What I Told My Daughter

Edited by Nina Tassler, the chairman of CBS Entertainment, a collection of original essays from notable, accomplished women in politics, academia, athletics, the arts, and business offering advice for raising a new generation of empowered girls. Nina Tassler is, by any standard, a trailblazer. She holds one of the highest positions at CBS Corp., one of the world's most prominent media companies; she serves on the boards of prominent institutions; and she's a devoted wife and mother. It's hard to imagine a better role model for a young woman. But while attending a volleyball tournament with her daughter, Nina realized that the absence of sports from her own girlhood meant that she didn't always know how to talk to her daughter about what it means to be a female athlete, or about how women could succeed in the often male-dominated field of sports. Nina realized that her perspective on what feminism means--on what being a woman means--is singular and informed by her own journey and that perhaps other mothers may have their own limitations, subjects outside their purview. In What I Told My Daughter, a kaleidoscope of successful women from all walks of life--from celebrities to business executives, academics to law enforcement to philanthropic and humanitarian leaders including Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Madeleine Albright, Geena Davis, Brooke Shields, Norah O'Donnell, First Lady Laura Bush, Pat Benatar, Gloria Estefan, Christine Baranski, Sheila Bair, Peggy Orenstein, and Gloria Allred--share anecdotes about the stories they've told their own daughters to in still in them the belief that they are capable of doing whatever they set their minds to, and that even as they struggle to find their own way, they are far from alone.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Nina Tassler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 1476734674
  • Rating : 3/5 from 2 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhat I Told My Daughter

What I Told My Daughter

What I Told My Daughter
  • Author : Nina Tassler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 05 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKWhat I Told My Daughter

Edited by Nina Tassler, the chairman of CBS Entertainment, a collection of original essays from notable, accomplished women in politics, academia, athletics, the arts, and business offering advice for raising a new generation of empowered girls. Nina Tassler is, by any standard, a trailblazer. She holds one of the highest positions at CBS Corp., one of the world's most prominent media companies; she serves on the boards of prominent institutions; and she's a devoted wife and mother. It's hard to

What I Told My Daughter

What I Told My Daughter
  • Author : Nina Tassler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 05 April 2016
GET THIS BOOKWhat I Told My Daughter

Empower yourself and the latest generation of girls with this collection of inspiring reflections from notable, highly accomplished women in politics, academia, athletics, the arts, and business, including Madeleine Albright, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and more. In What I Told My Daughter, a powerful, diverse group of women reflect on the best advice and counsel they have given their daughters either by example, throughout their lives, or in character-building, teachable moments between parent and child. A college president teachers her daughter,

What I Told My Daughter

What I Told My Daughter
  • Author : Nina Tassler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 11 April 2017
GET THIS BOOKWhat I Told My Daughter

A "diverse group of women--from Madeleine Albright to Ruth Bader Ginsburg, from Dr. Susan Love to Whoopi Goldberg and more...reflect on the best advice and counsel they have given their daughters either by example, throughout their lives, or in character-building, teachable moments between parent and child"--Book jacket.

Things I Should Have Told My Daughter

Things I Should Have Told My Daughter
  • Author : Pearl Cleage
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 08 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKThings I Should Have Told My Daughter

The award-winning author of What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day reminisces on the art of balancing family, politics and a writing career during her pre-fame years in the 1970s and 1980s, tracing her rise from a small-time columnist and her friendships with such notables as Richard Pryor, Avery Brooks and Jesse Jackson.

