The Taliban Shuffle

A wisecracking foreign correspondent recounts her experiences in Afghanistan and Pakistan while sharing cautionary observations about the region in its first post-Taliban years and the responsibilities of the U.S. and NATO.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Kim Barker
  • Publisher : Anchor Books
  • Pages : 302 pages
  • ISBN : 030747738X
  • Rating : 4/5 from 12 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKThe Taliban Shuffle

The Taliban Shuffle

The Taliban Shuffle
  • Author : Kim Barker
  • Publisher : Anchor Books
  • Release : 04 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Taliban Shuffle

A wisecracking foreign correspondent recounts her experiences in Afghanistan and Pakistan while sharing cautionary observations about the region in its first post-Taliban years and the responsibilities of the U.S. and NATO.

No Good Men Among the Living

No Good Men Among the Living
  • Author : Anand Gopal
  • Publisher : Metropolitan Books
  • Release : 29 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKNo Good Men Among the Living

Told through the lives of three Afghans, the stunning tale of how the United States had triumph in sight in Afghanistan—and then brought the Taliban back from the dead In a breathtaking chronicle, acclaimed journalist Anand Gopal traces in vivid detail the lives of three Afghans caught in America's war on terror. He follows a Taliban commander, who rises from scrawny teenager to leading insurgent; a US-backed warlord, who uses the American military to gain personal wealth and power;

Kidnapped by the Taliban

Kidnapped by the Taliban
  • Author : Dilip Joseph, M.D.
  • Publisher : Thomas Nelson
  • Release : 21 October 2014
GET THIS BOOKKidnapped by the Taliban

Back Cover Copy: “Am I About to Die?” On December 5, 2012, American medical doctor Dilip Joseph and two colleagues are driving back to Kabul, Afghanistan, after serving villagers that morning at a rural clinic. Suddenly a man waving an AK-47 blocks their path. More armed men jump out of hiding. For Dilip, it is the beginning of a nightmare—he’s being kidnapped by the Taliban. Dilip and his friends endure a nine-hour march into the mountains, gruesome images of torture

Taliban Narratives

Taliban Narratives
  • Author : Thomas H. Johnson
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 01 February 2018
GET THIS BOOKTaliban Narratives

Why has the Taliban been so much more effective in presenting messages that resonate with the Afghan population than the United States, the Afghan government and their allies? This book, based on years of field research and the assessment of hundreds of original source materials, examines the information operations and related narratives of Afghan insurgents, especially the Afghan Taliban, and investigates how the Taliban has won the information war. Taliban messaging, wrapped in the narrative of jihad, is both to

A Rope and a Prayer

A Rope and a Prayer
  • Author : David Rohde,Kristen Mulvihill
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 30 November 2010
GET THIS BOOKA Rope and a Prayer

The compelling and insightful account of a New York Times reporter's abduction by the Taliban, and his wife's struggle to free him. Invited to an interview by a Taliban commander, New York Times reporter David Rohde and two Afghan colleagues were kidnapped in November 2008 and spirited to the tribal areas of Pakistan. For the next seven months, they lived in an alternate reality, ruled by jihadists, in which paranoia, conspiracy theories, and shifting alliances abounded. Held in bustling towns, they

On All Fronts

On All Fronts
  • Author : Clarissa Ward
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 08 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKOn All Fronts

“On All Fronts takes the reader on a riveting journey of storytelling. . . From Russia to China to Syria, [she] navigate[s] the most intense of human experiences while finding the tools to stay emotional.”—Lynsey Addario, author of It’s What I Do: A Photographer’s Life of Love and War The recipient of multiple Peabody and Murrow awards, Clarissa Ward is a world-renowned conflict reporter. In this strange age of crisis where there really is no front line, she

Afghanistan

Afghanistan
  • Author : Paula Bronstein
  • Publisher : University of Texas Press
  • Release : 07 June 2016
GET THIS BOOKAfghanistan

The Afghan people are standing at a crucial crossroads in history. Can their fragile democratic institutions survive the drawdown of US military support? Will Afghan women and girls be stripped of their modest gains in freedom and opportunity as the West loses interest in their plight? While the media have largely moved on from these stories, Paula Bronstein remains passionately committed to bearing witness to the lives of the Afghan people. In this powerful photo essay, she goes beyond war

