What I Told My Daughter

Edited by Nina Tassler, the chairman of CBS Entertainment, a collection of original essays from notable, accomplished women in politics, academia, athletics, the arts, and business offering advice for raising a new generation of empowered girls. Nina Tassler is, by any standard, a trailblazer. She holds one of the highest positions at CBS Corp., one of the world's most prominent media companies; she serves on the boards of prominent institutions; and she's a devoted wife and mother. It's hard to imagine a better role model for a young woman. But while attending a volleyball tournament with her daughter, Nina realized that the absence of sports from her own girlhood meant that she didn't always know how to talk to her daughter about what it means to be a female athlete, or about how women could succeed in the often male-dominated field of sports. Nina realized that her perspective on what feminism means--on what being a woman means--is singular and informed by her own journey and that perhaps other mothers may have their own limitations, subjects outside their purview. In What I Told My Daughter, a kaleidoscope of successful women from all walks of life--from celebrities to business executives, academics to law enforcement to philanthropic and humanitarian leaders including Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Madeleine Albright, Geena Davis, Brooke Shields, Norah O'Donnell, First Lady Laura Bush, Pat Benatar, Gloria Estefan, Christine Baranski, Sheila Bair, Peggy Orenstein, and Gloria Allred--share anecdotes about the stories they've told their own daughters to in still in them the belief that they are capable of doing whatever they set their minds to, and that even as they struggle to find their own way, they are far from alone.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Nina Tassler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 1476734674
  • Rating : 3/5 from 2 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhat I Told My Daughter

What I Told My Daughter

What I Told My Daughter
  • Author : Nina Tassler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 05 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKWhat I Told My Daughter

Edited by Nina Tassler, the chairman of CBS Entertainment, a collection of original essays from notable, accomplished women in politics, academia, athletics, the arts, and business offering advice for raising a new generation of empowered girls. Nina Tassler is, by any standard, a trailblazer. She holds one of the highest positions at CBS Corp., one of the world's most prominent media companies; she serves on the boards of prominent institutions; and she's a devoted wife and mother. It's hard to

What I Told My Daughter

What I Told My Daughter
  • Author : Nina Tassler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 11 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKWhat I Told My Daughter

A "diverse group of women--from Madeleine Albright to Ruth Bader Ginsburg, from Dr. Susan Love to Whoopi Goldberg and more...reflect on the best advice and counsel they have given their daughters either by example, throughout their lives, or in character-building, teachable moments between parent and child"--Book jacket.

Things I Should Have Told My Daughter

Things I Should Have Told My Daughter
  • Author : Pearl Cleage
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 08 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKThings I Should Have Told My Daughter

The award-winning author of What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day reminisces on the art of balancing family, politics and a writing career during her pre-fame years in the 1970s and 1980s, tracing her rise from a small-time columnist and her friendships with such notables as Richard Pryor, Avery Brooks and Jesse Jackson.

Not My Daughter

Not My Daughter
  • Author : Barbara Delinsky
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 05 January 2010
GET THIS BOOKNot My Daughter

A pregnancy pact between three teenaged girls puts their mothers' love to the ultimate test in this explosive new novel from Barbara Delinsky, “a first-rate storyteller who creates characters as familiar as your neighbors.” (Boston Globe) When Susan Tate's seventeen-year-old daughter, Lily, announces she is pregnant, Susan is stunned. A single mother, she has struggled to do everything right. She sees the pregnancy as an unimaginable tragedy for both Lily and herself. Then comes word of two more pregnancies among

That's My Girl

That's My Girl
  • Author : Rick Johnson
  • Publisher : Baker Books
  • Release : 02 January 2012
GET THIS BOOKThat's My Girl

Bestselling author helps a father understand his daughter and shows how to influence her to become a strong and confident woman.

