White Rage

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the Civil War to our combustible present, White Rage reframes the continuing conversation about race in America, chronicling the history of the powerful forces opposed to black progress. Since the abolishment of slavery in 1865, every time African Americans have made advances towards full democratic participation, white reaction has fuelled a rollback of any gains. Carefully linking historical flashpoints – from the post-Civil War Black Codes and Jim Crow to expressions of white rage after the election of America's first black president – Carol Anderson renders visible the long lineage of white rage and the different names under which it hides. Compelling and dramatic in the history it relates, White Rage adds a vital new dimension to the conversation about race in America. 'Beautifully written and exhaustively researched' CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE 'An extraordinarily timely and urgent call to confront the legacy of structural racism' NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW 'Brilliant' ROBIN DIANGELO, AUTHOR OF WHITE FRAGILITY

Produk Detail:

  • Author : Carol Anderson
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Pages : 304 pages
  • ISBN : 1526631636
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 reviews
CLICK HERE TO GET THIS BOOKWhite Rage

White Rage

White Rage
  • Author : Carol Anderson
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release : 23 July 2020
GET THIS BOOKWhite Rage

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the Civil War to our combustible present, White Rage reframes the continuing conversation about race in America, chronicling the history of the powerful forces opposed to black progress. Since the abolishment of slavery in 1865, every time African Americans have made advances towards full democratic participation, white reaction has fuelled a rollback of any gains. Carefully linking historical flashpoints – from the post-Civil War Black Codes and Jim Crow to expressions of white rage after the

White Rage

White Rage
  • Author : Carol Anderson
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 31 May 2016
GET THIS BOOKWhite Rage

National Book Critics Circle Award Winner New York Times Bestseller USA Today Bestseller A New York Times Notable Book of the Year A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of the Year A Boston Globe Best Book of 2016 A Chicago Review of Books Best Nonfiction Book of 2016 From the Civil War to our combustible present, acclaimed historian Carol Anderson reframes our continuing conversation about race, chronicling the powerful forces opposed to black progress in America. As Ferguson, Missouri, erupted in August 2014,

White Rage

White Rage
  • Author : Carol Anderson
  • Publisher : Unknown Publisher
  • Release : 23 July 2020
GET THIS BOOKWhite Rage

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFrom the Civil War to our combustible present, White Rage reframes the continuing conversation about race in America, chronicling the history of the powerful forces opposed to black progress.Since the abolishment of slavery in 1865, every time African Americans have made advances towards full democratic participation, white reaction has fuelled a rollback of any gains. Carefully linking historical flashpoints - from the post-Civil War Black Codes and Jim Crow to expressions of white rage after the

We Are Not Yet Equal

We Are Not Yet Equal
  • Author : Carol Anderson,Tonya Bolden
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release : 06 August 2020
GET THIS BOOKWe Are Not Yet Equal

This young adult adaptation of the New York Times bestselling White Rage is essential antiracist reading for teens. An NAACP Image Award finalist A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year A NYPL Best Book for Teens History texts often teach that the United States has made a straight line of progress toward Black equality. The reality is more complex: milestones like the end of slavery, school integration, and equal voting rights have all been met with racist legal and

One Person, No Vote

One Person, No Vote
  • Author : Carol Anderson
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 11 September 2018
GET THIS BOOKOne Person, No Vote

Finalist for the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction Longlisted for the National Book Award in Nonfiction Named one of the Best Books of the Year by: Washington Post * Boston Globe * NPR* Bustle * BookRiot * New York Public Library From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of White Rage, the startling--and timely--history of voter suppression in America, with a foreword by Senator Dick Durbin. In her New York Times bestseller White Rage, Carol Anderson laid bare an insidious history

The Substance of Hope

The Substance of Hope
  • Author : Jelani Cobb
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 13 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Substance of Hope

A trenchant and timeless examination of the still-contested meanings of President Barack Obama's election, from a preeminent scholar of race, politics, and American history-with a new introduction by the author. When voters in 2008 chose the United States' first black president, some Americans hailed the event as a sign that the nation had, at long last, transcended its bloody history of racial inequality. Obama's victory was indescribably momentous, but if the intervening years proved anything, it is that we never leave

Rise to Greatness

Rise to Greatness
  • Author : David Von Drehle
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
  • Release : 30 October 2012
GET THIS BOOKRise to Greatness

