When the Emperor Was Divine

The debut novel from the PEN/Faulkner Award Winning Author of The Buddha in the Attic On a sunny day in Berkeley, California, in 1942, a woman sees a sign in a post office window, returns to her home, and matter-of-factly begins to pack her family's possessions. Like thousands of other Japanese Americans they have been reclassified, virtually overnight, as enemy aliens and are about to be uprooted from their home and sent to a dusty internment camp in the Utah desert. In this lean and devastatingly evocative first novel, Julie Otsuka tells their story from five flawlessly realized points of view and conveys the exact emotional texture of their experience: the thin-walled barracks and barbed-wire fences, the omnipresent fear and loneliness, the unheralded feats of heroism. When the Emperor Was Divine is a work of enormous power that makes a shameful episode of our history as immediate as today's headlines.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Julie Otsuka
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Pages : 160 pages
  • ISBN : 9780307430212
  • Rating : 4/5 from 70 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhen the Emperor Was Divine

When the Emperor Was Divine

When the Emperor Was Divine
  • Author : Julie Otsuka
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 18 December 2007
GET THIS BOOKWhen the Emperor Was Divine

The debut novel from the PEN/Faulkner Award Winning Author of The Buddha in the Attic On a sunny day in Berkeley, California, in 1942, a woman sees a sign in a post office window, returns to her home, and matter-of-factly begins to pack her family's possessions. Like thousands of other Japanese Americans they have been reclassified, virtually overnight, as enemy aliens and are about to be uprooted from their home and sent to a dusty internment camp in the Utah

When The Emperor Was Divine

When The Emperor Was Divine
  • Author : Julie Otsuka
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release : 05 April 2012
GET THIS BOOKWhen The Emperor Was Divine

Longlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction It is four months after Pearl Harbour and overnight signs appear all over the United States instructing Japanese Americans to report to internment camps for the duration of the war. For one family it proves to be a nightmare of oppression and alienation. Explored from varying points of view - the mother receiving the order to evacuate; the daughter on the long train journey; the son in the desert encampment; the family's return

The Buddha in the Attic

The Buddha in the Attic
  • Author : Julie Otsuka
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release : 23 August 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Buddha in the Attic

Winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award For Fiction National Book Award and Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist A New York Times Notable Book A gorgeous novel by the celebrated author of When the Emperor Was Divine that tells the story of a group of young women brought from Japan to San Francisco as “picture brides” nearly a century ago. In eight unforgettable sections, The Buddha in the Attic traces the extraordinary lives of these women, from their arduous journeys

Constantine, Divine Emperor of the Christian Golden Age

Constantine, Divine Emperor of the Christian Golden Age
  • Author : Jonathan Bardill
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release : 04 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKConstantine, Divine Emperor of the Christian Golden Age

"Constantine was the first Roman emperor to convert to Christianity. The book explores the emperor's image as conveyed through literature, art, and architecture, and shows how Constantine reconciled the tradition of imperial divinity with his monotheistic faith. It demonstrates how the traditional themes and imagery of kingship were exploited to portray the emperor as the saviour of his people and to assimilate him to Christ. This is the first book to study simultaneously both archaeological and historical information to build

For the Relief of Unbearable Urges

For the Relief of Unbearable Urges
  • Author : Nathan Englander
  • Publisher : Faber & Faber
  • Release : 16 June 2011
GET THIS BOOKFor the Relief of Unbearable Urges

Acclaimed as an astonishing debut, For the Relief of Unbearable Urges is a collection of nine delightfully irreverent stories that range from Stalin's Russia to contemporary New York. Wise and compassionate, outrageous and wrenchingly sad, they place Nathan Englander firmly in the company of Bellow, Malamud, Singer and Roth.

Revelation

Revelation
  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Canongate Books
  • Release : 01 January 1999
GET THIS BOOKRevelation

The final book of the Bible, Revelation prophesies the ultimate judgement of mankind in a series of allegorical visions, grisly images and numerological predictions. According to these, empires will fall, the "Beast" will be destroyed and Christ will rule a new Jerusalem. With an introduction by Will Self.

Eternal Divine Emperor

Eternal Divine Emperor
  • Author : Xi XiaQiuYe
  • Publisher : Funstory
  • Release : 06 November 2019
GET THIS BOOKEternal Divine Emperor

Ye Xing, an ordinary boy from a remote continent, was persecuted and became a useless man unable to cultivate. Luckily, he met the man who changed his fate in time,. The man in purple who called himself "Qing Tian" appeared behind him. Qing Tian said to him, "This world respects strength, and all the injustice you suffered came from your lack of strength." From then on, the invisible hand began to push the wheel of youth's fate. Adventure or conspiracy,

The Emperor's New Clothes

The Emperor's New Clothes
  • Author : Hans Christian Andersen
  • Publisher : ABDO
  • Release : 04 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Emperor's New Clothes

Two rascally weavers convince the emperor that they are making him beautiful new clothes, visible only to those fit for their posts, but during a royal procession in which he first wears them, a child whispers that the emperor has nothing on.

Constantine the Emperor

Constantine the Emperor
  • Author : David Potter
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 01 August 2015
GET THIS BOOKConstantine the Emperor

With a critical eye aimed at earlier accounts of Constantine's life, the author aims to provide the most comprehensive, authoritative and readable account of the Roman emperor's extraordinary life.

Emperor Mage

Emperor Mage
  • Author : Tamora Pierce
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 29 September 2015
GET THIS BOOKEmperor Mage

When she is sent as part of the delegation from Tortall to negotiate a peace treaty with Carthak, fifteen-year-old Daine must use her powers to communicate with animals for more than healing the Carthak emperor's dying birds.

Raybearer

Raybearer
  • Author : Jordan Ifueko
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 18 August 2020
GET THIS BOOKRaybearer

"A compelling, finely tuned fantasy with fantastic world building." –Shannon Hale, New York Times bestselling author "Immediately captivated me." –Buzzfeed “A bold new world.” –Seventeen “Dazzling . . . All hail Raybearer.” –Entertainment Weekly The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy? Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a

Peerless Divine Emperor

Peerless Divine Emperor
  • Author : Bing Qiang
  • Publisher : Funstory
  • Release : 02 December 2019
GET THIS BOOKPeerless Divine Emperor

Everyone knew that in the Dragon Region Continent, there were nine martial arts emperors that were the most famous. And Great Emperor Rebirth, who was in charge of reincarnation, was the most powerful out of the nine Great Emperor of the Martial Way. In his previous life, the seven great emperors had joined forces to kill Jing Yunxiao. Between life and death, he entered his fifth reincarnation. Jing Yunxiao had thought that the last reincarnation would allow him to reach