladies’ underwear department of a local store and never returns. Agatha Pantha, eighty-two, has not left her house – or spoken to another human being – since she was widowed seven years ago. She fills the silences by yelling at passersby, watching loud static on the TV and maintaining a strict

Tell Them I Didn't Cry

Tell Them I Didn't Cry
  • Author : Jackie Spinner,Jenny Spinner,David Ignatius
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 07 August 2007
GET THIS BOOKTell Them I Didn't Cry

A young journalist from the Midwest describes her sojourn in Iraq as the Baghdad Bureau Chief for the "Washington Post," detailing what it is like to cover a war under the constant threat of kidnapping, injury, and death.