TREYF

From the Washington Post columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of Poor Man’s Feast comes a story of seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction... Treyf: According to Leviticus, unkosher and prohibited, like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit. Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets. While the suburban promise of The Brady Bunch blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, Treyf captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Elissa Altman
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 069818212X
  • Rating : 3/5 from 2 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKTREYF

TREYF

TREYF
  • Author : Elissa Altman
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 20 September 2016
GET THIS BOOKTREYF

From the Washington Post columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of Poor Man’s Feast comes a story of seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction... Treyf: According to Leviticus, unkosher and prohibited, like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit. Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition,

Treyf Pesach

Treyf Pesach
  • Author : Hilton Obenzinger
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 15 July 2017
GET THIS BOOKTreyf Pesach

Poetry. Jewish Studies. Blasphemy is holy--and exciting, outrageous literature in TREYF PESACH (Unkosher Passover). Novelist Paul Auster declares that this book "strikes with all the force of an exploding bomb--because it speaks the truth." This collection of poems presents radical departures from traditional rituals, formats and conventions: alternative Passover Seders, Yom Kippur liturgy, Thanksgiving prayers, psalms and other poems in the form of proclamations, resolutions, jazz improvisations, incantations, rants, orations, comic monologues, oil spills, life spills, songs, visions, undocumented documents,

Death Wish

Death Wish
  • Author : Rob Kovitz
  • Publisher : Treyf Books
  • Release : 01 November 2013
GET THIS BOOKDeath Wish

The first one is the hardest. Then he discovers he likes it. DEATH WISH, Starring Charles Bronson, Architect is based on the sensationalistic and controversial Death Wish movies, in which Charles Bronson portrays an architect who becomes a vigilante-killer. DEATH WISH by Rob Kovitz is a kind of enigmatic appropriation allegory, in which Bronson is Everyman, and Architecture is the dream/nightmare that goes to bed with each of us at night. Treyf 25th Anniversary edition.

Games Oligopolists Play

Games Oligopolists Play
  • Author : Rob Kovitz
  • Publisher : Treyf Books
  • Release : 01 November 2013
GET THIS BOOKGames Oligopolists Play

“Oligopoly, like international diplomacy, labor-management negotiations, and so on, is one of the speediest and most thrilling of sports.” Games Oligopolists Play features oligopolists playing at Canada's favourite game, along with pointed commentary from noted hockey analysts Brian Mulroney, Jean Chretien and Don Cherry. Handsomely designed and printed, Games Oligopolists Play consists of texts and images collected from economic textbooks and various books and articles on hockey that have been recombined, juxtaposed and ordered by the author in a completely

First Person Jewish

First Person Jewish
  • Author : Alisa Lebow
  • Publisher : U of Minnesota Press
  • Release : 13 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKFirst Person Jewish

Examining more than a dozen films from Jewish artists, this book reveals how the postmodern impulse to turn the lens inward intersects provocatively with historical tropes and stereotypes of the Jew. It focuses on Jewish filmmakers working on the margins and examines the work of Jonathan Caouette, Chantal Akerman and many more.

Room Behavior

Room Behavior
  • Author : Rob Kovitz
  • Publisher : Treyf Books
  • Release : 01 November 2013
GET THIS BOOKRoom Behavior

A woman sits alone in a darkened boiler-room. A man enjoys hanging suspended from the ceiling. A dirty room indicates the secret sexual proclivities of its occupant. A curtain rustling in the breeze portends fear and paranoia. “The purpose of a room derives from the special nature of a room. A room is inside. This is what people in rooms have to agree on, as differentiated from lawns, meadows, fields, orchards.” Room Behavior is a book about rooms. Composed of

Capital of the World

Capital of the World
  • Author : Rob Kovitz
  • Publisher : Treyf Books
  • Release : 01 March 2014
GET THIS BOOKCapital of the World

Robert Macaire, discount broker: “Here are my conditions.” - Honoré Daumier, Le Charivari, 27 September 1836 Jean Baudrillard once suggested an important correction to classical Marxism: exchange value is not, as Marx had it, a distortion of a commodity’s underlying use value; use value, instead, is a fiction created by exchange value. - n+1 Magazine, Death by Degrees He had ferreted so much, collected so many clues, that he could have prophesied how the new neighbourhoods would look in 1870. Sometimes, in

Pig City Model Farm

Pig City Model Farm
  • Author : Rob Kovitz
  • Publisher : Treyf Books
  • Release : 01 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKPig City Model Farm

“If we could suddenly see this arranged order as it will be seen in its full functioning, it is not to be doubted that many of the Civilized would be struck dead by the violence of their ecstasy.” PIG CITY MODEL FARM is a strange, amusing and disturbing book about architecture, agriculture, and utopia. About instrumental thinking and rational method versus irony and doubt as anti-method. About copronomy and building design, model farms, country-life, class status in the Chinese countryside,

According to Plan

According to Plan
  • Author : Rob Kovitz
  • Publisher : Treyf Books
  • Release : 04 November 2014
GET THIS BOOKAccording to Plan

“Clearly, someone had to have a plan, an idea, a beginning …” — John McCabe, Stickleback “What’s the plan?” — youtube.com, Battlestar Actors Lay Out the Plan Canadian author-artist Rob Kovitz is the creator of Treyf Books, inventive montage book projects that juxtapose texts and images collected from widely varied sources. Centered around a certain theme, he then recombines these findings to form new works of imagination that are at once multivalent and surprisingly cohesive. Kovitz’s latest super-cut bookwork, According

Poor Man's Feast

Poor Man's Feast
  • Author : Elissa Altman
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 04 August 2015
GET THIS BOOKPoor Man's Feast

Based on the James Beard Award-Winning Blog Born and raised in New York to a food-phobic mother and a food-fanatical father, Elissa learned early on that fancy is always best. After a childhood spent dining at fine establishments, from Le Pavillon to La Grenouille, she devoted her life to all things gastronomical. She served rare game birds at elaborate dinner parties in an apartment so tiny that the guests couldn’t turn around and bought eight timbale molds while working