Where Good Ideas Come From

Look out for Johnson’s new book, Wonderland, now on sale. The printing press, the pencil, the flush toilet, the battery--these are all great ideas. But where do they come from? What kind of environment breeds them? What sparks the flash of brilliance? How do we generate the breakthrough technologies that push forward our lives, our society, our culture? Steven Johnson's answers are revelatory as he identifies the seven key patterns behind genuine innovation, and traces them across time and disciplines. From Darwin and Freud to the halls of Google and Apple, Johnson investigates the innovation hubs throughout modern time and pulls out the approaches and commonalities that seem to appear at moments of originality.

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Pages : 336 pages
  • ISBN : 1101444207
  • Rating : 4/5 from 28 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhere Good Ideas Come From

Where Good Ideas Come From

Where Good Ideas Come From
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 05 October 2010
GET THIS BOOKWhere Good Ideas Come From

Look out for Johnson’s new book, Wonderland, now on sale. The printing press, the pencil, the flush toilet, the battery--these are all great ideas. But where do they come from? What kind of environment breeds them? What sparks the flash of brilliance? How do we generate the breakthrough technologies that push forward our lives, our society, our culture? Steven Johnson's answers are revelatory as he identifies the seven key patterns behind genuine innovation, and traces them across time and

Everything Bad is Good for You

Everything Bad is Good for You
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 02 May 2006
GET THIS BOOKEverything Bad is Good for You

From the New York Times bestselling author of How We Got To Now and Farsighted Forget everything you’ve ever read about the age of dumbed-down, instant-gratification culture. In this provocative, unfailingly intelligent, thoroughly researched, and surprisingly convincing big idea book, Steven Johnson draws from fields as diverse as neuroscience, economics, and media theory to argue that the pop culture we soak in every day—from Lord of the Rings to Grand Theft Auto to The Simpsons—has been growing

How We Got to Now

How We Got to Now
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 30 September 2014
GET THIS BOOKHow We Got to Now

From the New York Times–bestselling author of Where Good Ideas Come From and Farsighted, a new look at the power and legacy of great ideas. In this illustrated history, Steven Johnson explores the history of innovation over centuries, tracing facets of modern life (refrigeration, clocks, and eyeglass lenses, to name a few) from their creation by hobbyists, amateurs, and entrepreneurs to their unintended historical consequences. Filled with surprising stories of accidental genius and brilliant mistakes—from the French publisher

The Innovator's Cookbook

The Innovator's Cookbook
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 04 October 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Innovator's Cookbook

Look out for Johnson’s new book, Wonderland, now on sale. Steven Johnson, author of Where Good Ideas Come From, Emergence, Everything Bad is Good for You, Mind Wide Open and Ghost Map, and an acknowledged bestselling leader on the subject of innovation, gathers - for a foundational text on the subject of innovation - essays, interviews, and cutting-edge insights by such exciting field leaders as Peter Drucker, Richard Florida, Eric Von Hippel, Dean Keith Simonton, Arthur Koestler, John Seely

The Invention of Air

The Invention of Air
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 26 December 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Invention of Air

From the bestselling author of How We Got To Now, The Ghost Map and Farsighted, a new national bestseller: the “exhilarating”( Los Angeles Times) story of Joseph Priestley, “a founding father long forgotten”(Newsweek) and a brilliant man who embodied the relationship between science, religion, and politics for America's Founding Fathers. In The Invention of Air, national bestselling author Steven Johnson tells the fascinating story of Joseph Priestley—scientist and theologian, protégé of Benjamin Franklin, friend of Thomas Jefferson—

Mind Wide Open

Mind Wide Open
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 27 February 2004
GET THIS BOOKMind Wide Open

BRILLIANTLY EXPLORING TODAY'S CUTTING-EDGE BRAIN RESEARCH, MIND WIDE OPEN IS AN UNPRECEDENTED JOURNEY INTO THE ESSENCE OF HUMAN PERSONALITY, ALLOWING READERS TO UNDERSTAND THEMSELVES AND THE PEOPLE IN THEIR LIVES AS NEVER BEFORE. Using a mix of experiential reportage, personal storytelling, and fresh scientific discovery, Steven Johnson describes how the brain works -- its chemicals, structures, and subroutines -- and how these systems connect to the day-to-day realities of individual lives. For a hundred years, he says, many of us