I've Been Meaning to Tell You

I've Been Meaning to Tell You
  • Author : David Chariandy
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release : 29 May 2018
GET THIS BOOKI've Been Meaning to Tell You

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today. When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask "what happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of

Call Your Daughter Home

Call Your Daughter Home
  • Author : Deb Spera
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release : 11 June 2019
GET THIS BOOKCall Your Daughter Home

Amazon July Best of the Month Pick “Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company.”— O Magazine For readers of Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood. It’s 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude,

Not Without My Daughter

Not Without My Daughter
  • Author : Betty Mahmoody,William Hoffer
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 30 November 2021
GET THIS BOOKNot Without My Daughter

'You are here for the rest of your life. Do you understand? You are not leaving Iran. You are here until you die.' Betty Mahmoody and her husband, Dr Sayyed Bozorg Mahmoody ('Moody'), came to Iran from the USA to meet Moody's family. With them was their four-year-old daughter, Mahtob. Appalled by the squalor of their living conditions, horrified by what she saw of a country where women are merely chattels and Westerners are despised, Betty soon became desperate

My Daughter's Mistake

My Daughter's Mistake
  • Author : Kate Hewitt
  • Publisher : Bookouture
  • Release : 27 September 2021
GET THIS BOOKMy Daughter's Mistake

I look at my daughter. My darling girl. I remember her tiny hand in mine, her first smile. I recall her tears when she’d tumble over, healed instantly with a band-aid and a little kiss. I have to keep her safe. Even if it means someone else gets hurt… In the pretty, privileged college town of Milford, New Hampshire, everyone is friendly, everything is safe. And on this cold autumn day, as red and yellow leaves begin to fall

Everything I Never Told You

Everything I Never Told You
  • Author : Celeste Ng
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 26 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKEverything I Never Told You

The acclaimed debut novel by the author of Little Fires Everywhere. “A taut tale of ever deepening and quickening suspense.” —O, the Oprah Magazine “Explosive . . . Both a propulsive mystery and a profound examination of a mixed-race family.” —Entertainment Weekly “Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.” So begins this exquisite novel about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that

Not My Daughter

Not My Daughter
  • Author : Kate Hewitt
  • Publisher : Bookouture
  • Release : 02 May 2019
GET THIS BOOKNot My Daughter

‘THE book of the year!… I don’t think I have ever cried as much… heart-breaking and unputdownable… To say this story is a five-star read is an understatement. There are not enough stars in the world to show how much this book has touched me.’ Sinfully Wicked Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ My darling girl, you lie so still, lashes fanning your cheeks, golden hair spread across your pillow. You’re so beautiful my heart aches. Your breath is so soft I

Letter to My Daughter

Letter to My Daughter
  • Author : Maya Angelou
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 23 September 2008
GET THIS BOOKLetter to My Daughter

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Maya Angelou shares her path to living well and with meaning in this absorbing book of personal essays. Dedicated to the daughter she never had but sees all around her, Letter to My Daughter transcends genres and categories: guidebook, memoir, poetry, and pure delight. Here in short spellbinding essays are glimpses of the tumultuous life that led Angelou to an exalted place in American letters and taught her lessons in compassion and fortitude: how she was

Cinderella Ate My Daughter

Cinderella Ate My Daughter
  • Author : Peggy Orenstein
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 25 January 2011
GET THIS BOOKCinderella Ate My Daughter

Peggy Orenstein, acclaimed author of the groundbreaking New York Times bestsellers Girls & Sex and Schoolgirls, offers a radical, timely wake-up call for parents, revealing the dark side of a pretty and pink culture confronting girls at every turn as they grow into adults. Sweet and sassy or predatory and hardened, sexualized girlhood influences our daughters from infancy onward, telling them that how a girl looks matters more than who she is. Somewhere between the exhilarating rise of Girl Power in

Talking to My Daughter about the Economy

Talking to My Daughter about the Economy
  • Author : Yanis Varoufakis
  • Publisher : Bodley Head Childrens
  • Release : 15 October 2017
GET THIS BOOKTalking to My Daughter about the Economy

Yanis Varoufakis, the bestselling author of Adults in the Room, uses personal stories and famous myths to explain what economics is and why it has the power to change our world. Why is there so much inequality? In this intimate and accessible book, world famous economist Yanis Varoufakis sets out to answer his daughter Xenia's deceptively simple question. Drawing on memories of her childhood and a variety of well-known tales - from Oedipus and Faust to Frankenstein and The Matrix