Poetry of the Taliban

Poetry of the Taliban
  • Author : Mirwais Rahmany
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 04 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKPoetry of the Taliban

While much has been written about the Taliban's military tactics, media strategy and harsh treatment of women, the cultural and sometimes less overtly political representation of their identity, the Taliban's other face, is often overlooked. Most Taliban fighters are Pashtuns, a people who cherish their vibrant poetic tradition, closely associated with that of song. The poems in this collection are meant to be recited and sung; and this is the manner in which they are enjoyed by the wider Pashtun

Soldier Girls

Soldier Girls
  • Author : Helen Thorpe
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 05 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKSoldier Girls

“A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship” (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and families—named a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly. “In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable” (The Boston Globe). Helen Thorpe follows the

The Taliban Shuffle

The Taliban Shuffle
  • Author : Kim Barker
  • Publisher : Doubleday Books
  • Release : 04 July 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Taliban Shuffle

A wisecracking foreign correspondent recounts her haphazard experiences in Afghanistan and Pakistan while sharing cautionary observations about the region in its first post-Taliban years, its ability to prevent a Taliban regrouping and the responsibilities of the U.S. and NATO.

Them

Them
  • Author : Jon Ronson
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 28 June 2011
GET THIS BOOKThem

A wide variety of extremist groups -- Islamic fundamentalists, neo-Nazis -- share the oddly similar belief that a tiny shadowy elite rule the world from a secret room. In Them, journalist Jon Ronson has joined the extremists to track down the fabled secret room. As a journalist and a Jew, Ronson was often considered one of "Them" but he had no idea if their meetings actually took place. Was he just not invited? Them takes us across three continents and

Better Than Sex

Better Than Sex
  • Author : Hunter S. Thompson
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 15 August 2012
GET THIS BOOKBetter Than Sex

"Hunter S. Thompson is to drug-addled, stream-of-consciousness, psycho-political black humor what Forrest Gump is to idiot savants." --The Philadelphia Inquirer Since his 1972 trailblazing opus, Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail, Hunter S. Thompson has reported the election story in his truly inimitable, just-short-of-libel style. In Better than Sex, Thompson hits the dusty trail again--without leaving home--yet manages to deliver a mind-bending view of the 1992 presidential campaign--in all of its horror, sacrifice, lust, and dubious glory. Complete with faxes sent

The Taliban Revival

The Taliban Revival
  • Author : Hassan Abbas
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release : 24 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Taliban Revival

In autumn 2001, U.S. and NATO troops were deployed to Afghanistan to unseat the Taliban rulers, repressive Islamic fundamentalists who had lent active support to Osama bin Laden’s Al-Qaeda jihadists. The NATO forces defeated and dismantled the Taliban government, scattering its remnants across the country. But despite a more than decade-long attempt to eradicate them, the Taliban endured—regrouping and reestablishing themselves as a significant insurgent movement. Gradually they have regained control of large portions of Afghanistan even as

Eagle Down

Eagle Down
  • Author : Jessica Donati
  • Publisher : PublicAffairs
  • Release : 19 January 2021
GET THIS BOOKEagle Down

A Wall Street Journal national security reporter takes readers into the lives of frontline U.S. special operations troops fighting to keep the Taliban and Islamic State from overthrowing the U.S.-backed government in the final years of the war in Afghanistan. A FINANCIAL TIMES BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR “Powerful, important, and searing." —General David Petraeus, U.S. Army (ret.), former commander, U.S. Central Command, former CIA director In 2015, the White House claimed triumphantly that “the longest

Indian Voices

Indian Voices
  • Author : Alison Owings
  • Publisher : Rutgers University Press
  • Release : 28 February 2011
GET THIS BOOKIndian Voices

In Indian Voices, Alison Owings takes readers on a fresh journey across America, east to west, north to south, and around again. Owings's most recent oral history—engagingly written in a style that entertains and informs—documents what Native Americans say about themselves, their daily lives, and the world around them. Young and old from many tribal nations speak with candor, insight, and (unknown to many non-Natives) humor about what it is like to be a Native American in the