Stuff I Forgot to Tell My Daughter

Stuff I Forgot to Tell My Daughter
  • Author : Michele A'Court
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 01 April 2015
GET THIS BOOKStuff I Forgot to Tell My Daughter

A warm and witty memoir of motherhood (or what you meant to say but were too busy parenting ...) Every middle-aged woman wants to say in a firm, clear, loving voice to every young woman: 'I have been you. But you haven't been me, yet ... You should listen.' Liberated from the daily minutiae when her daughter left home, Michele A'Court suddenly found the time she'd never had as a parent -- to think about being a parent. Mostly, she spent

Letter to My Daughter

Letter to My Daughter
  • Author : Maya Angelou
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 23 September 2008
GET THIS BOOKLetter to My Daughter

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Maya Angelou shares her path to living well and with meaning in this absorbing book of personal essays. Dedicated to the daughter she never had but sees all around her, Letter to My Daughter transcends genres and categories: guidebook, memoir, poetry, and pure delight. Here in short spellbinding essays are glimpses of the tumultuous life that led Angelou to an exalted place in American letters and taught her lessons in compassion and fortitude: how she was

I've Been Meaning to Tell You

I've Been Meaning to Tell You
  • Author : David Chariandy
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release : 29 May 2018
GET THIS BOOKI've Been Meaning to Tell You

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today. When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask "what happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of

Talking to My Daughter about the Economy

Talking to My Daughter about the Economy
  • Author : Yanis Varoufakis
  • Publisher : Bodley Head Childrens
  • Release : 15 October 2017
GET THIS BOOKTalking to My Daughter about the Economy

Yanis Varoufakis, the bestselling author of Adults in the Room, uses personal stories and famous myths to explain what economics is and why it has the power to change our world. Why is there so much inequality? In this intimate and accessible book, world famous economist Yanis Varoufakis sets out to answer his daughter Xenia's deceptively simple question. Drawing on memories of her childhood and a variety of well-known tales - from Oedipus and Faust to Frankenstein and The Matrix

Call Your Daughter Home

Call Your Daughter Home
  • Author : Deb Spera
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release : 11 June 2019
GET THIS BOOKCall Your Daughter Home

Amazon July Best of the Month Pick “Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company.”— O Magazine For readers of Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood. It’s 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude,

Everything I Never Told You

Everything I Never Told You
  • Author : Celeste Ng
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 26 June 2014
GET THIS BOOKEverything I Never Told You

The acclaimed debut novel by the author of Little Fires Everywhere. “A taut tale of ever deepening and quickening suspense." -O, the Oprah Magazine "Explosive...Both a propulsive mystery and a profound examination of a mixed-race family." -Entertainment Weekly “Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.” So begins this exquisite novel about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that

Not Without My Daughter

Not Without My Daughter
  • Author : Betty Mahmoody,William Hoffer
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 07 May 2004
GET THIS BOOKNot Without My Daughter

"An Iranian doctor living in America with his American wife Betty and their child Mahtob wants to see his homeland again. He convinces his wife to take a short holiday there with him and Mahtob. Betty is reluctant, as Iran is not a pleasant place, especially if you are American and female. Upon arrival in Iran, it appears that her worst fears are realized: Moody declares that they will be living there from now on. Betty is determined to escape

Grown and Flown

Grown and Flown
  • Author : Lisa Heffernan,Mary Dell Harrington
  • Publisher : Flatiron Books
  • Release : 03 September 2019
GET THIS BOOKGrown and Flown

PARENTING NEVER ENDS. From the founders of the #1 site for parents of teens and young adults comes an essential guide for building strong relationships with your teens and preparing them to successfully launch into adulthood The high school and college years: an extended roller coaster of academics, friends, first loves, first break-ups, driver’s ed, jobs, and everything in between. Kids are constantly changing and how we parent them must change, too. But how do we stay close as a

Forty Things I Wish I'd Told My Kids

Forty Things I Wish I'd Told My Kids
  • Author : John Allcock
  • Publisher : Morgan James Publishing
  • Release : 22 December 2017
GET THIS BOOKForty Things I Wish I'd Told My Kids

In Forty Things I Wish I’d Told My Kids, John Allcock presents the essentials of mindfulness—not as something special and exotic, but as practical, down-to-Earth principles for living. Written in clear, simple language, Forty Things I Wish I’d Told My Kids is for anyone interested in living a fuller, happier life—including parents, young adults, and readers of Anna Quindlen’s A Short Guide to a Happy Life or H. Jackson Brown’s Life’s Little Instruction