What Happened Miss Simone

'From her raging, handwritten letters to late-night phone calls with David Bowie, this biography gets up close and personal with the tempestuous Nina Simone' Observer Drawing on glimpses into previously unseen diaries, rare interviews and childhood journals, and with the aid of her daughter, What Happened, Miss Simone? tells the story of the classically trained pianist who became a soul legend, a committed civil rights activist and one of the most influential, provocative and least understood artists of our time. This is the story of the real Miss Simone.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Alan Light
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Pages : 320 pages
  • ISBN : 178211873X
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhat Happened Miss Simone

What Happened, Miss Simone?

What Happened, Miss Simone?
  • Author : Alan Light
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release : 26 February 2016
GET THIS BOOKWhat Happened, Miss Simone?

'From her raging, handwritten letters to late-night phone calls with David Bowie, this biography gets up close and personal with the tempestuous Nina Simone' Observer Drawing on glimpses into previously unseen diaries, rare interviews and childhood journals, and with the aid of her daughter, What Happened, Miss Simone? tells the story of the classically trained pianist who became a soul legend, a committed civil rights activist and one of the most influential, provocative and least understood artists of our time.

I Put A Spell On You

I Put A Spell On You
  • Author : Nina Simone
  • Publisher : Da Capo Press
  • Release : 04 September 2003
GET THIS BOOKI Put A Spell On You

The inimitable, gorgeously talented Nina Simone (1933-2003)--the "high priestess of soul"--sets the story of her tumultuous, passionate life straight in I Put a Spell on You. Born Eunice Kathleen Waymon in small-town North Carolina, Nina Simone changed the face of both music and race relations in America. She struck a chord with bluesy jazz ballads like "Put a Little Sugar in My Bowl" and powerful protest songs such as "Mississippi Goddam" and "To Be Young, Gifted, and Black,"

Princess Noire

Princess Noire
  • Author : Nadine Cohodas
  • Publisher : Univ of North Carolina Press
  • Release : 01 February 2012
GET THIS BOOKPrincess Noire

Born Eunice Waymon in Tryon, North Carolina, Nina Simone (1933-2003) began her musical life playing classical piano. A child prodigy, she wanted a career on the concert stage, but when the Curtis Institute of Music rejected her, the devastating disappointment compelled her to change direction. She turned to popular music and jazz but never abandoned her classical roots or her intense ambition. By the age of twenty six, Simone had sung at New York City's venerable Town Hall and was

Nina Simone

Nina Simone
  • Author : Aurum Press, Limited,David Brun-Lambert
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 14 November 2013
GET THIS BOOKNina Simone

"The greatest female artist of the 20th century” – Elton John This first-ever biography of Nina Simone caused quite a stir among reviewers. “A chastening read”, said the Sunday Times; “Simone’s story is as harrowing as it is remarkable”, said the Yorkshire Post. No-one was quite prepared for the life story of the singer of such enduringly uplifting classics as “My Baby Just Cares for Me” turning out to be such a chilling litany of mental disorder, vile temper, terrible

What Happened, Miss Simone?

What Happened, Miss Simone?
  • Author : Alan Light
  • Publisher : Crown Pub
  • Release : 12 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKWhat Happened, Miss Simone?

Inspired by the Academy Award-nominated Netflix documentary What Happened, Miss Simone?, an intimate and vivid look at the legendary life of Nina Simone, the classically trained pianist who evolved into a chart-topping chanteuse and committed civil rights activist. From music journalist and former Spin and Vibe editor-in-chief Alan Light comes a biography of incandescent soul singer and Black Power icon Nina Simone, one of the most influential, provocative, and least understood artists of our time. Drawn from a trove of

I Put A Spell On You

I Put A Spell On You
  • Author : Nina Simone
  • Publisher : Da Capo Press
  • Release : 21 August 1993
GET THIS BOOKI Put A Spell On You

James Baldwin used to tell Nina Simone, "This is the world you have made for yourself, now you have to live in it." Simone has created for herself a world of magnificent peaks. Often compared to Billie Holiday and Edith Piaf, Simone is known as one of the greatest singers of her generation. She has recorded forty-three albums, ranging from blues to jazz to folk, and her hits like "I Loves You, Porgy," "My Baby Just Cares for Me," "I

Nina Simone

Nina Simone
  • Author : Sylvia Hampton,David Nathan
  • Publisher : Sanctuary Pub Limited
  • Release : 12 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKNina Simone

A definitive portrait of the great jazz singer, songwriter, and musician chronicles the extraordinary life and career of Nina Simone, from her early training as a classical pianist to the heights of her lengthy international career, in a personal tribute to "The High Priestess of Soul."