The electrifying story of Abraham Lincoln's rise to greatness during the most perilous year in our nation's history As 1862 dawned, the American republic was at death's door. The federal government appeared overwhelmed, the U.S. Treasury was broke, and the Union's top general was gravely ill. The Confederacy—with its booming economy, expert military leadership, and commanding position on the battlefield—had a clear view to victory. To a remarkable extent, the survival of the country depended on the judgment,

The Second

The Second
  • Author : Carol Anderson
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release : 01 June 2021
GET THIS BOOKThe Second

From the New York Times bestselling author of White Rage, an unflinching, critical new look at the Second Amendment--and how it has been engineered to deny the rights of African Americans since its inception. In The Second, historian and award-winning, bestselling author of White Rage Carol Anderson powerfully illuminates the history and impact of the Second Amendment, how it was designed, and how it has consistently been constructed to keep African Americans powerless and vulnerable. The Second is neither a “

Religion of White Rage

Religion of White Rage
  • Author : Finley Stephen C. Finley
  • Publisher : Edinburgh University Press
  • Release : 21 September 2020
GET THIS BOOKReligion of White Rage

Critically analyses the historical, cultural and political dimensions of white religious rage in America, past and present This book sheds light on the phenomenon of white rage, and maps out the uneasy relationship between white anxiety, religious fervour, American identity and perceived black racial progress. Contributors to the volume examine the sociological construct of the "e;white labourer"e;, whose concerns and beliefs can be understood as religious in foundation, and uncover that white religious fervor correlates to notions of

Racecraft

Racecraft
  • Author : Karen E. Fields,Barbara J. Fields
  • Publisher : Verso Books
  • Release : 04 March 2014
GET THIS BOOKRacecraft

Tackling the myth of a post-racial society Most people assume that racism grows from a perception of human difference: the fact of race gives rise to the practice of racism. Sociologist Karen E. Fields and historian Barbara J. Fields argue otherwise: the practice of racism produces the illusion of race, through what they call “racecraft.” And this phenomenon is intimately entwined with other forms of inequality in American life. So pervasive are the devices of racecraft in American history, economic

Defending White Democracy

Defending White Democracy
  • Author : Jason Morgan Ward
  • Publisher : Univ of North Carolina Press
  • Release : 30 November 2021
GET THIS BOOKDefending White Democracy

"After the Supreme Court ruled school segregation unconstitutional in 1954, southern white backlash seemed to explode overnight. Journalists profiled the rise of a segregationist movement committed to preserving the "southern way of life" through a campai

Spectacle

Spectacle
  • Author : Pamela Newkirk
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 02 June 2015
GET THIS BOOKSpectacle

2016 NAACP Image Award Winner An award-winning journalist reveals a little-known and shameful episode in American history, when an African man was used as a human zoo exhibit—a shocking story of racial prejudice, science, and tragedy in the early years of the twentieth century in the tradition of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Devil in the White City, and Medical Apartheid. In 1904, Ota Benga, a young Congolese “pygmy”—a person of petite stature—arrived from central Africa and was

The Black History of the White House

The Black History of the White House
  • Author : Clarence Lusane
  • Publisher : City Lights Books
  • Release : 23 January 2013
GET THIS BOOKThe Black History of the White House

The Black History of the White House presents the untold history, racial politics, and shifting significance of the White House as experienced by African Americans, from the generations of enslaved people who helped to build it or were forced to work there to its first black First Family, the Obamas. Clarence Lusane juxtaposes significant events in White House history with the ongoing struggle for democratic, civil, and human rights by black Americans and demonstrates that only during crises have presidents

Good White People

Good White People
  • Author : Shannon Sullivan
  • Publisher : SUNY Press
  • Release : 15 May 2014
GET THIS BOOKGood White People

Argues for the necessity of a new ethos for middle-class white anti-racism. Building on her book Revealing Whiteness, Shannon Sullivan identifies a constellation of attitudes common among well-meaning white liberals that she sums up as “white middle-class goodness,” an orientation she critiques for being more concerned with establishing anti-racist bona fides than with confronting systematic racism and privilege. Sullivan untangles the complex relationships between class and race in contemporary white identity and outlines four ways this orientation is expressed, each