Farsighted

Farsighted
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 04 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKFarsighted

The hardest choices are also the most consequential. So why do we know so little about how to get them right? Big, life-altering decisions matter so much more than the decisions we make every day, and they're also the most difficult: where to live, whom to marry, what to believe, whether to start a company, how to end a war. There's no one-size-fits-all approach for addressing these kinds of conundrums. Steven Johnson's classic Where Good Ideas Come From inspired creative

Future Perfect

Future Perfect
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release : 24 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKFuture Perfect

What connects the "miracle on the Hudson" to the planning of the French railway system, or the mysterious outbreak of strange smells in downtown Manhattan to the invention of the Internet? With his characteristic flair for multidisciplinary storytelling, Steven Johnson shows in Future Perfect that what lies behind these and many other fascinating human stories is the concept of networked thinking.Exploring a new vision of progress, Johnson argues that networked thinking holds the key to an incredible range of

The Differentiated Instruction Book of Lists

The Differentiated Instruction Book of Lists
  • Author : Jenifer Fox,Whitney Hoffman
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 30 August 2011
GET THIS BOOKThe Differentiated Instruction Book of Lists

Hundreds of useful ideas for meeting the needs of each child The Differentiated Instruction Book of Lists is the definitive reference for DI for teachers in grades K-12. Ready for immediate use, it offers over 150 up-to-date lists for developing instructional materials, lesson planning, and assessment. Organized into 12 convenient sections, the book is full of practical examples, teaching ideas, and activities that can be used or adapted to meet students' diverse needs. Coverage includes curriculum design, lesson planning, instructional strategies, assessment,

Wonderland

Wonderland
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 15 November 2016
GET THIS BOOKWonderland

“A house of wonders itself. . . . Wonderland inspires grins and well-what-d'ya-knows” —The New York Times Book Review From the New York Times–bestselling author of How We Got to Now and Where Good Ideas Come From, a look at the world-changing innovations we made while keeping ourselves entertained. This lushly illustrated history of popular entertainment takes a long-zoom approach, contending that the pursuit of novelty and wonder is a powerful driver of world-shaping technological change. Steven Johnson argues that, throughout history,

Emergence

Emergence
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 11 September 2012
GET THIS BOOKEmergence

In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK A VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR AN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization,

Enemy of All Mankind

Enemy of All Mankind
  • Author : Steven Johnson
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 12 May 2020
GET THIS BOOKEnemy of All Mankind

"Thoroughly engrossing. . . .a spirited, suspenseful, economically told tale whose significance is manifest and whose pace never flags." —Wall Street Journal The New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Map and How We Got to Now returns with the story of a pirate who changed the world Henry Every was the seventeenth century’s most notorious pirate. The press published wildly popular—and wildly inaccurate—reports of his nefarious adventures. The British government offered enormous bounties for his capture, alive or (

The Riddle

The Riddle
  • Author : Andrew Razeghi
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 07 January 2008
GET THIS BOOKThe Riddle

While organizations claim to value creativity, they are often at a loss when attempting to conjure up novel ideas, particularly in a world where technology has made information readily available to everyone. As a result, leaders ask, "Where will the next big idea come from?" In response, they allocate significant resources for innovation; however the source of creative inspiration has remained a mystery. Science has shown that it's possible to create conditions under which the mind is more prepared to

Suspects

Suspects
  • Author : David Thomson
  • Publisher : Oldcastle Books
  • Release : 25 July 2014
GET THIS BOOKSuspects

Noah Cross, Norma Desmond, Norman Bates, Harry Lime - these are a few of nearly a hundred names that inhabit the mind of the narrator as he starts to compose short biographies of some of the most famous characters in the history of film noir. He sketches in whole lives, lives as intense as the dreams put up on the screen. Then these characters start to meet each other outside the films as if they were real people with real

Should We Eat Meat?

Should We Eat Meat?
  • Author : Vaclav Smil
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release : 18 March 2013
GET THIS BOOKShould We Eat Meat?

Meat eating is often a contentious subject, whether considering the technical, ethical, environmental, political, or health-related aspects of production and consumption. This book is a wide-ranging and interdisciplinary examination and critique of meat consumption by humans, throughout their evolution and around the world. Setting the scene with a chapter on meat’s role in human evolution and its growing influence during the development of agricultural practices, the book goes on to examine modern production systems, their efficiencies, outputs, and impacts.