SUMMARY - What Happened, Miss Simone: A Biography By Alan Light

SUMMARY - What Happened, Miss Simone: A Biography By Alan Light
  • Author : Shortcut Edition
  • Publisher : Shortcut Edition
  • Release : 25 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKSUMMARY - What Happened, Miss Simone: A Biography By Alan Light

* Our summary is short, simple and pragmatic. It allows you to have the essential ideas of a big book in less than 30 minutes. By reading this summary, you will discover how Eunice Waymon became Nina Simone. You will also discover : that she revolutionized the world of jazz and blues; that her life was marked by loneliness and fits of rage; that she was a victim of racism on several occasions; that she was a victim of domestic violence; that she

Nina Simone's Gum

Nina Simone's Gum
  • Author : Warren Ellis
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release : 31 August 2021
GET THIS BOOKNina Simone's Gum

THE TIMES TOP 10 BESTSELLER A GUARDIAN, TELEGRAPH, THE TIMES, IRISH TIMES, ROUGH TRADE, MOJO, CLASH, ROLLING STONE, UNCUT BOOK OF THE YEAR From award-winning musician and composer Warren Ellis comes the unexpected and inspiring story of a piece of chewing gum. FEATURING AN INTRODUCTION BY NICK CAVE 'Warren has turned this memento, snatched from his idol's piano in a moment of rapture, into a genuine religious artefact.' NICK CAVE 'Such a mad, happy book about art and music and

Perfect Chemistry

Perfect Chemistry
  • Author : Simone Elkeles
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 21 April 2010
GET THIS BOOKPerfect Chemistry

In the first book in Simone Elkeles' New York Times bestselling YA contemporary romance series, sparks fly between unlikely lab partners Brittany Ellis and Alex Fuentes . . . and when two polar opposites meet, the results are bound to be explosive. When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created "perfect" life is about to unravel before her eyes. She's forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a

Midnight Mass

Midnight Mass
  • Author : Sierra Simone
  • Publisher : Sierra Simone
  • Release : 08 December 2015
GET THIS BOOKMidnight Mass

We are told that God will punish the wicked. That sinful men will reap what they sow. We are told to scourge our souls with prayer and pain to become clean once again. Well, here I am. Wicked and sinful. Desperate to become clean…even though it feels so good to be dirty. But even I never expected what came next. Even I never expected my punishment to come so soon. ***Midnight Mass is a novella and a sequel to

The Holy Or the Broken

The Holy Or the Broken
  • Author : Alan Light
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 12 August 2022
GET THIS BOOKThe Holy Or the Broken

A Rolling Stone and Spin editor presents a history of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" that cites its play in a diverse range of movies and television shows as well as its selection as a tribute song, noting its coverage by hundreds of artists while offering insight into its rise from early obscurity. 25,000 first printing.

Song for Jimi

Song for Jimi
  • Author : Charles R. Smith Jr.
  • Publisher : Holiday House
  • Release : 23 November 2021
GET THIS BOOKSong for Jimi

Jimi Hendrix's talent was epic, and so is this fifty-six-page lyrical account of his life, with spectacular artwork by Edel Rodriguez. Let me tell you a story, a story 'bout a boy, who became a man, a git-tar man, named Jimi. From his turbulent childhood through his epical appearance at the Monterey and Woodstock festivals, Charles R. Smith Jr. covers it all in this rich and rhythmic account of a singular life, accompanied by the psychedelic splendor of Edel Rodriguez's

Smash It!

Smash It!
  • Author : Francina Simone
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release : 22 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKSmash It!

Refreshingly authentic and bold… Don’t miss this smashing #ownvoices novel from Francina Simone! Filled with heart, humor and a heroine to root for, Smash It! is a perfect read for fans of Julie Murphy, Ibi Zoboi and Ashley Poston. Olivia “Liv” James is done with letting her insecurities get the best of her. So she does what any self-respecting hot mess of a girl who wants to SMASH junior year does… After Liv shows up to a Halloween party

Daisy Jones & The Six

Daisy Jones & The Six
  • Author : Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • Publisher : Doubleday Canada
  • Release : 05 March 2019
GET THIS BOOKDaisy Jones & The Six

NATIONAL AND NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE 2019 GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD FOR HISTORICAL FICTION A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS' CHOICE NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • Esquire • Glamour • CBC • NPR • Marie Claire • Real Simple • Good Housekeeping • Parade • Shelf Awareness • BookRiot • E! News • Mental Floss • Paste "I devoured Daisy Jones & The Six in a day, falling head over heels for it. Daisy and the band captured my heart." —Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club